Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlinale Blogger 2018 Infiltration of gender roles

Bixa Travesty
Bixa Travesty | Photo: Nube Abe

“Bixa Travesty” (Tranny Fag) documents the life of the Brazilian trans artist Linn da Quebrada and her passionate fight against racism, homophobia and for the construction of trans-identity.

By Camila Gonzatto

By using concert excerpts, archive images, and showing numerous intimate moments with friends and family, the Brazilian documentary filmmakers Claudia Priscilla and Kiko Goifman have made a multi-faceted film about the activist Linn da Quebrada. In an interview, the directors talk about gender identities in Brazil and their understanding of documentary films.

Linn deals in the film with gender issues and speaks about transvestism in relation to femininity. How do you see the construction of gender identities in Brazil?

Claudia Priscilla: Brazil is the country where most trans people and homosexuals are killed and, at the same time, it is the country where the demand for films with trans people on RedTube is greatest. An absurd paradox. For some time now there’s been a group of singers like Linn who are a bit more visible. There exists a very big, very beautiful universe that doesn’t appeal just to an LGBT audience. Something is changing. Even if it’s not yet a revolution, a voice can be heard. In the movie Linn is invested with the power of the narrative role and so exists as a person. And we begin to see Linn with this desire and this understanding, which leads to respect and visibility. When she sings “um pau de mulher” (a woman’s penis), that’s significant and exemplary. It’s about Linn’s body and no longer about someone who imitates the ideal of a woman. There’s a new framework for thinking about body and gender. Linn gives very affirmative expression to this.

Kiko Goifman: We’re currently experiencing a very conservative movement, very strong and extremely right-wing. In Brazil, plays and exhibitions are being censored. It’s not that trans people are getting more room; they’re fighting for it with a lot of power and a lot of argument. It’s a fight. There are statistics that 90 per cent of trans women are forced at some point to work as prostitutes. Transsexuals aren’t hired. We wanted to put together a trans team, but we couldn’t find people because they’re excluded from the formal labor market. So we decided on a women’s team. It was the only feasible path we could take in the discourse against white alpha males such as Linn conducts. Another statistic gives the life expectancy of trans persons in Brazil at 35 years. That’s less than half the average life expectancy, which is 75 years.

Bixa Travesty Bixa Travesty | Photo: Nube Abe What is especially important to you when shooting a documentary?

Kiko Goifman: When we’re working with only a few protagonists, establishing intimacy is extremely important, if only so that statements don’t always sound alike. It’s also important to draw up a schedule that leaves room for chance and discoveries. Moreover, it’s fundamental to put together a team of creative people and also to allow creativity. We want to listen to others, not just the protagonists, but also the team. Finally, we engage in extensive discussions in advance about the film and look at a great many excerpts and samples.

Claudia Priscilla: We have a basic premise: the life of the main character is bigger than the film. Nobody is sacrificed; we pay close attention to this limit. Making a film about someone doesn’t justify disrespect.

This is an edited and shortened version of an interview with Claudia Priscilla and Kiko Goifmann. You can find the entire interview here.

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Berlinale Blogger 2018
Genderrollen unterwandern

Bixa Travesty
Bixa Travesty | Foto: Nube Abe

„Bixa Travesty“ (Tranny Fag) dokumentiert das Leben der brasilianischen Trans-Künstlerin Linn da Quebrada und ihren leidenschaftlichen Einsatz gegen Rassismus, Homophobie und für die Konstruktion von Trans-Identität.

Von Camila Gonzatto

Mithilfe von Konzertausschnitten, Archivbildern und dem Zeigen zahlreicher intimer Momente mit Freundinnen und der Familie haben die brasilianischen Dokumentarfilmer Claudia Priscilla und Kiko Goifman einen vielschichtigen Film über die Aktivistin Linn da Quebrada gedreht. Im Interview berichten die Regisseure über Gender-Identitäten in Brasilien und ihr Verständnis von Dokumentarfilmen.

