Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey© Reinhard Kleist (Detail)

Thomas Hummitzsch on "Havanna"
The revolution devours its own children

In 2008, the German graphic artist, Reinhard Kleist, spent a few weeks in Cuba researching his graphic novel on Fidel Castro. In the process, he also produced a multifaceted travelogue with drawings and sketches.

In 2008, Reinhard Kleist travels to Cuba to research his graphic novel on Fidel Castro. A side product is the travel journal ‘Havanna’, very much along the lines of the French ‘Carnet de Voyage’. It gathers impressions and experiences, introduces people and places, describes difficulties and discoveries on the ground, and provides an insight into the artist’s moods and emotions.

All of course in the context of the iconic figure of the Cuban revolution whom Kleist is actually researching. And the longer one spends leafing through this book (which is just under 100 pages), the more strongly one feels Kleist’s internal struggle with the Cuban reality. Until at some point he walks past one of the omnipresent portraits of the Máximo Líder and snaps, ‘that’s a great revolution you have there!’

Reinhard Kleist, who lives in Berlin, definitely sees himself on the political left. There is no doubt that he still admires the values and ideas of the Cuban revolution. Yet at the launch of ‘Castro’, his graphic novel, he made it a point to stress: ‘What has become of the revolution, is open to question.’ He ingeniously manages to balance reality and fiction by having a German journalist, Karl Mertens, who migrates to Cuba, narrates the story of the Cuban revolution together with a biography of Fidel Castro that starts in his youth. The graphic novel is the story told by Mertens, a life spent in admiration of Fidel Castro, yet at the expense of loss and hardship.

Karl Mertens is Reinhard Kleist’s marionette, so to speak. To avoid telling the story himself and exposing himself to accusations of bias, he uses a narrator. ‘Castro’ is a biographical account of the Máximo Líder and as such also a record of his transformation from icon to dictator. Yet the revolution did lead to free healthcare and education, even if the quality is open to debate. Light and shadow are never far from each other – even, and especially, in Kleist’s view of conditions in Cuba.

This is particularly obvious when one compares ‘Castro’ and ‘Havanna’. It tells us about the artist, how he observed the everyday lives of people, talked to passers-by and children, joined street musicians in making day out of night, and met with dissidents in cafés. He recorded his impressions, experiences and conversations in pencil in a sketchbook that he took back to Berlin where he reworked and supplemented the contents. Therefore, an account of his time spent in Cuba runs through this graphic novel of the Cuban journey, interrupted by full-page impressions, pages with black and white sketches of old-timers or baseball players, with scenic miniatures and street scenes in warm sepia tones, interrupted by sober and simple descriptions of what is to be seen there.

‘Havanna’ is a rich, sensitive and insightful travelogue, a description of the mood and atmosphere of everyday life in the Cuban capital. Not only has Kleist collected a number of impressions of the city, but has also used a range of different drawing techniques. Besides pencil sketches, there are also drawings in ink and watercolour, in black and white and in colour. The manner in which the graphic novel has been produced testifies first and foremost to the calibre of the artist from Berlin. With the mix of styles, ‘Havanna’ is fundamentally different from his biographic comic books (‘Cash – I See a Darkness’, ‘Castro’, ‘The Boxer’, ‘An Olympic Dream’, ‘Nick Cave – Mercy on Me’ and, most recently, ‘Knock Out!’).

Reinhard Kleist is one of the best comic book artists working in German. It is worth noting that he has also been awarded the pertinent Max & Moritz Prize. With 16 graphic novels to date, he has scooped up more than a dozen different prizes and awards. Kleist has also been nominated for the three major American awards for comic books – Eisner, Harvey and Ignatz.

Reinhard Kleist gives criticism where criticism is due – in his travelogue and in ‘Castro’: He makes no secret of the catastrophic conditions in Cuba under and after Castro. He draws as much attention to the arbitrary persecution of political opponents as he does to the empty shelves in the supermarkets. This makes it clear that the revolution in Cuba devours its own children and steals their future. For his part, Kleist does not allow himself to pass judgement on the political conditions or on Castro’s career. He leaves his readers free to engage with the personality of Fidel Castro, the Cuban revolution project, and with its disastrous consequences. If you are looking for simple answers, you won’t find them in either of the two graphic novels. And this is precisely what makes the interplay between these books so valuable.

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna, published by Carlsen Verlag, 2008, 96 pages, EUR 19.90
Reinhard Kleist: Castro, published by Selfmadehero, 2011, 288 pages, EUR 19.90, Graphic Novel Paperback: INR 1,249 (Amazon)

 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey© Reinhard Kleist (Ausschnitt)

Thomas Hummitzsch über "Havanna"
Die Revolution frisst ihre Kinder

2008 recherchierte der deutsche Comiczeichner Reinhard Kleist einige Wochen auf Kuba für seinen Comic über Fidel Castro. Nebenbei ist ein facettenreicher Reisebericht in Zeichnungen und Skizzen entstanden.


2008 reist Reinhard Kleist nach Kuba, um für seinen Comic über Fidel Castro zu recherchieren. Dabei entsteht auch das Reisetagebuch »Havanna«, das ganz in der Tradition der französischen »Carnet de Voyage« steht. Es versammelt Reiseeindrücke und Erlebnisse, stellt Menschen und Orte vor, berichtet von den Mühen und Entdeckungen vor Ort und gibt Einblicke in die Seelen- und Gemütslage des Zeichners.

