Street Artist Mandy Schöne-Salter “There is no right or wrong in art”

The Street Art Artist Mandy Schöne-Salter in front of her work ‘Imagine‘ (2015). This is a stencil and paste-up artwork created for the Avalon Art Carnival 2015. The work envisages the imaginary worlds children enter during playtime.
The Street Art Artist Mandy Schöne-Salter in front of her work ‘Imagine‘ (2015). This is a stencil and paste-up artwork created for the Avalon Art Carnival 2015. The work envisages the imaginary worlds children enter during playtime. | © Mandy Schöne-Salter

Photography, paste ups, graffiti. For about five years, street artist Mandy Schöne-Salter has brought colour to walls in Germany and Australia. Mandy came to Australia for love 15 years ago and has since taken residence in the Blue Mountains with her family. She is an active member of the German and Australian street art scene. Apart from creating street art – amongst her works are an advertising column in Nuremberg and a mural for the Avalon Art Carnival –, Mandy also conducts street art workshops in both countries. For her latest project, she will be touring Western New South Wales (NSW) to design a wall for the Broken Hill Arts Exchange.

“Every once in a while, I really miss Germany. So it means a lot to me to work on projects over there, too, and maintain those ties,” Mandy says. Her pseudonym MAN.DE, which she has used since 2013, is a nod to this desire for a continuing connection with Germany. “I wanted to have a name that says Mandy but also creates a visual association with Germany,” she states with a mischievous smile.

Mandy’s artistic journey

The German-Australian Street Art Artist Mandy Schöne-Salter (2015) The German-Australian Street Art Artist Mandy Schöne-Salter (2015) | © Sabine Scholz-Hinton Mandy is deeply involved in each of the art forms she practices. “Photography was the first medium I worked with and it will therefore always influence my work. I also love the impermanence of paste-ups. They are particularly well suited to the urban context and the quick changes you get in cities. I find murals more challenging because more elements feed into them,” she explains. In addition to knowing how to handle a spray can, Mandy also uses her photographic talent to shape the urban space.

It all began with a relationship with a street artist. As a teenager in the early 1990s, Mandy was already interested in graffiti and street art. Back then, her first boyfriend was part of the graffiti scene, and her fascination with urban art has only increased since then: “These days, I can’t even imagine doing anything else.” However, that wasn’t always the case. In particular in 1990s Berlin, street art, often illegally practiced, was a male domain. Even today, not much has changed: “I think there aren’t enough female role models for young women who want to get a foot in the door. In particular when you’re starting out, you experience a lot of rejection, but you simply can’t lose heart.”
 
Mandy’s own path into the street art scene was hard work. It’s difficult for women to be taken seriously. Street art expert and art historian Sebastian Hartmann, who has extensively researched urban art for many years, agrees: “My guess is that it’s the same as in fine art: The field is dominated by men but more and more women are establishing their position.” A trend that is worthy of support and will bring more diversity to the urban space.

At this stage, there is still potential for growth of the awareness of male audiences in particular. Mandy has experienced both sides: “I’ve often thought about never working in street art again, but then I also meet really lovely people who are so happy to see some colour making its way into their neighbourhoods.”

The German Art historian and Street Art expert Sebastian Hartmann The German Art historian and Street Art expert Sebastian Hartmann | © Sebastian Hartmann In some ways, Mandy’s art is representative of her own life. As a successful female street artist, she often needed to deal with uncomfortable situations without losing faith in her own abilities.
 
It is therefore not surprising that a major theme of Mandy’s work is giving a voice to those who need it most. Many of Mandy’s works depict children in all kinds of playful situations. According to Hartmann, female artists typically use children as motifs to transport stories and messages. “It seems to me that street art by female artists is often done with great attention to detail – in technique as well as in content,” Hartmann explains. Mandy also says that each of her murals has a message.

Her work Alice in Dream Land at Bondi Beach in Sydney, for example, shows the fantasy world children delve into when they play. They forget the real world around them and explore their environment with completely different eyes: “It’s important that young people can immerse themselves in a world where adults don’t make the rules and they can make decisions freely,” Mandy believes.

‘Alice in Dream Land' (2017) of Mandy Schöne-Salter on Bondi Walls in Sydney ‘Alice in Dream Land' (2017) of Mandy Schöne-Salter on Bondi Walls in Sydney | © Mandy Schöne-Salter

Rule Number 1: Follow your intuition

Not satisfied with just creating street art, Mandy also conducts street art workshops and participates in community arts projects, giving children and adolescents a glimpse into urban art and the various facets of street art, such as paste-ups or stencils. Mandy believes it’s important that young people are familiar with more than just tagging. The large, colourful lettering is all many of them think of when they think of street art. Yet there are so many more artistic ways to express yourself, Mandy emphasises, and she teaches teenagers these techniques in her workshops, kindling their creativity at the same time: “For me, there is no right or wrong in art, everyone is free to follow their own voice and develop their own individual style.” Mandy communicates this credo in her work as well, proving she is not just a creator and artist but also an exceptional individual who follows her own voice while giving a voice to others.
 
