Textile Art The Ariadne Thread of High Art

Textile art is women’s work, arts-and-crafts or folklore. Prejudices about aesthetic work with woven materials are extremely tear-proof, all the more so when one approaches notions of high culture.

Chiharu Shiota “Love Letters” Chiharu Shiota “Love Letters” | Photo: Christoph Schmidt picture alliance © picture alliance / dpa The 19th century cliché according to which the male genius paints and sculpts while the female decorative talent weaves, knits, crochets and embroiders is astonishingly ineradicably knitted into the reception of great art. But this simple image reveals two crucial weave flaws: the wide-ranging use of textile materials in art finds as little expression here as does the major role that techniques from textile design have played in abstract art.

Recently, diverse exhibitions have created a veritable trend in shearing off out-dated pigtails of disparagement. In Turin, Mönchengladbach, Vienna, Bielefeld and Wolfsburg comprehensive exhibitions are reassessing the conflict between the significance and recognition of the use of fabric. Munich’s Pinakothek der Moderne illustrates the influence of Moroccan Carpets on the avant-garde, the Paris Museum of Modern Art is assembling art carpets from Pablo Picasso to Albert Oehlen. And in the Hamburg Kunsthalle, a retrospective on Eva Hesse a female conceptual avant-gardist, followed one on a male pioneer of textile art, Franz Erhard Walther.

Taken together, these exhibitions show that textiles are less the decorative trimmings of high art than one of its central Ariadne threads. As early as ancient Egypt, tapestries were placed in tombs as grave goods. Since the Renaissance, the detailed mastery of depicting fabric on canvas significantly determines an artist’s status. But products of spinning also stood at the turning points of art history as aids, whether as perspective matrices in the development of perspective or wool yarn for comparing colours in the case of painters such as Van Gogh.

Textile pre-figurations of modern art

The fact that the art of textile making is “the primordial art from which all other arts derive their characters and symbols”, as the architect Gottfried Semper categorically declared in1860, has never been more clearly articulated than in the beginnings of modern art. The Arts and Crafts movement and Art Nouveau achieved their impact through the stylisation of patterns and ornamentation, Henri Matisse and Pierre Bonnard invoked fabrics in their luminous abstractions, and Cubism would also be unthinkable without the treasury of inspiration provided by textile prototypes. Ultimately, the liberation of non-representational painting took place in a close, in part personal connection between painting and weaving.

Markus Brüderlin, who curated the most comprehensive exhibition on this theme for the Kunsthalle Wolfsburg, locates the birth of abstraction from the spirit of the textile with the artist couples Anni and Josef Albers, Sonia and Robert Delaunay and Hans Arp and Sophie Taeuber-Arp. The geometric fabric designs developed by the three women on the grid of their looms enabled the men to conceive of painting in its original purity once again, as Sophie Taeuber-Arp recalled. But the genres linked up with each other at the hands of other rebels of aesthetic austerity. Oskar Schlemmer’s most celebrated work consists of the costumes for his Triadic Ballet, the Russian Constructivists sought ways to connect pictorial abstraction with the new revolutionary wardrobe. And Casimir Malevich’s Black Square appeared for the first time in 1913 on a stage curtain for the Futurist opera “Victory Over the Sun“.

Collection of fabrics Fabric as Material

The Wolfsburg exhibition offers a fairly exhaustive survey of the spectrum of textile art. From wallpapers by Vienna workshops to the colourful tapestries produced by Gerhard Richter as follow-up to his streak paintings, from Jesus’ sudarium to the blasphemous pornographic embroidered pictures by the Egyptian artist Ghada Amer, from Joseph Beuys’ felt art to Louise Bourgeois’ maltreated fabric dolls, practically every aspect of the extreme diversity of approaches to fabric in art is represented here. Burak Arikan’s complex diagrams of power relationships reveal how metaphors derived from textile production such as “knotting,” “linking” and “meshing” have become a part of the methodology of art. Lucio Fontana raised awareness of the canvas as such by means of knife cuts on plain backgrounds, tent structures have been providing lightness in architecture since the Munich Olympic Stadium, and Sigmar Polke’s images on cheap fabric swatches elicit humour from the textiles.

