SUPERPOSITION 2018 Mischa Kuball: Notes on the Sydney Biennale

Eija-Liisa Ahtila’s video installation of a levitating human being.
© Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018

Sincere in its depiction of crucial social issues, the 21st edition of the Sydney Biennale (16 March to 11 June 2018) proved it has come of age. In Mami Kataoka from Japan, head curator of the Mori Gallery in Tokyo, it also finally appointed an artistic director from the Asia-South Pacific region.

With SUPERPOSITION, a term borrowed from quantum mechanics, Kataoka aimed a magnifying glass at “conflicting ideas across all levels of humanity: different cultures; readings of nature and the universe; political ideologies and systems of government; interpretations of human history” (Mami Kataoka), illustrating locally how these factors interact globally.

NO GOOD NEWS ARE BAD NEWS

The bad news first: there was no catalogue – at least not in printed form!
 
  • Catalogues © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018.
  • Art is Easy. © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018.
While this may not be newsworthy in the digital age, it still meant that anyone who, like me, visited this year’s 21st edition of the Sydney Biennale had to make do with a descriptive exhibition guide and, unlike Venice or Sao Paulo, eventually leave town without any excess baggage. Yet the lower ground of the Art Gallery of New South Wales (AGNSW) featured an instructive room entirely dedicated to the special history of this biennale, with posters and beautiful catalogues providing a fitting overview.
 
  • Samson Young's mute orchestra. © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018.
  • SEMICONDUCTOR © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018.
  • SEMICONDUCTOR © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018.
Indeed, the lower ground of the AGNSW focused the senses, be it through Eija-Liisa Ahtila’s video installation of a levitating human being or through Samson Young’s mysterious mute orchestra that made us ‘tune in’ to Tchaikovsky in a new way. A panoramic projection by SEMICONDUCTOR, a collective from Brighton, seemed to open a virtual window into a technoid laboratory world where everything explains itself and anything seems possible.

MERGING PRODUCTION AND RESONANCE  

One level further down, a project by Oliver Beer fully capitalised on the resonance of physical bodies: Two women and two men each sounded and sang songs with different cultural connections to one another that resonated in the other person’s mouth, confronting visitors with a highly condensed amalgamation of production and resonance and creating moments of striking intimacy along with an idea of body politics. Unsurprisingly, all live performances at the Sydney Opera House were sold out.

Oliver Beer © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018. Curator Mami Kataoka finally fulfilled the original topographical focus of the first Biennale of 1973 with a spotlight on the South Pacific region – from Tiffany Chung’s embroidered world map of global migrations to Michaël Borreman’s dystopian models and a massive crystal ball by Ai Wei Wei that gave little cause for optimism for the future.

Ai Wei Wei © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018 RETURN TO INVESTMENT

The layout of the various exhibition locations in Sydney – a city that is currently reinventing itself in the form of major urban projects like Western Sydney and Darling Harbour – could well have led visitors to assume they would be able to rely on a common thread. This expectation was consciously foiled. Thus, Michael Stevenson’s reconstruction of two start-ups at Carriageworks found itself in lively competition with the Fashion Week sponsored by Mercedes Benz. This was particularly delicate not least because the previous Biennale had asked the sponsorship question so loudly that artists had made their participation contingent on it. You could be forgiven for thinking that this, too, may have led to a more focused edition (sans catalogue?) this time, which nonetheless successfully directed the gaze towards contemporary discourses.

SHOW YOUR COLOURS!

At the Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA), visitors walked straight into a fully equipped propaganda room by Canadian artist Ciara Phillips. Her protest aesthetics were reminiscent of Berkeley nun Sister Corita who had helped creatively shape the Civil Rights Movements of the 1960s.
Tom Nicholson’s Untitled wall drawing meticulously recorded border demarcations in Australia since 1901 – a silent protest. In contrast, Jacob Kirkegard had turned the cacophony of everyday life into a droning wall.

PRISON ISLAND

Since 2008, the Biennale has used Cockatoo Island, a UNESCO World Heritage Site right in the middle of Sydney’s harbour, as an exhibition space. Here, Ryan Gander’s work aimed to restrict visitors’ freedom. A sense of moving around under the constant threat of potentially being on a film set contributed to this feeling just as much as the dystopian, whitewashed scenario that forced viewers into a passive and distanced form of participation. Everything they saw was choreographed by the artist and could not be influenced – an almost harsh form of exclusion from participation.
 
