Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Toronto Comic Arts Festival 2019
A piece of "Heimat" in Toronto

TCAF
TCAF | © Seth

Now in its 16th year, the Toronto Comic Arts Festival continues to cement its place as one of the world’s premier events in comics and graphic novels.

By Laura Kenins

With its usual packed schedule of exhibitors, signing and panels, this year’s festival featured a series of popular events with reknowned Japanese artist Junji Ito, and some highly anticipated Canadian book debuts like Seth’s Clyde Fans, Emily Carroll’s When I Arrived at the Castle, Vivek Shraya and Ness Lee’s Death Threat, and Mariko Tamaki’s Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me, among others. It’s impossible to attend everything, though many attendees try.
 
Germany was represented by TCAF guest of honour Nora Krug, a guest of the Goethe-Institut Toronto. The New York-based Krug presented her book Belonging (Heimat), her story of wrestling with the weight of Germany’s Nazi-era history. The Goethe-Institut also presented the poster exhibit “Berliner Mythen/ Berlin Myths”, a tour of Berlin and its history in comics by German artist Reinhard Kleist, on the third floor of the Toronto Reference Library (previously Kleist was a guest at TCAF in 2014.) The exhibition remains on view through May 31.
 
This year saw the second year for TCAF’s Zineland Terrace space, offering lower-cost tables to local zine creators and self-publishers. It’s a model used successfully in other comics festivals, like the Helsinki Comics Festival. With spaces quickly filling up at other Toronto zine fairs throughout the year, like Canzine and Zine Dream, it’s definitely a much-needed space for the city’s growing and diverse zine community. Though the 2018 Zineland Terrace was pulled together shortly before last year’s festival and some patrons had difficulty finding it, exhibitors felt that this year’s Terrace was much better attended.
 

  • Wowee Zonk © Laura Kenins
    Wowee Zonk
  • Misbah Ahmed © Laura Kenins
    Misbah Ahmed
  • Beena Mistry © Laura Kenins
    Beena Mistry
  • Graphic Medicine © Laura Kenins
    Graphic Medicine

The Terrace showcased ideas like the Zero Dollar Store, a sort of zine trade where patrons could draw an imaginary creature, perform a song, or a variety of other activities to receive a free zine — bustling with both kids and adults.
 
Now in its 10th year, the Wowee Zonk Small Press area offered a curated selection of small press and self-publishers, both local and from further afield. Showcasing creators with strong visual arts backgrounds, the section includes art students and recent grads whose practices include comics and other disciplines from printmaking to ceramics to fashion.
 
One highlight was Toronto illustrator Misbah Ahmed’s work. A 2018 OCAD graduate, Ahmed is currently completing a studio residency at Toronto’s 401 Richmond arts space. There’s a deceptive simplicity to Ahmed’s drawn and painted illustrations, taking viewers around the world from Toronto to New York to the Middle East.


New York-based Canadian artist Siobhan Gallagher had one of the most vibrant tables on the first floor, flanked with bright pink “LEAVE ME ALONE” t-shirts and her pictographic-like comics on topics from slumber parties to work to depression.
 
Ben Passmore Ben Passmore | © Laura Kenins New Orleans artist Ben Passmore launched the Fantagraphics book, BTTM FDRS, written with Ezra Claytan Daniels, along with a new issue of his comic Daygloayhole. Passmore’s work takes sharp, biting looks at race and gentrification, while also delving into plain weird and gross sci fi and horror.
 
Mississauga artist Beena Mistry had a fun and colourful table with risograph-printed posters and comics on gender, princes and queer romance.
 
Pennsylvania-based Graphic Medicine carried books on doctors, reproductive healthcare, superheroes and disability, and more. Both a publisher and a collective that puts on annual conferences, the use of comics in healthcare is a topic that’s been getting greater press in the past few years for good reason, as public discussions on disability, aging populations, and healthcare have been evolving.
 