Linn beschäftigt sich in dem Film mit Genderfragen und spricht von Transvestitismus im Verhältnis zu Weiblichkeit. Wie seht ihr die Konstruktion von Gender-Identitäten in Brasilien?

Claudia Priscilla: Brasilien ist das Land, in dem die meisten Trans-Menschen und Homosexuelle getötet werden, und gleichzeitig ist es das Land, in dem die Nachfrage nach Filmen mit Trans-Leuten auf Redtube am größten ist. Ein absurdes Paradox. Seit einiger Zeit gibt es eine Gruppe von Sängern und Sängerinnen wie Linn, die etwas sichtbarer sind. Es existiert ein sehr großes, sehr schönes Universum, das nicht nur ein LGBT-Publikum anspricht. Da verändert sich etwas. Selbst wenn es noch keine Revolution ist, erhebt sich doch eine Stimme. Im Kinofilm ist Linn mit der Macht der Erzählerrolle ausgestattet und wird so als Person existent. Und wir beginnen, Linn mit diesem Wunsch und mit diesem Verständnis zu sehen, was zu Respekt und Sichtbarkeit führt. Wenn sie „um pau de mulher“ (einen Frauenpenis) besingt, ist das bezeichnend und beispielhaft. Es geht um Linns Körper und nicht mehr wie bislang um einen, der das Ideal einer Frau imitiert. Es gibt einen neuen Rahmen, um Körper und Gender zu denken. Linn bringt dies sehr bejahend zum Ausdruck.

Kiko Goifman: Wir erleben gerade eine sehr konservative Bewegung, sehr stark und extrem rechts. In Brasilien werden Theaterstücke und Ausstellungen zensiert. Es ist nicht so, dass Trans-Leute mehr Raum bekämen, sie erstreiten ihn sich mit viel Kraft und viel Auseinandersetzung. Es ist ein Kampf. Es gibt Statistiken, dass 90 Prozent der Trans-Frauen irgendwann einmal gezwungenermaßen als Prostituierte tätig sein mussten. Transsexuelle werden nicht eingestellt. Wir wollten ein Trans-Team zusammenstellen, aber wir konnten keine Leute finden, weil sie vom formalen Arbeitsmarkt ausgeschlossen sind. Also haben wir uns für ein Frauen-Team entschieden. Der für uns gangbare Weg im Rahmen eines Diskurses gegen den weißen Alpha-Mann, wie ihn auch Linn führt. Eine andere Statistik gibt die Lebenserwartung von Trans-Personen in Brasilien mit 35 Jahren an. Das ist weniger als die Hälfte der durchschnittlichen Lebenserwartung, die bei 75 Jahren liegt.

Bixa Travesty Bixa Travesty | Foto: Nube Abe Was ist für Euch beim Drehen eines Dokumentarfilms besonders wichtig?

Kiko Goifman: Wenn wir mit wenigen Protagonisten arbeiten, ist das Herstellen von Intimität extrem bedeutsam, auch um die Aussagen nicht immer gleich klingen zu lassen. Es ist ebenfalls wichtig, einen Zeitplan zu erstellen, der Raum für Zufälliges und Entdeckungen lässt. Fundamental ist zudem, dass wir ein Team von kreativen Leuten zusammenstellen und diese Kreativität auch zulassen. Wir wollen den anderen zuhören, nicht nur den Protagonisten, sondern auch dem Team. Außerdem diskutieren wir ausführlich vorab über den Film und schauen uns viele Ausschnitte und Beispiele an.

Claudia Priscilla: Wir haben eine Grundprämisse: Das Leben der Hauptfigur ist größer als der Film. Es wird niemand geopfert, und wir achten sehr auf diese Grenze. Der Film rechtfertigt keine Respektlosigkeit.
 

Dies ist die bearbeitete und gekürzte Fassung eines Gesprächs mit Claudia Priscilla und Kiko Goifmann. Das gesamte Interview finden Sie hier.

Top