Film: 'Beirut, Eye of the Storm' - Mai Masri

‘Beirut, Eye of the Storm' - Mai Masri Mai Masri

Sat, 16.04.2022

20:30 - 22:00

Bozar

Halaqat - Exploring cultural links between Europe and the Arab world

Lebanon and its capital Beirut are fascinating. In the framework of the film festival "L'Heure D'Hiver Beirut" by Cinéma Galeries and the Halaqat Panorama on Documentary Film in the Arab World, we are organising two film evenings in April. 

'Beirut, Eye of the Storm' - Mai Masri 
(LB, 2021, DCP, 75')
Four young women artists in Beirut document a turbulent period in Lebanese history, from the momentous October 2019 uprising against the ruling regime to the subsequent lockdown and then, just months later, the massive explosion at the port. Noel and Michelle are two multi-talented sisters whose avant-guard songs have made them the voice of their generation. Hanine is a cutting-edge journalist whose in depth outlook defies her young age and takes us into another side of Lebanon we rarely see. Lujain is a fearless Iraqi camerawoman who has a unique insight into the Lebanese uprising and its connections to the Arab Spring. Will the young women be able to hold onto their dream of a new Lebanon? 

Mai Masri is a Beirut-based Palestinian filmmaker who studied film at San Francisco State University, USA. She reached international acclaim with her debut feature film, 3000 Nights (2015). She is also known for her humanistic and poetic documentaries such as Children of Fire (1990) and Frontiers of Dreams and Fears (2001). Her films were screened worldwide and won over 90 international awards. 

In partnership with Cinema Galeries and the Mahmoud Darwish Chair.

The European project Halaqat is implemented by the Goethe-Institut in collaboration with Bozar - Centre for Fine Arts Brussels. Halaqat is co-funded by the European Commission (under the designation: EU-LAS CULTURE), the Goethe-Institut and Bozar.

Back

Filmvorführung Film: 'Beirut, Eye of the Storm' - Mai Masri

‘Beirut, Eye of the Storm' - Mai Masri Mai Masri

Sa, 16.04.2022

20:30 - 22:00

BOZAR

Halaqat - Erforschung der kulturellen Beziehungen zwischen Europa und der Arabischen Welt

Der Libanon und seine Haupstadt Beirut faszinieren. Im Rahmen des Filmfestivals "L'Heure D'Hiver Beirut" vom Cinéma Galeries und des Halaqat Panoramas zum Dokumentarfilm in der Arabischen Welt organisieren wir zwei Filmabende im April. 

'Beirut, Eye of the Storm' - Mai Masri (LB, 2021, DCP, 75')
Vier junge Künstlerinnen in Beirut dokumentieren eine turbulente Zeit in der libanesischen Geschichte, vom bedeutenden Aufstand gegen das herrschende Regime im Oktober 2019 über die anschließende Abriegelung bis hin zur gewaltigen Explosion am Hafen nur wenige Monate später. Noel und Michelle sind zwei multitalentierte Schwestern, die mit ihren avantgardistischen Songs zur Stimme ihrer Generation geworden sind. Hanine ist eine topaktuelle Journalistin, die trotz ihres jungen Alters einen tiefen Einblick in den Libanon hat und uns eine andere Seite des Landes zeigt, die wir nur selten zu sehen bekommen. Lujain ist eine furchtlose irakische Kamerafrau, die einen einzigartigen Einblick in den libanesischen Aufstand und seine Verbindungen zum Arabischen Frühling hat. Wird es den jungen Frauen gelingen, ihren Traum von einem neuen Libanon aufrechtzuerhalten? 

Mai Masri ist eine in Beirut lebende palästinensische Filmemacherin, die an der San Francisco State University, USA, Film studiert hat. Mit ihrem Spielfilmdebüt 3000 Nights (2015) erlangte sie internationale Anerkennung. Sie ist auch für ihre humanistischen und poetischen Dokumentarfilme wie Children of Fire (1990) und Frontiers of Dreams and Fears (2001) bekannt. Ihre Filme wurden weltweit gezeigt und mit über 90 internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. 

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Cinema Galeries und der Mahmoud Darwish Chair.

Das Europäische Projekt Halaqat wird vom Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bozar – Zentrum für schöne Künste in Brüssel durchgeführt. Halaqat wird von der Europäischen Kommission (unter der Bezeichnung EU-LAS CULTURE), vom Goethe-Institut und vom Bozar kofinanziert.

Zurück