Film screening Ludwig

Experience Richard Wagner ©Films Sans Frontières

Tue, 29.01.2019

Manarat Al Saadiyat, Abu Dhabi

Sheikh Khalifa Highway
Cultural District

Dir.: Luchino Visconti, Italy, France, Germany, 1973/1980, 283 min.
 
“Ludwig” is an opulent biopic about the legendary King Ludwig II of Bavaria (1845-1886) who not only showed a deep interest in music and opera but also maintained a friendship with artists like Richard Wagner.
The film follows the tumultuous life of the king from his coronation in 1864 until his death in 1886, exploring his relationship to the inspiring but indebted composer Richard Wagner who has settled in Munich at Ludwig's request.
 
Directed by Italian director Luchino Visconti, starring Helmut Berger (Ludwig), Romy Schneider (Elisabeth) and Trevor Howard (Richard Wagner), the film premiered in 1973 in a shortened version without Visconti’s consent as the third part of Visconti’s “German Trilogy” which included "The Damned" (1969) and "Death in Venice" (1971). The Director’s cut which is shown in this screening premiered at the Venice Film Festival in 1980.
 

Back

Filmvorführung Ludwig

Experience Richard Wagner ©Films Sans Frontières

Di, 29.01.2019

Manarat Al Saadiyat, Abu Dhabi

Sheikh Khalifa Highway
Cultural District

Regie: Luchino Visconti, Italien, Frankreich, Deutschland, 1973/1980, 238 Min.

Das historische Filmdrama „Ludwig“ ist ein Film über den legendären Märchenkönig Ludwig II. von Bayern (1845-1886), der sich nicht nur für Musik und Oper begeisterte, sondern auch eng mit bekannten Persönlichkeiten wie Richard Wagner befreundet war.

Der Film folgt dem jungen König von seiner Krönung im Jahr 1864 bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1886 und stellt seine Beziehung zu dem inspirierenden, aber verschuldeten Komponisten Richard Wagner dar, der sich auf Ludwigs Bitte in München niedergelassen hatte.
 
Unter der Regie des italienischen Regisseurs Luchino Visconti mit Helmut Berger (Ludwig), Romy Schneider (Elisabeth) und Trevor Howard (Richard Wagner) wurde der Film 1973 ohne Viscontis Zustimmung in einer gekürzten Fassung als dritter Teil seiner "German Trilogy" (neben "Die Verurteilten“ (1969) und "Tod in Venedig" (1971)) erstmals gezeigt. Der Director's Cut, der in dieser Filmvorführung gezeigt wird, hatte 1980 bei den Filmfestspielen in Venedig Premiere.


 

 

Zurück