#artbits
Street art discoveries from Mexico, Canada and the US

  • Tomer Limaje - Mayas en Berlin © Tomer Limaje, Photo: Sehr Bueno
  • Adry del Rocío - "El hogar está dónde está el corazón“ © Adry del Rocío, Photo: Sehr Bueno
    Adry del Rocío - "El hogar está dónde está el corazón“
  • „Mágico Berlin“ Sr. Papá Chango © Sr. Papá Chango, Photo: Sehr Bueno
  • "Self Consuming Self" by BiP, on Larkin Street between Ellis & Eddy in San Francisco © BiP / Photo: Sophoan Sorn
    "Self Consuming Self" by BiP, on Larkin Street between Ellis & Eddy - http://www.bipgraffiti.com/
  • "Concrete Jungle" by Futura © Futura, Photo: Luna Park
    "Concrete Jungle" by Futura
  • You Go Girl - Hugo Gyrl © Hugo Gyrl, Photo: Luna Park
  • #artbits - Steetart by Sidkid in Los Angeles © Sickid, Foto: Lord Jim
Street art is found on walls and surfaces all over the world and thousands of people notice it in their everyday lives. Street art is an interdisciplinary contemporary art form whose origins can be traced back to graffiti. Both street art and graffiti use public spaces as canvases for artistic, political, and social debate – usually in an unauthorized manner.

 

About #artbits

In this photo collection, colleagues from the Goethe Institutes in Montreal, Los Angeles, Mexico City, New York City, Toronto and Washington, D.C. took photos of street art in their respective cities. We publish our finds in series that are assigned a general theme. We started with a series about our favorite pieces and the works of German artists in our cities.

Participate by taking photos of street art in your hometown and sharing them under the hashtag #artbits.


 

The best art is on the street.

Maurizio Cattelan

¡Somos berlíneses!

The old post office site in the Berlin district of Spandau has - at least temporarily - become a place of the arts. This was made possible by the fact that the site was given over to associations such as "Neuen Urbanen Welten" (New Urban Worlds), whose activities on the site were aimed at reviving Spandau's cultural scene and bringing together creative people of all kinds. The abandoned and derelict premises of the Alte Post were used, among other things, as a shooting location for music videos and as a venue for events, and the old parcel hall on the premises was rebaptized “Urban Art Hall”, a space dedicated to Street Art. Mostly local, but also international artists were to present themselves here legally and in a creative, exchange-oriented environment. And that's what some of Mexico's best street art artists have done, and this series showcases some of the best pieces. In October 2019, New Urban Worlds came to an end, with the creation of offices, condominiums and other commercial spaces. But the story contionues: The Neue Urbane Welten is already looking for new premises!

Pretty Ugly

Queer As Artsy Folk

Street art is everywhere and speaks to everyone. It is full or void of color, loud or calm, gaudy or subtle and sometimes more queer than straight. Our new series Queer as Artsy Folk is about queer street art - by queer artists with attitude, mission and goal. Whether Homo Riot confronts the public with their homophobia or Hugo Gyrl sends the militantly encouraging You Go Girl through the continents - queer street art has many exciting facets. A few of them we show here.

Snapshot: San Francisco

"Self Consuming Self" by BiP, on Larkin Street between Ellis & Eddy in San Francisco © BiP, Photo: Sophoan Sorn

Golden gateway

Through the years, San Francisco has been a golden gateway for artists, thinkers and writer. Next to Los Angeles, New York and Chicago, it is one of the top US cities for murals, with over 1,000 works that have turned alleys and building façades into open-air galleries. This #artbits Snapshot flaunts some of the work there.

Streetartivism

The ubiquity of street art and the inexhaustible number of public walls, columns, telephone booths, subway trains, the fact that public space is exactly that – public – encourages (forces!) its use as a political medium. Street art as a means of protest, as an expression of dissatisfaction and demands for or against prevailing circumstances is as old as it is itself.
 
Not only since Banksy and other superstars in the political art scene has street art served a higher purpose. Our bloggers have devoted themselves to this phenomenon in this series - as always without the claim of completeness or representativeness. That would be impossible simply because of the large amount of great, relevant, exciting street art – and it wouldn't be fair either. That's why we've made a very personal selection to take a look at this world of political art – artivism in Los Angeles, Mexico, Montreal, New York, and Washington, D.C. – and to take a closer look at the world of political art.

