Ida Toninato
FEB - MAR 2019

Ida Toninato bio © Hugo St. Laurent

Ida Toninato info

Montreal-based saxophonist, composer and improviser Ida Toninato has an ear for the unknown, exploring reverberant spaces with uncommon acoustics with which she develops artistic partnerships with a strong sense of bonding.

After years of playing contemporary music with various collaborators, she has dived head first into pursuing a music after her own daring musical intuitions.

Her debut full-length record “Strangeness is gratitude“[Kohlenstoff Records, 2016] planted her firmly in the underground experimental scene with an enthusiastic reception from critics, artists and a growing fanbase.
A remix album is currently in the works with such collaborators as Nicolas Bernier and Valerio Tricoli, and she is increasingly sought after for her compositions, having worked with choreographers Simon Renaud and filmmaker Thierry Loa. She is currently working on her second solo album, “We become Giants”, recorded in an old water tank in the desert of Colorado.
 
In addition to her solo compositions, Toninato writes and performs actively with laptop musician Ana Dall'Ara-Majek as Jane/KIN, creating performances that mix spatialisation and improvisation, as well as with viola and viola d'amore player Jennifer Thiessen. Their album „The Space Between Us” [Ambiances Magnétiques, 2018] has been nominated for an Opus Prize in the electroacoustic and experimental music category. 
 
Toninato has toured extensively through Europe and North America with projects world-renown dance company La La La Human Steps and frequently shares the local Montreal stage with its great improvised music community. 
 
Ida Toninato holds a scholarship from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Quebéc (CALQ) as a resident at Vila Sul.

Sounding the Fabric - Performance on 25/03/2019

The Canadian saxophonist and composer Ida Toninato, resident in the Artistic Residence Program of the Goethe-Institut Salvador-Bahia, joined Andrea May, with vinyl deejaying and effects, and Edbrass Brasil, with the trumpet and other self-invented instruments, for the performance "Sounding the Fabric", at a derelict factory located in the Plataforma neighbourhood: the former São Braz textile factory, also kown as Fatbraz.

  • Sounding the Fabric 1 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 2 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 3 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 4 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 5 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 6 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 7 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 8 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 9 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 10 © Lara Carvalho
Conseil des arts du Quebec © CALQ

Ida Toninato
FEB - MÄR 2019

Ida Toninato bio © Hugo St. Laurent

Ida Toninato info

Die in Montreal ansässige Saxophonistin, Komponistin und Improvisatorin Ida Toninato hat ein Ohr für das Unbekannte. Sie erforscht nachhallende Räume mit ungewöhnlicher Akustik, mit denen sie künstlerische Partnerschaften mit einem starken Gefühl der Bindung entwickelt.

Nachdem sie jahrelang mit verschiedenen Kollegen zeitgenössische Musik gespielt hat, ist sie kopfüber in die Suche nach einer Musikrichtung eingetaucht, die ihrer eigenen gewagten musikalischen Intuition folgt.
Ihr Debütalbum „Strangeness is gratitude“ [Kohlenstoff Records, 2016] hat sie fest in die experimentelle Underground-Szene eingepflanzt. Von Kritikern, Künstlern und einer wachsenden Fangemeinde wurde dies voller Begeisterung aufgenommen.

Momentan arbeitet sie an einem Remix-Album mit Kollegen wie Nicolas Bernier und Valerio Tricoli, und seit ihrer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Choreographen Simon Renaud und dem Filmemacher Thierry Loa wird zunehmend nach ihren Kompositionen verlangt. Außerdem arbeitet sie gerade an ihrem zweiten Solo-Album „We become Giants“, das in einem alten Wassertank in der Wüste von Colorado aufgenommen wurde.
Neben ihren Solokompositionen schreibt und performt Toninato zusammen mit der Laptopmusikerin Ana Dall'Ara-Majek als Jane / KIN sowie mit Viola und Viola d’amore Spielerin Jennifer Thiessen und kreiert Performances, die Räumlichkeit und Improvisation miteinander verbinden.

Ihr Album „The Space Between Us“ [Ambiances Magnétiques, 2018] wurde für einen Opus Price in der Kategorie elektroakustische und experimentelle Musik nominiert.
Toninato tourte bereits mit der weltbekannten Tanzgruppe La La La Human Steps ausgiebig durch Europa und Nordamerika und teilt häufig die lokale Bühne von Montreal mit ihrer großen improvisierten Musikgemeinschaft.
 
Ida Toninato ist als Stipendiatin des Conseil des arts et des lettres du Quebéc (CALQ) Residentin in der Vila Sul.

Sounding the Fabric - Performance am 25.03.2019

Die kanadische Saxophonistin und Komponistin Ida Toninato, Teilnehnerin an dem Vila Sul Kunstresidenz Progamm des Goethe-Instituts Salvador-Bahia, zusammen mit Andrea May, mit Vinyl Schallplatten und Effekte, und Edbrass Brasil, mit der Trompete und anderen selbst erfundenen Musikinstrumente, haben die Performance "Sounding the Fabric" in einer deaktivierten Fabrik durchgeführt. Die Textilfabrik São Braz, auch als Fatbraz gennant, liegt im Viertel Plataforma.

  • Sounding the Fabric 1 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 2 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 3 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 4 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 5 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 6 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 7 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 8 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 9 © Lara Carvalho
  • Sounding the Fabric 10 © Lara Carvalho
Conseil des arts du Quebec © CALQ