Artist Talk In Conversation with Maziar Moradi

Maziar Moradi Without Title © Maziar Moradi (Detail)

Sat, 09.09.2017

Post Office Gallery Ballarat

Camp Street
3350 Ballarat

Meet the Iranian-born photographer from Berlin at Ballarat International Foto Biennale

As a guest of the Goethe-Institut, Berlin-based photographer Maziar Moradi from Berlin will appear at Ballarat International Foto Biennale as part of its Artists in Residence program. Maziar will display his powerful exhibition "Ich werde Deutsch (I Become German)" and will speak about his work in a public artist talk.
Since seats are limited for this event, please register via Ballarat Biennale.

The exhibition explores the fates and losses of young immigrants in Germany and gives a voice to those who were born in Germany but have grown up under the influence of their families’ experiences. Moradi invites them to re-enact key scenes of their personal biography, turning them into actors performing their own stories.
The photos are at once personal and political, focusing on the individual circumstances of each life but also painting an overall picture of the face of immigration and change.

Iranian-born Maziar studied in Hamburg, Germany. He has received several awards for his photographic works so far, including the Otto-Steinert-Preis, awarded by the German Photographic Association (DGPh). Maziar's works are also well-known outside Germany, with exhibitions in Arles, Amsterdam and Washington.

Back

Künstlergespräch Maziar Moradi im Gespräch

Maziar Moradi Without Title © Maziar Moradi (Detail)

Sa, 09.09.2017

Post Office Gallery Ballarat

Camp Street
3350 Ballarat

Der iranischstämmige Fotograf aus Berlin zu Gast bei der Ballarat International Foto Biennale

Maziar Moradi ist mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts Teil des Artists in Residence Programms der diesjährigen Ballarat International Foto Biennale. Maziar zeigt dort seine Ausstellung "Ich werde Deutsch (I Become German)" und wird in einem öffentlichen Künstlergespräch über seine Arbeit sprechen und für Fragen zur Verfügung stehen.
Da die Plätze für diese Veranstaltung begrenzt sind, registrieren Sie Ihre Teilnahme bitte direkt bei der Ballarat Biennale.

Maziar Moradis Werke dokumentieren auf ausdrucksstarke Weise das Thema Flucht und Migration, sind zugleich sehr persönlich und hochpolitisch: die individuelle Sicht auf berührende Einzelschicksale geht Hand in Hand mit einem großen Gesamtbild von Migration und Wandel. Die Fotos beleuchten unterschiedlichen Lebenswege  von Migrantinnen und Migranten. Die Betroffenen stellen Schlüsselszenen ihrer persönlichen Entwicklung nach und werden dadurch zu Darstellern ihrer eigenen Geschichte. 

Maziar Moradi studierte an der Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaft Hamburg (HAW). Für seine fotografischen Arbeiten wurde Moradi mehrfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem den Otto-Steinert-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie. Auch außerhalb Deutschlands ist Moradi inzwischen ein Begriff. Seine Bilder waren zum Beispiel in Arles, Amsterdam und Washington zu sehen.

Zurück