Design Festival TWIN MINIGAGARIN: Plastique Fantastique

Mini Gagarin: Plastique Fantastique Plastique Fantastique

Wed, 06.11.2019 -
Thu, 07.11.2019

Canberra Airport

Terminal Cct
Canberra City

Art installation at Design Canberra Festival

A highlight of the 2019 DESIGN Canberra festival will be the work of acclaimed Berlin-based design team, Plastique Fantastique, a platform for temporary architecture which samples the performative possibilities of urban environments. Established in Berlin in 1999, it has specialised in creating pneumatic installations as adaptable, low energy spaces. The transparent, lightweight and mobile shell structures relate to the notion of activating, creating and sharing public space and involving citizens in creative processes. Plastique Fantastique’s installations represent experimentation and collaboration, and are an exciting expression of contemporary European design. Pneumatic architecture creates astonishing forms and enormous inhabitable spaces using a membrane that is readily reducible and transportable.

Twin Minigagarin will land at Canberra Airport departures foyer, where travelers from all over the world can rest inside as if they have stopped over at a space station during their journey. Twin Minigagarin investigates urban and social issues in a playful manner. Playing can serve here as metaphor to intervene in public space: an iterative design approach that embraces chance, accidents and a multitude of participants. The pneumatic structure is reminiscent of places, objects or architecture which most people have vivid and positive memories off.
The futuristic look of Twin Minigagarin invites people to enter, have fun and be active in public space. Its tactile and aesthetic qualities provoke immediate and sensual reactions, regardless of people’s education, age or cultural background.

Related Events:

Thursday 7/11
05:30 – 06:30: Sunrise Instameet Minigagarin
12:00 – 13:00: Public Art Walk with Neil Hobbs and the TWINS

Click Here for all Events in this Series

 

Back

Design Festival TWIN MINIGAGARIN: Plastique Fantastique

Mini Gagarin: Plastique Fantastique Plastique Fantastique

Mi, 06.11.2019 -
Do, 07.11.2019

Canberra Airport

Terminal Cct
Canberra City

Kunstinstallation bei Design Canberra Festival

Ein Highlight des Festivals 2019 DESIGN Canberra wird die Arbeit des renommierten Berliner Designteams Plastique Fantastique sein, eine Plattform für temporäre Architektur, die die performativen Möglichkeiten urbaner Umgebungen ausprobiert. Das 1999 in Berlin gegründete Unternehmen hat sich darauf spezialisiert, pneumatische Installationen als anpassungsfähige, energiesparende Räume zu realisieren. Die transparenten, leichten und mobilen Schalenstrukturen´entstehen mit der Absicht, den öffentlichen Raum zu aktivieren und zu teilen und die BürgerInnen in kreative Prozesse einzubeziehen. Die Installationen von Plastique Fantastique stehen für Experimente und Zusammenarbeit und sind ein spannender Ausdruck des zeitgenössischen europäischen Designs. Die pneumatische Architektur schafft erstaunliche Formen und riesige Wohnräume mit einer Membran, die leicht reduzierbar und transportabel ist.

Twin Minigagarin wird im Foyer des Canberra Airport landen, in dem sich Reisende aus aller Welt ausruhen können, als hätten sie während ihrer Reise an einer Raumstation angehalten. Twin Minigagarin untersucht auf spielerische Weise urbane und soziale Themen. Das Spielen kann hier als Metapher für die Intervention im öffentlichen Raum dienen: ein iterativer Designansatz, der Zufälle, Unfälle und eine Vielzahl von TeilnehmerInnen umfasst. Die pneumatische Struktur erinnert an Orte, Objekte oder Architekturen, an denen die meisten Menschen lebendige und positive Erinnerungen haben.
Der futuristische Look von Twin Minigagarin lädt Menschen ein, den öffentlichen Raum zu betreten, Spaß zu haben und aktiv zu sein. Seine taktilen und ästhetischen Qualitäten lösen sofortige und sinnliche Reaktionen aus, unabhängig von der Bildung, dem Alter oder dem kulturellen Hintergrund.

Veranstaltungen im Rahmen von Twin Minigagarin:

Donnerstag 7/11
05:30 – 06:30 Uhr: Sunrise Instameet Minigagarin
12:00 – 13:00 Uhr: Public Art Walk with Neil Hobbs and the TWINS

Alle Veranstaltungen dieser Reihe auf einen Blick
 

Zurück