Dance performance and artist talk Perruche Summer Edition 2021

Becoming Plant © Grace Ndiritu

Sun, 11.07.2021

Horst Arts & Music Festival



The Perruche-Programme proudly presents ist final summer edition in collaboration with the Horst Art and Music Festival, embracing the return of physical encounters with a dance performance and artist talk:
 
After a year in which our interactions and sense-of-self have been defined and reduced by online meetings and digital avatar-like representation, the Horst Exhibition celebrates the raw fleshiness of the human body. Protesting bodies; dancing bodies; love-making bodies; tripping bodies - the concept of bodies in alliance as a way to enforce empathy, solidarity and community. These notions are explored through collaborations with artists whose practices span a wide variety of mediums and research. Several works will result from participatory projects or will, in themselves, function as a meeting place.
 
17h Artist Round Table "Trance, Dance and Shamanism. Artistic Perspectives on Body Knowledge" with filmmaker Michelange Quay, curator Sorana Munsya, Horst-curator Evelyn Simons and Perruche-curator Jana J. Haeckel
 
18h Screening „Becoming Plant“ (2021) by Grace Ndiritu
 
The live dance performance is part of the commissioned film, screened at Horst-Festival „Becoming Plant“ (2021), and follows six dancers who participate in a therapeutic group experiment with psychedelics, while temporarily ‘living’ together on the demilitarised industrial site of Asiat. While they are subjected to the plant’s consciousness and to each other’s presence, they perform a choreography, aligning their bodies with each other and with the architectural ruins. The film serves as a catalyst to discuss wider social and relational issues such as science, spirituality, psychiatry, healing, healthcare and the problems of collective depression and trauma resulting from living in the age of Late Capitalism. Becoming Plant features a specially composed soundtrack by techno pioneer DJ Jeff Mills.
 
Grace Ndiritu is a British-Kenyan artist whose artworks are concerned with the transformation of our contemporary world, including the impact of globalisation and environmental justice, through her films, photography, paintings and social practice projects with refugees, migrants and indigenous groups. Works including  > The Ark: Center for Interdisciplinary Experimentation; COVERSLUT©  fashion and economic project; and performance art series,  > Healing The Museum , have been shown around the world since 2012. Ndiritu has been featured in TIME magazine, Phaidon’s The 21st Century Art Book,  > Art Monthly, Apollo Magazine’s “40 under 40”  list,  > Elephant magazine , and The Sunday Times Radio Show with Mariella Frostrup. Her work is housed in museum collections such as The Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York), The British Council, The Modern Art Museum (Warsaw), and private collections such as the King Mohammed VI Collection in Morocco and The Walther Collections in New York and Germany. Her experimental art writing and images have been published by The Whitechapel Gallery in the Documents of Contemporary Art anthology series, The Paris Review, Le Journal Laboratoires d'Aubervilliers, Animal Shelter Journal, Semiotext(e), The MIT Press, Metropolis M, and The Oxford University Press.   
 
Michelange Quay is an American filmmaker of Haitian origin. He has directed numerous short films in Haiti, including "The Gospel of the Creole Pig", presented in the official competition of the Cannes Film Festival in 2004. He has been awarded Best Film awards in Milan, São Paulo, Stockholm, Rio de Janeiro, as well as the Golden Leopard at the Locarno Film Festival. His first feature film, "Eat, For This Is My Body", was selected in numerous festivals including Sundance, Toronto, New Director/New Films, Seattle, Rotterdam and was awarded at the Miami Film festival. Mr. Quay is also an electronic music producer. He is developing a genre mixing Haitian Voodoo with Chicago ghetto house. As a contemporary video artist, Michelange has shown his performances, based on the incorporation of his hypnotherapist practice in his relationship with the spectator in Paris, Switzerland and Belgium.

Sorana Munsya is a psychologist and curator. Her curatorial practice and writings, she is currently concerned with the connections between art and individual as well as collective care strategies or practices. Sorana Munsya was assistant to the artistic director of the 5th Biennale of Contemporary Art in Lubumbashi (2017) and is part of the editorial team of the contemporary art magazine Afrikadaa. She is also a member of the eponymous collective with whom she organised the African Art Book Fair (Fiac, Art Basel) as editor in charge of the contributors during the Dakar Biennale in 2018. In 2019, she was invited as a curator to the 3rd edition of the International Painting Meetings of Ouagadougou. She regularly writes texts for exhibition catalogues such as the one for the solo exhibition "Tornado" by artist Pascale Marthine Tayou at the Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art in Ostend and the one for the Photography Meetings in Bamako in 2019.

Back

Tanzperformance und Künstler*innengespräch Perruche Sommerausgabe 2021

Becoming Plant © Grace Ndiritu

So, 11.07.2021

Horst Arts & Music Festival

Willem Elsschotstraat 15
1800 Vilvoorde Bruxelles

Das Perruche-Programm feiert gemeinsam mit dem Kunst- und Musikfestival Horst seine letzte Sommerausgabe, welche die Rückkehr der körperlichen Begegnungen mit einer Tanzperformance und einem Künstler*innengespräch zelebriert:

Nach einem Jahr, in dem unsere menschlichen Interaktionen und unser Selbstverständnis auf Online-Treffen und digitale Avatare reduziert wurden, feiert Horst die pure Physis des menschlichen Körpers. Protestierende Körper, tanzende Körper, liebende Körper, stolpernde Körper: Das Konzept der „(wieder)vereinten Körpern“ ist das Leitthema des Festivals und des Veranstaltungsabends. Die künstlerischen Arbeiten umfassen eine Vielzahl medialer und partizipatorischer Forschung und konzentrieren sich auf die Themenfelder Empathie, Solidarität und Gemeinschaft.

