Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlinale Bloggers 2018
Succumbing to Berlinale’s charms

Isle of Dogs
Isle of Dogs | © 2018 Twentieth Century Fox

What were the highlights of the 2018 Berlinale? Sarah Ward lets us in on what resonated. A wrap-up.

By Sarah Ward

In The Green Fog, Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson and Galen Johnson craft a glee-inducing cinematic experience out of more than 100 films and television shows. Commissioned by the San Francisco International Film Festival, it compiles its content from clips set in the city, fashioning their fragments into a tribute to and a reworking of one of the most influential of such features: Alfred Hitchcock’s Vertigo. A mélange of the familiar and unknown that oozes affection and artistry, the end result sweeps over cinema-loving viewers like the inescapable titular mist. Succumbing to its bewitching thrall is simply inevitable.

The Green Fog The Green Fog | © Berlinale What better film to play at Berlinale? And, what better film to encapsulate the joys of spending eleven days immersed in cinema in all of its guises? The only other effort that comes close is Maddin and the Johnson siblings’ accompanying short Accidence, which takes the opposite approach — a single ten-minute take that roves between apartment balconies in a nod to Rear Window — to achieve the same final outcome: pure, intoxicating, all-encompassing cinephilia.

AN IMMERSIVE CINEMA COLLAGE

The skill, style and humour evident in The Green Fog’s entrancing collage; the dexterity of Accidence’s lone looping shot: watching them in the thick of Berlinale, the parallels between both and the process of attending the festival couldn’t be more apparent. Once again, Berlinale amassed a wealth of material that washed over audiences. Once again, it gifted patrons the enjoyably hectic onslaught that is running between sessions, devouring as many movies as possible and feeling each day blur into one in the best possible way.

Accidence Accidence | © Julijette Productions

A FEAST OF HIGHLIGHTS

While Maddin and the Johnsons’ double perfectly epitomised the Berlinale experience, it’s not the only highlight of the 2018 festival. Chief among them is opening night’s gorgeously engaging Isle of Dogs, which won Wes Anderson the best director prize, and won hearts and minds with its intricate stop-motion animation and intelligent societal commentary.
 
Elsewhere in the competition, exceptional family drama Daughter of Mine and harrowing recreation U – July 22 narrowed their focus in differing ways, proving two of the festival’s best as a result. For tender workplace romance In the Aisles, contemplative heist flick Museo and restless sibling effort My Brother’s Name Is Robert and He’s An Idiot, their charms stemmed from refreshing familiar genres. Meanwhile, out-of-competition entry Aga took the straightforward approach, tackling its tale of an older Inuit couple with disarming attentiveness.

Profile Profile | © Bazelevs Finally, two others stood out from the masses. The ostensibly provocative but overwhelmingly listless Touch Me Not won the Golden Bear for challenging the way cinema is made, but Unsane and Profile did just that in a more satisfying manner. First, Steven Soderbergh showed that his experimental tendencies haven’t waned, with the director using an iPhone camera to plunge viewers deeper into his commanding psychological thriller. For Timur Bekmambetov, technology again shaped an enthralling effort, unfolding its true story of extremists’ online recruitment tactics purely through a computer screen.
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Berlinale Blogger 2018
Dem Charme der Berlinale erlegen

Isle of Dogs
Isle of Dogs | © 2018 Twentieth Century Fox

Was waren die Berlinale Highlights 2018? Sarah Ward schreibt hier, was einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen hat. Ein Rückblick.

Von Sarah Ward

In The Green Fog gestalten Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson und Galen Johnson ein freudenvolles Kinoerlebnis aus mehr als 100 Filmen und TV-Sendungen. Von dem San Francisco International Film Festival in Auftrag gegeben, setzt sich der Film aus urbanen Filmsequenzen zusammen und formt seine Fragmente zu einer Hommage und einer Neuauflage eines der einflussreichten Spielfilme dieser Art: Alfred Hitchcocks Vertigo. Es ist eine Mischung aus Bekanntem und Unbekanntem, die Zuneigung und Kunstfertigkeit durchsickern lässt. Das Endergebnis fegt über die kinoliebenden Zuschauer hinweg wie der titelgebende unausweichliche Nebel. Unweigerlich erliegt man seiner bezaubernden Anziehungskraft.

