Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Calle Tlaxcoaque S/N, Centro, Cuauhtémoc
"Mexico: Culture and Society Reborn" by Seher One

México: Cultura y sociedad que renace
© Daniel Espinoza Cisne

“Mexico: Culture and Society Reborn” is another mural that was created as part of the Lienzo Capital (Facades of the Capital) program of the Mexico City Youth Institute (INJUVE) and the Government of Mexico City.

Like the other murals that lend color to Mexico City, it has great graphical and historical significance – and in this case a particularly curious significance.

The artist Seher One was commissioned to paint a mural on the Jeanne D´Arc building, and produced a work entitled "Quetzalcóatl dances with his children in Mictlán". The mural was damaged by the earthquake on 19 September 2017, so Seher One was asked to retouch it. Pretending that he was repairing the original, the mural artist instead created a new work that serves as a graphic reminder of the events in Mexico City

  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 1 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 2 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 3 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 4 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 5 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
This is how “Mexico: Culture and Society Reborn” came about, a triptych that dispenses with the depictions of the earthquake in the tabloid press, preferring instead to use pre-Hispanic symbolism to express the sensitivity, teamwork, and courage that enabled the residents of Mexico City to overcome this natural phenomenon.

... we have Quetzalcoatl, though not as a god, but as the combined strength of all Mexicans, as we saw in September when we were all united to advance

Seher One

In a range of cold colors, from which the violet, pale green and matt yellow shades stand out particularly, we are presented with familiar figures from Mexican culture: a golden eagle with its wings spread out, alighting on a closed fist; this symbolizes not only calm, but “picking oneself up”, “tackling the problem together”, “chin up”, Mexico. Other fists represent other countries that supported Mexico during this crisis.

Besides Quetzalcóatl, several death masks with Mayan features can be seen, elements with hammers and helmets, and geometrical shapes in the background that resemble heaps of rubble.

About the Artist

David Piñon, an artist from the country's capital, is better known as Seher One. He completed a degree in Design and Visual Communication at the Faculty of Art and Design of the National  Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) and specialized in illustration – as a brief glance at his work makes perfectly clear.
 
In his paintings he appears to deconstruct objects, as if he were making them explode. That said, his geometrical figures are interwoven with figurative creatures ranging from animals such as a fox to pre-Hispanic deities like Quetzalcóatl.
 
Apart from Mexico City, Seher One has also painted in other cities around the world, including Denver in the USA and Zaragoza in Spain. 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Calle Tlaxcoaque S/N, Centro, Cuauhtémoc
"Mexiko: Neugeborene Kultur und Gesellschaft" von Seher One

México: Cultura y sociedad que renace
© Daniel Espinoza Cisne

“Mexiko: Wiedergeborene Kultur und Gesellschaft” ist eine weitere Wandmalerei, die zum Programm Lienzo Capital (Fassaden der Hauptstadt) des Instituts für Jugend Mexiko-Stadt (INJUVE) und der Regierung von Mexiko-Stadt gehört.

Wie die anderen Wandgemälde, die Mexiko-Stadt ihre Farbe verleihen, hat es eine große grafische und historische Bedeutung, in diesem Fall eine besonders kuriose.

Der Künstler Seher One erhielt den Auftrag, ein Wandgemälde am Gebäude Jeanne D´Arc anzufertigen und schuf "Quetzalcóatl tanzt mit seinen Kindern in Mictlán". Durch das Erdbeben am 19. September 2017 wurde das Werk beschädigt, weshalb Seher One gebeten wurde, dieses zu retuschieren. Unter dem Vorwand der Bearbeitung des ursprünglichen Werkes schuf der Wandmaler stattdessen ein neues Werk, welches eine anschauliche Erinnerung an die Ereignisse in Mexiko-Stadt hinterlässt.

  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 1 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 2 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 3 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 4 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
  • México: Cultura y sociedad que renace 5 © Daniel Espinoza Cisne
So entstand „Mexiko: Wiedergeborene Kultur und Gesellschaft“, ein Triptychon, das die Darstellungen des Erdbebens der Boulevardpresse beiseite lässt und die prähispanische Symbolik nutzt, um Einfühlungsvermögen, Teamarbeit und den Mut auszudrücken, die es den Bewohner*innen Mexiko-Stadts ermöglichten, das Naturphänomen zu überstehen.

... wir haben Quetzalcoatl, aber nicht als einen Gott, sondern als die Vereinigung aller Mexikaner, wie wir im September gesehen haben, als wir alle vereint waren, um voranzukommen

Seher One

Mit einer Palette kalter Farben, von denen die violetten, blassgrünen und gelbmatten Töne hervorstechen, präsentieren sich uns vertraute Figuren der mexikanischen Kultur: ein Königsadler mit ausgebreiteten Flügeln, der sich auf einer geschlossenen Faust niederlässt, die nicht nur Ruhe bedeutet, sondern auch “Aufraffen”, “gemeinsames Anpacken”, “Kopf hoch”, Mexiko. Weitere Fäuste stehen für andere Länder, die Mexiko in dieser Krise beigestanden haben.

Neben Quetzalcóatl sind mehrere Totenmasken mit Maya-Gesichtszügen zu sehen, ebenso Elemente mit Hämmern und Helmen, sowie geometrische Hintergründe, die Steintrümmern ähneln.

Über den Künstler

Der Hauptstadt-Künstler David Piñon ist besser als Seher One bekannt. Er schloss sein Studium für Design und Visuelle Kommunikation an der Fakultät für Kunst und Design der Nationalen Autonomen Universität von Mexiko (UNAM) ab und spezialisierte sich auf Illustrationen. Ein kurzer Blick auf sein Werk reicht aus, um sich davon zu überzeugen.

In seinen Gemälden scheint er die Objekte zu dekonstruieren, als ob er sie explodieren ließe. Seine geometrischen Figuren verschachteln sich jedoch mit figurativen Gestalten, die von Tieren wie dem Fuchs bis hin zu prähispanischen Gottheiten wie Quetzalcóatl reichen.

Außer in Mexiko-Stadt hat Seher One in anderen Städten der Welt wie Denver in den USA und Zaragoza in Spanien gemalt.
 

Top