Sven Marquardt I have always been a man who polarised people

Sven Marquardt
Photographer Sven Marquardt | © Ole Westermann

Over the last few years, Berlin photographer Sven Marquardt and his works have risen to fame nationally and internationally. In 2016, the Goethe-Institut presents his work as part of Head On Festival at Ambush Gallery in Sydney, and another selection of works in Melbourne. In addition to his work as an artist, Sven Marquardt is also closely connected to the city’s techno scene through his work at the infamous club, Berghain.

You are known for two separate things: there is your career as a photographer on the one hand and your involvement with Berghain on the other. Which of the two takes up more time, and do you prefer either
of these two professions over the other?


I’ve been a photographer for more than thirty years. In the early 1990s I put away my camera for a few years, but still photography was my entry into Berlin’s club scene. In a city where everything was possible, I didn’t need more than a camera. These days, projects related to my photos keep me occupied almost every day. To this day, I am strongly connected to the club scene.

Analogue images

For your photography you use analogue equipment, shoot in black and white, and exclusively work with natural light. How did you come to this decision in the digital age?

Apart from other things, the digital age stands for fast-pace, interchangeability and a flood of images. Anyone can capture every moment of their lives with their smartphones. As for me — I’m leaving a shoot after a day’s work, with the exposed films in my pocket. This way, the anticipation before seeing the results lasts for a few days — almost a luxury these days. To view 5,000 digital images during the shooting and to delete 4,999 because they’re crap, that’s not my cup of tea.

Your memoir Die Nacht ist Leben (The Night is Life) was conceived in a creative partnership with journalist and author Judka Strittmatter, granddaughter of legendary Eastern German novelist, Erwin Strittmacher. Please describe this collaboration.

I already got to know Judka Strittmatter a few years ago. At the time, she wrote a biographic article about me for a large Berlin daily. We got along well, and I didn’t care about her family background. For Die Nacht ist Leben, we engaged in an intense journey lasting nine months, which brought up a lot of emotions and memories. From the very start, it was my desire to work with an author from Eastern Germany. Somehow, we speak the same language. Judka Strittmatter was the right choice.

You have been portrayed extensively by the media in Germany and all over the world. Among others, the influential yellow press paper BILD published a lot of information about your professional and private life.
Has your life changed since these public revelations?


Shortly before the publishing date of my autobiography I was pretty nervous. How was the public going to react to
my story? What if nobody is interested in what was written? Now, if complete strangers approach me in some international location, and they ask me about my photos or my story — that’s a good feeling. Nevertheless, I’ve always been a man who polarised people. I can live with that quite well.

Shrine of Berghain

In articles about you, The New York Times states that “Berghain is to electronic music fans in Germany what Bayreuth is to opera lovers” while The Guardian mentions an app called ‘How to get into Berghain’. On the door you see every type of person who hopes to get into the venue. How has the clientele changed since the club’s beginnings?

Punters in the clubs have of course long moved on to be ‘The Next Generation’, and naturally they reflect a new zeitgeist. The club scene has an element of autonomy and independence, so it’s not surprising that it’s mostly youthful audiences who are attracted. At some point, new ways of life and new paths follow. I find the way of life of current generations always very inspiring.

We are excited to present your work and yourself to an Australian audience. Have you been to Australia before? What do you expect to find in its two metropolitan cities, Sydney and Melbourne?

It feels like an adventure! This will be my first visit to Australia, and most likely the furthest I’ve travelled. The decision to put on the show in two metropolitan cities, that’s a challenge! But I love challenges and am very happy about the invitation.

Sven Marquardt Ich habe immer schon polarisiert

Sven Marquardt
Fotograf Sven Marquardt | © Ole Westermann

Unbestritten ist Berghain zu einer Pilgerstätte für Technofans aus aller Welt geworden und Sven Marquardt zu einer bekannten Medienpersönlichkeit sowohl in Deutschland als auch international. Weniger bekannt ist allerdings, dass Sven Marquardt auch ein ausgezeichneter Fotograf ist. 2016 präsentiert das Goethe-Institut seine Arbeit im Rahmen des Head On Festival in der Ambush Gallery in Sydney und in der Substation in Melbourne.
 

Du bist für zwei unterschiedliche Dinge bekannt: einerseits als Türsteher des Technoclubs Berghain, andererseits als Fotograf. Welcher dieser beiden Tätigkeiten widmest du mehr Zeit und gefällt dir eine der beiden besser?

