Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


There’s a Lot to Heal

Dursel2
© Caroline Lessire

A workshop held in Brussels to jump-start the project "Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit" (“Everything passes except the past”).

By Cristina Nord

Is it possible to heal a museum? If so, how might one go about that? Grace Ndiritu, an artist from London, believes so firmly in the idea that she calls one of her participatory performances "Healing the Museum". In early May, she appeared at the Africa Museum in Tervuren, on the outskirts of Brussels. About thirty people were seated around her, a few of them museumgoers, most of them participants in a workshop entitled “Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“, or "Everything passes except the past", about dealing with the vestiges of colonialism in European museums and collections.

King Leopold II had the Royal Museum for Central Africa built at the beginning of the 20th century in a huge park just outside of Brussels. The object was to convince the Belgians that colonizing the Congo was a good idea. The statues still on display in the alcoves here are meant to show how Belgium, at the time still a new buffer state between France and the Netherlands, to “bring civilization” to Central Africa. Only recently have explanatory panels been added to provide some critical perspective on these bronze allegories of European self-exaltation. And the exhibits in the museum’s spacious basement were intended to shore up claims that the Congolese were savages: behold the statue of the infamous “Leopard Man”, for example, who, with his whole head and upper body wrapped in a leopardskin, was said to attack innocents with razor-sharp blades attached to his fingers. It would have been dishonest to banish to the depot these vestiges of colonial Eurocentrism, says staffer Christine Bluard as she guides us through the museum. In the Hall of Minerals, the ores and turquoise and pink crystals on display sparkle seductively, but tell a story of rapacious acquisitiveness and ruthless exploitation. And that story isn’t over today by any means, given the manifold evils of current-day coltan mining in the DRC to supply the capacitors used in mobile phones and many other electronic devices.

So there’s a lot to heal here. But how?
Grace Ndiritu draws on shamanistic techniques, meditation and yoga exercises for healing purposes. She asks us to take off our shoes, sit down on the floor, close our eyes and try to sense the presence of the exhibits in the showcases. Do they speak to us? Can we feel them? Needless to say, this meditation exercise cannot undo the building’s history, which is inextricably bound up with colonialism, or the ruinous combination of high-handed Eurocentrism and ruthless economic exploitation of overseas colonies. But it does enable us to experience the museum in a new way.

After taking part in the exercise, Guido Gryseels, the director of the Africa Museum, says he has never walked around the museum without shoes on or sat on the floor here before. That may not seem a big deal on the face of it. But it actually makes a difference whether you stand there looking around the room or whether you walk through it or sit on the floor with your eyes closed, which means relinquishing power – and what could be a bigger step towards really grappling with the history of colonial injustice than showing a willingness to surrender power and privileges?

“Healing the Museum" was part of a workshop to launch "Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit" ("Everything passes except the past"), a project launched by several Goethe-Instituts in Belgium, France, Italy, Portugal and Spain along with various partner organizations. Roughly half our time there was spent on internal discussions and working groups. The participants – including Mnyaka Sururu Mboro and Yann Le Gall, two activists from the Berlin Postkolonial organization, art historian Didier Houénoudé from Benin and artist Géraldine Tobé from Kinshasa, as well as Katia Kukawka, a curator at the Musée d'Aquitaine in Bordeaux – contributed diverse and sometimes conflicting viewpoints, which repeatedly caused productive friction. Placide Mumbembele, for instance, a cultural anthropologist from Kinshasa, rejects the European tendency to seek out so-called "source communities" for restitution purposes, because in his eyes it is the African states, not individuals or groups, who should decide the future of looted objects.

the voracity of museum depots

Mumbembele also insisted on the necessity of returning colonial-era exhibits when Hartmut Dorgerloh and Lars-Christian Koch outlined their plans for the interior of the Humboldt Forum in the reconstructed Berlin Palace. The two museum directors presented the project as a combination research centre, meeting place and museum. The new museum is to set up residencies, respond to current developments and debates through temporary exhibitions, and provide space for collaborative research.

