Hybrid event live from Ljubljana Europe. Your Languages.

Thu, 21.10.2021

6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
MESZ

THE NEXT ROUND OF OUR DIGITAL CONFERENCE SERIES

Participation for EU officials, ministry officials from EU member states/accession candidate countries and interested parties.

Slovenia. The fourth-smallest EU member state has a population of 2.1 million, an area around half the size of the Netherlands, or about as big as the German federal state of Rheinland-Pfalz, and it is very pro-European. Its diversity is reflected by an alpine climate in the mountains and Mediterranean influences on the coast, with respect for tradition but openness to the digital transformation and artificial intelligence.
 
Slovenian society, which includes minorities such as Serbs, Croats, Italians and Hungarians, has a very high level of education, with knowledge of foreign languages making a key contribution.
 
Immediately after achieving independence, joining the EU became one of top priorities in Slovenian foreign policy. The accession negotiations began in 1998 and six years later Slovenia joined the EU as part of its eastern expansion, supported by almost 90% of the electorate, the political elite and a broad-based civil society.
 
‘Many people believe the idea of Europe is in crisis today, but when we face such situations, we must try harder to find solutions as ultimately our future is at stake and we will find really good ones. It’s good that we’re talking about Europe.’ (His Excellency Franc But, the Republic of Slovenia’s ambassador to Germany)
 
Looking at multilingualism and its importance in the regional and socio-economic context, the ‘Europe. Your Languages’ conference series also explores the challenges for Slovenian in a multilingual Europe and a globalised world of work. 
 
The full programme details can be found here: ​ ​ ​ ​ ​
The event will be broadcast live via Zoom. 
 
Event languages/simultaneous interpretation: German, English, Slovenian.
 
REGISTRATION
The Department of German Studies of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities in Ljubljana and the Goethe-Institut Ljubljana are planning a conference on this topic during the day on 21.10.2021, which will focus on methodological-didactic issues relating to multilingualism in Slovenia. If you are interested, more information could be found here.  

Back

Hybride Veranstaltung live aus Ljubljana Europa. Deine Sprachen.

Slowenien und seine Mehrsprachigkeit © greenvalleypicture

Do, 21.10.2021

18:30 Uhr - 21:00 Uhr

UNSERE DIGITALE KONFERENZSERIE GEHT IN DIE NÄCHSTE RUNDE

Teilnahme für EU-Bedienstete, Ministerialbeamt*innen aus den EU-Mitgliedstaaten/Beitrittskandidatenländern und Interessierte.

Slowenien. Der viertkleinste EU-Mitgliedstaat mit seinen 2,1 Millionen Einwohner*innen ist in seiner Fläche etwa halb so groß wie die Niederlande, etwa so groß wie das Bundesland Rheinland-Pfalz und sehr proeuropäisch. Alpenklima in den Bergen und mediterrane Impressionen am Mittelmeer aber auch Hingabe zur Tradition bei gleichzeitiger Aufgeschlossenheit für die Digitale Transformation und die Künstliche Intelligenz kennzeichnen u. a. seine Vielfalt.

Die slowenische Gesellschaft, zu der eine Reihe von Minderheiten gehören wie Serb*innen, Kroat*innen, Italiener*innen, Ungar*innen, ist geprägt von einem durchschnittlich sehr hohen Bildungsniveau, zu dem auch Fremdsprachenkenntnisse einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten.

Direkt nach der Unabhängigkeit Sloweniens gehörte die Mitgliedschaft in der EU zu den Prioritäten der slowenischen Außenpolitik, 1998 begannen die Beitrittsverhandlungen und bereits sechs Jahre später trat Slowenien in Folge der Osterweiterung der EU bei, unterstützt von den Stimmen fast 90% aller Wählerinnen und Wähler, von der politischen Elite wie auch von einer breiten Zivilgesellschaft.

„Viele Leute glauben, die europäische Idee ist heute in einer Krise, aber wenn es eine Krise gibt, dann müssen wir uns verstärkt um Lösungen bemühen, denn es geht um unsere Zukunft und am Ende werden wir echt gute Lösungen finden. Es ist gut, dass wir über Europa sprechen.“ (S.E. Franc But, Botschafter der Republik Slowenien in Deutschland)

Mit einem Blick auf die Mehrsprachigkeit und ihre Bedeutung im regionalen und sozio-ökonomischen Kontext des Landes geht die Konferenzserie Europa. Deine Sprachen. u. a. auch den Herausforderungen für Slowenisch im mehrsprachigen Europa  und in einer globalisierten Arbeitswelt nach.

Hier finden Sie das ausführliche Programm: ​ ​ ​ ​ ​
Die Veranstaltung wird live via Zoom übertragen.  

Veranstaltungssprachen/Simultanübersetzung: Deutsch, Englisch, Slowenisch.

Anmeldung
Die Germanistik-Abteilung der Philosophischen Fakultät in Ljubljana und das Goethe-Institut Ljubljana planen zu diesem Thema am 21.10.2021 tagsüber eine Fachkonferenz, die sich schwerpunktmäßig mit methodisch-didaktischen Fragestellungen rund um das Thema Mehrsprachigkeit in Slowenien befasst. Alle Informationen dazu finden Sie bei Interesse hier.
 

Zurück