Ich bin seit über 30 Jahren Fotograf, auch wenn ich Anfang der Neunziger meine Kamera für ein paar Jahre weglegte, war das der Beginn, in Berlins Clubleben einzutauchen - in einer Stadt, in der auf einmal alles möglich war, bedarf es der Kamera nicht mehr. Heute vergeht kaum noch ein Tag, der nicht etwas mit meinen Bildern zu tun hat. Verankert bin ich im Clubleben bis heute.

Analoge Bilder

Für deine Arbeit als Fotograf benutzt du analoges Equipment, fotografierst in schwarzweiß und arbeitest ausschließlich mit natürlichem Licht. Wieso hast du dich in unserem digitalen Zeitalter dafür entschieden?

Das digitale Zeitalter steht eben auch für Schnelllebigkeit, Austauschbarkeit und Bilderflut. Jeder kann jeden Moment des Lebens mit seinem Smartphone festhalten. Ich verlasse nach einem Shooting das Set - in meiner Tasche die belichteten Filme. Die Spannung auf das Ergebnis bleibt dann noch ein paar Tage erhalten - in der heutigen Zeit beinah ein Luxus. Während des Shootings, von 5000 geknipsten digitalen Bildern 4999 für scheiße zu befinden und gleich wieder zu löschen - nicht mein Ding!
 
Deine Memoiren Die Nacht ist Leben entstanden in einer kreativen Zusammenarbeit mit Judka Strittmatter, der Enkelin des legendären ost-deutschen Schriftstellers Erwin Strittmatter. Bitte beschreibe diese Zusammenarbeit etwas näher.

Ich lernte Judka Strittmatter bereits vor ein paar Jahren kennen. Sie schrieb damals ein Porträt über mich für eine große Berliner Tageszeitung. Wir verstanden uns gut und ihre familiäre Herkunft war mir ziemlich schnuppe. Für Die Nacht ist Leben gingen wir noch einmal auf eine Reise. Neun intensive Monate, die eine Menge Emotionen und Erinnerungen mit sich brachten. Mein Wunsch war von Anfang an ein ost-deutscher Autor. Irgendwie spricht man doch mehr eine Sprache. Frau Strittmatter war die richtige Wahl.
 
Sowohl in den deutschen Medien als auch weltweit wurde bereits ausführlich über dich berichtet. Unter anderem veröffentlichte das Boulevard-Blatt BILD detaillierte Informationen über dein berufliches sowie privates Leben. Hat sich dein Leben seit diesen Veröffentlichungen verändert?

Kurz vor dem Erscheinen meiner Autobiographie war ich schon ziemlich nervös. Wie wird die Öffentlichkeit meine Geschichte aufnehmen? Was ist wenn das, was da steht, überhaupt niemanden interessiert? Wenn mich heute irgendwo auf dieser Welt wildfremde Menschen ansprechen, die meine Bilder sahen und von meiner Geschichte hörten oder lasen, dann ist das ein gutes Gefühl. Dennoch! Ich war immer ein Mensch der polarisiert. Damit kann ich ganz gut leben.

Pilgerstätte Berghain

In einem Artikel der New York Times wird Berghain für deutsche Electro-Fans der als das beschrieben, was für Opernliebhaber Bayreuth ist, während The Guardian über eine App namens „Wie kommt man ins Berghain“ berichtet. Als Türsteher siehst Du die Leute, die hoffen, in den Club zukommen. Wie hat sich die Klientel seit den Anfangstagen verändert?

Das Clubpublikum ist natürlich längst „the next Generation“ und spiegelt auch immer ein Stück Zeitgeist wider. Clubleben hat wohl stets auch etwas Autonomes und Unabhängigkeit geht wohl am besten mit der Jugend einher. Irgendwann folgen neue Lebensmodelle und neue Wege. Für mich ist das Lebensgefühl nachfolgender Generationen bis heute sehr inspirierend.
 
Wir freuen uns, dich und deine Arbeit bald auch dem australischen Publikum zu präsentieren. Warst du schon einmal in Australien? Was denkst du erwartet dich in Sydney und Melbourne?

Australien fühlt sich nach Abenteuer an! Es ist mein erster Besuch und wohl die weiteste Reise meines Lebens. Die Tatsache, in zwei Metropolen gleichzeitig auszustellen, ist eine Herausforderung! Ich liebe Herausforderungen und freue mich sehr über diese Einladung.