Other workshop participants expounded theoretical considerations concerning the limitations on the knowledge produced by European museums. Grace Ndiritu embraces alternative practices and grassroots activities, outreach work to bring art and knowledge to residential neighbourhoods and youth centres, bringing in experts in alternative forms of knowledge (e.g. shamans) and letting objects circulate: "Take the objects out of the museums!” Clémentine Deliss, a curator, journalist and researcher, agreed that ethnography should not be the only discipline called upon to explain artefacts. She talked about the voracity of museum depots, where countless objects are preserved in ideal conditions, to be sure, but where they can no longer be seen, let alone touched, by anyone. She hopes museums of the future will become places of low-threshold transdisciplinary knowledge production.

The difficulties of obtaining a visa

Wayne Modest of the Research Center for Material Culture at Amsterdam’s ethnographic Tropenmuseum added a radical critique of European border regimes. He sees enduring proof of the devastating effects of Eurocentrism in the way we divide people up into those allowed to travel freely, without any hassles or restrictions, on the one hand, and those who actually risk their lives in order to cross borders and are denied entry into Europe, on the other. Though not quite that dramatic, the experiences of the workshop participants from Benin and the Congo were nerve-racking all the same. Like Dada Kahindo, an artist from Kinshasa, Placide Mumbembele and Didier Houénoudé did not receive their visas for Belgium until the very last minute. Given the prohibitive cost and hassles involved in obtaining a visa and travelling to Europe, no wonder it’s still so hard for African artists and researchers to contribute to European discourse on a regular basis. If Houénoudé and Mumbembele had one wish, it would be for more joint research and collaborative production of knowledge – in Europe as well as in Africa.

All in all, the participants aired both very concrete and highly abstract ideas, which will be taken up and further developed at upcoming workshops in Lisbon, Barcelona and Bordeaux. Here’s a cursory rundown of their proposals:
  • The crisis of the museum should be seen less as a problem than as an opportunity to redefine what museums are all about.
  • Multidisciplinarity is a must. Interpreting museum exhibits must not be the exclusive preserve of ethnologists.
  • The inclusion of women artists – whether from Africa, the African diaspora in Europe or from Europe itself – must not be a token gesture. And museums should not outsource institutional self-criticism to artists and then simply carry on as before.
  • Restitution is important, but not a panacea. It is essential to investigate claims and provenance, but, in the worst case, these processes may keep artefacts in depots for a very long time due to the many lingering uncertainties. We need to think about what can be done with them now.
  • Collaboration between African and European researchers should be more frequent and a matter of course.
  • Educational programmes in African countries should seek to familiarize people there with their lost heritage.
  • Mutual goodwill should be the driving force behind these healing efforts.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Zu heilen wäre also viel

Dursel2
© Caroline Lessire

​Das Projekt „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“ nahm bei einem Auftaktworkshop in Brüssel Fahrt auf.
 

Von Cristina Nord

​Ein Museum heilen: Ist das möglich? Und wenn ja, wie könnte das gehen? Grace Ndiritu, eine Künstlerin aus London, ist so überzeugt von der Idee, dass sie eine ihrer partizipativen Performances „Healing the Museum“ nennt. Anfang Mai tritt sie im Africa Museum in Tervuren bei Brüssel auf; um sie herum etwa 30 Menschen, einige von ihnen sind Museumsbesucher*innen, die meisten nehmen an einem Workshop teil, der den Titel „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“ trägt und sich dem Umgang mit kolonialen Residuen in europäischen Museen und Sammlungen widmet.

Auf Betreiben von König Leopold II wurde das Africa Museum Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts in einem weitläufigen Park vor den Toren Brüssels errichtet. Das Ziel war, die Belgier davon zu überzeugen, dass die Kolonialisierung des Kongos eine gute Idee sei. Noch heute finden sich hier Wandnischen mit Statuen, die davon künden, wie der damals noch junge Pufferstaat zwischen Frankreich und den Niederlanden die Zivilisation nach Zentralafrika brachte: Allegorien europäischer Überheblichkeit; erst in neu angebrachten Texttafeln werden sie der nötigen Kritik unterzogen. Ein Saal im Keller versammelt Exponate, die auf besonders drastische Weise eine barbarische Natur der kongolesischen Untertanen behaupten, etwa eine Statue des berüchtigten Leopardenmannes, der sich in ein Leopardenfell hüllte und mit scharfen Klingen an den Fingern über Unschuldige herfiel. Diese Bronze gewordenen Überreste des kolonialen Überlegenheitsdiskurses ins Depot zu verbannen, wäre unaufrichtig gewesen, sagt Christine Bluard vom Africa Museum, als sie uns durch die Säle führt. Im Mineralien-Saal funkeln die Erze und die türkis- oder rosafarbenen Kristalle verführerisch; zugleich erzählen sie eine Geschichte von Akkumulation und Ausbeutung; und wer ein wenig über Coltan und dessen Abbau weiß, kann sich ausmalen, dass diese Geschichte kein Ende kennt. Zu heilen wäre also viel. Bloß wie?

