an interview with Joseph Vogl “The room for maneuvering is becoming very narrow”

Joseph Vogl
Foto (Ausschnitt): Stephanie Kiwitt | Photo (detail): Stephanie Kiwitt

​That politics and economics are separate spheres which reciprocally limit each another is a “legend of liberalism”, says cultural studies scholar Joseph Vogl in his book “Der Souveränitätseffekt” (The Sovereignty Effect). Numerous alliances determine the relationship between these areas.

Mr. Vogl, in your book “The Sovereignty Effect” you trace the interdependencies between politics and economics. What issues do you pursue in detail?

In my book I ask about what today constitutes the powers of political decision and action. The perspective is twofold: first, we can observe that very many decisions that affect society as a whole are made in a close exchange relationship between economic actors and political institutions in a gray area between economics and politics. The usual distinction between state and market is not sufficient to grasp the key elements of modern governmental power.

The second perspective is historical: I try to show how precisely the modern financial system could come about only through a close symbiosis of political and economic power. These processes can be traced to the late Middle Ages, as in the Republic of Genoa in northern Italy, where in the twelfth century private investors were already integrated into the exercise of policy. In the early modern period – for example, in the Netherlands of the seventeenth century and later in England – public debt and public finance became the main engines that formed a politically influential financial power.

Dogma of radical independence

You describe the genesis of the central banks of the seventeenth century up to the present. To what extent are central banks paradigmatic for the interaction of politics and economics?

Central banks have assumed an important liaison role within the financial system. First of all they gathered private creditors, as did the Bank of England, founded in 1694, who loaned the state money and in turn profited from these loans by the transference to them of customs and tax privileges. Thus arose a close-knit public-private network, a mixture of government institution and private company. On the one hand central banks filled sovereign functions; on the other they worked like joint stock companies and were also beyond political control. In the course of the twentieth century the mission of central banks has changed. Their task now is essentially to provide a safeguard for the financial and monetary system.

This function is usually associated with the dogma of radical independence. The European Central Bank, for instance, as one of the most independent financial institutions ever, has completely taken over an unquestionable right of sovereignty, namely the control over currency and liquidity. The Maastricht Treaty expressly stipulates that no national parliament and no European institution have the power to direct the ECB. With its decisions the ECB directly determines the framework of government policy, but independently of elected governments. It therefore, so to speak, is a para-democratic institution.

On the financial markets, too, political and economic principles work together; to designate this interaction you’ve coined the term “regulative capitalism”. What is the mark of this regulative capitalism?

The term is a counter-thesis to the idea that financial markets are free, more or less “unleashed markets”. They are instead a highly regulated area of economic life in which states, parastatal institutions such as central banks, international organizations such as the International Monetary Fund, influential private players with a public service mission such as rating agencies, international treaties and large private investors such as investment companies and banks interact in a highly nuanced network of rules. There is no “free” market here, accessible to everyone, but rather a systematic privileging of large capital assets.

Risks redistributed downwards

In the context of the financial crisis that has been going on since 2008, government policy has shown a great willingness to support financially troubled banks with public funds. At the height of the Greek crisis in 2015 it became clear that the rehabilitation of national budgets comes with significantly higher conditions. Do the alliances you describe between politics and economics come to bear here?

A thesis of my book is that an essential element of sovereignty in the present financial system is the so-called “lender of last resort”. This function, which was traditionally exercised by the central and issue banks, has been more and more transferred to the financial markets. In this way private investors and business dynamics largely determine the volume and flow of the money supply. Against this background political logic has gotten used in critical situations, and to guarantee conditions of basic economic survival, to first saving the investors.

One of the most prominent examples of this since 2008 has been the big financial service providers in the United States, that is, the private insurance companies, which invested large sums of money in real estate loans and had to be rescued with public money because they manage the majority of American pension funds. The state had placed itself under private economic pressure that made it necessary to rescue the major investors so as to prevent the collapse of the pension system. And yes, you’re right, the current financial regime has cemented this asymmetry: big private investors are usually refinanced unconditionally with public funds, but sovereign debtors only under ruthless conditions. The risks of the financial markets have been, so to say, distributed downwards.

Buying time for political maneuvering

This political predicament has also been described by the American political scientist Charles Lindblom, whose statement you quote: “no market society can achieve a fully developed democracy because the market imprisons the policy-making process”. Do market processes inevitably restrict democratic processes?