  • Ryan Gander © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018
  • Ryan Gander © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018
Suzanne Lacy’s Circle and Square offered a different approach, uniting protagonists from different cultures involved in the textile industry and its slow decline in Northern England. Similar to Germany in the 1960s, “they called for workers, and human beings came.” Powerful choirs commanded attention, bearing witness to a variety of cultural regions: unadulterated oral history.

Suzanne Lacy © Archive Mischa Kuball, 2018 Indeed they also referred to the history of the location itself as a historic resonance chamber. After all, Cockatoo Island was not just a military base but also a place that stood for the exploitation of convict labour.

Conversion is therefore as much a topic for the curator and her artists as it is for the local city planners. In Sydney, Mami Kataoka presented these disruptions and contradictions, where they formed a highly condensed, critical amalgam, without shying away from moral gestures and socially relevant questions.

You wished she (and we, the visitors) had had a philanthropic (and bibliophile) sponsor – otherwise:

The bad news last – there was no catalogue!

SUPERPOSITION 2018 Mischa Kuball: Notizen zur Sydney Biennale

Eija-Liisa Ahtilas Videoinstallation eines Menschen im Schwebezustand.
© Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018.

Die 21. Ausgabe der Sydney Biennale (16. März bis 11. Juni 2018) bewies mit Ihrer Ernsthaftigkeit die zentralen gesellschaftlichen Themen abzubilden ihre Volljährigkeit, und berief mit der Japanerin und leitenden Kuratorin der Mori Kunstgalerie in Tokyo Mami Kataoka endlich eine Kuratorin mit Heimat im südpazifischen-asiatischen Raum.

Kataoka richtete mit SUPERPOSITION, einem der Quantenmechanik entliehen Begriffs, ein Brennglas auf die „uns umgebenden Konfliktzonen, auf allen Ebenen menschlichen Zusammenlebens - verschiedene Kulturen, Lesarten von Natur und Universum, politischen Ideologien und Regierungsformen und Interpretationen der Menschheitsgeschichte“ (Mami Kataoka). Dabei zeigte sie in Sydney, wie all dies auf dieser Welt interagiert.

NO GOOD NEWS ARE BAD NEWS

Die schlechte Nachricht zuerst: es gab keinen - zumindest nicht gedruckten - Katalog!
 
  • Kataloge © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018.
  • Art is Easy. © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018.
Es wäre eventuell in diesen digitalen Zeiten keine Nachricht wert, aber wer, wie ich, die diesjährige 21. Ausgabe der Sydney Biennale besuchte, musste sich mit dem deskriptiven Ausstellungsführer begnügen und, anders als in Venedig oder Sao Paulo, die Stadt schließlich ohne Übergepäck verlassen. Und doch fand sich im Untergeschoss der Art Gallery of New South Wales (AGNSW) ein ganzer anschaulicher Raum, der sich der besonderen Geschichte dieser Biennale widmete und der mit all seinen Postern und eben wunderbaren Katalogen eine würdige Übersicht bot.
 
  • Samson Youngs klangloses Orchester. © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018.
  • SEMICONDUCTOR © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018.
  • SEMICONDUCTOR © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018.
Überhaupt war das Tiefgeschoss der AGNSW eine Scharfstellung der Sinne, ob bei Eija-Liisa Ahtilas Videoinstallation eines Menschen im Schwebezustand, oder bei Samson Youngs mysteriösem klanglosem Orchester, das uns neu auf Tchaikovsky ‚einstimmte‘. SEMICONDUCTOR, ein Kollektiv aus Brighton, schien in einer Panoramaprojektion ein virtuelles Fenster auf eine technoide Laborwelt zu öffnen, in der sich alles selbst erklärt und alles möglich scheint.

VERSCHMELZUNG VON ERZEUGUNG UND WIDERHALL

Eine Ebene tiefer fand sich ein voll auf Resonanz der Körper setzendes Projekt von Oliver Beer: jeweils zwei Frauen und zwei Männer beschallten und besangen sich mit unterschiedlich kulturell verbundenen Gesängen, die im jeweiligen Mund des Anderen erklangen. Man war konfrontiert mit einer horchverdichteten Verschmelzung von Erzeugung und Widerhall. Es entstanden Momente eindrücklicher Intimität und eine Idee von Körperpolitik. So waren denn auch alle Live-Performances im Opernhaus von Sydney ausverkauft.

