Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Barbara Yelin

Barbara Yelin Barbara Yelin was born in Munich in 1977 and studied illustration at the HAW Hamburg. In September and October 2011, the illustrator travelled to the Egyptian capital of Cairo and reported on the Arab Spring in a graphic travel journal for the Goethe-Institut. In 2015, she received the Bavarian Art Prize for Literature and in 2016 the Max and Moritz Prize for best German-language comic artist.

... answers

For me, the difference between travel photography and travel drawing is...
"... well, first of all, there is a big difference in the timing! When I draw, I remember it much better afterwards. Photos are very important to me so that I can look at the details again afterwards."

When I draw...
"... I discover a lot of new things. And at the same time, I always reach the limits of my skills. A constant back and forth."

Inspirations on my ‘travels’ have been, above all...
"... Christoph Niemann."

I would like to travel...
"... travel to Nepal and record the Himalayas there."

My reading for my next trip will include...
"... all the books that I wanted to read a long time ago! But the luggage is too heavy! I am just on tour and I have by Dmitrij Kapitelmann Das Lächeln meines unsichtbaren Vaters in my suitcase and by Paula Bulling / Anne König Bruchlinien."

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Barbara Yelin

Barbara Yelin Barbara Yelin wurde 1977 in München geboren und studierte Illustration an der HAW Hamburg. Im September und Oktober 2011 reiste die Zeichnerinin in die ägyptische Hauptstadt Kairo und berichtete in einem grafischen Reisetagebuch für das Goethe Institut vom Arabischen Frühling. 2015 erhielt sie den Bayerischen Kunstförderpreis für Literatur und 2016 den Max-und-Moritz-Preis als beste deutschsprachige Comic-Künstlerin.

... antwortet

Der Unterschied zwischen Reisefotos und Reisezeichnungen ist für mich... 
"... Naja, erstmal ist das beim Machen zeitlich ein großer Unterschied! Wenn ich zeichne, erinnere ich mich nachher viel besser. Fotos sind für mich sehr wichtig, um nachher nochmal die Details anschauen zu können."

Wenn ich zeichne, dann... 
"... entdecke ich viel Neues. Und gleichzeitig stosse ich immer an die Grenzen meiner Fähigkeiten. Ein ständiges Hin und Her."

Inspiriert haben mich auf meinen „Reisen“ vor allem...
"... Christoph Niemann."

Ich möchte gern noch... 
"... nach Nepal reisen und dort den Himalaya festhalten."

Auf meinem nächsten Trip gehört in meine Reiselektüre... 
"... die ganzen Bücher, die ich schon längst lesen will! Das Gepäck wird aber viel zu schwer! Gerade bin ich unterwegs und habe u.a. von Dmitrij Kapitelmann Das Lächeln meines unsichtbaren Vaters im Koffer und von Paula Bulling/Anne König Bruchlinien."

Top