Concepts and Materials
German for children

Australische Schüler © Goethe-Institut Australien

Learning German in Primary Schools in Australia

This short informative film, developed by the Goethe-Institut Australien, showcases the advantages of learning German at primary school age.

Flyer ©Goethe-Institut Australien

Why German in Primary School?

The "Information for Principals" brochure outlines the key reasons why German is an excellent choice for primary schools and introduces the ready-to-use teaching materials German with Felix and Franzi

Kinderuni ©Goethe-Institut

Kinder university

The digital Kinder University is an innovative educational project for children aged 8-12. A key aspect of the Kinder University is its online platform which is accessible to everyone free of charge.

Kinderuni Live © Asya Finn/Goethe-Institut

Kinderuni Live

On the 20th of November 2019, the University of Melbourne opens its doors to local kids. Primary school students, teachers and parents are invited to experience an event packed with science. For one day, kids will step into the shoes of university students, taking part in workshops and lectures and conducting fun experiments with real researchers.

Felix und Franzi ©Goethe-Institut Australien

German with Felix und Franzi

Felix and Franzi are now traveling around Australia! Teachers can register their school as a destination for Felix and Franzi and showcase the adventures of Felix and Franzi at their school. Students can also learn what Felix and Franzi experience at other schools.

Blue-Bot © Melisa Savickas

Coding with Blue-Bot

Blue-Bot® is a small robot that can be programmed using a tablet or with the arrows on the robot itself. Through this coding game students adopt new skills in Digital Technologies and learn German at the same time. Additionally, with the Goethe-Institut’s classroom mats other learning areas can be integrated into the German lessons.

Vom Bohnensamen zur Bohnenpflanze iStock/BogWan

My Bean plant: The lifecycle of a plant

This CLIL unit combines German and biology lessons and is suitable for students in years 3 & 4. In just 7 lessons, the children learn how to grow a bean plant. They observe the germination process and learn to describe this process in German.

Deutsch mit Socke © WDR/ SWR

Deutsch mit Socke

Deutsch mit Socke is a WDR film series, that helps children between five and eight make their first steps into German. This webpage is available in German only.

Karla und Kai © Goethe-Institut London

German with Karla and Kai

Engaging and imaginative new lesson plans for the third year of German at primary school level. We also offer free downloadable materials.

Cover DLL8 © Goethe-Institut

DLL 8: DaF für Kinder

Unit 8 of the "Deutsch Lehren Lernen" series addresses the topic "DaF für Kinder" and focuses on language acquisition in children, developmental and psychological aspects of early learning, acquisition of competencies as well as principals and methods of teaching children. DLL 8 will be available soon in the Goethe-Institut Resource Centres throughout Australia.

Frühes Fremdsprachenlernen mit CLIL Ansatz © Goethe-Institut

Early Language Learning with the CLIL method

The brochure (in German) introduces the most important methods of Content and Language Integrated Learning. It includes a range of practical modules which illustrate how children in kindergarten can learn German while conducting experiments.

Nürnberger Empfehlungen © Goethe-Institut

Nuremberg Recommendations on Early Language Learning

This revised edition of the Nuremberg Recommendations for Early Language Learning describes the complex conditions of early language learning in a way that clarifies the potential and the needs of a 4 – 10 year old child within the learning process.

Learn German With Songs Cover © Goethe-Institut London

Learn German with Songs

This songbook by Martina Schwarz provides you with many ideas for the use of music in class. Available at the Resource Centre at the Goethe-Institut in Melbourne.

Schneewittchen © Goethe-Institut

Fairy Tales on DVD

If you and your class would like to watch Grimm’s Fairy Tales on DVD you can borrow them now at our Resource Centre at the Goethe-Institut in Melbourne and Sydney, in Canberra and in Brisbane.

Filme im Unterricht © Goethe-Institut Australien

Films for German Classes

The use of film can make lessons more exciting and engaging for students. Films can provide the impetus for authentic regional and cultural studies as well as extra motivation to study German. You can borrow films for use in your German lessons from our film archive any time. The films are in German with German or English subtitles.

Konzepte und Materialien
Deutsch für Kinder

Australische Schüler © Goethe-Institut Australien

Deutschlernen an Primarschulen in Australien

Dieser kurze Informationsfilm, der vom Goethe-Institut Australien entwickelt wurde, präsentiert die Vorteile des Deutschlernens im Primarbereich.

Kinderuni ©Goethe-Institut

Kinderuni

Die digitale Kinderuniversität ist ein innovatives Bildungsprojekt des Goethe-Instituts für Kinder im Alter von 8 bis 12 Jahren. Die zentrale Komponente der Kinderuniversität ist eine Online-Plattform. Sie ist allen Kindern, Lehrpersonen und Eltern kostenlos zugänglich.

