Artist Talk Dirk Kurbjuweit at Canberra Writers Festival

Portrait Dirk Kurbjuweit Dirk Kurbjuweit ©Maurice Weiss, Ostkreuz

Sat, 26.08.2017

National Portrait Gallery, Canberra

King Edward Terrace
2600 Canberra

Find out direct from the author why reviewers have said that reading his novel Fear “makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder”.

Dirk Kurbjuweit is deputy editor-in-chief at Der Spiegel and divides his time between Berlin and Hamburg. He has received numerous awards for his writing, including the Egon Erwin Kisch Prize for journalism, and is the author of eight critically acclaimed novels, many of which have been adapted for film, television and radio in Germany. We are delighted to announce that Dirk Kurbjuweit will come to Australia for Canberra Writers Festival – along with his critically acclaimed novel Fear (2013), the first of his works to be translated into English.

About "Fear": It tells the story of Randolph Tiefenthaler, a hard-working architect who lives a sheltered life in Berlin-Lichtenfelde, together with his wife and his kids. A picture-perfect family – until their neighbour mutates into an intrusive stalker and begins to scare the Tiefenthalers. Although his attacks get worse and worse, police and authorities stand on the sidelines and force Randolph to take action in order to protect his loved ones against the intruder.
Kurbjuweit reveals with oppressive tension how fast our confidence in the state of law can be shaken and brings up the question whether it is justifiable to take the law into our own hands in order to protect the people we love.

Please book your tickets via Canberra Writers Festival.

Back

Künstlergespräch Dirk Kurbjuweit beim Canberra Writers Festival

Portrait Dirk Kurbjuweit Dirk Kurbjuweit ©Maurice Weiss, Ostkreuz

Sa, 26.08.2017

National Portrait Gallery, Canberra

King Edward Terrace
2600 Canberra

Der Autor erzählt, warum sein Thriller "Fear" gewaltsame Rache sympathisch macht.

Dirk Kurbjuweit ist stellvertretender Chefredakteur des Spiegel. Für seine Arbeit erhielt Kurbjuweit unzählige Preise, unter anderem den Egon Erwin Kisch Preis für Journalismus. Aber nicht nur das: Dirk Kurbjuweit schreibt Romane, Sach- und Drehbücher. Viele wurden bereits für Film, Fernsehen und Radio adaptiert. Wir freuen uns, Dirk Kurbjuweit im Rahmen des Canberra Writers Festival in Australien begrüßen zu dürfen. Mit im Gepäck hat den Psychothriller Angst (2013), das erste seiner Werke, das jüngst ins Englische übersetzt wurde.

Über "Angst": Randolph Tiefenthaler lebt ein gutbürgerliches, beinahe spießiges Leben in Berlin-Lichtenfelde, samt Frau und Kindern. Alles scheint perfekt, doch dann wird der schräge, verwahrloste Nachbar Herr Tiberius zum aufdringlichen Stalker und belästigt Randolph und seine Familie. Polizei und Behörden schauen tatenlos zu, die Ohnmacht wird unerträglich, und schon bald scheint Selbstjustiz der einzige Ausweg zu sein.
Mit beklemmender Spannung schildert Kurbjuweit, wie rasch das Vertrauen in den Rechtsstaat ins Wanken geraten kann. Angst zeigt auf eindringliche Art und Weise, wie weit ein Mensch zu gehen bereit ist, um seine Familie zu beschützen.

Bitte buchen Sie Ihre Tickets direkt beim Canberra Writers Festival.

Zurück