Deutsch für muttersprachlich deutsche Kinder am Goethe-Institut Dubai

Dubai offers German courses for German native speaking children © Goethe-Institut, Foto: Bernhard Ludewig


 

Early start, grow smart…

Many resident German parents in UAE notice that their children have no problems in understanding and speaking colloquial German, but they are unable to read and write properly. Parents often try to deal with this problem when their children are about to finish their intermediate or secondary school which is too late for language development. This is called “early start, grow smart”.

Therefore, the Goethe-Institute in Dubai organizes these courses for early stages, i.e. for students in 1st till 5th classes. Starting from September the students will be able to join German classes for native speakers once a week after their regular school timings. These courses run for the whole session and stop in the school holidays. The classes will take place at Emirates International School in Jumeirah in cooperation with the Goethe-Institute.

What will the children learn?

Two German lessons a week cannot replace regular classes in a German school. Therefore, we will focus only on enhancing the writing and reading skills of the children as well as training of vocabulary and grammar with fun and joy, since these areas occupy little space in the daily communication. Our teachers are officially certified and have experience in teaching primary and secondary levels. You can thoroughly look at our detailed curriculum at Goethe-Institute in Dubai.

Where can I register my children?

Registration will take place in Goethe-Institute in Bur Dubai. Please bring children’s ID or passports. For more information, we welcome you to call us at: 04 3259865 or write an e-mail to this address:  
language@dubai.goethe.org

Deutsch für muttersprachlich deutsche Kinder am Goethe-Institut Dubai

Deutschkurse für Kinder © Goethe-Institut, Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Was Hänschen nicht lernt…

Viele deutsche Eltern in den VAE bemerken, dass ihre Kinder zwar keine Probleme mit dem Verstehen und Sprechen von umgangssprachlichem Deutsch haben, aber beim Lesen und  Schreiben unsicher sind. Oft versuchen sie allerdings erst dann etwas dagegen zu unternehmen, wenn die Kinder kurz davor sind, ihre Mittlere Reife oder ihren Schulabschluss zu machen. Das ist für Sprachentwicklung aber schon spät. Wie heißt es so schön: Was Hänschen nicht lernt, lernt Hans nimmermehr.

Deshalb setzen die Kurse des Goethe-Instituts früher an, für Schüler der Klassen 1 bis 5. Ab September können sie einmal die Woche nach dem regulären Unterricht Deutschkurse für Muttersprachler besuchen. Diese Kurse laufen ein ganzes Schuljahr lang und pausieren in den Schulferien. Der Unterricht findet an der Emirates International School in Jumeirah statt, die mit dem Goethe-Institut kooperiert.

Was werden die Kinder lernen?

Inhaltlich können zwei Schulstunden pro Woche keinen Deutschunterricht ersetzen, wie er an einer deutschen Schule stattfindet. Stattdessen werden Bereiche bearbeitet, die in der Alltagskommunikation zu kurz kommen: Die Kurse sollen Schreib- und Lesefertigkeit der Kinder verbessern, Wortschatz und Grammatik üben und dabei Spaß machen. Die Lehrerinnen haben ein abgeschlossenes Referendariat und Erfahrung im Unterricht in der Primar- und Sekundarstufe. Der genaue Lehrplan ist am Goethe-Institut Dubai einsehbar.

Wo kann ich meine Kinder anmelden?

Das Goethe-Institut in Bur Dubai nimmt Ihre Anmeldungen an. Bitte bringen Sie Ausweise Ihres Nachwuchses mit.
Für mehr Informationen vorab erreichen Sie uns natürlich auch telefonisch unter 04-3259865 oder per Email unter 
language@dubai.goethe.org