Boylesque This Charming Man

Adam Kassar, Boylesque Artist
Adam Kassar, Boylesque Artist | © Gino Nalini Photography

Burlesque is an art form that has polarized Western society for centuries. In his 1991 publication on Burlesque, Robert C Allen explores its transgressive nature, which has enabled the art form to weave its way through history, nestling itself in a kind of Hegelian Dialectic in opposition to conservative, mainstream ideologies. From political pantomime in Victorian England to the performance of female sexuality in 20th and 21st century America; boundaries are pushed and conquered by burlesque performers with elegance and artistic flair.

The latest frontier Burlesque performers have taken on within Australian urbanized society is hegemonic masculinity, by way of its subset ‘Boylesque’. Australian social commentator, Annabel Crabb stated in 2015 that at this point in history the progress of masculine gender has remained problematically stagnant when compared to that of the feminine identity.
 
This in turn throws society off balance in instances where the masculine and the feminine must work in tandem, such as in heterosexual child rearing. Consequentially, terms like 'Plastic Women and Cardboard Men’ (from Hanna Rosin’s 2012 book- The End of Men: And The Rise of Women) have started entering feminist discourse to describe unbalanced progress achieved at each respective end of the gender spectrum.

Alpha-Nouveau: Redefining Masculinity

Boylesque (a play on words combining ‘Boy’ and ‘Burlesque’) also known as ‘Bro-lesque’ or simply ‘Male Burlesque’ is a style of performance art that is difficult to define. It encompasses to varying degrees the traditional female Burlesque framework with Neo-Burlesque and performance art, yet its overall interpretation will vary from performer to performer depending on individual skill set and personal preference.
 
Adam Kassar, is a Melbourne based Boylesque performer and Mr Boylesque International 2014 Victorian finalist, acting under the pseudonym ‘Dear Bobby’. He is now simply known as ‘Adam’. His passion for the art form was born unexpectedly out of reverence for a fellow Boylesque performer that Adam witnessed a few years ago whilst supporting a friend with her own Burlesque debut. Since that moment, Adam’s raison d’être is in proffering an alternative representation of the Alpha-Male construct that has remained in the shadows of our society unjustifiably. ‘‘I was [primarily] concerned with conveying a progressive notion of the male sexual identity, one that’s been documented throughout history but never validated or thought of as ‘equal’ with the traditional bronzed and muscled archetypes that stem from Greek mythology,’’ says Adam.

 
  • Adam Kassar AKA Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar AKA Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar AKA Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar AKA Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar AKA Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar AKA Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography

The performance style of Burlesque as a whole has recently witnessed a resurgence in the form of Neo-Burlesque, which distinguishes itself in the way that it allows performers to convey a message that aims to challenge societal norms, according to Burlesque photographer, Sean Scheidt. Adam operates under this umbrella of ‘Neo’ in presenting an eclectic pastiche of the past century that he says aims to broaden his audience’s understanding of gender and sexuality as existing on a spectrum rather than a fixed binary. This is achieved through a stylized striptease with unified masculine and feminine imagery and movement.
 
With a background in fashion and a promising career as an artist across digital and practical design, it’s evident that he has dedicated an enormous amount of time in curating a wardrobe of pieces to play with and re-arrange on his body to create new meaning. Everything he wears- from the 1920s raw silk evening cloak that he procured from its original owner; to the rather unusual ensemble primarily reworked from his childhood wetsuit- has a story and a reason to be there. Watching him move through our photoshoot from costume to costume is like a watching a lyrebird absorb and interpret the surrounding sounds of the forest. Each pose has a specific reference to a moment in time as evidenced by the mood board he fashioned in the lead up to our meeting that included iconic images out of a 1950s Vanity Fair lingerie campaign.

Sydney’s Cultural Impact on the Boylesque Scene

Boylesque however, does not and cannot exist in a vacuum merely reflecting society. The interaction between the Boylesque community, Sydney’s vibrant queer culture and greater society has a synergistic effect on its internal culture. Australia’s geographical isolation from the world tends to have impact on art forms that exist internationally such as Burlesque. In the case of Boylesque, Adam says it fosters a more tight-knit community within the industry. ‘‘It’s very much an inclusive industry of both sexes. I adore this concept of sexual unity because it recognises and validates neither sex as superior in industry and that isn’t a commonly accepted notion’’, he says.
 
Adam regularly presents his solo performance in events such as ‘Mr Falcon’s Burlesque’ in Sydney’s Inner-West where both male and female Burlesque performers are offered the opportunity to experiment with new performance material, whether it be Neo-Burlesque or more traditional Burlesque style in an intimate setting. Mr Falcon’s Burlesque is held in a vintage style speakeasy and hosted by fellow burlesque performer, Memphis Mae. It’s evident in witnessing this type of show that Sydney’s Burlesque community is a supportive and tight-knit family.

