SKIN – Dance Project

Roland Walter und Renae Shadler present a collaborative dance-project

SKIN is a remarkable new dance duet that explores the poetics of the human body and our relationship to the surfaces we move across.

Roland Walter, an outstanding performer, choreographer and inclusion ambassador for artists with disabilities will perform the new collaborative dance work SKIN with Australian dancer and choreographer Renae Shadler. The project is co-created, performed and self-produced by the two. The artists work with water, textiles and movement to explore how warm water wrinkles the skin and relaxes muscle tension - bringing their two bodies closer together.

“Dancing is freedom and a foretaste of paradise.” – Roland Walter

As the two artists are from different linguistic background, generations and with varied abilities, this is an extraordinary work.Together they focus on dancing as an expression of encounter and access to each other. Their art should have a positive influence on human strength, flexibility, balance and coordination and sharpen the perception of oneself and others.

As part of the residency there will be public showings in which people with or without disabilities, will have the opportunity to discuss the work with the performers in an artist talk.

Roland Walter
Roland Walter is a Berlin-based dance artist with full-body spastic paralysis. Nevertheless, he experimentalizes with his body and his handicap, and shows that people with a fate like his can have a creative life too. He has been an official inclusion ambassador since May 2015.

Renae Shadler
Renae Shadler is an independent choreographer, Dancer and project initiator based between Berlin and Melbourne. She works across a variety of contexts, from dance on stage and major festivals, to museum events and outdoor public engagement projects.

SKIN – Ein Tanzprojekt

Roland Walter und Renae Shadler Roland Spratte

Roland Walter und Renae Shadler präsentieren ein kollaboratives Tanzduett

SKIN ist ein außergewöhnliches, neues Tanzduett, das die Poetik des menschlichen Körpers und die Beziehung zu unserer haptischen Umgebung beleuchtet.

Roland Walter, ein herausragender Performer, Choreograph und Integrationsbotschafter für KünstlerInnen mit Behinderung wird das neue kollaborative Tanzstück SKIN zusammen mit der australischen Tänzerin und Choreographin Renae Shadler aufführen. Das Projekt wird von Roland und Renae gestaltet, durchgeführt und selbst produziert. Die KünstlerInnen arbeiten mit Wasser, Textilien und Bewegung, um zu erforschen, wie warmes Wasser die Haut faltet und die Muskulatur entspannt - und bringen dabei ihre beiden Körper näher zusammen.

 „Tanzen ist Freiheit und ein Vorgeschmack auf das Paradies.“ – Roland Walter

Trotz ihres unterschiedlichen sprachlichen Hintergrunds, ihres Altersunterschieds und ihrer unterschiedlichen Fähigkeiten haben sie eine herausragendes Werk kreiert. Gemeinsam rücken die das Tanzen in den Mittelpunkt als Ausdruck für Begegnung und Zugang zueinander. Ihre Kunst soll einen positiven Einfluss auf menschliche Stärke, Flexibilität, Balance und Koordination haben und die Selbst- und Fremdwahrnehmung schärfen.

Neben der Tanzresidenz wird es öffentliche Vorführungen geben, zu denen Menschen mit oder ohne Behinderung die Gelegenheit haben, das Tanzstück SKIN zu erleben und sich mit den Künstlern auszutauschen. 

Roland Walter
Roland Walter ist ein in Berlin lebender Tanzkünstler mit spastischer Ganzkörperlähmung. Dennoch experimentiert er mit seinem Körper und mit seiner Behinderung und zeigt, dass auch Menschen mit diesem Schicksal ein kreatives Leben haben können. Seit Mai 2015 ist er offizieller Inklusionsbotschafter.

Renae Shadler
Renae Shadler lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Melbourne als freie Choreographin, Tänzerin und Projektinitiatorin. Die Künstlerin ist sehr vielseitig und hat bereits Erfahrungen mit Bühnentanz, Auftritten auf Festivals, Museumsveranstaltungen und leitet öffentliche Projekte an.