Australian Musicians in Germany Fascination Berlin

Folk singer and songwriter Kaurna Cronin simultaneously playing harmonica and guitar in front of the Berlin Cathedral.
Folk singer and songwriter Kaurna Cronin simultaneously playing harmonica and guitar in front of the Berlin Cathedral. | © Kaurna Cronin

Sydneysider Jeremy Rose is convinced: "Anything is possible in Berlin." For musicians, the German capital is still a playground of inspiration and creativity.

In recent years, Berlin has become a magnet for creative minds and extroverted artists, among them many Australians. According to the Federal Statistical Office, more than 12,000 Australians lived in Germany in 2015, almost 4,000 of them in Berlin – and their numbers are increasing.

Several aspects makes Berlin particularly attractive, such as its location in the heart of Europe or that living costs are still quite affordable compared to other major international cities. While a one-bedroom apartment in Sydney will set you back an average of 2,000 to 2,400 Australian Dollars, a 40-square-metre apartment in Berlin only costs about 600 Euros a month. Relevant factors for musicians who are seeking to make their name in Berlin's art scene and often have to get by on sporadic and rather moderate pay.

Berlin's Creative Energy

Germany's limited size and relatively dense population make the country attractive for musicians: Berlin and Munich aren't even as far apart as Canberra and Melbourne, yet while you'd traverse most of Germany in the process, in Australia you would only travel through a small part of the continent. However, these geographical aspects aside, it is Berlin's creative artistic energy that makes the capital famous beyond the country's borders. Musicians from all over the world are drawn to Berlin. According to Sydney jazz musician and saxophonist Jeremy Rose, in Germany you "feel much more like you're a part of history than in Sydney, where history and heritage are much less celebrated."

Saxophonist Jeremy Rose from Sydney has been travelling to Germany regularly for years to perform there. Saxophonist Jeremy Rose from Sydney has been travelling to Germany regularly for years to perform there. | © Mae Ashworth Photography Australian violinist Daniel Weltlinger, who has European roots and has lived in Berlin for years, similarly believes that apart from its turbulent history, Germany also has a personal meaning that is expressed through its language. "Language plays an important role when it comes to which identity you feel you belong to," Weltlinger says. The jazz musician speaks German and enjoys the fact that you'll hear many languages in the everyday hustle and bustle of the German capital. Australian Jeremy Rose only knows too well what it means to travel to Germany for a musical career. Every year, he makes the trip to Bremen to perform at the "Jazzahead!" festival: "Flights from Australia are expensive and the time difference is challenging. So travelling for the job is one of the sacrifices you make."

Daniel Weltlinger summarises life between Germany and Australia as "complicated". Nonetheless, many interesting contacts from all over the world beckon. They flock to Berlin in particular, where it's easy to spend time in a pub until dawn in good company and casually work out the details of your next music project or found a new band in the process.

Berlin: A Musical Experiment

Berlin is an integral part of the world map of creative hubs these days, Weltlinger says. He thinks the art metropolis acts like a magnet for creative people aiming to realise their dreams. As a result, a massive network of contacts very casually arises amidst bars and clubs where people full of creative potential lose track of time as they discuss their next creative venture.

Violinist Daniel Weltlinger performing with his band "The Asthmatix" at the "Venue 505" jazz club in Sydney, Australia. Violinist Daniel Weltlinger performing with his band "The Asthmatix" at the "Venue 505" jazz club in Sydney, Australia. | © Rudolf Teibtner Berlin's lightly regulated nightlife gives rise to a world that makes it easy to connect with other musicians, combine music genres or even create a new, experimental musical style. "It's extremely easy to connect with people. I suspect Berlin is one of the most outgoing, sociable cities in the world," Daniel Weltlinger muses. He thinks that coming to a churning city like Berlin from a young nation like Australia has an effect on musicians: "It's very inspiring. There's a massive creative energy – an effect of the city itself."

Songwriter and folk singer Kaurna Cronin from Adelaide, who has lived in Berlin and tours Germany every year, also notes that "Berlin is a creative environment that goes beyond music and touches all forms of art. In addition," Kaurna says, "it's quite affordable!" For Australian musicians who need to pay for flights to travel to the closest major city in their home country and pay high rents in places like Sydney, this is yet another aspect that reinforces Berlin's appeal.

