Film + talk with the director À pas aveugles | From Where They Stood by Christophe Cognet

FROM WHERE THEY STOOD ©L'atelier

Sun, 04.07.2021

20:00 - 22:00

Bozar

+ Q+A afterwards with director Christophe Cognet

Three important German film festivals are guests in Brussels every year: the Berlinale Forum, DOK Leipzig and Duisburger Filmwoche. From this year's Berlinale Forum programme we present, among others, À pas aveugles (From Where They Stood) by Christophe Cognet. Following the screening, the director will be available for a digital film discussion with Pauline David from Le P'tit Ciné.

About the film: À pas aveugles (From Where They Stood) 

Although they were risking their lives by doing so, prisoners in concentration and extermination camps took photographs and even managed to smuggle canisters of film beyond the camp gates. Yet their hopes of galvanising the global public into action would remain unfulfilled. 
À pas aveugles examines these photographs with a calm, sober gaze. Director Christophe Cognet travels to Ravensbrück, Dachau and Auschwitz-Birkenau, amongst other sites, carrying black-and-white glass plate prints in his luggage. The images show, for example, an infirmary, a roll call area, the maimed limbs of female prisoners. Even the moments immediately before and after the industrialised murders were captured by Greek prisoner Alberto Errera, albeit in shadowy form. 
The historical images and their present-day locations are overlaid on multiple occasions to ghostly effect: when visitors to the memorial sites pass behind the glass plates, it’s as if the individuals depicted have broken free from their fixed positions in black and white, setting themselves in motion as coloured spectres. (Cristina Nord) 

About the director: 

Born in 1966 in Marseille, France. After studying film, his work as an author and director has frequently been concerned with the Nazi concentration and extermination camps, including Parce que j'étais peintre, l'art rescapé des camps nazis (2014). His book Éclats (2019) served as the inspiration for À pas aveugles. 





“PERSPEKTIVEN – Berlinale Forum, DOK Leipzig, Duisburger Filmwoche“ is an initiative by Goethe-Institut Brussels and BOZAR Films, programmed with Le p'tit ciné asbl, in cooperation with the Berlinale Forum, Arsenal – Institute for Film und Video Art, DOK Leipzig and Duisburger Filmwoche. The series is kindly supported by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.  
 

Back

Film + Gespräch mit dem Regisseur À pas aveugles von Christophe Cognet

FROM WHERE THEY STOOD ©L'atelier

So, 04.07.2021

20:00 Uhr - 22:00 Uhr

BOZAR

FROM WHERE THEY STOOD

+ anschließendes Q+A mit dem Regisseur Christophe Cognet

Drei wichtige deutsche Filmfestivals sind jährlich in Brüssel zu Gast: das Forum der Berlinale, DOK Leipzig und die Duisburger Filmwoche. Aus dem Programm von Berlinale Forum präsentieren wir in diesem Jahr u.a. À pas aveugles von Christophe Cognet. Im Anschluss an die Vorführung steht der Regisseur für ein digitales Filmgespräch mit Pauline David von Le P'tit Ciné zur Verfügung. 

Zum Film: À pas aveugles 

(Frankreich/Deutschland 2021, Französisch, Deutsch, Polnisch, UT: Englisch, 110’) 

Obwohl sie damit ihr Leben riskierten, nahmen Häftlinge in Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslagern Fotos auf. Es gelang ihnen sogar, die Filmdosen hinauszuschmuggeln. Die Hoffnung indes, damit die Weltöffentlichkeit aufzurütteln, erfüllte sich nicht. 
Christophe Cognet schaut sich diese Fotografien in À pas aveugles mit ruhigem Blick an. Der Regisseur fährt unter anderem nach Ravensbrück, Dachau und nach Auschwitz-Birkenau. Im Gepäck hat er Glasplattenabzüge von den Schwarz-Weiß-Aufnahmen. Zu sehen gibt es mal eine Krankenstation, mal einen Appellplatz, mal die versehrten Gliedmaßen weiblicher Häftlinge. Selbst die unmittelbaren Momente vor und nach dem industriellen Morden hat der griechische Häftling Alberto Errera festgehalten, wenn auch nur schemenhaft. 
Mehrmals überlagern sich historische Aufnahme und heutiger Ort. Die Wirkung ist gespenstisch: Sobald die Besucher*innen der Gedenkstätten hinter den Glasplatten vorbeigehen, sieht es aus, als lösten sich die Abgebildeten aus ihrer schwarz-weißen Fixierung, um sich als farbige Schemen in Bewegung zu setzen. (Cristina Nord) 

Zum Regisseur:  

Christophe Cognet 

Geboren 1966 in Marseille, Frankreich. Er absolvierte ein Filmstudium und hat sich als Autor und Filmemacher mehrmals mit NS-Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslagern beschäftigt, u.a. in Parce que j'étais peintre, l'art rescapé des camps nazis (2014). Sein Buch Éclats (2019) diente als Inspiration für À pas aveugles. 




Die Reihe „PERSPEKTIVEN – Berlinale Forum, DOK Leipzig, Duisburger Filmwoche“ ist eine Initiative vom Goethe-Institut Brüssel und BOZAR Films, programmiert mit Le p'tit ciné asbl, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Berlinale Forum, Arsenal - Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V., DOK Leipzig und Duisburger Filmwoche. Mit der freundlichen Unterstützung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa des Landes Berlin.

 

Zurück