The material of art

The other textile collections cannot really keep pace with the concentrated demonstration in eight chapters presented in Wolfsburg, but nonetheless intersect in numerous respects and condense others. “Textiles: Open Letters” in Mönchengladbach, for instance, focused on the interactions between textile design and the fine arts, while “Soft Pictures” at the Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo in Turin primarily assembles current artists working with textiles. But they all unveil the fact that the material of art more often consists of material than a mind entangled in obsolete assumptions might imagine.

„Textiles: Open Letters“ is shown in Vienna from 19.09.2014 to 01.02.2015 at the Generali Foundation, Vienna.

Textile Kunst Der rote Faden der Hochkunst

Textilkunst ist Frauensache, Kunstgewerbe oder Folklore. Vorurteile über die ästhetische Arbeit mit Stoffen sind extrem reißfest, und zwar umso mehr, je näher man einer Vorstellung von Hochkultur kommt.

Chiharu Shiota „Love Letters“ Chiharu Shiota „Love Letters“ | Foto: Christoph Schmidt picture alliance © picture alliance / dpa Das Klischee des 19. Jahrhunderts, wonach das männliche Genie malt und meißelt, während weibliches Verschönerungstalent webt, strickt, häkelt und stickt, hält sich erstaunlich unausrottbar in der Rezeption großer Kunst. Aber dieses simple Bild zeigt zwei entscheidende Fehler: Der vielfältige Einsatz textiler Materialien in der Kunst kommt darin ebenso wenig zum Vorschein wie die große Rolle, die Techniken aus der Stoffgestaltung für die Abstrakte Kunst gespielt haben.

Diverse Ausstellungen haben zuletzt einen regelrechten Trend kreiert, mit dieser Geringschätzung aufzuräumen. In Turin, Mönchengladbach, Wien, Wolfsburg und Bielefeld bewerten Überblicksausstellungen den Konflikt zwischen Bedeutung und Anerkennung von Stoff in der Bildenden Kunst neu. Friedrich Meschede knüpft in Bielefeld mit der Ausstellung To Open Eyes – Kunst und Textil vom Bauhaus bis heute, an die Zeit der großen Reformbewegungen vor rund hundert Jahren an. In der Pinakothek der Moderne in München ging man dem Einfluss von Marokkanischen Teppichen auf die Avantgarde nach, das Pariser Museum für Moderne Kunst versammelt Künstlerteppiche von Pablo Picasso bis Albert Oehlen. Und in der Hamburger Kunsthalle folgte auf die Retrospektive eines männlichen Pioniers der Stoffkunst, Franz Erhard Walther, eine der weiblichen Konzept-Avantgardistinnen Eva Hesse.

Gemeinsam zeigten diese Ausstellungen, dass das Textile weniger ein Nebenaspekt der Hochkunst als eines ihrer Leitthemen ist. Bildteppiche gehörten schon zu den Grabbeigaben im alten Ägypten. Die detaillierte Beherrschung der Wiedergabe textiler Strukturen auf dem Stoff der Leinwand bestimmt seit der Renaissance maßgeblich das Ansehen eines Malers. Aber auch als Hilfsmittel standen Spinnprodukte an den Kehrtwenden der Kunstgeschichte, sei es als Fadenraster bei der Entwicklung der Perspektive oder als Wollfäden für Maler wie Van Gogh zum Farbabgleich.

