Artist Talk Climate & Design

Edith Kollath Nothing Will Ever Be The Same © Hannes Wiedemann

Fri, 14.09.2018

RMIT Gallery

344 Swanston Street
3000 Melbourne

Thomas Auer (Transsolar) and Edith Kollath in conversation with curator Malte Wagenfeld

Thomas Auer is partner and managing director of Transsolar and professor for Building Technology and Climate Responsive Design at the TU Munich. He has developed concepts for buildings and districts noted for their innovative strategies, collaborating with world renowned architecture firms on numerous international design projects around the world.

Transsolar is an international climate-engineering firm determined to create exceptional, highly comfortable indoor and outdoor spaces with a positive environmental impact. They pioneered the concept KlimaEngineering, which describes an approach to climate-responsive design that takes advantage of the specific local climate and surroundings to maximise user comfort and passive strategies. Such an approach tailors architectural and mechanical systems to the local climate and programmatic requirements, in order to contribute to a special experience for the user. Environmental qualities will become part of the experience – while minimizing the use of resources.

Edith Kollath works as a multimedia artist on questions of the visualization of uncertain states and their social and theoretical contexts. She works with sculpture as an expandable media with a performative potential. Instead of producing objects, she is interested in changing the state of existing material. In 2009, she graduated from University of Fine Arts in Hamburg, where she received a MFA in Time Related Media and Sculpture. During a three year stay in New York, from 2006-2009, she was an active member of the hacker collective “NYC Resistor” and realized a number of exhibitions and projects. Since then, her installations, objects and works on paper have been exhibited in Germany and internationally. Since 2015, Edith has been a PhD candidate at the Bauhaus University Weimar.


Event series: Dynamics of Air
 

Back

Künstlergespräch Klima & Design

Edith Kollath Nothing Will Ever Be The Same © Hannes Wiedemann

Fr, 14.09.2018

RMIT Gallery

344 Swanston Street
3000 Melbourne

Thomas Auer (Transsolar) und Edith Kollath im Gespräch mit Kurator Malte Wagenfeld

Thomas Auer ist Partner und Geschäftsführer von Transsolar sowie Professor für Gebäudetechnologie und Bauklimatik an der Technischen Universität München. Mithilfe innovativer Strategien hat er Konzepte für Gebäude und Stadtquartiere entworfen. In Kollaboration mit renommierten Architekturbüros hat Thomas Auer eine Vielzahl von internationalen Designprojekten durchgeführt.

Transsolar ist eine internationale Firma, die es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, komfortablen Innen- und Außenraum mit positiver Wirkung auf die Umwelt zu schaffen. Als Pioniere in diesem Bereich, stellten sie das Konzept KlimaEngineering vor, was für klimagerechtes Entwerfen und Bauen steht. Es geht darum klimatische und topografische Standortfaktoren für passive Strategien und maximalen Nutzerkomfort zu nutzen. Durch einen solchen Ansatz werden architektonische und mechanische Systeme an die lokalen klimatischen und programmatischen Anforderungen angepasst um eine besondere Benutzererfahrung zu ermöglichen. Umweltqualitäten werden Teil der Erfahrung – während der Ressourcenverbrauch minimiert wird.

Edith Kollath arbeitet als Multimedia Künstlerin an Fragen der Visualisierung ungewisser Zustände sowie deren sozial- und theoretischen Kontexten. Sie sieht Skulpturen als ein erweiterbares Medium mit performativem Potenzial an. Anstatt Objekte zu produzieren, ist Edith Kollath daran interessiert, den Zustand des bereits vorhandenen Materials zu verändern. 2009 hat sie ihr Studium an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg mit dem Master of Fine Arts abgeschlossen. Während eines dreijährigen Aufenthalts in New York, von 2006-2009, war Edith Kollath ein aktives Mitglied des Hacker-Kollektivs „ NYC Resitor“ und verwirklichte eine Vielzahl an Ausstellungen und Projekten. Seither werden ihre Installationen, Objekte und schriftlichen Arbeiten in Deutschland und international ausgestellt. Seit 2015 ist Edith Kollath Doktorandin an der Bauhaus Universität in Weimar.


Veranstaltungsreihe: Dynamics of Air

Zurück