Contact and Enrolment

Learners Photo: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias

Contact and Enrolment

Interested in one of our language courses or need further information? Feel free to drop in to our language course office for some personal advice.

Enrolment in-person:
Monday-Thursday 9am–5pm
Friday 9am-3pm
A levels test and/or a short interview will help select the most appropriate level for you, taking into account both prior learning and future plans and goals. This assessment is free of charge and can be arranged to suit you.
Alternatively you can take the test online. Please send an email to learngerman@sydney.goethe.org to get your access code.
Maximum time to allow: 90 minutes

If you would like to find out your level just for yourself first, you can use this test page
1. General Requirements
1.1
Course participants must be at least 18 years of age (excemption: HSC students).
1.2 New students, other than those enrolled for A1.1, are advised to complete the placement test and to include it with your registration document. This will enable us to place you in the appropriate course for your level. and we will advise you of this by telephone or email. 

2. Terms of Payment
2.1. Enrolments are accepted by mail or in person - on a first come, first serve basis. Course fees must be paid in full before commencement of the course. A receipt will be forwarded, confirming acceptance into a course.
2.2. If full payment is not received by the due date, the participant loses the right to participate. In such cases, the Goethe-Institut (referred to hereinafter as "GI") retains its entitlement to the course fee.
2.3. We accept cheques, money orders, credit cards (Visa, MasterCard, Bankcard) and cash. Please make your cheque payable to: Goethe-Institut Sydney. The course fees include 10% GST.

3. Course fees
3.1. The contractually binding fee is the fee stated in the price list current at the time of application.
3.2. Should a participant wish to change his or her booking (change course dates), then the first such change is free of charge. Each additional booking change is subject to a fee equal to 10% of the course fee.

4. Cancellation and refunds
Please choose carefully, no refunds are given unless a course is cancelled due to low enrolment numbers.

5. Course level assignment / class size
5.1. Placement in course levels is based on the placement test conducted at the Goethe-Institut.
5.2. Our courses have at least 8 and at most 18 participants. If enrolments are insufficient on the starting date, we reserve the right to cancel or re-arrange the course. In case of cancellation e we will offer the participants the opportunity to move to another course or to receive a full refund of the course fee. We regret that we can only conduct courses that have the minimum number of participants by the end of the enrolment period. To avoid cancellations of courses that would have taken place if participants had enrolled in time, we advise students in their own interests to register before the deadline. In certain circumstances, for classes with less than 8 participants, the course fee remains the same but the number of classes may be reduced as the smaller class siye provides more personal attention and therefore students will progress through the course at a faster rate (7 = 9 weeks / 6 = 8 weeks).

6. Responsibilities of participants
Participants are obliged to comply with the course rules and house rules applicable to the Goethe-Institut.

7. Liability of the Goethe-Institut
The liability of GI and its staff is limited to intent and gross negligence. GI also accepts no liability for the cancellation of its services due to force majeur (e.g. natural disasters, fire, floods, war, official orders and all other circumstances beyond the control of the contractual parties). 
The Goethe-Institut reserves the right to cancel or rearrange classes.  
Course fee must be paid in full before commencement of the course. We accept:
  • Paypal
  • Credit card (Mastercard or Visa)
  • EFTPOS
  • Bank Transfer
  • Cheque (payable to Goethe-Institut)
  • Cash
Applications for withdrawals from a course must be received in writing up to 5 days before the start of the course. The Goethe-Institut will withhold $50 of the course fee. No cancellation will be allowed after course commencement. It is not possible to confer a course or a part of a course to a third party or the next term.

Frequently asked questions: German courses

Our course system is based on the six levels defined in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. This means that the language skills you acquire in our courses can be measured objectively and are internationally comparable. 

For further information click here: https://www.goethe.de/ins/au/en/spr/kon/stu.html
Learning is an individual process. How much time you need to attain a certain level depends on various and individual factors: your commitment, your time input, and your taking advantage of additional practice resources.
 
Should you already have studied one or more languages, you may learn German faster. It makes a big difference if you participate in a language course in your home country or in Germany, where you will be exposed to the German language outside the classroom.
 