Recognition for Alternative Music

Touring musicians who want to reach a broad audience with their music and ideally raise their profile in the process, thus encounter a fundamentally different world when they move from Australia to Germany. "Because of the short distances, travelling from city to city makes touring easy," Kaurna Cronin observes. He has already performed more than 200 concerts, often in regional areas of Germany. For him, the recognition alternative music enjoys in Germany is striking. The young artist is delighted about the conditions: "There's support for non-classical music as well!"

But even if Berlin boasts many advantages, the city is ultimately far from home. And that has an effect on those who leave Australia behind for their artistic career. Daniel Weltlinger gives clear voice to this inner conflict: "When I'm in Europe, I think Australia is a dream, and when I'm in Australia, Europe feels like a dream."

Australische Musiker in Deutschland Faszination Berlin

Folksänger und Liedermacher Kaurna Cronin spielt vor dem Berliner Dom gleichzeitig auf seiner Mundharmonika und der Gitarre.
Folksänger und Liedermacher Kaurna Cronin spielt vor dem Berliner Dom gleichzeitig auf seiner Mundharmonika und der Gitarre. | © Kaurna Cronin

Der Sydneysider Jeremy Rose ist sich sicher: „In Berlin ist alles möglich.“ Für Musiker ist die deutsche Hauptstadt immer noch ein Spielplatz der Inspiration und der Kreativität.

In den vergangenen Jahren hat sich Berlin zu einem Magneten für kreative Köpfe und kontaktfreudige Künstler entwickelt, auch für Australier. Laut des statistischen Bundesamtes lebten 2015 mehr als 12.000 Australier in Deutschland, knapp 4.000 von ihnen in Berlin - Tendenz steigend.

Verschiedene Aspekte machen die Hauptstadt für Künstler attraktiv: die Lage im Zentrum Europas oder die im internationalen Metropolenvergleich noch recht günstigen Lebenshaltungskosten. Während man in Sydney im Durchschnitt zwischen 2.000 und 2.400 Australische Dollar für eine Zweizimmerwohnung zahlt, bekommt man in Berlin eine 40-Quadratmeter-Wohnung für um die 600 Euro im Monat. Relevante Gesichtspunkte auch für Musiker, die einen Platz in der Berliner Künstlerszene anstreben und oftmals mit sporadischen und überschaubaren Gagen über die Runden kommen müssen.

Berlins kreative Energie

Deutschlands überschaubare Fläche und relativ dichte Besiedlung macht das Land attraktiv für Musiker: Die Entfernung zwischen Berlin und München ist geringer als die zwischen Canberra und Melbourne. Während man in Deutschland somit einen Großteil des Landes durchquert, bereist man in Australien nur einen kleinen Ausschnitt. Neben diesen Rahmenbedingungen, ist es aber die künstlerische Schaffenskraft, die die Hauptstadt über die Grenzen hinaus bekannt macht. So zieht es Musiker aus aller Welt nach Berlin. Laut Jazzmusiker und Saxophonisten Jeremy Rose aus Sydney kann man in Deutschland „viel eher spüren, dass man Teil der Geschichte ist, als in Sydney, wo die Geschichte und das Erbe weniger zelebriert werden.“

Saxophonist Jeremy Rose aus Sydney fährt seit Jahren regelmäßig nach Deutschland, um dort aufzutreten. Saxophonist Jeremy Rose aus Sydney fährt seit Jahren regelmäßig nach Deutschland, um dort aufzutreten. | © Mae Ashworth Photography Auch für den australischen Violinisten Daniel Weltlinger, der europäische Wurzeln hat und seit Jahren in Berlin wohnt, hat Deutschland neben der turbulenten Geschichte auch eine persönliche Bedeutung, die durch die Sprache zum Ausdruck kommt. „Die Sprache spielt eine wichtige Rolle wenn es darum geht, welcher Identität man sich zugehörig fühlt“, so Weltlinger. Der Australier Jeremy Rose weiß nur zu gut was es bedeutet für die musikalische Karriere nach Deutschland zu reisen. Jährlich pilgert er nach Bremen, um dort auf dem Festival jazzahead! aufzutreten: „Die Flüge von Australien sind teuer und der Zeitunterschied ist herausfordernd. Das Reisen als Teil des Jobs ist daher ein Opfer, das man bringt.“

