Exhibition A Circle Full of Ecstasy

Edgar Leciejewski - A Circle full of Ecstasy © Edgar Leciejewski

Sat, 28.08.2021 -
Sun, 09.01.2022

Ballarat International Foto Biennale

77 Cyanotypes by Edgar Leciejewski

*** Covid 19 Information: This exhibition will open to the public as soon as local Covid restrictions allow. ***

A Circle Full of Ecstasy
is the captivating art exhibit created by German visual artist Edgar Leciejewski in 2017, which will be shown for the first time in Australia at this year's Ballarat International Foto Biennale (BIFB), as part of the Core Program (Outdoor)

Edgar Leciejewski is a German visual artist, originally from Berlin, who now lives and works in Leipzig and Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. 

Since 2001, Leciejewski has shown his artworks in various exhibitions, including exhibits at Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, Kunsthalle Wien, Museum der bildenden Künste Leipzig, amongst others.

Headshot Edgar Leciejewski © Edgar Leciejewski Leciejewski's photography incorporates an experimental and analytical style, which he achieves through various media and artistic processes. Through his art Leciejewski examines the scientific uses of photography and observes the resulting influences on society, and our individual and collective existence.

A Circle Full of Ecstasy consists of 77 portraits of various international politicians, all of which come from a collection of press photos that Leciejewski himself put together over the course of sixteen years. The portraits were transposed into cyanotypes by a photo printing process that creates the characteristic cyan-blue colour tones.

All the figures in A Circle Full of Ecstasy are shown to be raising their right hand to greet their audience. They are arranged purposefully, so that the figures in the pictures complete a full 360 ​​° counter clockwise from the first image to the lass, looking from left to right, top to bottom. This visual metaphor seeks to unite the world through the daily greeting of the political elite. 

Although the pictures were all taken at different times within the sixteen year period, they are nonetheless united by the visual rhetoric Leciejewski creates through the photo series whereby he invites the onlooker to slow down the act of seeing and looking until time neither stands still nor flows linearly. Like all great artists, Leciejewski seeks to answer some of the most pressing questions of our time which plague modern photographers, such as: how can a person fit as much time as possible into a single photographic image? Leciejewski's ability to combine the past with the present within a series of images fits well with the theme of this year's BIFB: Past.Tense.Now. 

We are pleased to partner with the BIFB for the Australian premiere of A Circle Full of Ecstasy. The BIFB was founded in 2005, and is one of Australia’s “pre-eminent” photographic festivals. As its name would suggest, the festival is held every two years, and attracts both international and Australian photographers, showcasing work that is new, previously unseen in Australia or contextualised afresh. A not-for-profit event that immerses the historic town of Ballarat in photographic art, the BIFB has enriched the cultural landscape of regional Victoria. It has succeeded in attracting more than 200,000 visitors to Ballarat over the course of 16 years. This year the BIFB celebrates its 9th festival which commences on the 28th of August and will run until the 24th of October, 2021.

For more information about the other artists who are to be featured at this year's BIFB be sure to take a look at the full program here.
 

Back

Ausstellung A Circle Full of Ecstasy

Edgar Leciejewski - A Circle full of Ecstasy © Edgar Leciejewski

Sa, 28.08.2021 -
So, 09.01.2022

Ballarat International Foto Biennale

Edgar Leciejewski - A Circle full of Ecstasy

77 Cyanotype von Edgar Leciejewski

*** Covid 19 Information: Die Ballarat International Foto Biennale ist wieder geöffnet sobald die lokalen Covid Bestimmungen es zulassen. ***

A Circle Full of Ecstasy
ist das fesselnde Kunstexponat des deutschen bildenden Künstlers Edgar Leciejewski aus dem Jahr 2017, das auf der diesjährigen Ballarat International Foto Biennale (BIFB) als Teil des Core Program (Outdoor) zum ersten Mal in Australien zu sehen sein wird.

Edgar Leciejewski ist ein deutscher bildender Künstler, ursprünglich aus Berlin, der heute in Leipzig und Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt, Vietnam, lebt und arbeitet.

Seit 2001 hat Leciejewski seine Werke in verschiedenen Ausstellungen gezeigt, unter anderem in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, der Kunsthalle Wien und dem Museum der bildenden Künste Leipzig.

Headshot Edgar Leciejewski © Edgar Leciejewski Leciejewskis Fotografie beinhaltet einen experimentellen und analytischen Stil, den er durch verschiedene Medien und künstlerische Prozesse erreicht. Durch seine Kunst untersucht Leciejewski die wissenschaftlichen Anwendungen der Fotografie und beobachtet die daraus resultierenden Einflüsse auf die Gesellschaft und unsere individuelle und kollektive Existenz.

A Circle Full of Ecstasy besteht aus 77 Porträts verschiedener internationaler Politiker, die alle aus einer Sammlung von Pressefotos stammen, die Leciejewski selbst im Laufe von sechzehn Jahren zusammengestellt hat. Die Porträts wurden durch ein Fotodruckverfahren, das die charakteristischen cyan-blauen Farbtöne erzeugt, in Cyanotypien umgesetzt

Alle Figuren in A Circle Full of Ecstasy sind so dargestellt, dass sie ihre rechte Hand zum Gruß erheben. Sie sind bewusst so angeordnet, dass die Figuren auf den Bildern eine volle 360°-Drehung gegen den Uhrzeigersinn vom ersten Bild zum letzten vollziehen, von links nach rechts, von oben nach unten. Diese visuelle Metapher versucht, die Welt durch den täglichen Gruß der politischen Elite zu vereinen.

Obwohl die Bilder alle zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten innerhalb des Zeitraums von sechzehn Jahren aufgenommen wurden, sind sie dennoch durch die visuelle Rhetorik vereint, die Leciejewski durch die Fotoserie schafft, indem er den Betrachter einlädt, den Akt des Sehens und Anschauens zu verlangsamen, bis die Zeit weder stillsteht noch linear fließt. Wie alle großen Künstler versucht Leciejewski, einige der drängendsten Fragen unserer Zeit zu beantworten, die moderne Fotografen plagen, wie zum Beispiel: Wie kann man so viel Zeit wie möglich in ein einziges fotografisches Bild einpassen? Leciejewskis Fähigkeit, die Vergangenheit mit der Gegenwart in einer Serie von Bildern zu verbinden, passt gut zum Thema der diesjährigen BIFB: Past.Tense.Now

Wir freuen uns über die erneute Zusammenarbeit mit dem BIFB für die australische Premiere von A Circle Full of Ecstasy. Die Ballarat International Foto Biennale wurde 2005 gegründet und ist eines der herausragenden Fotofestivals in Australien. Wie der Name schon vermuten lässt, findet das Festival alle zwei Jahre statt und zieht sowohl internationale als auch australische Fotografen an, um neue, in Australien noch nie gezeigte oder neu kontextualisierte Arbeiten zu zeigen. Als Non-Profit-Veranstaltung in der die gesamte historische Stadt Ballarat die Fotokunst feiert, hat das BIFB die kulturelle Landschaft der Region Victoria deutlich bereichert. Im Laufe dieser 16 Jahre ist es gelungen, jeweils mehr als 200.000 Besucher nach Ballarat zu locken. In diesem Jahr feiert das BIFB sein 9. Festival, das am 28. August beginnt und bis zum 24. Oktober 2021 laufen wird.

Für mehr Information über das komplette Programm klicken Sie hier.

 

Zurück