Outdoor installations Rural Murals and Local Bush Legends

John Murray’s eccentric emu mural outside Lightning Ridge’s petrol station.
John Murray’s eccentric emu mural outside Lightning Ridge’s petrol station. | © Gina Robilliard

Humanity is and has always been fascinated with art. We discuss its philosophical purpose, its power to inspire and communicate and in many cases, why we don’t like it. However, much of this analysis is focused on a very private sector of artistic expression. That being, art that takes place behind closed doors or ticketed events. Very little discussion and consideration is allocated to the purpose and potential of democratic or public art. Its accessibility means that its influence takes place on a very terrestrial level and exposes itself to the eyes of those who might not have otherwise had the time or resources to access it in a gallery. The resurgence of street art through artists like Banksy has had a major impact (both politically and economically) on many urban landscapes around the world. The influence of public art spans beyond the urban and in this case, into rural communities.

Coonamble is a small town in the Central Western Plains of New South Wales (NSW) with a population of 2,750. Earlier this year they invited John Murray, a Lightning Ridge based artist and local Indigenous artist, Sooty Welsh to paint a decommissioned water tower just outside the centre of town. Each element of the artwork is symbolic and reflective of both the community and their relationship to the land. The 26 metre tower was painted with galahs and a range of native wildlife, including the wedge-tailed eagle, a totem of the Weilwan people who are the original custodians of the surrounding land. Encircling the work is also a depiction of the Castlereagh River, a 549 kilometre river that runs through the town, providing sustenance to livestock.

John Murray’s Volkswagen old home-turned-billboard, advertising his art gallery. John Murray’s Volkswagen old home-turned-billboard, advertising his art gallery. | © Gina Robilliard Lee O’Connor, editor of The Coonamble Times, says that the purpose of having the tower painted was for community building and creating a sense of place for the people of Coonamble along with increasing tourist visitation of nomadic caravanners driving through. It is not uncommon for the town to get involved in community driven art projects either. O’Connor notes that such projects are useful in increasing morale during times of drought or flooding as is common in the area. During one particularly harmful drought, a community project was dreamt up entitled The Coonamble Nick-Name Hall of Fame where caricatures were drawn up and plastered around the centre of town depicting local legends, rogues and rascals telling the story of their nicknames.

Facilitating positive change through asset driven community initiatives

This style of collective expression draws on a form of community development that is based in collective assets of a specific place. The idea being that creating positive change within a community is best instigated by focusing on what is strong within that environment; not what is lacking. For Coonamble, O’Connor says that their strength is in their people: the sense of intergenerational community and sociability as well as their sense of humor that sees them through tough times. It is this aspect that they wish to enhance and share with the public.

Aboriginal mural art in the centre of town. Aboriginal mural art in the centre of town. | © Gina Robilliard Galahs were chosen by Murray specifically as a representation of the strength of the community that lives in the town. The native bird is highly social and can be heard chirping and ‘chatting’ in large groups amongst the trees and electricity lines of an evening as the town winds down. They also have a tight bond within their group and will often attempt to revive galahs that have been hit by cars.
 
Democratic art has a significant role to play in communities all over the world. It displays and amplifies collective identities, introduces new generations to their heritage and exposes them to forms of expression they might not have otherwise had access to. Despite humanity’s long history of writing and painting on walls, the concept of politicized public mural art in its current form was popularized by Mexican painter, Diego Rivera. His work with the Mexican community were designed to lift moral during a time of poverty and a loss in their indigenous heritage. The politicized murals on the streets of Mexico spoke of inequality, cultural history and community values of the nation’s pre-Hispanic era. This ultimately had the effect of reviving and reinforcing a stronger national identity.

Conveying the symbiotic history of Man versus Desert

Two hours north of Coonamble is the opal mining town of Lightning Ridge, where further evidence of community development through public art can be found. Most strikingly in the form of an 18 metre tall emu made out of scrap metal and old Volkswagen beetles. The structure was christened in 2013 as Stanley and sits on the side of the highway a few kilometers outside of town. Designed primarily by Murray, its construction was a group effort by the town and materials were either found or donated. The choice of a giant emu made out of old cars, despite its eccentricity and humor, goes beyond mere aesthetic. The emu is a totem for the Aboriginal community in the area, as male emus play such an important role in the rearing of their young. In Stanley’s official unveiling, the local kids performed a traditional Aboriginal emu dance. The use of abandoned automobiles in Murray’s work is also common as a way of communicating the history of industrialized rural Australia. "It’s the interaction with the human endeavor, man trying to conquer this vastness that is the interior of Australia" says Murray.