Stoffliche Vorbilder Moderner Kunst

Dass die textile Kunst die „Urkunst“ schlechthin sei, aus der „alle anderen Künste ihre Typen und Symbole entlehnen“, wie es der Architekt Gottfried Semper 1860 kategorisch erklärte, hat sich nirgends deutlicher gezeigt als in der Modernen Kunst. Die Arts-and-Crafts-Bewegung und der Jugendstil gewannen ihre Prägnanz aus der Stilisierung von Mustern und Ornamenten, Henri Matisse und Pierre Bonnard beriefen sich bei ihren leuchtenden Abstraktionen auf Stoffe, und auch der Kubismus ist ohne den Inspirationsschatz der Vorbilder aus Stoff nicht denkbar. Schließlich geschah die Befreiung der ungegenständlichen Malerei in enger, teilweise persönlicher Verbindung von Malen und Weben.

Markus Brüderlin, der jüngst verstorbene Direktor des Kunstmuseums Wolfsburg kuratierte mit Kunst und Textil (Oktober 2013 bis März 2014) die umfassendste Ausstellung zu dem Thema. Er verortete „die Geburt der Abstraktion aus dem Geist des Textilen“ bei den Künstlerehepaaren Anni und Josef Albers, Sonia und Robert Delaunay sowie Hans Arp und Sophie Taeuber-Arp. Die geometrischen Stoffentwürfe, die die drei Frauen auf dem Raster der Webstühle entwickelten, habe es den Männer ermöglicht, Malerei „wieder in ihrer ursprünglichen Reinheit“ zu begreifen, wie Sophie Taeuber-Arp es beschrieb. Aber auch andere Rebellen der ästhetischen Abstraktion verknüpften die Genres. Oskar Schlemmers berühmtestes Werk sind die Kostüme seines Triadischen Balletts. Die russischen Konstruktivisten suchten die Annäherung zwischen bildlicher Abstraktion und neuer revolutionärer Garderobe. Und das Schwarze Quadrat von Kasimir Malewitsch erschien das erste Mal 1913 auf einem Bühnenvorhang für die Kunstoper Sieg über die Sonne.

Stoffsammlung

Was die mögliche Breite der textilen Kunst betrifft, so liefert die Wolfsburger Ausstellung einen ziemlich erschöpfenden Überblick. Von Tapeten der Wiener Werkstätten bis zu den knallfarbigen Tapisserien, die Gerhard Richter nach seinen Schlierenbildern herstellen lässt, von Jesus Schweißtuch bis zu den blasphemischen Porno-Nähbildern der Ägypterin Ghada Amer, von Joseph Beuys Filzkunst bis zu Louise Bourgeois malträtierten Stoffpuppen klingt nahezu jeder Aspekte der extrem vielfältigen Auseinandersetzung mit Stoff in der Kunst hier an. Komplexe Machtdiagramme von Burak Arikan zeigen, wie der textilen Fabrikation entlehnte Metaphern wie „Verknüpfen“, „Verketten“ oder „Vernetzen“ Teil der Kunstmethodik geworden sind. Lucio Fontana hat die Leinwand mit Messerschlitzen vom unbedachten Hintergrund ins Bewusstsein gerückt, in der Architektur sorgen Zeltstrukturen seit dem Münchner Olympiastadion für Leichtigkeit, und Sigmar Polkes Bilder auf billigen Musterstoffen entlocken dem Textil das Humoristische.

Der Stoff der Kunst

Gegen die umfangreiche Wolfsburger Ausstellung können die anderen Ausstellungen nicht wirklich mithalten, überschneiden sich aber in vielen Aspekten und verdichten andere. Textiles: Open Letters in Mönchengladbach etwa konzentrierte sich auf die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Textildesign und Freier Kunst, während Soft Pictures in der Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo in Turin vor allem aktuelle Künstler versammelt, die mit Textilien arbeiten. Aber sie alle zeigen, dass der Stoff der Kunst häufiger aus Stoff ist, als es dem einfach gestrickten Gemüt so vorschwebt.
 

„Textiles: Open Letters“ ist vom 19. September 2014 bis zum 1. Februar 2015 in der Generali Foundation Wien zu sehen.