Rotopol Rotopol | © Laura Kenins Rotopolpress (previously a guest of the Goethe-Institut at TCAF 2015) also brought German work to TCAF (with books in both German and English). The press’s new highlights included Mikkel Sommer and Anna Rakhmanko’s Strannik, a nonfiction comic where writer Rakhmanko spent several days in Moscow interviewing Vyacheslav, a homeless martial artist, and publisher Rita Fürstenau’s fairytale-like minicomic, In Winter.
 
Though the Toronto Reference Library space by nature provides a certain level of accessibility, vendors and attendees have discussed this for years and it may be time to admit the festival at a critical juncture where crowding at the venue creates accessibility issues that may outweigh the financial and physical accessibility benefits of the space. I watched a few patrons with wheelchairs try to squish through the crowds, but it’s hard to imagine having any shot at getting around with a less visible mobility issue, or other accessibility concerns like visual, aural or neurological issues, or attending with kids.
 
Although the crowds are crucial to exhibitor revenues, it’s worth asking what other models might provide more ability for people to browse tables and speak with creators more freely, while still maintaining community access and making the weekend worthwhile for sellers.
 
Serving a vast array of Torontonians of all ages and walks of life and visitors from destinations across Canada and the US, the festival truly lives up to its slogan on this year’s Seth-designed poster, “Comics for Everyone!”
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Toronto Comic Arts Festival 2019
Ein Stück deutscher "Heimat" in Toronto

TCAF
© Seth

Das Toronto Comic Arts Festival (TCAF) verteidigt nun seit 16 Jahren seinen Status als eines der weltweit führenden Events für Comics und Graphic Novels.

Von Laura Kenins

Wie jedes Jahr gab es zahlreiche Aussteller und ein straffes Programm an Signierstunden und Panels.  Dieses Jahr wurde eine Reihe beliebter Veranstaltungen präsentiert, unter anderem mit dem bekannten japanischen Künstler Junji Ito und einigen mit Spannung erwarteten kanadischen Buchdebüts wie etwa Seths Clyde Fans, Emily Carrolls When I Arrived at the Castle, Vivek Shrayas, Ness Lees Death Threat und Mariko Tamakis Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me. Es war schier unmöglich alles zu besuchen, viele Teilnehmer versuchten es dennoch.

Deutschland wurde durch TCAF-Ehrengast Nora Krug vertreten, eingeladen vom Goethe-Institut Toronto. Die in New York lebende Krug präsentierte ihr Buch Belonging (Heimat), das von ihrem Ringen mit der deutschen Nazi-Vergangenheit erzählt. Das Goethe-Institut präsentierte im dritten Stock der Toronto Reference Library außerdem die Plakatausstellung „Berliner Mythen/Berlin Myths", eine Tour durch Berlin und dessen Geschichte, erzählt in Form von Comics des deutschen Künstlers Reinhard Kleist (Kleist war 2014 zu Gast beim TCAF). Die Ausstellung war bis zum 31. Mai zu sehen.

Zum zweiten Mal gab es im Rahmen des TCAF die Zineland Terrace, auf der kostengünstige Tische für lokale Zine-Gestalter und Selbstverleger angeboten wurden. Dieses Modell wurde schon bei anderen Comic-Festivals erfolgreich angewendet, zum Beispiel beim Helsinki Comics Festival.  Da bei anderen Zine-Messen in Toronto im Laufe des Jahres schnell alle Plätze belegt sind, wie unter anderem bei Canzine und Zine Dream, bietet die TCAF Zineland Terrace eine dringend benötigte Plattform für die wachsende und diverse Zine-Community der Stadt. 2018 wurde die Zineland Terrace erst kurz vor dem Festival auf die Beine gestellt und einige Gäste hatten Schwierigkeiten sie zu finden, doch dieses Jahr war sie viel besser besucht, wie die Aussteller feststellen konnten.

Die Terrasse präsentierte Konzepte wie den Zero Dollar Store, eine Art Zine-Handel, bei dem Besucher ein imaginäres Wesen zeichnen, ein Lied spielen oder eine Vielzahl anderer Aktivitäten präsentieren konnten, um ein kostenloses Zine zu erhalten  — was sowohl Kinder als auch Erwachsene animierte.

