CLILiG with a STEM Focus

The Goethe-Institut Australien supports primary and secondary schools’ CLIL projects with a STEM focus.

These projects were supported 2017:

Coding German Games with Scratch Tinana State School (QLD)

Tinana State School (QLD)
Coding German Games with Scratch

Year 6 students designed and programed a German game using Scratch. Teams of enthusiastic students created maze games, a caring for animals game, a German quiz, a cooking game, a conversational game and a fashion dress up game.
 

Wet n Wild Wetlands World Photo: Carrum Primary School

Carrum Primary School (VIC)
Wet ‘n’ Wild Wetlands World

Using a range of digital equipment and technology Year 5 and 6 students investigated the diverse flora and fauna which inhabit the school wetlands. They created videos in the style of David Attenborough’s documentaries, developing and showcasing their German language skills.

Energy and Environment © Colourbox

Victorian School of Languages (VIC)
Energy and Environment

In this CLIL unit Year 8 students explored how countries like Australia and Germany create electricity. They investigated the consequences of our energy consumption for the earth, learned about the development of renewable energies and analysed ways to save energy.

German Board Games © Colourbox

Box Hill High School (VIC)
‘Spiel mit!’ German Board Games

‘Spiel mit!’ – an elective course for Year 9 students – combines German with game theory. Students play games while developing mathematic, logic and strategy skills, as well as German language skills.

Coding in the German Classroom Photo: Melisa Savickas

Baldivis Primary School (WA)
Coding in the German Classroom

Baldivis Primary school developed a series of coding units using Blue-Bots®. A number of classroom mats created by the teacher and the students served as the starting point for a broad range of topics for their German lessons.

From Forest to Garden © Colourbox

Baldivis Gardens Primary School (WA)
From Forest to Garden

Baldivis Gardens Primary School was built on land that was originally forest and in time became a market garden. Connected to this process the school has created an integrated learning approach which includes Science, Humanities, Languages and Literacy. German is included in the whole program and is taught by all the teachers.

CLILiG mit Fokus auf MINT

The Goethe-Institut Australien fördert Schulen bei CLIL-Projekten mit Fokus auf MINT.

2017 wurden folgende Projekte unterstützt:

Deutsche online Spiele mit Scratch Tinana State School (QLD)

Tinana State School (QLD)
Deutsche online Spiele mit Scratch

Schülerinnen und Schüler der 6. Klasse gestalteten und programmierten deutschsprachige Onlinespiele mit Scratch. Entstanden sind ein Labyrinthspiel, ein Quiz und Konversationsspiel zum Deutschlernen sowie Spiele zu den Themen Tierpflege, Mode und Kochen.

Artenvielfalt in Feuchtbiotopen Foto: Carrum Primary School

Carrum Primary School (VIC)
Artenvielfalt in Feuchtbiotopen

Schülerinnen und Schüler der 5. und 6. Klasse untersuchten die Flora und Fauna eines Feuchtbiotops mit Hilfe von digitalen Geräten. Sie präsentierten ihre Entdeckungen in kurzen Filmen im Stil von David Attenboroughs Dokumentarfilmen und stellten dabei ihre neu erlernten Deutschkompetenzen unter Beweis.

Energie und Umwelt © Colourbox

Victorian School of Languages (VIC)
Energie und Umwelt

Schülerinnen und Schüler der 8. Klasse lernten in dieser CLIL Einheit, wie Energie in Deutschland und Australien produziert wird. Sie untersuchten, welche Folgen unser Energiekonsum hat, was erneuerbare Energien sind und wie wir Energie sparen können.

Brettspiele auf Deutsch © Colourbox

Box Hill High School (VIC)
‘Spiel mit!’ Brettspiele auf Deutsch

‘Spiel mit!’ – ein Wahlfach für die 9. Klasse – kombiniert Deutsch mit Spieltheorie. Beim Spielen üben die Schülerinnen und Schüler logisches und strategisches Denken, Mathematik und Deutsch.

Programmieren im Deutschunterricht Photo: Melisa Savickas

Baldivis Primary School (WA)
Programmieren im Deutschunterricht

Im Vordergrund dieses CLIL Projekts stand das Programmieren mit Blue-Bots®. Durch die von Lehrpersonen und Schülern entwickelten Unterrichtsmatten konnten zahlreiche Themen in den Deutschunterricht integriert werden.

Vom Wald zum Garten © Colourbox

Baldivis Gardens Primary School (WA)
Vom Wald zum Garten

Baldivis Gardens Primary School wurde auf einem Grundstück gebaut, auf dem früher ein Wald war. Daraus entstand eine Gärtnerei. Dieser Wandel bildet die Grundlage eines fächerübergreifenden Programms, das Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften, Lese- und Schreibkompetenz sowie Sprachen verbindet. Deutsch ist im ganzen Programm eingebettet und wird von allen Lehrpersonen unterrichtet.