Jessica Sabogal "White Supremacy is Killing Me“ © Jessica Sabogal, Photo: Jody Freeman

"White Supremacy Is Killing Me" by Jessica Sabogal

The Montreal article is a suggestion of Canadian writer/editor Jody Freeman, who contributed the image of the work, as did Jessica Sabogal herself.

Words as art

Special: Montreal

Montreal from spring to autumn, that means festival season: for the past 5 years, solidly embedded between the Experimental Dance and Theater Festival Transamériques and the Montreal International Jazz Festival there is the international street art festival MURAL. Its visibility makes the festival one of the major events of the year - it takes place on the boulevard St-Laurent, the so-called "Main", one of the principle arteries of the city, the demarcation line between its eastern and western part and even without a festival one of the most dynamic streets of the metropolis. The organism MU ("Transformer Montréal en Musée à ciel ouvert" - Montreal becomes an open-air museum) also contributes to the city's diversity of exciting street art. In our Montreal city special, we present some of the works that have been produced over the last few years at the MURAL festival or with the support of MU.

Artbits Special: Washington D.C.

In space

Abstract

Well-known faces

German Artists

Street Art Favorites

Insta-artbits of the week

Photographers

Aim Pé © Aim Pé Marie-Pierre Poulin has been the director of the library for the Goethe-Institut Montreal since 2011. She developed an interest for street art in 2014, and has been on the hunt for art on the streets ever since. Her other interests include foodism, languages, travel, and bunnies. Follow her on Instagram  @aim_pe 
Katherine “Luna Park” Lorimer © Luna Park Katherine Lorimer is a Brooklyn-based graffiti and street art enthusiast, photographer, curator, librarian, and author of (Un)Sanctioned: The Art on New York Streets. She's worked as the librarian at the Goethe-Institut New York since 2002. Since 2005, she has spent her free time exploring New York City in search of art in unexpected locations. A co-founder and regular contributor to  The Street Spot blog, she is passionate about documenting urban artforms and supportive of all creative endeavors to redefine public space. Her photographs have been exhibited in New York, Los Angeles, and Chicago and have appeared in leading street art books and magazines. She has presented her observations at the Brooklyn Museum and the New York Public Library, guest lectured for the History of Street Art & Graffiti course at Long Island University, and contributed commentary for the HBO documentary Banksy Does New York. Follow her on Instagram.  @lunapark
Lord Jim © Lord Jim Stefan Kloo, also known as Lord Jim, is an art-dork, book thief, and collector who figures that someone needs to keep an eye on things. He's been documenting street art for well over a decade now and can't shake the feeling that there might just be something to it.
Originally from Germany, Lord Jim lives with his wife and sons in Los Angeles where he also does the most damage.
His photos and musings on street art have been published in numerous books and articles. ( Most notably Stay Up - Los Angeles Street Art with author Jim Deichendt / Shepard Fairey Inc. by Jim Deichendt / Banksy - You are an acceptable level of threat by Carpet Bombing Culture, etc.) His sizable Street Art photo collections can be found on his  Flickr pages.  Lord Jim thinks that Banksy smells like soup.
Michelle Kay © Michelle Kay Michelle is from Toronto and has been the librarian at the Goethe-Institut Toronto since 2012. She likes exploring the city on foot or two wheels and snapping beautiful photos of her findings. Follow her on Instagram   @yo_mk.
Nesa Fröhlich © Nesa Fröhlich Nesa has been director of the library at the Goethe-Institut Mexico since August 2017. Having just arrived in Mexico City, street art discovery tours have been a great opportunity to get to know the city from another side. She also likes to look at art in museums.
Mike Maguire © Josh Mike Maguire is a Washington, DC photographer and writer. His photos have appeared in The Washington City Paper, The Baltimore Sun, USA Today, and Thrasher Magazine. A native of the DC area, he loves photographing the city's nightlife and street art. He cowrote the 2012 feature film Ultrasonic about a fictional DC rock musician and is the author of the sci-fi novel Three Days Breathing and the wordplay book Drawn Inward and Other Poems. Follow Mike on Instagram  @mike.j.maguire or his webpage  mmaguirephoto.com
Peter Schweppe Pete is an Assistant Professor of German Studies & History at Montana State University. Over the years, he has called Toronto, Montreal, and Minneapolis home. In addition to photography, he likes visual culture and the great outdoors. Follow him on Instagram or Twitter  @p_schweppe.
Lucia Romero Lucia Romero (detail) | © Lucia Romero She likes mangas and animes from the 80s and 90s and dark music and metal. Lucía is always exploring her hometown in Mexico in search of the unusual in ordinary places. She likes to take photos of everyday life in the city and finds them all the more interesting if street art is also present in the pictures.
Sophoan Sorn NorCal-based Sophoan Sorn was born in a refugee camp on the border of Cambodia and Thailand in 1985. He is a curator and organizer of contemporary international film festivals, now in his 10th season as Director of the Berlin & Beyond Film Festival, an annual program of the Goethe-Institut San Francisco.