If you would like to see Mandy’s street art for yourself, you can find many of her works in Melbourne and Sydney. There’s also a temporary mural next to the Katoomba Kiosk Artist Studios.
 
Mandy Schöne-Salter designed and installed a street art mural for a round advertising pole in Nürnberg (Germany) called 'Litfaßsäule'. The mural consists of a two layered stencil as a background pattern and a couple of paste-up photographs on top. Mandy Schöne-Salter designed and installed a street art mural for a round advertising pole in Nürnberg (Germany) called 'Litfaßsäule'. The mural consists of a two layered stencil as a background pattern and a couple of paste-up photographs on top. | © Mandy Schöne-Salter

Street Artist Mandy Schöne-Salter „Es gibt kein Richtig oder Falsch in der Kunst“

Die Street Art Künstlerin Mandy Schöne-Salter vor ihrem Werk ‘Imagine‘ (2015), das im Rahmen des Avalon Art Carnival 2015 entstand. Es zeigt die Fantasiewelten, die Kinder während des Spielens entdecken.
Die Street Art Künstlerin Mandy Schöne-Salter vor ihrem Werk ‘Imagine‘ (2015), das im Rahmen des Avalon Art Carnival 2015 entstand. Es zeigt die Fantasiewelten, die Kinder während des Spielens entdecken. | © Mandy Schöne-Salter

Fotografie, Paste-Ups, Graffiti. Die Straßenkünstlerin Mandy Schöne-Salter bringt seit nun etwa fünf Jahren Farbe auf deutsche und australische Wände. Mandy ist der Liebe wegen nach Australien gekommen und jetzt, 15 Jahre später, lebt sie mit ihrer Familie in den Blue Mountains. Sowohl in der deutschen als auch in der australischen Street Art Szene aktiv, gestaltete sie unter anderem eine Litfaßsäule in Nürnberg und ein Wandbild für den Avalon Art Carnival. Neben der Straßenkunst führt sie in beiden Ländern Street Art Workshops durch. Für ihr nächstes Projekt ist sie in West New South Wales (NSW) unterwegs, wo sie eine Wand für den Broken Hill Arts Exchange gestaltet.

„Ich habe ab und zu große Sehnsucht nach Deutschland und daher bedeutet es mir sehr viel auch dort an Projekten zu arbeiten, eben um die Verbindung aufrecht zu erhalten“, erzählt Mandy. Ihr Pseudonym MAN.DE, unter dem sie seit 2013 arbeitet, greift diesen Wunsch nach einer andauernden Verbindung zu Deutschland auf. „Ich wollte einen Namen haben, der Mandy ergibt, aber auch eine visuelle Verbindung zu Deutschland herstellt“, stellt sie schmunzelnd fest.

Der Weg zur Kunst

Die deutsch-australische Street Art Künstlerin Mandy Schöne-Salter (2015) Die deutsch-australische Street Art Künstlerin Mandy Schöne-Salter (2015) | © Sabine Scholz-Hinton Mandy geht in jeder ihrer Kunstformen auf. „Fotografie war mein erstes Medium mit dem ich gearbeitet habe und es wird daher immer in meine Arbeiten mit einfließen. Ich liebe die Paste-Ups, weil sie vergänglich sind. Außerdem passen sie sehr gut in den urbanen Kontext und den schnellen Umschwung, der in Städten herrscht. Die Wandbilder sind eine größere Herausforderung für mich, weil mehrere Elemente mit einfließen“, so Mandy. So versteht sie also nicht nur den Umgang mit der Spraydose, sondern nutzt auch ihr Talent in der Fotografie, um den urbanen Raum zu gestalten.
 
Es begann alles mit einer Jugendliebe zu einem Straßenkünstler. Mandy interessierte sich schon in den frühen 1990er Jahren für Graffiti und Straßenkunst. Damals war ihr erster Freund in der Graffitiszene aktiv, und von da an wuchs die Faszination für urbane Kunst: „Mittlerweile kann ich mir nicht mehr vorstellen etwas anderes machen.“ Das war aber nicht immer selbstverständlich. Gerade im Berlin der 90er war die oft auf illegale Weise praktizierte Straßenkunst eine Männerdomäne. Und auch heute hat sich in dieser Hinsicht nicht wahnsinnig viel getan: „Ich denke, dass es zu wenige weibliche Vorbilder für junge Frauen gibt, die den Einstieg in diese Kunstszene schaffen möchten. Gerade am Anfang wird man oft zurückgewiesen und da darf man die Motivation nicht verlieren.“

Auch für Mandy war der Weg in die Street Art Szene harte Arbeit. Es ist schwierig für Frauen ernst genommen zu werden. Auch der Street Art Experte und Kunsthistoriker Sebastian Hartmann, der sich seit Jahren mit viel Leidenschaft mit urbaner Kunst beschäftigt, ist ähnlicher Ansicht: „Meine Vermutung ist, dass es sich wie in der Kunst verhält: Das Thema ist von Männern dominiert, aber immer mehr Frauen schaffen sich ihre Position.“  Eine unterstützenswerte Entwicklung, die mehr Vielfalt in den urbanen Raum bringen soll.
 