Oliver Beer © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018. Der ursprüngliche topographische Fokus der ersten Biennale von 1973 auf den südpazifischen Raum wurde jetzt durch die Kuratorin Mami Kataoka eingelöst – er führte von Tiffany Chung mit einer gestickten Weltkarte zu weltweiter Migration, über Michaël Borremans dystopischen Modelle bis hin zu einer gewaltigen Kristallkugel von Ai Wei Wei, die wenig Gutes für die Zukunft erahnen ließ.

Ai Wei Wei © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018 RETURN TO INVESTMENT

Alleine das Layout der verschiedenen Ausstellungsorte in der Stadt Sydney – einer Stadt, die gerade dabei ist, sich in Form urbaner Großprojekte wie West-Sydney und Darling Harbour selbst neu zu erfinden – hätte vermuten lassen, dass man auf einen roten Faden vertrauen könnte. Dieses Erwartungsmuster wurde bewusst unterlaufen. So standen die Rekonstruktionen von zwei Start-Ups von Michael Stevenson in Carriageworks in lebendiger Konkurrenz mit den von Mercedes Benz gesponserten Fashion Week. Besonders pikant war dies auch, weil ja gerade die letzte Biennale die Frage nach Sponsoring so laut stellte, dass Künstler ihre Teilnahme davon abhängig machten. Ein wenig mochte man denken, dass dies eben auch zu einer durchaus konzentrierteren Ausgabe (ohne Katalog?) führte, die dennoch den Blick auf aktuelle Diskurse zu lenken wusste.

FLAGGE ZEIGEN!

Im Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA) kam man direkt in einen komplett ausgerüsteten Propagandaraum der Kanadierin Ciara Phillips. Deren Protestästhetik ließ einen an die Nonne aus Berkeley denken; Sister Corita hatte die Civil Rights Movements in den 1960er Jahren gestalterisch mit geprägt.

Tom Nicholson’s Untitled wall drawing verzeichnete akribisch Grenzziehungen in Australien seit dem Jahr 1901. Ein stiller Protest. Einen Kontrast dazu bot Jacob Kirkegard, der eine dröhnende Wand aus der Kakophonie des Alltags schuf.

INSEL DER GEFANGENEN

Seit 2008 nutzt die Biennale das UNESCO Weltkulturerbe Cockatoo Island in der Mitte von Sydneys Hafen als Ausstellungsort. Unfrei in der Betrachtung erlebte man sich bei Ryan Gander. Dies könnte zum einen daran gelegen haben, dass man sich unter der steten Bedrohung bewegte man befände sich in einem möglichen Filmset, oder aber durch das dystopisch anmutende, geweißte Szenario, das den Betrachter zur passiven und distanzierten Teilnahme nötigte. Was man zu sehen bekam, war von Künstlerhand choreographiert und nicht beeinflussbar – ein fast schon harscher Ausschluss von Teilhabe.
 
  • Ryan Gander © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018
  • Ryan Gander © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018
Anders verhielt es sich bei Suzanne Lacys Circle and Square. Hier wurden die Akteure aus unterschiedlichen Kulturen in der Textilindustrie vereint und ihrem schleichenden Niedergang in Nordengland, ähnlich wie im Deutschland der 1960er Jahre: „man rief nach Arbeitskräften und es kamen Menschen.“ Eindrucksvolle Chöre bezeugten unüberhörbar unterschiedliche Kulturräume: oral history pur.

Suzanne Lacy © Archiv Mischa Kuball, 2018 Tatsächlich verwiesen sie auch auf die Geschichte des Ortes als historischen Resonanzraum. Cockatoo Island war nicht nur militärischer Standort, sondern eben auch ein Ort, der für die  Ausbeutung der Arbeitskraft von Strafgefangenen stand.

Konversion ist also hier nicht nur ein Thema der Stadtplaner, sondern auch der Kuratorin und ihrer Künstler. Mami Kataoka zeigte diese Brüche und Widersprüche und scheute sich nicht vor moralischen Gesten und gesellschaftsrelevanten Fragestellungen. Diese bildeten in Sydney ein hochverdichtetes, kritisches Amalgam.

Man wünschte ihr (und uns, den Besuchern) einen philanthropischen (und bibliophilen) Gönner - sonst:

Die schlechte Nachricht zuletzt - es gab keinen Katalog!