Contact and Enrolment

Learners Photo: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias

Contact and Enrolment

Interested in one of our language courses or need further information? Feel free to drop in to our language course office for some personal advice.

Enrolment in-person:
Monday-Thursday 9am–5pm
Friday 9am-3pm
If you would like sign up for one of our courses online, please use our course finder and the registration button behind the course.
If you have previously studied German and are not sure which course to enrol in, our placement test will enable us to place you in the appropriate course for your level. Please contact the Language Department to request the placement test and we will send it to you right away. Simply fill out the placement test and send it back to the Goethe-Institut Australien in Melbourne by email, mail or fax.
1. General Requirements
Course participants must be at least 18 years of age. Different conditions apply for children's and teen courses.

2. Terms of Payment
2.1. If full payment is not received by the due date, the participant loses the right to participate. In such cases, the Goethe-Institut (referred to hereinafter as "GI") retains its entitlement to the course fee.

3. Fees
3.1. The contractually binding fee is the fee stated in the price list current at the time of application.

4. Cancellation and refunds
4.1 The following conditions apply if the course participant is unable to take part in the course:
In case of cancellation up to five working days prior to the start of the course, an administrative fee equal to AU$ 50 of the course fee will be charged. In case of cancellation or withdrawal after course commencement, no refund or credit note for future courses can be issued, regardless of whether or not the student has begun attending the course.

4.2 Cancellations must be submitted in writing. The date of cancellation shall be the date of receipt at the Goethe-Institut.

5. Course level assignment/class size
5.1. Placement in course levels is based on the placement test conducted at the Goethe-Institut. 

5.2. Our courses have at least 7 and at most 16 participants. If enrolments are insufficient on the starting date, we shorten the teaching times. The 10-week courses will be reduced as follows:
6 course participants: course is reduced by 4 TU
5 course participants: course is reduced by 8 TU

The Superintensive Courses will be reduced as follows:
6 course participants: course is reduced by 3,5 TU
5 course participants: course is reduced by 7 TU

The VCE High School Courses will be reduced as follows:
6 course participants: course is reduced by 2 TU
5 course participants: course is reduced by 4 TU

The Intensive Courses will be reduced as follows:
6 course participants: course is reduced by 4 TU
5 course participants: course is reduced by 8 TU

Classes with less than 5 course participants will only run after discussion with prospective students. The smaller class size provides more personal attention and therefore students will progress through the course material at a faster rate. The course fee remains the same for smaller classes. 

5.3. If enrolments are insufficient on the starting date, we reserve the right to cancel or postpone the course. In this case we will offer the participants the opportunity to move to another course or to receive a full refund of the course fee. We regret that we can only conduct courses that have the minimum number of participants by the end of the enrolment period. To avoid cancellations of courses that would have taken place if participants had enrolled in time, we advise students in their own interests to register before the deadline.

6. Course Transfers
6.1 Transfers into another level will only be considered in the first week of course commencement, after discussion with the course-coordinator.

7. Public Holidays
7.1 No classes are held on public holidays in Victoria. Replacement sessions will be added on at the end of the course.

8. Responsibilities of participants
8.1 Participants are obliged to comply with the course rules and house rules applicable to the Goethe-Institut.

9. Liability of the Goethe-Institut
9.1 The liability of the Goethe-Institut and its staff is limited to intent and gross negligence. The Goethe-Institute also accepts no liability for the cancellation of its services due to force majeure (e.g. natural disasters, fire, floods, war, official orders and all other circumstances beyond the control of the contractual parties).
Course fee must be paid in full before commencement of the course. We accept:
  • Credit card (Mastercard or Visa)
  • EFTPOS
  • Cheque (payable to Goethe-Institut)
  • Cash
Applications for withdrawals from a course must be received in writing up to 5 days before the start of the course. The Goethe-Institut will withhold $50 of the course fee. No cancellation will be allowed after course commencement. It is not possible to confer a course or a part of a course to a third party or the next term.

Frequently asked questions: German courses

Our course system is based on the six levels defined in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. This means that the language skills you acquire in our courses can be measured objectively and are internationally comparable. 

For further information click here: https://www.goethe.de/ins/au/en/spr/kon/stu.html
Learning is an individual process. How much time you need to attain a certain level depends on various and individual factors: your commitment, your time input, and your taking advantage of additional practice resources.
 
Should you already have studied one or more languages, you may learn German faster. It makes a big difference if you participate in a language course in your home country or in Germany, where you will be exposed to the German language outside the classroom.
 