Blue-Bot © Melisa Savickas

Programmieren mit Blue-Bot

Der Blue-Bot® ist ein kleiner Roboter, der sich mit Hilfe von Knöpfen oder per Tablet programmieren lässt. Er bietet einen einfachen Zugang zu den Themen Robotik, Programmieren und Technologie und nimmt Bezug auf den Lernbereich digitale Technologien im Australischen Curriculum.

Felix und Franzi ©Goethe-Institut Australien

Deutsch mit Felix und Franzi

Felix und Franzi sind jetzt in Australien unterwegs! Lehrkräfte können ihre Schule als Reiseziel für Felix und Franzi anmelden und zeigen, welche Abenteuer die beiden dort erleben. Schulklassen können somit auch erfahren, was Felix und Franzi an anderen Schulen erleben.

Karla und Kai © Goethe-Institut London

Deutsch mit Karla und Kai

Neues Unterrichtsmaterial für das dritte Jahr mit Deutsch an Grundschulen. Die Materialien stehen als kostenloser Download zur Verfügung.

Information for Principals © Goethe-Institut Australien

Warum Deutsch in der Grundschule?

Die Broschüre "Information for Principals" gibt einen Überblick über die Hauptgründe, warum Deutsch lernen im Primarbereich in Australien eine gute Wahl ist und stellt die gebrauchsfertigen Unterrichtsmaterialien Deutsch mit Felix und Franzi vor.

Vom Bohnensamen zur Bohnenpflanze iStock/BogWan

Meine Bohnenpflanze

Dieses CLIL Modul verknüpft Deutsch- und Biologieunterricht und eignet sich für die 3. und 4. Klasse. In 7 Lektionen lernen die Kinder, selber eine Bohnenpflanze zu züchten. Sie beobachten dabei den Keimungsprozess und lernen diesen Prozess auf Deutsch zu beschreiben.

Deutsch mit Socke © WDR/ SWR

Deutsch mit Socke

Deutsch mit Socke ist eine Filmreihe des WDR, mit dem Kinder zwischen fünf und acht Jahren ihre ersten Schritte in der deutschen Sprache machen.

Learn German With Songs Cover © Goethe-Institut London

Learn German with Songs

Dieses Liederbuch von Martina Schwarz bietet viele Möglichkeiten für den Einsatz von Musik im Deutschunterricht. Erhältlich im Lehrmittelzentrum im Goethe-Institut in Melbourne.

Cover DLL8 © Goethe-Institut

DLL 8: DaF für Kinder

Einheit 8 der Fortbildungsreihe "Deutsch Lehren Lernen" richtet sich an das Thema "DaF für Kinder" und konzentriert sich hierbei auf Spracherwerbsprozesse bei Kindern, entwicklungspsychologische Aspekte des frühen Lernens, Kompetenzerwerb sowie methodisch-didaktische Aspekte des Unterrichtens von Kindern. DLL 8 wird demnächst in den Goethe-Institut Lehrmittelzentren in Australien erhältlich sein.

Frühes Fremdsprachenlernen mit CLIL Ansatz © Goethe-Institut

Frühes Fremdsprachenlernen mit CLIL-Ansatz

Die Broschüre führt in die wichtigsten Methoden des Sachfachlernens ein und enthält viele praktische Module, die veranschaulichen, wie im Kindergarten an Hand von Experimenten – nebenbei auch Deutsch als Fremdsprache – gelernt werden kann.

Nürnberger Empfehlungen © Goethe-Institut

Nürnberger Empfehlungen zum frühen Fremdsprachenlernen

Die vorliegende Neubearbeitung der Nürnberger Empfehlungen zum Frühen Fremdsprachenlernen beschreibt das komplexe Bedingungsgefüge des frühen Fremdsprachenlernens aus aktueller Sicht so, dass die Potenziale und Bedürfnisse eines vier- bis zehnjährigen lernenden Kindes deutlich werden.

Schneewittchen © Goethe-Institut

Märchen auf DVD

Wenn auch Sie mit Ihren Schülerinnen und Schülern im Unterricht die Grimms Märchen auf DVD anschauen möchten, können Sie ab sofort in den Lehrmittelzentren am Goethe-Institut in Melbourne und Sydney, in Canberra und in Brisbane zehn verschiedene Märchenfilme ausleihen.

Filme im Unterricht © Goethe-Institut Australien

Spielfilme für den Deutschunterricht

Filme machen den Deutschunterricht lebendig, geben neue Impulse für eine authentische Landeskunde und Motivation zum Lernen. Sie können jederzeit Filme für den Deutschunterricht aus unserem Filmarchiv ausleihen. Die Filme sind auf Deutsch mit englischen oder deutschen Untertiteln.