Through the years, he has worked as a portrait photographer, documentary filmmaker, and graphic designer. He watches hundreds of films each year and has attended major festivals such as the Berlinale, Cannes, and Sundance. He is also Director of the San Joaquin International Film Festival, which he founded in 2008. An avid traveler, he has been to 60 countries around the world.

#artbits
Street-Art-Entdeckungen aus Mexiko, Kanada und den USA

  • Solo Amor - Arty & Chikle © Arty & Chikle, Foto: Lucia Romero
  • Homo Riot - Kiss © Homo Riot, Photo: Lord Jim
  • 50 Cakes of Gay - Kashink © Kashink, Foto: Aim Kré
  • You Go Girl - Hugo Gyrl © Hugo Gyrl, Foto: Luna Park
  • Jessica Sabogal „White Supremacy is Killing Me“ © Jessica Sabogal, Foto: Jessica Sabogal
    Jessica Sabogal „White Supremacy is Killing Me“
  • "Concrete Jungle" von Futura © Futura, Foto: Luna Park
    "Concrete Jungle" von Futura
Street Art findet sich an Wänden und Flächen überall auf der Welt und Tausende von Menschen nehmen sie in ihrem Alltag wahr. Street Art ist eine interdisziplinäre zeitgenössische Kunstform, deren Ursprunge auf Graffiti zurückgeführt werden können. Sowohl Street Art als auch Graffiti nutzen öffentliche Räume als Leinwände für künstlerische, politische und soziale Auseinandersetzungen – in der Regel auf unautorisierte Weise.
 

Über #artbits

In dieser Fotosammlung haben die Kolleginnen und Kollegen der Goethe-Institute in Montreal, Los Angeles, Mexiko-Stadt, New York City, Toronto und Washington, D.C. Fotos von Street Art in ihren jeweiligen Städten aufgenommen. Wir veröffentlichen unsere Fundstücke in Serien, denen ein übergreifendes Thema zugeordnet wird. Den Anfang machten wir mit einer Serie über unsere absoluten Lieblingsstücke, sowie den Werken deutscher Künstlerinnen und Künstler in unseren Städten.

Beteilige dich, indem du Street Art in deiner Heimatstadt fotografierst und unter dem Hashtag #artbits teilst.

 

Die beste Kunst findet man auf der Straße.

Maurizio Cattelan

Queer As Artsy Folk

Street Art ist überall und wendet sich an alle. Sie ist bunt oder farblos, laut oder ruhig, knallig oder subtil und sie ist auch mal mehr queer als straight. In unserer neuen Serie Queer as Artsy Folk geht es um queere Street Art – von queeren Künstlerinnen und Künstlern mit Haltung, Sendungsbewusstsein und Ziel. Ob Homo Riot die Öffentlichkeit mit ihrer eigenen Homophobie konfrontiert oder Hugo Gyrl das kämpferisch-aufmunternde You Go Girl durch die Kontinente schickt – queere Street Art hat viele spannende Facetten. Ein paar davon zeigen wir hier.

Schnappschuss: San Francisco

 „Self Consuming Self" von BiP, in der Larkin Street zwischen Ellis & Eddy © BiP, Foto: Sophoan Sorn

Goldenes Pflaster

San Francisco war schon immer ein goldenes Pflaster für Künstler, Denker und Schriftsteller. Neben Los Angeles; New York und Chicago ist sie eine der wichtigsten Städte der USA für Wandgemälde, mit über 1.000 Werken, die Gassen und Fassaden in Freiluftgalerien verwandelt haben. Dieser #artbits Schnappschuss gibt einen Einblick in einige der Werke. 

Street-Artivismus

Die Allgegenwärtigkeit von Street Art und die unerschöpfliche Zahl an öffentlichen Wänden, Säulen, Telefonzellen, U-Bahnzügen, die Tatsache, dass der öffentliche Raum genau das – nämlich öffentlich ist, begünstigen (erzwingen!) ihre Nutzung als politisches Medium. Street Art als Protestmittel, als Ausdrucksform für Unzufriedenheit und Forderungen für oder gegen herrschende Umstände ist so alt wie sie selbst.