Grace Ndiritu orientiert sich an schamanistischen Techniken, an Meditation und Yoga-Übungen, als sie uns bittet, die Schuhe auszuziehen, uns auf den Boden zu setzen, die Augen zu schließen und darauf zu achten, welche Präsenz die Objekte in den Vitrinen nun entfalten. Sprechen sie zu uns? Spüren wir sie? Die tief in den Kolonialismus verstrickte Geschichte des Gebäudes hebt die Künstlerin damit nicht auf, genauso wenig wie die unselige Verquickung von europäischem Überlegenheitsgefühl und ökonomischem Raubbau. Wohl aber ermöglicht sie ein neues Erleben des Raums. Guido Gryseels, der Direktor des Africa Museums, nimmt an der Meditationsübung teil und sagt hinterher, er habe das Museum noch nie ohne Schuhe betreten, und auf dem Boden habe er dort auch noch nie gesessen. Auf den ersten Blick mag dies keine große Bedeutung haben. Doch es macht tatsächlich einen Unterschied, ob man steht und in den Raum schaut oder ob man mit geschlossenen Augen durch den Raum geht bzw. auf dem Boden sitzt. Denn beides bedeutet, Macht abzugeben – und was, wenn nicht die Bereitschaft, Macht und Privilegien preiszugeben, wäre ein Schritt zu einer wirklichen Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte des kolonialen Unrechts?

„Healing the Museum“ war Teil des Auftaktworkshops von „Alles vergeht, außer der Vergangenheit“, eines Projektes, das mehrere Goethe-Institute in Belgien, Frankreich, Italien, Portugal und Spanien zusammen mit Partnerorganisationen vorantreiben. Etwa die Hälfte der Zeit war internen Gesprächsrunden und Arbeitsgruppen gewidmet. Die Teilnehmer*innen – unter ihnen Mnyaka Sururu Mboro und Yann Le Gall, zwei Aktivisten von Berlin Postkolonial, der Kunsthistoriker Didier Houénoudé aus Benin, die Künstlerin Géraldine Tobé aus Kinshasa und Katia Kukawka, eine Kuratorin am Musée d’Aquitaine in Bordeaux – brachten unterschiedliche, teils widerstreitende Perspektiven ein. Immer wieder erzeugte dies eine produktive Reibung, etwa wenn Placide Mumbembele, ein Wissenschaftler aus Kinshasa, der europäischen Neigung, die so genannte „source community“ als Ansprechpartner in Rückgabefragen zu suchen, eine Absage erteilte, weil in seinen Augen nicht einzelne Gruppen oder Personen, sondern die afrikanischen Staaten über die Zukunft der geraubten und zu restituierenden Objekte entscheiden sollten.

Die Gefräßigkeit der Depots

Mumbembele war es auch, der beharrlich immer wieder auf die gebotene Rückgabe von Exponaten zu sprechen kam, als Hartmut Dorgerloh und Lars-Christian Koch die Perspektive des Berliner Humboldt-Forums einnahmen. Die beiden erläuterten ihre Konzepte für das Innere des rekonstruierten Berliner Schlosses, wobei sie viel Wert darauf legten, es als Mischung aus Forschungsstätte, Begegnungsraum und Museum vorzustellen. Sie betonten, dass sie Residenzen einrichten, auf den temporären Ausstellungsflächen auf aktuelle Entwicklungen und Diskurse eingehen und Raum für gemeinsames Forschen anbieten möchten.