Stanley the Emu sits ten kilometers outside of Lightning Ridge. Stanley the Emu sits ten kilometers outside of Lightning Ridge. | © Gina Robilliard Since the unveiling of Stanley the Emu, many other smaller scale structures have started popping up along the highway, constructed by individual farm owners as part of an initiative by the local council. Coonamble Council member, Ahmed ‘Al’ Karanouh, is now looking to expand their outdoor mural collection to include a work by Murray depicting his iconic emus dressed in the colors of the local sporting teams. Although this system of self-preservation through art is as old as humanity itself, the unique forms of expression in displaying identity continue to evolve and innovate in response to the contours of each individual population.

Installationen im Outback Buschlegenden und Wandmalerei – Kunst im regionalen Australien

John Murrays exzentrisches Emu-Wandgemälde neben der Tankstelle in Lightning Ridge.
John Murrays exzentrisches Emu-Wandgemälde neben der Tankstelle in Lightning Ridge. | © Gina Robilliard

Kunst hat die Menschheit seit jeher fasziniert. Wir diskutieren über ihren philosophischen Sinn, über ihre Macht, zu inspirieren und zu kommunizieren, und in vielen Fällen auch darüber, warum sie uns nicht gefällt. Ein Großteil dieser Analyse konzentriert sich dabei jedoch auf einen sehr privaten Sektor künstlerischen Ausdrucks, nämlich Kunst, die hinter geschlossenen Türen oder bei eintrittspflichtigen Veranstaltungen stattfindet. Sehr wenig Diskussion und Beachtung dagegen wird dem Sinn und Potenzial demokratischer oder öffentlicher Kunst gewidmet. Da sie leichter zugänglich ist, findet ihr Einfluss auf einer sehr bodenständigen Ebene statt und sie eröffnet sich auch dem Blick derjenigen, die für einen Galeriebesuch womöglich weder Zeit noch Mittel gehabt hätten. Das Wiederaufleben von Street Art durch Künstler wie Banksy hatte (politisch wie wirtschaftlich) einen massiven Einfluss auf zahlreiche Stadtlandschaften in aller Welt. Der Einfluss öffentlicher Kunst geht jedoch über den städtischen Raum hinaus und reicht, wie in diesem Fall, bis in ländliche Gemeinden hinein.

Coonamble in den Central Western Plains von New South Wales (NSW) ist ein kleiner Ort mit einer Gesamtbevölkerung von 2.750 Einwohnern. Anfang letzten Jahres lud die Gemeinde den Künstler John Murray aus Lightning Ridge ein, zusammen mit dem ortsansässigen indigenen Künstler Sooty Welsh einen stillgelegten Wasserturm nahe dem Ortszentrum zu bemalen. Jedes Element ihres Kunstwerks hat Symbolcharakter und steht sowohl für die Gemeinde als auch für ihre Beziehung zum Land. Der 26 Meter hohe Turm wurde mit Rosakakadus und einer Auswahl einheimischer Wildtiere bemalt, darunter auch einem Keilschwanzadler, einem Totem des Weilwan-Volkes, den traditionellen Hütern des umliegenden Landes. Eingerahmt wird das Werk von einer Darstellung des Castlereagh River, einem 549 Kilometer langen Fluss, der durch den Ort fließt und das Nutzvieh mit Wasser versorgt.

John Murrays zur Werbefläche umfunktionierter Volkswagen, der seine Galerie ankündigt. John Murrays zur Werbefläche umfunktionierter Volkswagen, der seine Galerie ankündigt. | © Gina Robilliard Lee O’Connor, Herausgeberin der Coonamble Times, erklärt den Zweck der Kunst am Turm mit einer Stärkung des kommunalen Zusammenhalts und der Stiftung eines Identitätsgefühls bei den Einwohnern von Coonamble. Zudem soll das Werk zusätzliche Besucher speziell unter den Wohnwagen-Nomaden anziehen, die durch Coonamble kommen. Es ist auch nicht weiter ungewöhnlich, dass sich der Ort an von der Gemeinschaft angeregten Kunstprojekten beteiligt. O’Connor betont, dass solche Projekte dabei helfen, während der in der Region häufigen Dürre- oder Überschwemmungszeiten die Moral zu verbessern. Während einer besonders gravierenden Dürreperiode wurde ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt initiiert, das Die Spitznamen-Ruhmeshalle von Coonamble [The Coonamble Nick-Name Hall of Fame] hieß. Im Rahmen des Projekts wurden Karikaturen gezeichnet und im Ortszentrum ausgehängt, auf denen lokale Legenden, Hallodris und Schlitzohren abgebildet waren, die die Herkunft ihrer Spitznamen verrieten.