The Future of Sydney’s Creative Sub-Cultural Landscape

It is an unusual space in time for performers like Adam, as live venues such as Mr Falcon’s are in a state of flux according to Sydney Morning Herald’s, Lucy Cormack with Sydney’s controversial Lock-Out Laws imposing strict guidelines on opening hours and service of alcohol. However, Adam is optimistic about the direction of Boylesque, stating that it ‘‘is an established platform with fundamental values of provocative thought, contemporary dialogue and progressive appeal. There is only growth in its future, I cannot hope for more.’’

Boylesque Dieser bezaubernde Mann

Adam Kassar alias Dear Bobby
Adam Kassar alias Dear Bobby | © Gino Nalini Photography

Als Kunstform polarisiert Burlesque die westliche Gesellschaft seit Jahrhunderten. In seinem 1991 erschienenen Werk über Burlesque erkundet Robert C. Allen den transgressiven Charakter dieser Kunstform, der es ihr erlaubt hat, in einer Art Hegelscher Dialektik, eingebettet in Opposition zu konservativen Mainstream-Ideologien, ihren Weg durch die Geschichte zu finden. Von politischer Pantomime im viktorianischen England bis hin zur Zurschaustellung weiblicher Sexualität im Amerika des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts erweitern und überschreiten Burlesque-Künstlerinnen und -Künstler Grenzen mit Eleganz und künstlerischem Flair.

Die jüngste Grenze, die Burlesque-Künstler innerhalb der urbanisierten Gesellschaft Australiens im Rahmen der Unterkategorie ‚Boylesque’ in Angriff genommen haben, ist die hegemoniale Männlichkeit. Die australische Sozialkommentatorin Annabel Crabb konstatierte 2015 als Problem, dass zum jetzigen historischen Zeitpunkt die Fortschritte des männlichen Geschlechts im Vergleich zu denen der weiblichen Identität stagnieren.
 
Dies bringt wiederum die Gesellschaft dort aus dem Gleichgewicht, wo männlich und weiblich zusammenarbeiten müssen, wie etwa in der heterosexuellen Kindererziehung. Als Konsequenz haben Begriffe wie ‚Frauen aus Plastik und Männer aus Pappe’ (aus Hanna Rosins Buch ‚Das Ende der Männer: und der Aufstieg der Frauen’, 2012) begonnen, in den feministischen Diskurs einzudringen, um den unausgewogenen Fortschritt zu beschreiben, der an den beiden Enden des Geschlechterspektrums erzielt wurde.

Alpha-Nouveau: Männlichkeit neu definieren

Boylesque (ein Wortspiel aus ‚Boy’ und ‚Burlesque’), auch unter dem Begriff ‚Bro-lesque’ oder einfach ‚Männliche Burlesque’ bekannt, ist als Performancekunst-Stil schwer zu definieren. Sie umfasst zu unterschiedlichen Anteilen die Grundstruktur der traditionellen weiblichen Burlesque sowie Neo-Burlesque und Performancekunst, insgesamt jedoch variiert die Interpretation von Künstler zu Künstler je nach individuellen Fähigkeiten und persönlichen Vorlieben.
 
Adam Kassar, der unter dem Pseudonym ‚Dear Bobby’ auftritt, ist Boylesque-Künstler aus Sydney und war in Victoria Endrundenteilnehmer bei Mr Boylesque International 2014. Seine Leidenschaft für diese Kunstform entstand ganz spontan aus der Bewunderung für einen Boylesque-Kollegen, den Adam vor ein paar Jahren live erlebte, als er eine Freundin zu deren eigenem Burlesque-Debut begleitete. Seitdem ist es Dear Bobbys Raison d’Être, eine alternative Repräsentation des Alphamännchen-Konstrukts aufzuzeigen, die zu Unrecht im Schatten unserer Gesellschaft stand und steht. „Mir ging es [vor allem] darum, eine zeitgemäße Auffassung von männlicher sexueller Identität zu vermitteln; eine, die quer durch die Geschichte zwar dokumentiert ist, aber nie validiert oder als ‚gleichwertig’ mit den traditionellen braungebrannten und muskulösen Archetypen betrachtet wurde, die der griechischen Mythologie entstammen“, erklärt Adam.
 