Nicht erst seit Banksy und anderen Superstars der politischen Kunstszene dienen viele Kreationen der Straße einem höheren Zweck. Diesem Phänomen haben sich unsere Bloggerinnen und Blogger in dieser Serie gewidmet – wie immer ohne den Anspruch der Vollständigkeit oder Repräsentativität. Das wäre allein schon wegen der großen Menge an toller, relevanter, spannender Straßenkunst unmöglich – und es wäre auch nicht fair. Daher haben wir mit einer ganz persönlichen Auswahl einen Blick in diese Welt der Politischen Kunst gewagt – Artivismus in Los Angeles, Mexiko, Montreal, New York und Washington, D.C.

Jessica Sabogal „White Supremacy is Killing Me“ © Jessica Sabogal, Foto: Jody Freeman

„White Supremacy Is Killing Me" von Jessica Sabogal

Der Montrealer Beitrag ist ein Vorschlag der kanadischen Autorin/Verlegerin Jody Freeman, die auch ein Foto des Werkes beigesteuert hat, ebenso wie die Künstlerin selbst.

Kunst aus Worten

Special: Montreal

Montreal von Frühling bis Herbst, das bedeutet Festivalsaison: Solide eingebettet zwischen dem experimentellen Tanz- und Theaterfestival Festival Transamériques und dem Festival International du Jazz de Montréal findet seit nunmehr fünf Jahren Mitte Juni das Street Art Festival MURAL statt. Seine Sichtbarkeit macht das Festival bereits zu einem der größeren Events des Jahres – entlang des Boulevard St-Laurent, der sogenannten „Main“, einer der wichtigsten Arterien der Stadt, der Demarkationslinie zwischen ihrem Ostteil und Westteil und einer der auch ohne Festival dynamischsten Straßen der Metropole. Auch die Organisation MU („Transformer Montréal en Musée à ciel ouvert“ – Montreal wird zum Museum unter freiem Himmel) trägt dazu bei, dass die Stadt eine echte Vielfalt an spannender Straßenkunst aufzuweisen hat. In unserem Montrealer Stadtspecial stellen wir einige Werke vor, die über die letzten Jahre beim MURAL-Festival und oft auch mit Unterstützung von MU entstanden sind.

Artbits Special: Washington D.C.

Im Weltall

Abstrakt

Prominente Gesichter

Deutsche Künstler

Street Art Favoriten

Insta-artbits der Woche

FotografInnen/Fotografen

Aim Pé © Aim Pé Marie-Pierre Poulin ist seit 2011 Direktorin der Bibliothek für das Goethe-Institut Montreal. In den vergangenen zwei Jahren hat sie Street Art für sich entdeckt und sucht seither mehr und mehr Kunst auf den Straßen. Ihre anderen Interessen sind Esskultur, Sprachen, Reisen und Hasen. Folgen Sie ihr auf Instagram
@aim_pe/
Katherine “Luna Park” Lorimer © Luna Park Lebt in Brooklyn und ist eine Graffiti- und Street Art-Enthusiastin, Fotografin, Kuratorin, Bibliothekarin und Autorin von „(Un) Sanctioned: The Art on New York Streets“. Seit 2002 arbeitet sie als Bibliothekarin beim Goethe-Institut New York. Seit 2005 verbringt sie ihre freie Zeit damit, New York City auf der Suche nach Kunst an unerwarteten Orten zu erkunden. Als Mitbegründerin und Autorin des Street Spot Blog beschäftigt sie sich leidenschaftlich mit der Dokumentation von urbanen Kunstformen und unterstützt alle kreativen Bemühungen, den öffentlichen Raum neu zu definieren. Ihre Fotos wurden in New York, Los Angeles und Chicago ausgestellt und sind in führenden Straßenkunstbüchern und -zeitschriften erschienen. Sie hat ihre Beobachtungen über die Straßenkunst im Brooklyn Museum und in der New York Public Library präsentiert, Vorträge im Kurs „History of Street Art & Graffiti“ an der Long Island University gegeben und Kommentare zum HBO Dokumentarfilm Banksy Does New York beigetragen.
Folgen Sie ihr auf Instagram.  @lunapark.
Lord Jim © Lord Jim Stefan Kloo, aka Lord Jim ist ein Liebhaber schräger Kunst und Sammler flüchtiger Dinge. Als ein leidenschaftlicher Fürsprecher der Gattung fotografiert er Street Art bereits seit über einem Jahrzehnt, und wird dabei das Gefühl nicht los, dass es auch noch eine Weile so weiter gehen wird.
Ursprünglich aus Deutschland, lebt Lord Jim mit seiner Frau und zwei Söhnen in Los Angeles, wo er auch den meisten Schaden anrichtet.
Seine Fotos und Essays wurden in zahlreichen Büchern und Artikeln veröffentlicht.(z.B Stay Up - Los Angeles Street Art mit Autor Jim Deichendt / Shepard Fairey Inc. von Jim Deichendt /" Banksy - Sie sind ein akzeptables Maß an Bedrohung von Carpet Bombing Culture, etc). Eine umfangreiche Sammlungen seiner Street Art Fotos finden Sie auf seinen  Flickr Seiten. 
 
