Youth Hostels of the Future Design Campaign in Dormitory

Youth Hostel Oberammergau, Schulze Dinter Architekten
Youth Hostel Oberammergau, Schulze Dinter Architekten | Photo: DJH Landesverband Bayern e.V.

The Bavarian regional branch of the German Youth Hostel Association has launced a fresh, new design interpretation of the youth hostel concept.

The history of the youth hostel began in an August night in 1909 in Bröltal in the Sauerland region. A teacher, Richard Schirrmann, took shelter with his students during a summer thunderstorm in a vacant village school when they were on a hiking tour. In that night, Schirrmann developed the idea of creating „a hostel for Germany's young hiking enthusiasts.“ In the beginning, schools and gyms were provisionaly equipped with straw mattresses, sheelts and wool blankets, in 1914 the first permanent youth hostel arose in the medieval castle of Altena.

Youth Hostel Nuremberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design Youth Hostel Nuremberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design | Photo: DJH Landesverband Bayern e.V. But just fourteen years later there were about 2200 of them throughout Germany, mostly with large dormitories and smaller rooms for minders. The idea quickly crossed national borders. Today, under the brand name Hostelling International 4500 youth hostels exist in 90 countries world-wide. In addition to an inexpensive travel option for young people of all countries, the concept of intercultural exchange and joint engagement for peace and international understanding are the central focus.

Old walls in a new guise

Youth Hostel Nuremberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design Youth Hostel Nuremberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design

The Nuremberg youth hostel, thoroughy renovated in line with historic preservation guidelines in 2013, offers a unique spatial experience (Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug with Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design). The former Kaiserstallung (imperial stables) of the castle were destroyed in the Second World War and vers modestly rebuilt in the 1950's. Today it successfully combines the historic building with modern design and leading-edge technology.

Youth Hostel Nuremberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design Youth Hostel Nuremberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design | Foto: DJH Landesverband Bayern e.V.

In an excellent location overlooking the Old City, an elegantly designed foyer with lounge, an modern bar and spacious dining hall welcome guests. Contemporary conference and seminar rooms are as much a part of the redesign as the QR codes on the walls, which – if one follows them on one's smartphone – provide uselful information about Nuremberg. All rooms have a private bath and are kept in a uniform design of wood, materials in white and restrained colours and with combinable single and double beds and cubic seating and storage furniture.

A reinterpretation of the hostel concept

Youth Hostel Berchtesgaden Youth Hostel Berchtesgaden | Photo: LAVA The LAVA architects have given the name „Alpines Resort“ to a thorough-going redesign of Youth Hostel of the nineteen-thirties; the Berchtesgaden youth hostel in a magnificent landscape at the foot of the Obersalzberg. The remodelled and rebuilt facility was opened in 2011 as the first „design youth hostel.“ It is the prelude to the strategy of the Bavarian regional association to adapt to contemporary usage needs in terms of design as well with high-quality architecture and modern comfort.

Youth Hostel Berchtesgaden Youth Hostel Berchtesgaden | Photo: LAVA Glass cubes jut out from the facade of the Upper Bavarian country house, and in th interior as well, existing structures have been broken up to form a flexible lounge area. The bright foyer is alight with the colours of the flags of all nations. Fresh designed single and family rooms, education and relaxing areas, the high-rope climbing park and the archery facility attract new guests, sports enthusiasts, recreation seekers, families and individual travellers.

Youth Hostel Oberammergau, Schulze Dinter Architekten Youth Hostel Oberammergau, Schulze Dinter Architekten | Photo: DJH Landesverband Bayern e.V. With renovated houses in Kreuth, Lenggries und Oberammergau, the Bavarian design offensive has revamped and remodelled additional alpine youth hostels. Here, too, strong colour schemes, natural materiuals such as felt, stone and wood as well as trendily exaggerated alpine motifs lend the youth hostels a fresh image.

Experiencing community

Youth Hostel Munich Youth Hostel Munich | Rendering: Graftt In terms of their design these new youth hostels can bear comparison with any design hotel, the crucial difference lies in their programmatic focus: communication and encounter. For the redesign of Germany's oldest urban youth hostel in Munich, the architectural firm GRAFT envisions a two-storey amorphous foyer landscape, where an exchange via projections and screens is possible.

Youth Hostel Bayreuth Youth Hostel Bayreuth | Rendering: LAVA In the futuristic new building of the Bayreuth Youth Hostel by LAVA, wich is to open in 2017, the central atrium of the three-wing building is the hub of entertainment, interaction and communication. Wide seating steps mediate between storeys, the interior and open-air spaces are connected via expansive terraces. Flexible walls, modular furniture, folding and sliding elements allow a variety of spatial configurations, many of which are also equipped for disabled persons. As Bavaria's first integrative youth hostel, Bayreuth is setting new standards for a reinterpretation of the youth hostel of the future that is contemporary, functional and sophisticated in design.

Jugendherberge der Zukunft Designoffensive im Schlafsaal

Jugendherberge Oberammergau, Schulze Dinter Architekten
Jugendherberge Oberammergau, Schulze Dinter Architekten | Foto: DJH Landesverband Bayern e.V.

Der Bayerische Landesverband des Deutschen Jugendherbergswerks hat die gestalterische Neuinterpretation des Jugendherbergsgedankens gestartet.

Die Geschichte der Jugendherberge begann in einer Augustnacht des Jahres 1909 im sauerländischen Bröltal, als der Lehrer Richard Schirrmann mit seinen Schülern auf einer Wanderfahrt in einer leer stehenden Dorfschule Schutz vor einem Sommergewitter fand. In dieser Nacht entwickelte Schirrmann die Idee, eine „Einkehr für die wanderfrohe Jugend Deutschlands“ zu schaffen. Zunächst wurden Schulen und Turnhallen in Ferienzeiten provisorisch mit Strohsäcken, Betttüchern und Wolldecken ausgestattet, 1914 entstand die erste beständige Jugendherberge in der mittelalterlichen Burg von Altena.