17h Künstler*innen Gespräch "Trance, Tanz und Schamanismus. Künstlerische Perspektiven auf Körperwissen" mit dem Filmemacher Michelange Quay, der Kuratorin Sorana Munsya, der Horst-Kuratorin Evelyn Simons und der Perruche-Kuratorin Jana J. Haeckel
 
18h Screening „Becoming Plant“ (2021) von Grace Ndiritu 

Die Live-Tanzperformance ist Teil des vom Horst-Festival beauftragten Films "Becoming Plant" (2021), der ebenfalls auf dem Festival gezeigt wird. Er folgt sechs Tänzer*innen, die an einem therapeutischen Gruppenexperiment mit psychedelischen Pflanzen teilnehmen und vorübergehend auf einem entmilitarisierten Industriegelände zusammen "leben". Während sie dem Einfluss der bewusstseinserweiterten Pflanze ausgesetzt sind, führen sie eine Choreografie auf, in der sie ihre Körper aufeinander und auf die architektonischen Ruinen abstimmen. Der Film dient als Katalysator für die Diskussion relevanter sozialer Themen, wie Wissenschaft, Spiritualität, Psychiatrie, Heilung, Gesundheitswesen und adressiert das Problem kollektiver Depression und Traumata, die aus dem (pandemischen) Leben im Zeitalter des Spätkapitalismus resultieren. „Becoming Plant“ hat einen speziell komponierten Soundtrack des Techno-Pioniers DJ Jeff Mills.
 
Grace Ndiritu ist eine britisch-kenianische Künstlerin, die sich in ihren Filmen, Fotografien, Gemälden und sozialen Praxisprojekten mit Flüchtlingen, Migranten und indigenen Gruppen sowie mit der Transformation unserer heutigen Welt, einschließlich der Auswirkungen der Globalisierung und der Umweltgerechtigkeit, beschäftigt. Arbeiten wie „The Ark: Center for Interdisciplinary Experimentation“, das Mode- und Wirtschaftsprojekt „COVERSLUT©“ und die Performance-Kunstserie „Healing The Museum“, wurden seit 2012 weltweit gezeigt. Ndiritus Arbeiten wurden u.a. im TIME Magazine, Phaidon's The 21st Century Art Book, Art Monthly, Apollo Magazine's "40 under 40"-Liste, Elephant Magazine und The Sunday Times Radio Show mit Mariella Frostrup besprochen. Ihre Arbeiten befinden sich in Museumssammlungen wie The Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York), The British Council, The Modern Art Museum (Warschau) und in Privatsammlungen wie der King Mohammed VI Collection in Marokko und The Walther Collections in New York und Deutschland. Ihre experimentellen Kunsttexte und visuellen Arbeiten wurden von The Whitechapel Gallery in der Anthologie-Reihe Documents of Contemporary Art, The Paris Review, Le Journal Laboratoires d'Aubervilliers, Animal Shelter Journal, Semiotext(e), The MIT Press, Metropolis M und The Oxford University Press veröffentlicht.  
 
Michelange Quay ist ein amerikanischer Filmemacher haitianischer Herkunft. Er hat zahlreiche Kurzfilme in Haiti gedreht, darunter "The Gospel of the Creole Pig", der 2004 im offiziellen Wettbewerb der Filmfestspiele von Cannes präsentiert wurde. Er wurde mit Preisen für den besten Film in Mailand, São Paulo, Stockholm und Rio de Janeiro sowie mit dem Goldenen Leoparden beim Filmfestival in Locarno ausgezeichnet. Sein erster Spielfilm, "Eat, For This Is My Body", wurde auf zahlreichen Festivals ausgewählt, darunter Sundance, Toronto, New Director/New Films, Seattle, Rotterdam und wurde auf dem Miami Film Festival ausgezeichnet. Quay ist auch Produzent elektronischer Musik. Er entwickelt ein eigenes Musikgenre, das haitianischen Voodoo mit Chicagoer Ghetto-House mischt. Als zeitgenössischer Videokünstler hat Quay seine Performances, die auf der Einbeziehung seiner Praxis als Hypnosetherapeut in Beziehung zum Zuschauer basieren, in Paris, der Schweiz und Belgien gezeigt.

Sorana Munsya ist Psychologin und Kuratorin. In ihrer kuratorischen Praxis und ihren Schriften beschäftigt sie sich derzeit mit den Verbindungen zwischen Kunst und individuellen sowie kollektiven Pflegestrategien oder -praktiken. Sorana Munsya war Assistentin des künstlerischen Leiters der 5. Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst in Lubumbashi (2017) und ist Teil des Redaktionsteams des zeitgenössischen Kunstmagazins Afrikadaa. Außerdem ist sie Mitglied des gleichnamigen Kollektivs, mit dem sie die African Art Book Fair (Fiac, Art Basel) als verantwortliche Redakteurin für die Beiträge während der Dakar Biennale 2018 organisierte. 2019 wurde sie als Kuratorin zur 3. Ausgabe der Internationalen Malerei-Treffen von Ouagadougou eingeladen. Sie schreibt regelmäßig Texte für Ausstellungskataloge wie den für die Einzelausstellung "Tornado" der Künstlerin Pascale Marthine Tayou im Museum für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst in Ostende und den für die Photography Meetings in Bamako 2019.

Zurück