Exhibition / Opening: Talk and Presentation Herlinde Koelbl: "Traces of Power"

Herlinde Koelbl: © Herlinde Koelbl

Thu, 04.05.2017 -
Sun, 18.06.2017

Goethe-Institut Sydney

90 Ocean Street, Woollahra
2025 Sydney

Angela Merkel exhibition at the Goethe-Institut in Sydney

Herlinde Koelbl exhibition opening and talk: "Traces of Power" on 04 May 2017 at 6pm for 6.30pm, Goethe-Institut in Sydney
 
Exhibition Hours:
04 May to 18 June 2017
Mon-Thu 9am-5pm
Fri-Sat 9am-4pm


Herlinde Koelbl is one of the major political photographers in Germany. Her photos addressing burning issues of the time have made her known worldwide. They are always engaged and thoughtful confrontations with political and social issues, where Koelbl combines a journalistic documentary approach with high artistic standards in a way uniquely her own.

At the Goethe-Institut in Sydney she will present her photo series “Spuren der Macht” ("Traces of Power"). For this large-scale project, Koelbl followed 15 upcoming politicians over a long period of time: since 1991, with an interval between 1999 and 2006, Koelbl has met the now-chancellor Angela Merkel once every year, taken a portrait and interviewed her, often asking the exact same questions as the year before.

In a recent interview about the project with The Guardian, Koelbl said: “Office changes people, not always favourably. They learn to put on a mask so that their emotions aren’t so easily calculable. I can’t imagine a tougher job than being a national leader.”

In addition to the “Traces of Power” exhibition at the Goethe-Institut, Koelbl will show the "Targets" exhibiton at Head On Festival, also in Sydney. For more info about “Targets” please click here.
 

Back

Ausstellung / Eröffnung: Künstlergespräch und Präsentation Herlinde Koelbl: "Spuren der Macht"

Herlinde Koelbl: © Herlinde Koelbl

Do, 04.05.2017 -
So, 18.06.2017

Goethe-Institut Sydney

90 Ocean Street
2025 Woollahra

Angela Merkel-Ausstellung am Goethe-Institut in Sydney

Herlinde Koelbl Ausstellungseröffnung und Künstlergespräch: "Spuren der Macht" am 04. Mai 2017 um 18 Uhr am Goethe-Institut in Sydney

Ausstellung Öffnungszeiten: 
04. Mai bis 18 Juni 2017
Mo-Do 9:00-17:00 Uhr
Fr-Sa 9:00-16:00 Uhr


Herlinde Koelbl ist eine der bedeutenden politischen Fotografen Deutschlands. Ihre Fotos, die sich mit brennenden Ausgaben der Zeit beschäftigen, haben sie weltweit bekannt gemacht. Die Bilder sind immer engagierte und nachdenkliche Konfrontationen mit politischen und gesellschaftlichen Fragen. Dabei kombiniert Koelbl ihren journalistischen und dokumentarischen Ansatz mit einem hohen künstlerischen Anspruch.

Am Goethe-Institut in Sydney präsentiert Koelbl ihre Foto-Serie „Spuren der Macht“. Für dieses großangelegte Projekt begleitete sie 15 aufstrebende Politiker über einen langen Zeitraum: Seit 1991 – mit einem Intervall zwischen 1999 und 2006 – traf sich Koelbl einmal jährlich mit der heutigen Kanzlerin Angela Merkel. Sie machte ein Porträt und stellte ihr einige persönliche Fragen – häufig die gleichen wie im Jahr zuvor.

Im Gespräch mit The Guardian über das Projekt erklärt Koelbl: „Politische Machtpositionen verändern die Menschen – nicht immer zum Guten. Sie lernen, sich quasi zu maskieren, damit ihre Emotionen nicht allzu leicht zu berechnen sind. Ich kann mir keinen härteren Job vorstellen, als Kanzler zu sein.“

Neben der Ausstellung „Spuren der Macht“ am Goethe-Institut zeigt Koelbl die Ausstellung „Targets“ beim  Head On Festival, ebenfalls in Sydney. Mehr Informationen zu „Targets“ finden Sie hier.
 

Zurück