The Green Fog The Green Fog | © Berlinale Welcher andere Film könnte geeigneter sein für die Berlinale? Und welcher andere Film könnte die Freuden, elf Tage lang in Kinos unterzutauchen, besser einfangen? Der einzige andere Beitrag, der an The Green Fog heranreicht, ist der Kurzfilm Accidence, ebenfalls von Maddin und den Johnson-Geschwistern. Allerdings verfolgt Accidence den entgegen gesetzten Ansatz –  in einer einzigen zehnminütige Szene schwenkt die Kamera zwischen Balkonen hin und her, eine Anspielung an Das Fenster zum Hof – um das gleiche Ergebnis zu erzielen: pure, berauschende, allumfassende Kinofreude.

Eine eindringliche Kinocollage

Das Können, den Stil und den Humor in The Green Fog zu sehen und kurz darauf die Geschicklichkeit einer einzigen umherschweifenden Aufnahme in Accidence damit zu vergleichen, könnte die Parallelen und den Prozess, an dem Festival teilzunehmen, nicht offensichtlicher machen. Wieder einmal hat die Berlinale eine schiere Masse an Material über die Zuschauer ergossen. Wieder einmal hat sie seinen Besuchern das erfreuliche hektische Filmfeuerwerk geboten, das einen zwischen den Aufführungen hin und her hetzen lässt, um so viele Filme wie möglich zu verschlingen und sich zuletzt ausgelaugt zu fühlen - im bestmöglichen Sinne.

Accidence Accidence | © Julijette Productions

Ein Fest von Höhepunkten

Maddin und die Johnson-Geschwister bringen zwar die Berlinale-Erfahrung perfekt auf den Punkt, doch sie sind nicht das einzige Highlight des diesjährigen Festivals.  An erster Stelle ist der Film der Eröffnungsnacht Isle of Dogs zu nennen, der nicht nur Wes Anderson den Preis für die beste Regie einbrachte, sondern auch Herzen und Köpfe mit seiner vertrackten Stop-Motion-Animation und intelligenten Gesellschaftskritik gewinnen konnte.
 
In einem anderen Wettbewerb lief das außergewöhnliche Familiendrama Daughter of Mine und die erschütternde Neuschöpfung U – July 22. Beide Filme engen ihren Fokus auf unterschiedliche Weise ein, so dass sie sich als zwei der besten Wettbewerbsbeiträge erweisen. Die zarte Arbeitsplatzromanze In the Aisles, der nachdenkliche Raubüberall-Streifen Museo und der ruhelose Geschwister-Beitrag My Brother’s Name is Robert and He’s an Idiot stechen erfrischend sympathisch aus dem Familiendrama-Genre heraus. Währenddessen verfolgt der außerhalb des Wettbewerbs laufende Beitrag Aga einen direkten Ansatz und packt seine Geschichte über ein älteres Inuit-Pärchen mit entwaffnender Sorgfalt an.

Profile Profile | © Bazelevs Schließlich sind noch zwei weitere Filme besonders im Gedächtnis geblieben. Der vordergründig provozierende, aber überwältigend lakonische Film Touch me not hat den Goldenen Bären für die bravourös gemeisterte Art des Filmemachens gewonnen. Aber Unsane und Profile haben dasselbe in einer zufriedenstellenderen Art getan. Steven Soderbergh hat gezeigt, dass seine experimentellen Tendenzen noch nicht abgeflaut sind: Er hat nämlich eine iPhone-Kamera verwendet, um seine Zuschauer noch stärker in seinen anspruchsvollen psychologischen Thriller hineinzuziehen. Timur Bekmambetov hat seine wahre Geschichte – die Technologie verhalf wieder zu einem packenden Beitrag – über das Online-Anwerben von Extremisten allein über den Computerbildschirm entfaltet.
 

Top