  • Adam Kassar alias Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar alias Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar alias Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar alias Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar alias Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
  • Adam Kassar alias Dear Bobby © Gino Nalini Photography
Der gesamte Kunststil der Burlesque hat in jüngster Zeit in Form von Neo-Burlesque eine Renaissance erlebt, die sich dadurch auszeichnet, dass sie den Künstlern erlaubt, eine Botschaft zu vermitteln – mit dem Ziel, gesellschaftliche Normen infrage zu stellen, wie Burlesque-Fotograf Sean Scheidt erklärt. Dear Bobby agiert unter diesem Dachbegriff ‚Neo’, indem er einen eklektischen Pastiche des vergangenen Jahrhunderts präsentiert, die nach eigener Aussage darauf abzielt, das Verständnis seines Publikums von sozialem Geschlecht und Sexualität als auf einem Spektrum existierend statt als fixes Binärsystem zu erweitern. Dies gelingt ihm durch einen stilisierten Striptease, der maskuline und feminine Symbolik und Bewegungen vereint.
 
Angesichts einer Mode-Ausbildung und einer vielversprechenden Karriere als Künstler in den Bereichen digitales und praktisches Design versteht sich von selbst, dass Dear Bobby viel Zeit auf das Kuratieren einer Garderobe verwendet hat, die er spielerisch einsetzen und auf seinem Körper neu arrangieren kann, um neue Bedeutungen zu kreieren.
 
Alles, was er trägt – vom rohseidenen Abendmantel aus den 1920er-Jahren, den er von dessen ursprünglichem Besitzer erworben hat, bis hin zu dem eher ungewöhnlichen Ensemble, das vor allem aus seinem weiterverarbeiteten Neoprenanzug aus Kindertagen besteht –, hat eine Geschichte und einen Grund für seine Verwendung. Dear Bobby zu beobachten, wie er während unseres Fotoshootings von Kostüm zu Kostüm wechselt, ist, als sähe man einem Leierschwanz zu, der die Geräusche des umliegenden Waldes absorbiert und interpretiert. Jede Pose ist eine spezifische Bezugnahme auf eine bestimmte Zeit, was sich auch in dem Moodboard widerspiegelt, das er im Vorfeld unseres Treffens zusammenstellte und das emblematische Bilder aus einer Vanity-Fair-Unterwäschekampagne aus den 1950er-Jahren enthielt.

Sydneys kultureller Einfluss auf die Boylesque-Szene

Boylesque kann jedoch nicht in einem Vakuum existieren, das lediglich die Gesellschaft reflektiert, und tut dies auch nicht. Die Wechselwirkung zwischen der Boylesque-Gemeinde, Sydneys lebendiger Queer-Kultur und der breiteren Gesellschaft hat einen Synergieeffekt auf ihre interne Kultur. Australiens geografisch isolierte Lage hat die Tendenz, Kunstformen wie Burlesque zu beeinflussen, die es auch international gibt. Im Fall von Boylesque glaubt Dear Bobby, dass dies innerhalb der Branche zu einer enger verbundenen Gemeinschaft führt. „Es ist eine sehr stark inklusive, aus beiden Geschlechtern bestehende Branche. Ich bewundere dieses Konzept sexueller Einigkeit, da es anerkennt und bekräftigt, dass innerhalb der Branche keines der beiden Geschlechter überlegen ist, und das ist keine allgemein akzeptierte Ansicht“, erklärt er.
 
Dear Bobby präsentiert seine Soloauftritte regelmäßig bei Events wie ‚Mr Falcon’s Burlesque’ im Inneren Westen von Sydney, bei denen sowohl männliche wie weibliche Burlesque-Künstler die Gelegenheit haben, in intimer Atmosphäre mit neuem Aufführungsmaterial zu experimentieren, egal, ob es sich dabei um traditionelle oder um Neo-Burlesque handelt. Mr Falcon’s Burlesque findet in einer historisch angehauchten Kneipe statt und wird von Burlesque-Kollegin Memphis Mae moderiert. Beim Besuch dieser Art von Show wird offensichtlich, dass Sydneys Burlesque-Gemeinde eine eingeschworene, solidarische Familie ist.

Die Zukunft von Sydneys kreativer Subkultur-Landschaft

Es sind ungewöhnliche Zeiten für Künstler wie Dear Bobby, da sich Live-Veranstaltungsorte wie Mr Falcon’s im Umbruch befinden, wie Lucy Cormack vom Sydney Morning Herald erklärt, seit Sydneys umstrittene Aussperrungsgesetze strenge Auflagen in Bezug auf Öffnungszeiten und das Servieren von Alkohol vorschreiben. Dear Bobby ist jedoch optimistisch, was die Zukunft von Boylesque angeht, und konstatiert, dass „es sich um eine etablierte Plattform mit grundlegenden Werten wie provokative Ideen, zeitgemäßen Dialog und den Reiz des Progressiven handelt. Für die Zukunft sehe ich nur Wachstum, mehr kann man sich nicht wünschen.“