This perspective is directed first of all against the thesis that capitalism and democracy belong together, are twins, as it were. History shows that capitalism is less interested in democratic processes than in profitable business models, and can therefore enter into coalitions with government forms of any kind. It requires at most minimal legal security; for instance, the protection of property.

What Lindblom describes as the “prison of the market” may also be seen in the reputation competition to which the euro-countries are subjected on the markets. One of the chief problems of governments is buying time for political maneuvering on the financial markets. The creditworthiness of states is continually being assessed by rating agencies. As soon as a state slips, its rating deteriorates, its creditworthiness falls and the interest rate on government securities rises, aggravating the difficulty of refinancing on the financial markets. A vicious circle. The only thing that governments can then do is dismantle public services, reduce investments, allow the erosion of social security systems and the neglect of public infrastructures. In this way they regain, as the refrain goes, the “confidence of the financial markets”. Through this politically motivated accumulation of action and decision-making power in the hands of private sector actors, the maneuvering room of governments has grown very narrow.

Dependence on the interests of the financial economy

How could states recover their power to act politically, that is, their sovereignty? Do we need to disentangle politics from the economy?

It’s not a struggle between markets and politics, but rather a question of politics re-setting certain economic priorities and standing up against the implementation of what we may call neo-liberal, economic principles in all areas. At the core of the current financial regime is a conflict or class struggle between the financial markets, that is, the financial industry and large investors, and the democratic voting public.

A cascade of measures and decisions in recent decades has politically strengthened the financial regime: debt brakes, tax privileges on interest-earning assets, dismantling of financial controls, refusal to tax transactions, privatizing of public services and the conversion of solidarity-based insurance concepts into financial market-based models. These are some of the minimal political stakes that will be at issue in future – a political struggle about how far the public good and the circumstances of our lives will depend on the financial sphere.

Joseph Vogl is a scholar of cultural and literary history and lectures at Berlin’s Humboldt University and Princeton University. 2015 he published the book “Der Souveränitätseffekt”.

Joseph Vogl im Interview „Der Handlungsspielraum von Regierungen ist sehr eng geworden“

Joseph Vogl
Joseph Vogl | Foto (Ausschnitt): Stephanie Kiwitt

Dass Politik und Wirtschaft getrennte Sphären seien, die sich gegenseitig begrenzen, sei eine „Legende des Liberalismus“, sagt der Kulturwissenschaftler Joseph Vogl in seinem Buch „Der Souveränitätseffekt“. Zahlreiche Allianzen bestimmen das Verhältnis zwischen beiden Bereichen. 

Herr Vogl, in Ihrem Buch „Der Souveränitätseffekt“ zeichnen Sie die wechselseitigen Abhängigkeiten zwischen Politik und Wirtschaft nach. Welche Fragestellungen verfolgen Sie im Einzelnen?

In meinem Buch frage ich danach, wo sich heute politische Entscheidungs- und Handlungsmacht formiert. Die Perspektive ist dabei eine doppelte: Zunächst kann man feststellen, dass in einem engen Austauschverhältnis von ökonomischen Akteuren und politischen Institutionen, in einer Grauzone zwischen Ökonomie und Politik, sehr viele Entscheidungen gefällt werden, die die Gesellschaft insgesamt betreffen. Die übliche Unterscheidung von Staat und Markt reicht nicht hin, um wesentliche Momente moderner Regierungsmacht zu fassen.

Die zweite Perspektive ist historischer Natur: Ich versuche zu zeigen, inwieweit gerade das moderne Finanzsystem nur durch eine enge Symbiose von politischer und ökonomischer Macht entstehen konnte. Diese Prozesse kann man bis ins späte Mittelalter zurückverfolgen, etwa in die Republik Genua in Oberitalien, wo bereits im 12. Jahrhundert private Geldgeber in die Ausübung von Politik integriert wurden. In der frühen Neuzeit, beispielsweise in den Niederlanden des 17. Jahrhunderts und später in England, sind dann Staatsschulden und Staatsfinanzierung zu den wichtigsten Motoren für die Formierung einer politisch einflussreichen Finanzmacht geworden.

Dogma radikaler Unabhängigkeit

Sie beschreiben die Genese der Zentralbanken vom 17. Jahrhundert bis in die Gegenwart. Inwiefern stehen Zentralbanken paradigmatisch für das Zusammenwirken von Politik und Ökonomie?