Also of relevance is the intensity of the instruction (intensive vs. evening courses, for example). Please consult the testing location of your choice and request a personal consultation.
Course and exam fees must be paid in full before commencement of the course. We accept:

Paypal (Sydney and online courses only)
Credit card (Mastercard or Visa)
EFTPOS
Bank Transfer
Cheque (payable to Goethe-Institut)
Cash
Acknowledgements stating participation in a language course, an evaluation test, an exam, etc., are not sufficient.
 
Only an exam certificate of having passed a Goethe exam (A1 through C2, Kleines or Großes Sprachdiplom, respectively) are recognized as proof of the respective knowledge level in German as a Second Language.

Kontakt und Einschreibung

Kursteilnehmer Foto: Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias

Kontakt und Einschreibung

Sie haben Interesse an einem unserer Deutschkurse oder brauchen noch weitere Informationen? Gerne können Sie im Sprachkursbüro vorbeikommen und sich dort persönlich beraten lassen.

Persönliche Einschreibung:
Montag – Donnerstag 09.00 – 17.00 Uhr
Freitag 09.00 - 15.00 Uhr
Durch einen Einstufungstest und/oder ein Gespräch finden wir heraus, welche Vorkenntnisse Sie haben, legen gemeinsam mit Ihnen ein Lernziel fest und wählen mit Ihnen einen geeigneten Kurs aus. Unser Einstufungstest ist kostenlos und kann nach Anmeldung während der Öffnungszeiten des Sprachbüros abgelegt werden.
Alternativ können Sie den Test als Onlineversion direkt von unserem Sprachkursbüro anfordern. Bitte senden Sie dafür eine Email an learngerman@sydney.goethe.org
Testdauer: ca. 90 Minuten

Wenn Sie Ihr Deutsch für sich testen wollen, nutzen Sie diese Einstufungsseite
1. Allgemeine Teilnahmevoraussetzung
1.1 Der Kursteilnehmer muss mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein (Ausnahme: Schülerkurse).
1.2 Neue Studenten, außer Anmeldungen für die Stufe A1.1, werden gebeten, einen detaillierten Einstufungstest des Goethe-Instituts Sydney auszufüllen und diesen mit der Anmeldung einzureichen. Sie werden dann per Telefon oder E-Mail über Ihr Sprachniveau informiert.

2. Zahlungsbedingungen
2.1. Anmeldungen können per Post, E-Mail oder persönlich erfolgen. Nach der Anmeldung wird dem Kursteilnehmer die Reservierung mitgeteilt. In dieser Mitteilung wird ein Termin angegeben, bis zu dem die Zahlung der Kursgebühr zu leisten ist. Kursplätze werden in der Reihenfolge des Zahlungseingangs vergeben. Nach Erhalt der Zahlung wird dem Kursteilnehmer eine Quittung zugesandt, mit der gleichzeitig der Kursplatz bestätigt wird.
2.2. Geht die Zahlung der gesamten Kursgebühr nicht rechtzeitig ein, verliert der Teilnehmer seinen Anspruch auf Teilnahme am Kurs. Das Goethe-lnstitut (im Folgenden: GI) behält in diesem Fall den Anspruch auf Zahlung der Kursgebühr.
2.3. Wir akzeptieren Schecks, Überweisungen, Kreditkarten (VISA, Master Card, Bankcard) und Bargeld. Die Kursgebühren schließen 10% GST ein.

3. Preise
3.1. Die zum Zeitpunkt der Anmeldung gültigen Preise im jeweils aktuellen Kursprospekt des Goethe-Institut sind Vertragsbestandteil.
3.2. Wird von dem Kursteilnehmer eine Umbuchung veranlasst (z. B. Änderung des Kurstermins oder Kurswechsel), so ist die erste Umbuchung kostenfrei. Für jede weitere Umbuchung wird ein Kostenbeitrag in Höhe von 10 % der Kursgebühr fällig.

4. Rücktritt
Nach Kursbeginn ist weder eine Rückerstattung der Kursgebühr noch das Ausstellen eines Gutscheins möglich.

5. Kurseinteilung/Klassengröße
5.1. Die Zuweisung zu einer Kursstufe erfolgt aufgrund des Einstufungstests im Institut.
5.2. Unsere Kurse haben mindestens 8 und höchstens 18 Teilnehmer (außer bei Firmen- oder Individualkursen und bei Kleingruppen). Sollte bei Kursbeginn eine zu geringe Teilnehmerzahl vorliegen, behalten wir uns das Recht vor, diesen Kurs zu annullieren oder zu in der Kurslänge zu verändern. Bei Stornierung bieten wir den Teilnehmern die Möglichkeit, in einen anderen Kurs zu wechseln oder die gesamte Kursgebühr zurück zu erhalten. Wird die Mindestteilnehmerzahl nicht erreicht, wird die Kurslänge entsprechend verkürzt (7 = 9 Wochen, 6 = 8 Wochen).