Dagegen führten andere Workshopteilnehmer*innen theoretische Überlegungen aus, welche nahelegen, dass europäische Museen als Wissensproduzenten an Grenzen stoßen. Grace Ndiritu macht sich für alternative Praktiken stark, für Graswurzelaktivitäten, für eine in die Wohnviertel und Jugendzentren reichende Beschäftigung mit Kunst und Wissen, für die Einbindung von Expert*innen, die für andere Wissensformen stehen (zum Beispiel von Schamanen), für ein Zirkulieren-Lassen der Objekte: „Nehmt die Objekte aus den Museen heraus!“ Clémentine Deliss, Kuratorin, Publizisten, Wissenschaftlerin, beharrte darauf, dass die Ethnographie nicht die einzige Disziplin sein dürfe, die die Artefakte erkläre. Sie sprach über die Gefräßigkeit der Museumsdepots, wo unzählige Objekte zwar in bestem Zustand konserviert, aber von niemandem mehr gesehen oder gar berührt würden. Einer ihrer Wünsche an das Museum der Zukunft war, dass es sich in einen Ort der transdisziplinären, niedrigschwelligen Wissensproduktion verwandeln möge.

Visavergabe voller Tücken

Wayne Modest des Research Center for Material Culture Amsterdam ergänzte diese Ansätze um eine radikale Kritik an europäischen Grenzregimen. Die Verweigerung von Zugang und die Einteilung von Menschen in solche, die ohne Einschränkungen und ohne Not reisen dürfen, auf der einen und auf der anderen Seite in solche, die, sobald sie mobil werden, um ihre Existenz fürchten müssen, ist für ihn ein Beleg dafür, welche verheerenden Effekte das europäische Überlegenheitsgefühl noch heute zeitigt. Nicht ganz so dramatisch, aber doch umständlich und nervenaufreibend waren die Erfahrungen der Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen aus Benin und Kongo. Die Künstlerin Dada Kahindo aus Kinshasa, Placide Mumbembele und Didier Houénoudé erhielten das Visum für Belgien jeweils erst im letzten Augenblick. Kein Wunder, dass es besonders für afrikanische Künstler*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen schwierig ist, sich regelmäßig in die Diskurse in Europa einzubringen, da Reisen aufwendig sind und die Visavergabe voller Tücken steckt. Wenn es von Didier Houénoudés oder Placide Mumbembeles Seite einen Wunsch gibt, dann vor allem den, dass es mehr gemeinsame Forschung und Wissensproduktion geben muss – in Europa genauso wie in Afrika.

Gesammelt haben die Teilnehmer*innen mal recht konkrete, mal noch sehr abstrakte Ideen, die in den kommenden Workshops in Lissabon, Barcelona und Bordeaux aufgegriffen und weiterentwickelt werden. Hier ein kursorischer Überblick:
  • Die Krise des Museums sollte weniger als Problem denn als Chance zur Neubestimmung gesehen werden.
  • Multidisziplinarität ist essentiell. Sammlungen zu interpretieren darf kein Privileg von Ethnologen sein.
  • Die Einbindung von Künstler*innen – gleich ob sie aus Afrika, der afrikanischen Diaspora in Europa oder aus Europa selber kommen – darf keine Feigenblattfunktion einnehmen. Museen dürfen die Kritik, der sie sich unterziehen sollten, nicht an Künstler*innen auslagern und dann weitermachen wie bisher.
  • Restitution ist wichtig, aber kein Allheilmittel. Ansprüche zu klären und Provenienzforschung zu betreiben, ist fundamental, kann jedoch im schlimmsten Fall dazu führen, dass die Artefakte wegen der vielen Unklarheiten noch sehr lange in Depots verharren. Es gilt zu überlegen, was man heute schon tun kann.
  • Kooperationen zwischen afrikanischen und europäischen Wissenschaftler*innen sollen selbstverständlicher werden und häufiger vorkommen.
  • Bildungsprogramme in afrikanischen Ländern sollen darauf zielen, die Menschen dort mit dem verlorengegangenen Erbe wieder bekannt zu machen.
  • Wechselseitiges Wohlwollen sollte treibende Kraft sein.

Top