Die steht natürlich im Kontext mit der ikonischen Figur der kubanischen Revolution, der Kleist hier eigentlich auf der Spur ist. Und je länger man in dem knapp 100 Seiten umfassenden Band blättert, desto stärker tritt Kleists inneres Hadern mit der kubanischen Wirklichkeit zutage. Bis er irgendwann an einem der allgegenwärtigen Porträts des Maximo Líder vorbeigeht und schnauzt »’ne schöne Revolution hast du da!«

Der in Berlin lebende Reinhard Kleist rechnet sich durchaus der politischen Linken zu. Für die Werte und Ideen der kubanischen Revolution hat er zweifelsfrei Bewunderung übrig. »Was allerdings daraus geworden ist, wirft Fragen auf«, betonte er bei einer Vorstellung seines Comics »Castro«. In diesem ist ihm auf kongeniale Weise eine Gratwanderung zwischen Realität und Fiktion gelungen, indem er die Geschichte der kubanischen Revolution verbunden mit einer im Kindesalter ansetzenden Biografie Fidel Castros von dem ausgewanderten deutschen Journalisten Karl Mertens erzählen lässt. Der Comic ist Mertens erzählte Geschichte, ein Leben in Bewunderung für Fidel Castro, die ihn aber auch einiges an Verlusten und Entbehrungen gekostet hat.

Karl Mertens ist wenn man so will Reinhard Kleists Marionette. Um nicht selbst zu erzählen und sich dem Vorwurf einer Tendenz auszusetzen, lässt er erzählen. »Castro« ist eine biografische Annäherung an den Maximo Líder und als solche auch das Dokument der Verwandlung einer Ikone zu einem Diktator. Zugleich hat die Revolution auch ein kostenloses Gesundheits- und Bildungssystem hervorgebracht – auch wenn man über dessen Qualitäten streiten kann. Schatten und Licht sind immer nah beieinander – auch und erst recht in Kleists Blick auf die kubanischen Verhältnisse.

Dies wird besonders gut sichtbar, wenn man den »Castro«-Comic neben das »Havanna«-Reisetagebuch legt. Es zeigt den Zeichner, wie er den Alltag der Menschen beobachtete, sich mit Passanten und Kindern unterhielt, mit Straßenmusikern die Nacht zum Tag machte und sich mit Dissidenten in Cafés traf. Seine Impressionen, Erlebnisse und Gespräche hielt er mit dem Bleistift in einem Skizzenbuch fest, das er mit zurück nach Berlin nahm und dort überarbeitete und ergänzte. Deshalb zieht sich durch den vorliegenden Comic dieser kubanischen Reise die Rahmenhandlung seines Aufenthalts unterbrochen von ganzseitigen Impressionen, Seiten mit schwarz-weißen Skizzen von Oldtimern oder Baseballspielern, mit szenischen Miniaturen und Straßenszenen in warmen Sepiatönen, unterbrochen von nüchtern formulierten und schlicht gesetzten Beschreibungen dessen, was da zu sehen ist.

»Havanna« ist ein abwechslungsreiches, stimmungsvolles und einfühlsames Reisetagebuch, eine atmosphärische Darstellung des Alltags in Kubas Hauptstadt. Darin hat Kleist nicht nur die zahlreichen Stadtimpressionen versammelt, sondern auch ganz unterschiedliche Zeichentechniken angewendet. Neben Bleistiftskizzen finden sich Tinten- und Tuschebilder in schwarz-weiß und Farbe. Derart inszeniert ist der Comic in erster Linie ein Beleg der künstlerischen Klasse des Berliner Künstlers. In diesem Stilmix unterscheidet sich »Havanna« ganz wesentlich von seinen biografischen Comics (»Cash – I see a darkness«, »Castro«, »Der Boxer«, »Der Traum von Olympia«, »Nick Cave – Mercy on me« und zuletzt »Knock Out«)

Reinhard Kleist ist einer der besten deutschsprachigen Comickünstler, notabene ist er auch als solcher mit dem entsprechenden Max und Moritz Preis ausgestattet. Mit seinen inzwischen 16 Comics hat er mehr als ein Dutzend verschiedene Preise abgeräumt. Ihm ist es sogar gelungen, für alle drei wichtigen amerikanischen Comicpreise – den Eisner, den Harvey und den Ignatz Award – nominiert zu werden.

Reinhard Kleist spart weder in seinem Reisetagebuch noch in »Castro« mit Kritikwürdigem: Er hält mit den katastrophalen Zuständen im Kuba unter und nach Castro nicht hinterm Berg. Er zeigt die willkürliche Verfolgung politischer Gegner ebenso wie die leeren Regale in den Supermärkten. So wird unumwunden deutlich, dass die Revolution in Kuba ihre Kinder frisst und ihnen ihre Zukunft stiehlt. Kleist selbst verbietet sich, über die politischen Verhältnisse und Castros Werdegang ein Urteil zu fällen. Er nimmt es seinen Lesern nicht ab, sich selbst mit der Person Fidel Castro, dem Projekt der kubanischen Revolution und ihren verheerenden Folgen auseinanderzusetzen. Wer einfache Antworten will, wird sie in keinem der beiden Comics finden. Gerade das macht diese Bände in ihrem Zusammenspiel so wertvoll.

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. Carlsen-Verlag 2008. 96 Seiten. 19,90 Euro
Reinhard Kleist: Castro. Carlsen-Verlag 2010. 280 Seiten. 19,90 Euro

 

Top