Zentralbanken haben eine wichtige Scharnierfunktion innerhalb des Finanzwesens eingenommen. Sie versammelten zunächst – wie die 1694 gegründete Bank von England – private Gläubiger, die dem Staat Geld liehen und von diesen Krediten wiederum durch die Übertragung von Zoll- und Steuerprivilegien profitierten. Damit war ein enges öffentlich-privates Geflecht entstanden, eine Mischung aus Regierungsinstitution und Privatunternehmen. Einerseits erfüllten Zentralbanken hoheitliche Aufgaben, andererseits funktionierten sie wie Aktiengesellschaften und waren zudem der politischen Kontrolle entzogen. Im Laufe des 20. Jahrhunderts hat sich dann die Auftragslage von Zentralbanken verändert. Ihre Aufgabe liegt nun im Wesentlichen in der Sicherung des Finanz- und Währungssystems.

Diese Funktion ist dabei meist mit dem Dogma radikaler Unabhängigkeit verbunden. Die Europäische Zentralbank etwa als eines der unabhängigsten Finanzinstitute überhaupt hat ein fragloses Souveränitätsrecht vollständig übernommen, nämlich die Kontrolle über Währung und Liquidität. Im Vertrag von Maastricht ist explizit festgelegt, dass kein nationales Parlament und keine europäische Institution Weisungsbefugnis gegenüber der EZB haben. Mit ihren Entscheidungen bestimmt sie unmittelbar Rahmenbedingungen von Regierungspolitik, aber unabhängig von gewählten Regierungen. Sie ist also, wenn man so will, eine parademokratische Institution.

Auch auf den Finanzmärkten wirken politische und ökonomische Prinzipien zusammen, sie prägen dafür den Begriff des „regulativen Kapitalismus“. Was zeichnet diesen regulativen Kapitalismus aus?

Mit dem Begriff wird eine Gegenthese dazu eingenommen, dass Finanzmärkte freie, quasi „entfesselte“ Märkte seien. Sie sind stattdessen ein höchst regulierter Bereich des Wirtschaftslebens, in dem Staaten, Institutionen halbstaatlicher Natur wie Zentralbanken, internationale Organisationen wie etwa der Internationale Währungsfonds, einflussreiche private Mitspieler mit öffentlichen Auftrag wie Ratingagenturen, internationale Vertragswerke und große private Investoren wie Investmentgesellschaften und Banken in einem höchst ausdifferenzierten Regelgeflecht interagieren. Es gibt hier keinen „freien“, für alle zugänglichen Markt, sondern eine systematische Privilegierung großer Kapitalvermögen.

Risiken nach unten umverteilt

Im Kontext der Finanzkrise seit 2008 zeigte sich eine große Bereitschaft der Politik, finanziell angeschlagene Banken mit öffentlichen Geldern zu stützen. Auf dem Höhepunkt der Griechenlandkrise im Jahr 2015 wurde deutlich, dass die Sanierung von Staatshaushalten an deutlich höhere Bedingungen geknüpft wird. Kommen hier die von Ihnen beschriebenen Allianzen zwischen Politik und Ökonomie zum Tragen?

Eine These meines Buches ist, dass ein wesentliches Souveränitätsmoment des gegenwärtigen Finanzsystems der sogenannte „Gläubiger letzter Instanz“ ist. Diese Funktion, die traditionell die Zentral- und Notenbanken ausübten, ist mehr und mehr auf die Finanzmärkte übergegangen. So bestimmen private Investoren und Geschäftsdynamiken weitgehend über das Volumen und den Umlauf der Geldmenge. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat sich die politische Logik eingespielt, dass in kritischen Situationen und zur Garantie von elementaren ökonomischen Überlebensbedingungen zunächst einmal Investoren gerettet werden müssen.

Eines der prominentesten Beispiele seit 2008 waren die großen Finanzdienstleister in den USA, also private Versicherungsgesellschaften, die hohe Geldsummen in Immobilienkredite investiert hatten und mit öffentlichen Mitteln saniert werden mussten, etwa weil sie einen Großteil der US-amerikanischen Pensionsfonds verwalten. Der Staat hat sich in einen privatwirtschaftlichen Zwang begeben, der die Rettung von Großinvestoren notwendig macht, um den völligen Kollaps der Altersversorgung zu verhindern. Und ja, Sie haben Recht, das gegenwärtige Finanzregime zementiert diese Asymmetrie: Private Großinvestoren werden meist bedingungslos mit öffentlichen Mitteln refinanziert, Staatsschuldner aber nur unter rabiaten Auflagen. Die Risiken auf den Finanzmärkten werden sozusagen nach unten umverteilt.