Das Leben zwischen Deutschland und Australien fasst auch Daniel Weltlinger als „kompliziert“ zusammen. Nichtsdestotrotz locken viele interessante Kontakte aus aller Welt. Diese tummeln sich besonders gerne in Berlin, wo man schnell in geselliger Runde in Kneipen bis zum Morgengrauen sitzen kann und so ganz nebenbei am nächsten musikalischen Projekt feilt oder eine neue Band gründet.

Berlin: Ein musikalisches Experiment

Berlin sei eine Stadt, die heutzutage von der Weltkarte der Kunstzentren gar nicht mehr wegzudenken sei, meint Weltlinger. Die Kunstmetropole wirke wie ein Magnet auf kreative Menschen, die sich verwirklichen wollen. Ganz nebenbei entsteht dabei ein riesiges Netzwerk von Kontakten inmitten von Bars und Clubs, in denen Menschen voller Schöpfungskraft bis in die Morgenstunden die Zeit um sich vergessen.

Violinist Daniel Weltlinger bei einem Auftritt mit seiner Band „The Asthmatix“ im Jazzclub “Venue 505” in Sydney, Australien. Violinist Daniel Weltlinger bei einem Auftritt mit seiner Band „The Asthmatix“ im Jazzclub “Venue 505” in Sydney, Australien. | © Rudolf Teibtner Im wenig regulierten Nachtleben Berlins entsteht eine Welt, die es leicht macht Kontakte zu anderen Musikern zu knüpfen, Musikrichtungen zu kombinieren oder sogar eine neue, experimentelle Musikrichtung zu schaffen. „Es ist extrem einfach mit Leuten in Kontakt zu kommen. Ich vermute, es ist eine der kontaktfreudigsten Städte, die es gibt.“, überlegt Daniel Weltlinger. Wenn man aus der jungen Nation Australien in das stark aufgewühlte Berlin kommt, wirkt es sich auf Musiker aus, findet er: „Es ist sehr inspirierend. Es gibt eine riesige kreative Energie – ein Ergebnis der Stadt selbst.“

Auch Kaurna Cronin, ein Liedermacher und Folksänger aus Adelaide, der in Berlin gelebt hat und jährlich in Deutschland auf Tournee geht, stellt fest, dass „Berlin eine kreative Umgebung ist, die über die Musik hinausgeht und alle Kunstformen berührt. Außerdem“, so Kaurna, „ist es sehr günstig!“ Für einen australischen Musiker, der in der Heimat Flüge zahlen muss, um in die nächste große Stadt zu gelangen und, beispielsweise in Sydney, hohe Mieten zahlen muss, ist es ein weiterer Aspekt, der den Sog nach Berlin verstärkt.

Anerkennung für alternative Musik

Ein Musiker, der auf Tour geht, viele Leute mit seiner Musik erreichen will und dabei im besten Fall seinen Bekanntheitsgrad steigern möchte, trifft dementsprechend auf eine von Grund auf andere Welt wenn er von Australien nach Deutschland kommt. „Von Stadt zu Stadt zu reisen, mit diesen kurzen Distanzen, macht das Touren einfach“, stellt Kaurna Cronin fest, der bereits mehr als 200 Konzerte in oftmals regionalen Gegenden Deutschlands gegeben hat. Auffällig ist für ihn die Anerkennung, die in Deutschland für alternativere Musik herrscht. „Es gibt auch Unterstützung für Musik, die nicht klassisch ist!“, freut sich der junge Sänger über die Bedingungen.

Aber auch wenn Berlin mit vielen Vorteilen auftrumpfen kann, so ist die Stadt letztendlich weit von Australien entfernt. Und das wirkt sich auf die Menschen aus, die ihre Heimat für die künstlerische Karriere hinter sich lassen. Daniel Weltlinger bringt seinen inneren Konflikt klar zur Sprache: „Wenn ich in Europa bin, denke ich Australien ist ein Traum und wenn ich in Australien bin, fühlt sich Europa wie ein Traum an.“