Artist talk White Clouds of Sugar

Clouds 4 © Mikael Mikael

Thu, 25.10.2018

RMIT Gallery

344 Swanston Street
3000 Melbourne

Performance and artist talk with Mikael Mikael & Friedrich von Borries

Friedrich von Borries, architect and professor of Design Theory at the Hochschule für bildende Künste (HFBK) in Hamburg, operates between the blurring boundaries of urban planning, architecture, design and art. He is a theoretician who concerns himself in particular with the social and political aspects of design. His practice evolves around asking questions and posing provocations, often based on fictional elements. He is interested in how design can produce positive change, especially from a social perspective.

Mikael Mikael is exploring a different, more playful approach to the phenomenon of clouds. While Friedrich von Borries provokes with the concept of the direct design and manufacture of global weather systems revealed through the harvesting of clouds for greater productivity, his alter ego, Mikael Mikael, raises the correlative question of how this will affect other weather systems and ecologies.

Deanne Butterworth

For over twenty years, Melbourne dancer Deanne Butterworth has worked as a performer, choreographer and teacher showing work across a range of platforms including, Next Wave Festival, NGV Melbourne Now, Dancehouse, Lucy Guerin Inc., Melbourne Fringe, Dance New Amsterdam (NYC), Hong Kong Fringe Club (with Jo Lloyd), WestSpace plus more. Throughout 2017-2019 she is a studio artist at Gertrude Contemporary. For the Dynamics of Air Exhibition Deanne Butterworth will distribute ‘cotton candy clouds’ throughout RMIT Gallery according to Mikael Mikael’s predetermined score; and maybe allow some of the audience to eat some of these clouds. Clouds, cotton candy and creativity will all merge during this performance.


Event series: Dynamics of Air

Back

Künstlergespräch Weiße Zuckerwolken

Clouds 4 © Mikael Mikael

Do, 25.10.2018

RMIT Gallery

344 Swanston Street
3000 Melbourne

Vorführung und Gespräch mit Mikael Mikael & Friedrich von Borries

Friedrich von Borries, Architekt und Professor für Designtheorie an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg, agiert in den Grenzbereichen von Stadtentwicklung, Architektur, Design und Kunst. Im Mittelpunkt seiner Arbeit steht das Verhältnis von Gestaltung und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung. Er ist Theoretiker, der sich insbesondere mit den sozialen und politischen Aspekten von Design beschäftigt. Seine Praxis entwickelt sich um Fragen und Provokationen, die oft auf fiktiven Elementen basieren. Er interessiert sich vor allem dafür, wie Design aus sozialer Perspektive positive Veränderungen bewirken kann.

Mikael Mikael versucht eine andere, spielerische Herangehensweise an das Phänomen der Wolken. Friedrich von Borries provoziert mit dem Gedanken, dass globale Wettersysteme designt und konstruiert werden, um die Produktivität zu steigern. Sein Alter Ego Mikael Mikael spricht die damit zusammenhängende Frage an, welche Auswirkung die Beeinflussung von Wolken auf andere Wettersysteme und die Umwelt hat.


Deanne Butterworth

Seit über zwanzig Jahren arbeitet die aus Melbourne stammende Tänzerin Deanne Butterworth als Perfomancekünstlerin, Choreographin und Lehrerin. Ihre Arbeiten zeigt sie auf vielen unterschiedlichen Plattformen, wie dem Next Wave Festival, NGV Melbourne Now, Dancehouse, Lucy Guerin Inc., Melbourne Fringe, Dance New Amsterdam (NYC), Hong Kong Fringe Club (mit Jo Lloyd), WestSpace und viele mehr. Zwischen 2017 bis 2019 ist sie Studio-Künslterin bei Gertrude Contemporary. Für die Ausstellung Dynamics of Air wird sie anhand von Mikael Miakel's vorgegebenem System "Zuckerwattewolken" in der RMIT-Gallery verteilen. Wolken, Zuckerwatte und Kreativität verschmelzen während dieser Performance.


Veranstaltungsreihe: Dynamics of Air

Zurück