Jugendherberge Nürnberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design Jugendherberge Nürnberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design | Foto: DJH Landesverband Bayern e.V. Schon vierzehn Jahre später gab es in Deutschland rund 2.200 Jugendherbergen, meist mit großen Schlafsälen und kleineren Zimmern für die Betreuer. Die Idee überschritt rasch nationale Grenzen. Unter dem Markennamen „Hostelling International“ existieren heute weltweit 4.500 Jugendherbergen in 90 Ländern. Sie bieten günstige Reisemöglichkeiten für Jugendliche aus allen Ländern, fördern den interkulturellen Austauschs und treten für Frieden und Völkerverständigung ein.

Alte Mauern in neuem Gewand

Jugendherberge Nürnberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design Jugendherberge Nürnberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design | Foto: DJH Landesverband Bayern e.V.

Ein bislang einzigartiges räumliches Erlebnis bietet die 2013 denkmalgerecht sanierte Jugendherberge in Nürnberg (Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design). Die ehemalige Kaiserstallung der Burg war während des Zweiten Weltkriegs zerstört und in den 1950er Jahren sehr schlicht wiederaufgebaut worden. Sie verbindet heute das historische Gebäude mit modernem Design und neuester Technik.

Jugendherberge Nürnberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design Jugendherberge Nürnberg, Fritsch+ Knodt & Klug mit Franchi & Dannenberg Architecture & Design | Foto: DJH Landesverband Bayern e.V.

In bevorzugter Lage oberhalb der Altstadt empfängt den Gast ein elegant gestalteter Eingangsbereich mit Lounge, moderner Bar und großzügigem Speisesaal. Zeitgemäße Tagungs- und Seminarräume sind ebenso Teil der Umgestaltung, wie die QR-Codes an den Wänden, über die man per Smartphone Wissenswertes über Nürnberg erfahren kann. Alle Zimmer haben ein eigenes Bad und sind in einheitlichem Design aus Holz, weißen und dezent farbigen Materialien mit kombinierbaren Einzel- und Doppelbetten und kubischen Sitz- und Schrankmöbeln ausgestattet.

Neuinterpretation der Herbergsidee

Jugendherberge Berchtesgaden Jugendherberge Berchtesgaden | Foto: LAVA „Alpines Resort“ nennen die Architekten des Büros LAVA die in malerischer Landschaft am Fuße des Obersalzberges gelegene Berchtesgadener Herberge, eine grundlegende Umgestaltung der in den 1930er-Jahren gebauten Jugendherberge. Als erste „Design-Jugendherberge“ wurde der Um- und Neubau 2011 eröffnet. Er bildete den Auftakt für die Strategie des Bayerischen Landesverbandes, mit moderner Architektur und zeitgemäßem Komfort, den Jugendherbergsgedanken auch gestalterisch den heutigen Nutzungsbedürfnissen anzupassen.
 

Jugendherberge Berchtesgaden Jugendherberge Berchtesgaden | Foto: LAVA Aus der Fassade des oberbayerischen Landhauses ragen Glaskuben und auch im Inneren werden die vorhandenen Strukturen für einen flexiblen Lounge-Bereich aufgebrochen. In den Farben aller Nationalflaggen leuchtet das bunt gestreifte Foyer. Frisch gestaltete Einzel- und Gruppenzimmer, Bildungs- und Entspannungsbereiche, der Hochseilgarten und die Bogenschießanlage locken neue Gäste, Sportler, Erholungssuchende, Familien und Individualreisende an.

Jugendherberge Oberammergau, Schulze Dinter Architekten Jugendherberge Oberammergau, Schulze Dinter Architekten | Foto: DJH Landesverband Bayern e.V. Mit den sanierten Häusern in Kreuth, Lenggries und Oberammergau hat die bayerische Designoffensive weitere alpine Jugendherbergen modernisiert. Auch hier verhelfen kräftige Farben, natürliche Materialien wie Filz, Fels und Holz, sowie poppig überzeichnete alpenländische Motive den Jugendherbergen zu einem frischen Image.

Gemeinschaft erleben

Jugendherberge München Jugendherberge München | Rendering: Graftt In ihrer Gestaltung halten die neuen Jugendherbergen jedem Vergleich mit Designhotels stand, der entscheidende Unterschied liegt in ihrem programmatischen Schwerpunkt: der Kommunikation und Begegnung. Das Architekturbüro GRAFT sieht für die geplante Umgestaltung der ältesten Stadtjugendherberge Deutschlands in München eine zweigeschossige amorphe Foyerlandschaft vor, in der man sich auch im virtuellen Raum, über Projektionen und Bildschirme austauschen kann.

Jugendherberge Bayreuth Jugendherberge Bayreuth | Rendering: LAVA Im futuristischen Neubau der Jugendherberge Bayreuth von LAVA, der 2017 eröffnet werden soll, ist das zentrale Atrium des dreiarmigen Gebäudes die Drehscheibe für Unterhaltung, Interaktion und Kommunikation. Breite Sitzstufen, vermitteln zwischen den unterschiedlichen Geschossen. Innenraum und Freiflächen sind über weite Terrassenflächen verbunden. Flexible Wände, Möbel-Module, Klapp- und Schiebeelemente lassen verschiedenartige Raumkonfigurationen zu, die in weiten Teilen barrierefrei sind. Als erste Integrations-Jugendherberge Bayerns setzt Bayreuth neue Maßstäbe für eine zeitgemäße, funktionale und gestalterisch anspruchsvolle Neuinterpretation der Jugendherberge der Zukunft.