KinoKonzert

Photographer: Gergo Palmai Photographer: Gergo Palmai

KinoKonzert is a new series of audio-visual live performances in Australian cinemas. Curated and presented by the Goethe-Institut in collaboration with independent curator Christian Pazzaglia, these events will take you into another world as you enter the hybrid cinema-concert experience.

KINOKONZERT 01: HACKEDEPICCIOTTO | CROSSROADS

Having founded Einstürzende Neubauten and the Love Parade, respectively, Alexander Hacke and Danielle de Picciotto can rightfully be called legends of Berlin’s post-punk scene. The duo kicks off our series with their own silent movie Crossroads, a reflection on their unique nomadic lifestyle.

14 June 2018: Hobart, Dark Mofo Festival
06 July 2018: Perth, Revelation Film Festival
11 July 2018: Melbourne, ACMI
14 July 2018: Sydney, Event Cinemas George Street

KINOKONZERT 02: CHIARA KICKDRUM | VAMPYR

The second edition of our series brings together a legendary silent film with a contemporary electronic soundtrack: Melbourne-based DJ and composer Chiara Kickdrum presents her original score live on stage to 1932 German–French horror film Vampyr by visionary director, Carl Theodor Dreyer.

21 September 2018: Melbourne, ACMI
26 September 2018: Sydney, Event Cinemas George Street
28 September 2018: Canberra, NFSA

KINOKONZERT 03: JEFF MILLS | WOMAN IN THE MOON

Woman in the Moon by Fritz Lang is often considered one of the first 'serious' science fiction films. It premiered in 1929 at the UFA-Palast am Zoo cinema in Berlin to an audience of 2,000. In cooperation with Melbourne Music Week and ACMI, we are pleased to screen this film with a live score by Jeff Mills, co-founder of Detroit's techno collective Underground Resistance.

16 November 2018: Melbourne Music Week at ACMI

KINOKONZERT 04: SONIC.ART QUARTET | BERLIN: SYMPHONY OF A METROPOLIS 

Renowned German saxophone quartet Sonic.Art performs live with Berlin: Symphony of a Metropolis, the influential silent film directed by Walter Ruttmann in 1927.

28 April 2019: Sydney, Event Cinemas George Street
29 April 2019: Melbourne, ACMI
30 April 2019: Canberra, NFSA

The quartet will also perform a different program at Canberra International Music Festival following these events.

KINOKONZERT 05: LUCRECIA DALT | DER GOLEM

For the fifth edition, we bring together the rare German cult flick Der Golem with a live score from contemporary electronic music producer Lucrecia Dalt. The Goethe-Institut presents this tour in close cooperation with its partners Sydney Film Festival, Dark Mofo, QAGOMA, NFSA, Astor Theatre, Liquid Architecture and Berlin Atonal.

15 June 2019: Sydney, Sydney Film Festival 
16 June 2019: Brisbane, QAGOMA
18 June 2019: Canberra, NFSA
19 June 2019: Hobart, Dark Mofo 
21 June 2019: Melbourne, Astor Theatre

In addition, Lucrecia Dalt will perform without film at two events curated by Berlin Atonal and Liquid Architecture.

KINOKONZERT 06: ENSEMBLE OFFSPRING | NOSFERATU

Sydney’s premier contemporary chamber group Ensemble Offspring will team up with Perth-based composer Christopher Tonkin for a brand new interpretation of the silent film classic Nosferatu: a Symphony of Horror (1921). The movie by legendary German director F.W. Murnau is an expressionist adaptation of Bram Stoker's original Dracula story.

20 November 2019: Melbourne, Astor Theatre
21 November 2019: Brisbane, QAGOMA
22 November 2019: Sydney, Chauvel Cinema
23 November 2019: Canberra, NFSA

KinoKonzert

Photographer: Gergo Palmai Photographer: Gergo Palmai

KinoKonzert ist eine Reihe audiovisueller Live-Konzerte in australischen Kinos, kuratiert und präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem unabhängigen Kurator Christian Pazzaglia. Das hybride Format ergibt ein völlig einzigartiges Kinos-Erlebnis.

KINOKONZERT 01: HACKEDEPICCIOTTO | CROSSROADS

Als Gründungsmitglieder der Einstürzenden Neubauten und der Love Parade gelten Alexander Hacke und Danielle de Picciotto zurecht als Legenden der Berliner Post-Punk-Szene. Das Duo eröffnet unsere Reihe mit ihrem eigenen Stummfilm Crossroads, der ihren nomadenhaften Lebensstil thematisiert.

14. Juni 2018: Hobart, Dark Mofo Festival
06. Juli 2018: Perth, Revelation Film Festival
11. Juli 2018: Melbourne, ACMI
14. Juli 2018: Sydney, Event Cinemas George Street

KINOKONZERT 02: CHIARA KICKDRUM | VAMPYR

Das zweite KinoKonzert vereint einen legendären Stummfilm mit einem modernen, elektronischen Live-Soundtrack: Die in Melbourne lebende Komponistin Chiara Kickdrum präsentiert ihren Soundtrack für den deutsch-französischen Horrorfilm Vampyr, der im Jahr 1932 von dem visionären Regisseur Carl Theodor Dreyer gedreht wurde.

21. September 2018: Melbourne, ACMI
26. September 2018: Sydney, Event Cinemas George Street
28. September 2018: Canberra, NFSA

KINOKONZERT 03: JEFF MILLS | WOMAN IN THE MOON

Fritz Langs Film Frau im Mond wird häufig als der erste ernstzunehmende Science-Fiction bezeichnet. Die Prämiere fand 1929 im Berliner UFA-Palast am Zoo vor 2000 Zuschauern statt. In Kooperation mit Melbourne Music Week und ACMI zeigen wir nun diesen Stummfilm-Klassiker mit einem Live-Soundtrack von Jeff Mills, Mitgründer des Techno-Kollektivs Underground Resistance aus Detroit.

16. November 2018: Melbourne Music Week im ACMI

KINOKONZERT 04: SONIC.ART QUARTET | BERLIN: DIE SYMPHONIE DER GROßSTADT

Das deutsche Saxophonquartett Sonic.Art spielt live zu Berlin: Die Sinfonie der Großstadt, dem beliebten Stummfilm von Walter Ruttmann aus dem Jahr 1927.

28. April 2019: Sydney, Event Cinemas George Street
29. April 2019: Melbourne, ACMI
30. April 2019: Canberra, NFSA

Anschließend wird das Quartett zudem mit einem anderen Programm beim Canberra International Music Festival auftreten.

KINOKONZERT 05: LUCRECIA DALT | DER GOLEM

Für die fünfte Ausgabe der Reihe zeigen wir den Kultfilm Der Golem, begleitet von der in Berlin lebenden Elektronikproduzentin Lucrecia Dalt. Das Goethe-Institut präsentiert diese Tour in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Sydney Film Festival, Dark Mofo, QAGOMA, NFSA, Astor Theater, Liquid Architecture und Berlin Atonal.

15. Juni 2019: Sydney, Sydney Film Festival
16. Juni 2019: Brisbane, QAGOMA
18. Juni 2019: Canberra, NFSA
19. Juni 2019: Hobart, Dark Mofo
21. Juni 2019: Melbourne, The Astor Theatre

Zusätzlich wird Lucrecia Dalt im Rahmen von zwei Berlin Atonal und Liquid Architecture Veranstaltungen auftreten.