Zeit für politische Handlungsspielräume erkaufen

Diese politischen Zwangslagen beschreibt auch der US-amerikanische Politikwissenschaftler Charles Lindblom, den Sie mit der Aussage zitieren, dass „keine Marktgesellschaft eine voll entwickelte Demokratie entwickeln kann, weil das Marktsystem den politischen Entscheidungsprozess in Gefangenschaft nimmt“. Marktprozesse schränken demokratische Prozesse also zwangsläufig ein?

Diese Perspektive richtet sich zunächst gegen die These, dass Kapitalismus und Demokratie zueinander gehören, gewissermaßen Zwillinge sind. Die Geschichte zeigt, dass der Kapitalismus weniger an demokratischen Prozessen interessiert ist, sondern an profitablen Geschäftsmodellen, und daher Koalitionen mit Regierungsformen jeglicher Art eingehen kann. Er benötigt allenfalls minimale Rechtssicherheit, etwa den Schutz des Eigentums.

Was Lindblom als „Gefängnis des Marktes“ beschreibt, zeigt sich auch in dem Reputationswettbewerb, dem zum Beispiel die Eurostaaten auf den Märkten unterworfen sind. Eines der zentralen Probleme von Regierungen ist es, sich auf den Finanzmärkten Zeit für politische Handlungsspielräume zu erkaufen. Dabei wird die Bonität von Staaten fortlaufend von Ratingagenturen bewertet. Sobald ein Staat abrutscht, verschlechtert sich sein Rating, die Kreditwürdigkeit sinkt, die Zinsen für Staatspapiere steigen, was die Möglichkeit der Refinanzierung auf den Finanzmärkten erschwert. Ein Teufelskreis. Das Einzige, was Regierungen dann noch zu tun bleibt, ist der Abbau von staatlichen Leistungen, Reduktion von Investitionen, Erosion sozialer Sicherungssysteme, Vernachlässigung öffentlicher Infrastrukturen. Dadurch gewinnt man – wie das immer wieder refrainartig wiederholt wird – das „Vertrauen der Finanzmärkte“ zurück. Durch die politisch gewollte Akkumulation von Handlungs- und Entscheidungsmacht bei privatwirtschaftlichen Akteuren ist der Handlungsspielraum von Regierungen sehr eng geworden.

Abhängigkeit von den Interessen der Finanzwirtschaft

Wie könnte der Staat politische Handlungsmacht, also Souveränität, zurückgewinnen – bräuchten wir eine Entflechtung von Politik und Ökonomie?

Es handelt sich nicht um einen Kampf zwischen Märkten und Politik, sondern darum, dass die Politik bestimmte ökonomische Prioritäten neu setzt und eintritt gegen die Durchsetzung eines, nennen wir es: neoliberalen, Wirtschaftsprinzips in allen Bereichen. Im Zentrum des gegenwärtigen Finanzregimes steht ein Konflikt oder Klassenkampf zwischen der Finanzmarktöffentlichkeit, also Finanzindustrie und Großinvestoren, und dem demokratischen Stimmpublikum.

Mit einer Kaskade von Maßnahmen und Entscheidungen wurde in den letzten Jahrzehnten das Finanzregime politisch gestärkt: Schuldenbremsen, steuerliche Privilegierung zinsbringender Vermögen, Abbau von Finanzmarktkontrollen, Verweigerung von Transaktionssteuern, Privatisierung öffentlicher Aufgaben, Umstellung von solidarischen Versicherungskonzepten auf finanzmarktbasierte Modelle. Das sind einige der minimalen politischen Spieleinsätze, um die es auch in Zukunft gehen wird – ein politischer Kampf darum, wie weit Gemeinwohl und unsere Existenzmilieus von den Interessen der Finanz abhängig sind.

Joseph Vogl ist Kultur- und Literaturwissenschaftler und lehrt an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und an der Princeton University. 2015 erschien sein Buch „Der Souveränitätseffekt“ im Diaphanes Verlag.