Positiver Wandel durch gütergetriebene Gemeinschaftsinitiativen

Dieser Variante kollektiven Ausdrucks greift auf eine Form von Kommunalentwicklung zurück, die auf den gemeinschaftlichen Gütern des jeweiligen Ortes basiert. Dahinter steht die Idee, dass sich positiver Wandel innerhalb einer Gemeinschaft am besten dadurch inspirieren lässt, dass man sich auf die Stärken der jeweiligen Umgebung konzentriert; nicht auf das, was fehlt. Die Stärken von Coonamble, erklärt O’Connor, liegen in seinen Menschen: ihrem generationenübergreifenden Sinn für Gemeinschaft und Geselligkeit ebenso wie für Humor, der ihnen dabei hilft, schwierige Zeiten durchzustehen. Dieser Aspekt ist es, den sie hervorheben und mit der Öffentlichkeit teilen möchten.

Indigene Wandmalerei im Ortszentrum. Indigene Wandmalerei im Ortszentrum. | © Gina Robilliard Rosakakadus wurden von Murray bewusst als Sinnbild für die Stärken der hiesigen Gemeinschaft ausgewählt. Diese einheimischen Vögel sind sehr sozial und sitzen oft in großen Gruppen in Bäumen und Stromleitungen, wo man sie beim Tschilpen und ‚Plauschen‘ hören kann, wenn abends der Ort zur Ruhe kommt. Sie weisen zudem enge gruppeninterne Bindungen auf und versuchen häufig, von Autos überfahrene Artgenossen wiederzubeleben.
 
Demokratischer Kunst kommt in Gemeinschaften auf der ganzen Welt eine wichtige Rolle zu. Sie dokumentiert und verstärkt kollektive Identitäten, macht neue Generationen mit ihrem Erbe bekannt und bringt sie mit Ausdrucksformen in Berührung, zu denen sie sonst womöglich keinen Zugang gehabt hätten. Auch wenn die Menschheit auf eine lange Tradition des Beschreibens und Bemalens von Wänden zurückblickt, wurde das Konzept politisierter öffentlicher Wandmalerei in seiner aktuellen Form durch den mexikanischen Maler Diego Rivera popularisiert. Seine Arbeit mit der mexikanischen Bevölkerung zielte darauf ab, während einer Periode der Armut und des Verlusts ihres indigenen Erbes die Moral zu heben. Die politisierten Wandmalereien in den Straßen Mexikos thematisierten Benachteiligung sowie Kulturgeschichte und Gemeinschaftswerte der präkolumbianischen Ära der Nation. Sie hatten letzten Endes den Effekt, die nationale Identität zu stärken, wiederzubeleben und zu untermauern.

Der Kampf des Menschen gegen die Wüste – eine symbiotische Geschichte

Zwei Stunden nördlich von Coonamble liegt die Opalminen-Stadt Lightning Ridge, in der sich weitere Beispiele von Kommunalentwicklung durch öffentliche Kunst finden lassen – am auffälligsten in Form eines 18 Meter hohen Emus, der aus Altmetall und alten VW-Käfern konstruiert wurde. Die Struktur wurde 2013 auf den Namen Stanley getauft und befindet sich ein paar Kilometer außerhalb des Ortes am Highway. Vorwiegend von Murray konzipiert, war Stanleys Konstruktion eine Gemeinschaftsleistung des ganzen Ortes, für die das Material entweder gefunden oder gespendet wurde. Die Wahl eines riesigen Emus aus alten Autos geht trotz ihrer Exzentrizität und ihres Humors über rein ästhetische Aspekte hinaus. Der Emu ist aufgrund der wichtigen Rolle, die männliche Emus bei der Aufzucht ihrer Jungen spielen, ein Totem der dortigen Aborigines. Bei Stanleys offizieller Einweihung führten die Kinder aus der Region einen traditionellen indigenen Emu-Tanz auf. Murray verwendet in seinen Arbeiten häufig ausrangierte Autos, um die Geschichte des industrialisierten ländlichen Australien zu vermitteln. „Es geht um das menschlichen Streben, den Menschen, der versucht, diese ungeheure Weite zu bezwingen, die das Innere Australiens ausmacht“, erklärt Murray.

Stanley der Emu befindet sich zehn Kilometer außerhalb von Lightning Ridge. Stanley der Emu befindet sich zehn Kilometer außerhalb von Lightning Ridge. | © Gina Robilliard Seit der Einweihung von Stanley dem Emu sind den Highway entlang zahlreiche kleinere Strukturen aufgetaucht, die von einzelnen Hofbesitzern als Teil einer Initiative der Gemeindeverwaltung errichtet wurden. Ahmed ‚Al‘ Karanouh, Mitglied des Gemeinderats von Coonamble, ist nun bestrebt, die Outdoor-Wandmalereisammlung des Ortes um ein Werk von Murray zu erweitern, auf dem seine ikonischen Emus in die Farben der lokalen Sportteams gekleidet sind. Auch wenn das Prinzip des Selbsterhalts durch Kunst so alt wie die Menschheit ist, entwickeln und erneuern sich die jeweils einzigartigen Ausdrucksformen individueller Identität als Antwort auf das Profil der jeweiligen Bevölkerung stetig weiter.