Exhibition Fassbinder 1945-1982

Fassbinder Exhibition Goethe-Institut

Fri, 28.10.2016 -
Thu, 15.12.2016

Goethe-Institut Melbourne

Level 1
448 St. Kilda Road
3004 Melbourne

Film Posters & Homages

German film critic Wolfram Schütte once wrote that "with Fassbinder’s death in 1982 the heart of the New German Film stopped beating." Rainer Werner Fassbinder (1945-1982) was undeniably one of the most prolific directors of all time. Over the short span of his career, which lasted only from 1968 to 1982, he directed 44 films. However, his work came to a halt in 1982 when Fassbinder died of a drug overdose at the age of 37.

Created by the Goethe-Institut and the Fassbinder Foundation, the exhibition Fassbinder 1945-1982 shows German Fassbinder film posters and statements from prominent international directors paying homage to the seminal New German Cinema director and his influence on their works.

Born in Bavaria shortly after the end of World War II, Fassbinder spent a lot of time in the cinema, and it was from there that he developed his passion for films. After graduating from high school in 1964, Fassbinder took up many different jobs while studying at drama school. He also tried but failed to get into film school. He was very active, however, in Munich’s underground theatre scene, and it didn’t take him long to jump into the film scene and to finish his debut Love is Colder than Death (1969).

Fassbinder’s œuvre encompassed widely different topics, from harsh social critique or melodramatic love stories to ambitious literary adaptations. One constant was that he remained critical in his portrayal of society and its underdogs. 1978 saw a turning point in Fassbinder’s career when he started working on the first film in his post-war West German trilogy The Marriage of Maria Braun. The depiction of a war widow not only became Fassbinder’s signature film, but also put lead actress Hanna Schygulla to the height of her career.

Film posters:
The Marriage of Maria Braun (Die Ehe der Maria Braun)
Ali: Fear eats the Soul (Angst essen Seele auf)
Veronika Voss (Die Sehnsucht der Veronika Voss)
Lola
Martha
Lili Marleen

Homages by:
Akin, Fatih (Germany/Turkey)
Egoyan, Atom (Canada)
Kaurismäki, Aki (Finland)
Leigh, Mike (Britain)
Ozon, François (France)
Park, Chan-Wook (South Korea)
and others

The Goethe-Institut presents the German Film Fest 2016 in Australia this November, with a fascinating documentary on the life of Fassbinder and a range of retro classics including Fassbinder’s masterpiece Ali: Fear Eats the Soul.

Back

Ausstellung Fassbinder 1945-1982

Fassbinder Exhibition Goethe-Institut

Fr, 28.10.2016 -
Do, 15.12.2016

Goethe-Institut Melbourne

Level 1
448 St. Kilda Road
3004 Melbourne

Filmposter & Hommagen

Der deutsche Filmkritiker Wolfram Schütte schrieb, dass „mit Fassbinders Tod 1982 das Herz des Neuen Deutschen Films aufhörte zu schlagen.“ Rainer Werner Fassbinder (1945-1982) war unbestreitbar einer der produktivsten Filmemacher aller Zeiten. In seiner kurzen Karriere, die nur die Zeit zwischen 1968 und 1982 umspannte, führte er bei 44 Filmen Regie. Jedoch endete Fassbinders Arbeit 1982 abrupt, als er im Alter von nur 37 Jahren an einer Drogenüberdosis verstarb.

Die vom Goethe-Institut und der Rainer Werner Fassbinder Foundation erstellte Ausstellung Fassbinder 1945-1982 zeigt deutsche Fassbinder Poster und Aussagen prominenter internationaler Regisseure, die die Bedeutung, die internationale Relevanz und das Erbe von Fassbinders Arbeit bezeugen.

Kurz nach Ende des zweiten Weltkriegs in Bayern geboren, verbrachte Fassbinder viel Zeit im Kino und entwickelte dadurch seine Leidenschaft für das Medium Film. Nach seinem Schulabschluss 1964 arbeitete Fassbinder in einer ganzen Reihe von Gelegenheitsjobs, während er Schauspiel studierte. Er versuchte zudem vergeblich, an der Filmhochschule angenommen zu werden. Allerdings war er in Münchens Untergrund-Theaterszene sehr aktiv und es dauerte nicht lange, bis er ins Filmemachen einstieg und seinen Debütfilm Liebe ist kälter als der Tod (1969).

Fassbinders Œuvre umfasste weit verschiedene Themen, von harscher Sozialkritik oder melodramatischen Liebesgeschichten bis hin zu ambitionierten Literaturverfilmungen. Eine Konstante war seine stets kritische Darstellung der Gesellschaft und ihrer Verlierer. 1978 kam es zu einem Wendepunkt in Fassbinders Karriere, als er anfing an dem ersten Film seiner Nachkriegsdeutschland-Trilogie, „Die Ehe der Maria Braun“, zu arbeiten. Die Darstellung einer Kriegswitwe wurde nicht nur Fassbinders charakteristischer Film, sie markierte auch den Karrierehöhepunkt von Hauptdarstellerin Hanna Schygulla.

Filmposter:
Die Ehe der Maria Braun
Angst essen Seele auf
Die Sehnsucht der Veronika Voss
Lola
Martha
Lili Marleen

Hommagen von:
Akin, Fatih (Deutschland/Türkei)
Egoyan, Atom (Kanada)
Kaurismäki, Aki (Finnland)
Leigh, Mike (England)
Ozon, François (Frankreich)
Park, Chan-Wook (Südkorea)
und andere

Das Goethe-Institut präsentiert im November das German Film Fest 2016 in Australien. Teil des Film Fests sind ein faszinierender Dokumentarfilm zu Fassbinders Leben und verschiedene Retro Classics, unter anderem Fassbinders Meisterwerk Angst essen Seele auf.

Zurück