6. Pflichten des Kursteilnehmers/der Kursteilnehmerin
Der/die Kursteilnehmer/in ist verpflichtet, die am Institut geltende Kurs- und Hausordnung einzuhalten.

7. Haftung des Goethe-lnstituts/ Höhere Gewalt
Die Haftung des GI und seiner Mitarbeiter ist auf Vorsatz und grobe Fahrlässigkeit beschränkt. GI haftet auch nicht für den Ausfall seiner Leistungen aufgrund höherer Gewalt (z. B. Naturkatastrophen, Feuer, Überschwemmungen, Krieg, behördliche Anordnungen und alle anderen Umstände, die außerhalb der Kontrolle der Vertragsparteien stehen).
Das Goethe-Institut behält sich vor, jederzeit Änderungen bei Kursdaten und -gebühren vorzunehmen.  
Die Zahlung der Gebühr muß vor Beginn des Kurses erfolgen. Wir akzeptieren:
  • Paypal
  • Kreditkarte (Mastercard oder Visa)
  • EFTPOS
  • Banküberweisung
  • Scheck
  • Bargeld
Die Kursgebühr wird zurückerstattet, wenn der Kurs vom Goethe-Institut storniert wird. Der Rücktritt aus einem Kurs kann nur in schriftlicher Form bis 5 Tage vor Beginn des Kurses berücksichtigt werden. In diesem Fall fällt eine Bearbeitungsgebühr von $50 an. Übertragungen des Kurses in den nächsten Term sowie der Wechsel in ein anderes Kursniveau sind nicht gestattet. Übertragungen von Kursen auf dritte Personen ist nicht möglich. 

Oft gestellte Fragen zu den Deutschkursen

Unsere Deutschkurse orientieren sich an den sechs Niveaustufen des Gemeinsamen europäischen Referenzrahmens für Sprachen. Damit sind Sprachkenntnisse, die Sie in unseren Kursen erwerben, objektiv messbar und international vergleichbar.

Ausführliche Informationen zu den einzelnen Niveaustufen finden Sie hier: https://www.goethe.de/ins/au/de/spr/kon/stu.html
Lernen ist ein individueller Prozess. Wie viel Zeit Sie persönlich benötigen, um eine Niveaustufe zu erreichen, hängt von verschiedenen, auch individuellen Faktoren ab: von Engagement, Zeiteinsatz und Nutzung zusätzlicher Übungsangebote.

Wenn Sie schon eine oder mehrere Sprachen gelernt haben, lernen Sie Deutsch meist schneller. Es spielt eine große Rolle, ob Sie an einem Sprachkurs in Ihrem Heimatland oder in Deutschland teilnehmen, wo Sie auch außerhalb des Unterrichts Deutsch hören und sprechen können.

Für den Lernprozess ist die Intensität des Unterrichts (Intensiv- oder Abendkurs o.Ä.) ebenfalls wichtig. Bitte wenden Sie sich hierfür an das Prüfungszentrum Ihrer Wahl und lassen sich persönlich beraten.
Die Zahlung der Gebühr muss vor Beginn des Kurses erfolgen. Wir akzeptieren:
 
Paypal (nur für Sydney und Online Kurse)
Kreditkarte (Mastercard oder Visa)
EFTPOS
Banküberweisung
Scheck
Bargeld
Bestätigungen, die lediglich die Teilnahme an einem Sprachkurs, an einem Einstufungstest, an einer Prüfung oder Ähnlichem bescheinigen, genügen nicht.

Nur ein Prüfungszeugnis über eine bestandene Prüfung Goethe-Zertifikat A1 bis C2 beziehungsweise über das Kleine oder Große Deutsche Sprachdiplom gilt weltweit als anerkannter Nachweis über die entsprechenden Kenntnisse in Deutsch als Fremdsprache.