Noch gibt es Entwicklungspotential was das Bewusstsein eines männlichen Publikums betrifft. Mandy sieht hier zwei Seiten: „Ich habe schon oft den Gedanken gehabt nie wieder auf der Straße zu arbeiten, aber dann trifft man auch wieder ganz liebe und nette Menschen, die so froh sind, dass etwas Farbe in ihre Nachbarschaft kommt.“

Der deutsche Kunsthistoriker und Street Art Experte Sebastian Hartmann Der deutsche Kunsthistoriker und Street Art Experte Sebastian Hartmann | © Sebastian Hartmann Mandys Kunst steht in gewissem Sinne stellvertretend für ihren eigenen Lebensweg. Als erfolgreiche weibliche Straßenkünstlerin musste sie sich oftmals mit unbequemen Situationen auseinandersetzen, ohne dabei den Glauben an ihre eigenen Fähigkeiten einzubüßen.
 
So überrascht es wenig, dass ein großes Thema in Mandys Kunst ist, denjenigen eine Stimme zu geben, die diese am meisten brauchen. Viele von Mandys Werke zeigen Kinder in verschiedenen spielerischen Situationen. Laut Hartmann ist es typisch für Künstlerinnen, dass sie Kinder als Motive nutzen, um Geschichten und Botschaften zu transportieren. „Ich habe den Eindruck, dass Street Art von weiblichen Artists oft mit sehr viel Liebe zum Detail entsteht - technisch wie inhaltlich.“, so Hartmann. So sagt auch Mandy, dass jedes ihrer Wandbilder eine Botschaft hat.

Das Wandbild Alice in Dream Land von Mandy Schöne-Salter am Bondi Beach in Sydney zeigt beispielsweise die Fantasiewelt, in die Kinder beim Spielen eintauchen. Sie vergessen die reale Welt um sich herum und erkunden ihre Umwelt mit ganz anderen Augen: „Es ist wichtig für junge Menschen in eine Welt eintauchen zu können, wo Erwachsene keine Regeln aufstellen und wo sie freie Entscheidungen treffen können.“, so Mandy.

‘Alice in Dream Land' (2017) von Mandy Schöne-Salter an den Bondi Walls in Sydney ‘Alice in Dream Land' (2017) von Mandy Schöne-Salter an den Bondi Walls in Sydney | © Mandy Schöne-Salter

Regel Nummer 1: Folge deiner Intuition

Neben ihrer Straßenkunst gibt Mandy auch Street Art Workshops und partizipiert bei Community Art Projekten. Dabei ermöglicht sie es Kindern und Jugendlichen einen Einblick in die urbane Kunst und die verschiedenen Bereiche der Straßenkunst, wie zum Beispiel Paste-Ups oder Schablonenkunst, zu gewinnen. Für Mandy ist es wichtig, dass die jungen Leute etwas anderes kennenlernen als tagging. Viele Jugendlichen verstehen unter Street Art nur große bunte Schriftzüge. Dabei gibt es laut Mandy so viele kunstvollere Möglichkeiten sich auszudrücken. Diese Möglichkeiten bringt sie den Teenagern in ihren Workshops näher und weckt gleichzeitig deren Kreativität: „Für mich gibt es kein Richtig oder Falsch in der Kunst, jeder kann seiner eigenen Stimme folgen, um einen persönlichen Stil zu entwickeln.“ Auch das vermittelt Mandy mit ihrer Arbeit. Somit steht sie nicht nur für eine Macherin und Künstlerin, sondern auch für einen außergewöhnlichen Charakter, der seiner eigenen Stimme folgt und anderen eine Stimme gibt.
 
Wer Mandys Straßenkunst mit eigenen Augen sehen möchte, findet derzeit auch, neben zahlreichen Werken in Melbourne und Sydney,  ein vorübergehendes Wandbild neben den Katoomba Kiosk Artist Studios.
 
Mandy Schöne-Salter designed and installed a street art mural for a round advertising pole in Nürnberg (Germany) called 'Litfaßsäule'. The mural consists of a two layered stencil as a background pattern and a couple of paste-up photographs on top. Mandy Schöne-Salter designed and installed a street art mural for a round advertising pole in Nürnberg (Germany) called 'Litfaßsäule'. The mural consists of a two layered stencil as a background pattern and a couple of paste-up photographs on top. | © Mandy Schöne-Salter