Also of relevance is the intensity of the instruction (intensive vs. evening courses, for example). Please consult the testing location of your choice and request a personal consultation.
Course and exam fees must be paid in full before commencement of the course. We accept:

Paypal (Sydney and online courses only)
Credit card (Mastercard or Visa)
EFTPOS
Bank Transfer
Cheque (payable to Goethe-Institut)
Cash
Acknowledgements stating participation in a language course, an evaluation test, an exam, etc., are not sufficient.
 
Only an exam certificate of having passed a Goethe exam (A1 through C2, Kleines or Großes Sprachdiplom, respectively) are recognized as proof of the respective knowledge level in German as a Second Language.

Kontakt und Einschreibung

Kursteilnehmer Foto: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias

Kontakt und Einschreibung

Sie haben Interesse an einem unserer Deutschkurse oder brauchen noch weitere Informationen? Gerne können Sie im Sprachkursbüro vorbeikommen und sich dort persönlich beraten lassen.

Persönliche Einschreibung:
Montag – Donnerstag 09.00 – 17.00 Uhr
Freitag 09.00 - 15.00 Uhr
Wenn Sie sich für einen unserer Kurse online einschreiben möchten, nutzen Sie bitte unseren Kursfinder und den Anmeldeknopf hinter dem Kurs.
Durch einen Einstufungstest und ein Gespräch finden wir heraus, welche Vorkenntnisse Sie haben, legen gemeinsam mit Ihnen ein Lernziel fest und wählen mit Ihnen einen geeigneten Kurs aus. Fragen Sie im Sprachkursbüro nach dem Einstufungstest und wir senden ihn Ihnen umgehend per Email zu. Bitte fülllen Sie den Einstufungstest aus und senden ihn per Email, Post oder Fax zurück an das Goethe-Institut Australien, Melbourne.
1. Allgemeine Teilnahmevoraussetzung
Der Kursteilnehmer muss mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein. Für Kinder- und Jugendkurse gelten besondere Teilnahmebedingungen.

2. Zahlungsbedingungen
2.1. Geht die Zahlung der gesamten Kursgebühr nicht rechtzeitig ein, verliert der Teilnehmer seinen Anspruch auf Teilnahme am Kurs. Das Goethe-lnstitut (im Folgenden: GI) behält in diesem Fall den Anspruch auf Zahlung der Kursgebühr.

3. Preise
3.1. Die zum Zeitpunkt der Anmeldung gültigen Preise im jeweils aktuellen Kursprospekt des Goethe-Instituts sind Vertragsbestandteil.

4. Rücktritt
4.1 Kann der Kursteilnehmer nicht am Kurs teilnehmen, so gelten folgende Rücktrittsbedingungen:
Bei Rücktritt bis 5 Arbeitstage vor Kursbeginn werden AU$ 50 Kursgebühr einbehalten.
Nach Kursbeginn ist weder eine Rückerstattung der Kursgebühr noch das Ausstellen eines Gutscheins möglich, unabhängig davon, ob Sie den Kurs bereits besucht haben.

4.2 Die Rücktrittserklärung muss schriftlich eingereicht werden. Maßgeblich für die Fristwahrung ist der Zugang beim Goethe-Institut.

5. Kurseinteilung/Klassengröße
5.1. Die Zuweisung zu einer Kursstufe erfolgt aufgrund des Einstufungstests im Institut.

5.2. Unsere Klassen haben mindestens 7 und höchstens 16 Teilnehmer. Falls die Mindestteilnehmerzahl für eine Klasse nicht erreicht wird, reduzieren wir die Unterrichtszeit bei den 10 wöchigen Kursen folgendermaßen:
6 Teilnehmer: Kurs ist um 4 UE verkürzt
5 Teilnehmer: Kurs ist um 8 UE verkürzt

Die Superintensivkurse verkürzen sich folgendermaßen:
6 Teilnehmer: Kurs wird um 3,5 UE verkürzt
5 Teilnehmer: Kurs wird um 7 UE verkürzt

Die VCE Jugendkurse werden wie folgt gekürzt:
6 Teilnehmer: Kurs wird um 2 UE verkürzt
5 Teilnehmer: Kurs wird um 4 UE verkürzt

Die Intensivkurse werden wie folgt gekürzt:
6 Teilnehmer: Kurs wird um 4 UE verkürzt
5 Teilnehmer: Kurs wird um 8 UE verkürzt

Klassen mit weniger als 5 Teilnehmern finden erst nach Absprache mit den Teilnehmern statt. Die kleinere Klassengröße ermöglicht es dem Lehrer, intensiver auf die Kursteilnehmer einzugehen. Der Unterrichtsstoff kann somit schneller durchgearbeitet werden. Die Kursgebühr verändert sich bei geringerer Teilnehmerzahl nicht.