Michelle Kay © Michelle Kay Michelle kommt aus in Toronto. Seit 2012 ist sie Bibliothekarin beim Goethe-Institut Toronto. Sie erkundet die Stadt gern zu Fuss oder auf zwei Rädern und dokumentiert ihre Fundstücke auf Fotos. Folgen Sie ihrem Instagram-Kanal  @yo_mk
Nesa Fröhlich © Nesa Fröhlich Nesa ist seit August 2017 Leiterin der Bibliothek im GI Mexiko. Gerade in Mexiko angekommen sind Street Art-Entdeckungstouren eine gute Gelegenheit, die Stadt noch von einer anderen Seite kennenzulernen. Sonst schaut sie sich Kunst auch gerne in Museen an. Folgen Sie ihr auf Instagram @nizafeliz
Mike Maguire © Josh Mike kommt aus Washington DC und ist Fotograf und Schriftsteller. Seine Fotos sind im Washington City Paper, in der Baltimore Sun, in USA Today und im Thrasher Magazine erschienen. Der gebürtige Washingtoner liebt es, das Nachtleben und die Street Art der Stadt zu fotografieren. Er ist Co-Autor eines Spielfilms über einen fiktionalen DC-Rockmusiker Ultrasonic aus dem Jahre 2012 und ist Autor eines Science-Fiction-Romans Three Days Breathing und eines Wordplay-Buches, Drawn Inward and Other Poems
Folgen Sie Mike auf Instagram:  @mike.j.maguire oder seiner Webseite  mmaguirephoto.com
Peter Schweppe Pete ist Assistenzprofessor für Deutsche Studien und Geschichte an der Montana State University. In der Vergangenheit hat er bereits in Toronto, Montreal und Minneapolis gelebt. Außer für Fotografie interessiert er sich auch für visuelle Kultur und ist zudem ein Naturliebhaber. Sie können ihm auf Instagram oder Twitter folgen:
@p_schweppe
Lucia Romero Lucia Romero (Ausschnitt) | © Lucia Romero Sie mag Mangas und Animes aus den 80er und 90er Jahren und Dark Music und Metal. Lucía erkundet ihre Heimatstadt in Mexiko immer auf der Suche nach dem Ungewöhnlichen an den gewöhnlichen Orten. Sie macht gerne Fotos aus dem alltäglichen Leben in der Stadt und wenn in den Bildern auch noch Street Art vorkommt, findet sie es umso interessanter. Folgen Sie ihr auf Instagram @littledemonlucy
Sophoan Sorn Der in Nord Kalifornien lebende Sophoan Sorn wurde 1985 in einem Flüchtlingslager an der Grenze zwischen Kambodscha und Thailand geboren. Sophoan ist ein gefragter Kurator und Veranstalter zeitgenössischer internationaler Filmfestivals.Derzeit ist er in seiner zehnten Spielzeit als Festivalleiter des Berlin & Beyond Film Festivals in San Francisco, das jährlich vom Goethe-Institut präsentiert wird.

Über die Jahre arbeitete er als Porträtfotograf, Dokumentarfilmer und Grafikdesigner. Er sieht sich jedes Jahr Hunderte von Filmen an und besuchte bedeutende Festivals wie die Berlinale, Cannes und Sundance. Sophoan Sorn ist außerdem der Direktor des San Joaquin International Film Festival, das er 2008 gegründet hat. Als begeisterter Reisender war er in 60 Ländern der Welt unterwegs.