Film: 'Beirut Diaries' - Mai Masri

‘Beirut Diaries' - Mai Masri Mai Masri

Sat, 16.04.2022

18:30 - 20:00

Bozar

Halaqat - Exploring cultural links between Europe and the Arab world

Lebanon and its capital Beirut are fascinating. In the framework of the film festival "L'Heure D'Hiver Beirut" by Cinéma Galeries and the Halaqat Panorama on Documentary Film in the Arab World, we are organising two film evenings in April. 

'Beirut Diaries' - Mai Masri 
(LB, 2006, DCP, 79')
Through the experiences of 25-year-old Nadine Zaidan who was one of the thousands of activists who gathered in Beirut’s Martyr’s square in the chaotic days immediately following the assassination of Prime Minister Rafiq Hariri in February of 2005, Beirut Diaries explores the critical transformations and crucial questions facing Lebanon at that moment of history. 

Mai Masri is a Beirut-based Palestinian filmmaker who studied film at San Francisco State University, USA. She reached international acclaim with her debut feature film, 3000 Nights (2015). She is also known for her humanistic and poetic documentaries such as Children of Fire (1990) and Frontiers of Dreams and Fears (2001). Her films were screened worldwide and won over 90 international awards. 

In partnershipt with Cinema Galeries and the Mahmoud Darwish Chair.

The European project Halaqat is implemented by the Goethe-Institut in collaboration with Bozar - Centre for Fine Arts Brussels. Halaqat is co-funded by the European Commission (under the designation: EU-LAS CULTURE), the Goethe-Institut and Bozar.

Back

Filmvorführung Film: 'Beirut Diaries' - Mai Masri

‘Beirut Diaries' - Mai Masri Mai Masri

Sa, 16.04.2022

18:30 - 20:00

BOZAR

Halaqat - Erforschung der kulturellen Beziehungen zwischen Europa und der Arabischen Welt

Der Libanon und seine Haupstadt Beirut faszinieren. Im Rahmen des Filmfestivals "L'Heure D'Hiver Beirut" vom Cinéma Galeries und des Halaqat Panoramas zum Dokumentarfilm in der Arabischen Welt organisieren wir zwei Filmabende im April. 

'Beirut Diaries' - Mai Masri (LB, 2006, DCP, 79')
Anhand der Erfahrungen der 25-jährigen Nadine Zaidan, die zu den Tausenden von Aktivist*innen gehörte, die sich in den chaotischen Tagen unmittelbar nach der Ermordung von Premierminister Rafiq Hariri im Februar 2005 auf dem Märtyrerplatz in Beirut versammelten, erforscht Beirut Diaries die kritischen Veränderungen und entscheidenden Fragen, mit denen der Libanon zu diesem Zeitpunkt der Geschichte konfrontiert war. 

Mai Masri ist eine in Beirut lebende palästinensische Filmemacherin, die an der San Francisco State University, USA, Film studiert hat. Mit ihrem Spielfilmdebüt 3000 Nights (2015) erlangte sie internationale Anerkennung. Sie ist auch für ihre humanistischen und poetischen Dokumentarfilme wie Children of Fire (1990) und Frontiers of Dreams and Fears (2001) bekannt. Ihre Filme wurden weltweit gezeigt und mit über 90 internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. 

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Cinema Galeries und der Mahmoud Darwish Chair.

Das Europäische Projekt Halaqat wird vom Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bozar – Zentrum für schöne Künste in Brüssel durchgeführt. Halaqat wird von der Europäischen Kommission (unter der Bezeichnung EU-LAS CULTURE), vom Goethe-Institut und vom Bozar kofinanziert.

Zurück