5.3. Sollte bei Kursbeginn eine zu geringe Teilnehmerzahl vorliegen, behalten wir uns das Recht vor, diesen Kurs zu annullieren oder zu verschieben. In diesem Fall bieten wir den Teilnehmern die Möglichkeit, in einen anderen Kurs zu wechseln oder die gesamte Kursgebühr zurückzuerhalten. Leider können nur Kurse durchgeführt werden, die vor Kursbeginn die Mindestteilnehmerzahl aufweisen. Um zu verhindern, dass ein Kurs abgesagt werden muss, der bei rechtzeitiger Anmeldung von Interessenten zustande gekommen wäre, bitten wir Sie auch in Ihrem eigenen Interesse, sich rechtzeitig vor Kursbeginn anzumelden.

6. Kurswechsel
6.1 Kurswechsel in eine andere Klasse ist nur in der ersten Kurswoche in Absprache und mit Zustimmung des Sprachkursbüros möglich.

7. Feiertagsregelung
7.1 An Feiertagen in Victoria findet kein Unterricht statt. Der ausgefallene Unterricht wird am Ende des Kurses nachgeholt.

8. Pflichten des Kursteilnehmers/der Kursteilnehmerin
8.1 Der/die Kursteilnehmer/in ist verpflichtet, die am Institut geltende Kurs- und Hausordnung einzuhalten.

9. Haftung des Goethe-Instituts/Höhere Gewalt
9.1 Die Haftung des GI und seiner Mitarebiter ist auf den Vorsatz und grobe Fahrlässigkeit beschränkt. Das GI haftet auch nicht für den Ausfall seiner Leistungen aufgrund höhere Gewalt (z.B. Naturkatastrophen, Feuer, Überschwemmungen, Krieg, behördliche Anordnungen und alle anderen Umstände, die außerhalb der Kontrolle der Vertragsparteien stehen.)
Zahlungsmöglichkeiten:
  • Bargeld
  • Scheck
  • Kreditkarte (VISA & Mastercard)
  • EFTPOS
Bitte stellen Sie den Scheck auf das Goethe-Institut aus.
Die Kursgebühr wird zurückerstattet, wenn der Kurs vom Goethe-Institut storniert wird. Der Rücktritt aus einem Kurs kann nur in schriftlicher Form bis 5 Tage vor Beginn des Kurses berücksichtigt werden. In diesem Fall fällt eine Bearbeitungsgebühr von $50 an. Übertragungen des Kurses in den nächsten Term sowie der Wechsel in ein anderes Kursniveau sind nicht gestattet. Übertragungen von Kursen auf dritte Personen ist nicht möglich. 

Oft gestellte Fragen zu den Deutschkursen

Unsere Deutschkurse orientieren sich an den sechs Niveaustufen des Gemeinsamen europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen. Damit sind Sprachkenntnisse, die Sie in unseren Kursen erwerben, objektiv messbar und international vergleichbar.

Ausführliche Informationen zu den einzelnen Niveaustufen finden Sie hier: https://www.goethe.de/ins/au/de/spr/kon/stu.html
Lernen ist ein individueller Prozess. Wie viel Zeit Sie persönlich benötigen, um eine Niveaustufe zu erreichen, hängt von verschiedenen, auch individuellen Faktoren ab: von Engagement, Zeiteinsatz und Nutzung zusätzlicher Übungsangebote.

Wenn Sie schon eine oder mehrere Sprachen gelernt haben, lernen Sie Deutsch meist schneller. Es spielt eine große Rolle, ob Sie an einem Sprachkurs in Ihrem Heimatland oder in Deutschland teilnehmen, wo Sie auch außerhalb des Unterrichts Deutsch hören und sprechen können.

Für den Lernprozess ist die Intensität des Unterrichts (Intensiv- oder Abendkurs o.Ä.) ebenfalls wichtig. Bitte wenden Sie sich hierfür an das Prüfungszentrum Ihrer Wahl und lassen sich persönlich beraten.
Die Zahlung der Gebühr muss vor Beginn des Kurses erfolgen. Wir akzeptieren:
 
Paypal (nur für Sydney und Online Kurse)
Kreditkarte (Mastercard oder Visa)
EFTPOS
Banküberweisung
Scheck
Bargeld
Bestätigungen, die lediglich die Teilnahme an einem Sprachkurs, an einem Einstufungstest, an einer Prüfung oder Ähnlichem bescheinigen, genügen nicht.

Nur ein Prüfungszeugnis über eine bestandene Prüfung Goethe-Zertifikat A1 bis C2 beziehungsweise über das Kleine oder Große Deutsche Sprachdiplom gilt weltweit als anerkannter Nachweis über die entsprechenden Kenntnisse in Deutsch als Fremdsprache.