Im mittlerweile zehnten Jahr bot der Wowee Zonk Small Press Bereich eine kuratierte Auswahl an Klein- und Selbstverlegern an, sowohl lokale als auch aus der entfernteren Umgebung. Hier wurden Künstler*innen aus dem Bereich der bildenden Kunst gezeigt, darunter Kunststudierende und Absolventen*innen, deren Disziplinen von Comics und Druckgrafik über Keramik bis hin zu Mode reichten.

Ein Highlight war die Arbeit des Illustratoren Misbah Ahmed aus Toronto. Ahmed, ein OCAD-Absolvent des Jahrgangs 2018, absolviert derzeit eine Künstlerresidenz im 401 Richmond Art Space in Toronto. Seine gezeichneten und gemalten Illustrationen zeichnen sich durch eine trügerische Einfachheit aus und nehmen die Zuschauer mit auf eine Weltreise, von Toronto über New York bis in den Nahen Osten.

  • Wowee Zonk © Laura Kenins
    Wowee Zonk
  • Misbah Ahmed © Misbah Ahmed
    Misbah Ahmed
  • Beena Mistry © Laura Kenins
    Beena Mistry
  • Graphic Medicine © Laura Kenins
    Graphic Medicine


Die in New York lebende kanadische Künstlerin Siobhan Gallagher (s.u.) hatte einen der lebendigsten Tische im ersten Stock, flankiert von leuchtend rosa "LEAVE ME ALONE"-T-Shirts und ihren piktographischen Comics zu Themen wie Pyjamaparties, Arbeit oder Depressionen.

Ben Passmore Ben Passmore | © Laura Kenins Der Künstler Ben Passmore aus New Orleans lancierte das Fantagraphics-Buch BTTM FDRS - geschrieben mit Ezra Claytan Daniels - zusammen mit einer neuen Ausgabe seines Comics Daygloayhole. Passmores Arbeiten werfen einen scharfen, beißenden Blick auf Themen wie Rasse und Gentrifizierung, während sie ebenso in schrägen und grotesken Sci-Fi und Horror eintauchen.

Die Künstlerin Beena Mistry aus Mississauga erfreute das Publikum mit einem unterhaltsamen und farbenfrohen Tisch mit Riso-Postern und Comics über Geschlechter, Prinzen und queere Romantik.

Das in Pennsylvania ansässige Graphic Medicine, sowohl Verleger als auch Kollektiv, das jährliche Konferenzen veranstaltet, stellte Bücher über Ärzte, reproduktive Gesundheitsfürsorge, Superhelden und Behinderungen und vieles mehr vor. Der Einsatz von Comics im Gesundheitswesen ist ein Thema, das in den letzten Jahren aus gutem Grund mehr Presse bekommen hat, da sich die öffentlichen Diskussionen über Behinderung, Bevölkerungsalterung und Gesundheitsfürsorge weiterentwickelt haben.

Rotopol Rotopol | © Laura Kenins Rotopolpress (beim TCAF 2015 Gast des Goethe-Instituts) brachte deutsche Arbeiten zum TCAF (mit Büchern in deutscher und englischer Sprache). Zu den neuen Höhepunkten der Presse zählten Mikkel Sommers und Anna Rakhmankos Strannik, ein Sachbuchcomic, in dem die Schriftstellerin Rakhmanko mehrere Tage in Moskau verbrachte, um Vyacheslav, einen obdachlosen Kampfsportler, zu interviewen. Ein weiteres Highlight war der märchenhafte Minicomic In Winter der Verlegerin Rita Fürstenau.

Die Toronto Reference Library ist normalerweise relativ barrierefrei. Dieses Jahr jedoch führten die aus finanzieller Sicht begrüßenswerten Massen an Teilnehmenden zu einer Einschränkung der Zugänglichkeit. Ich beobachtete, wie einige Besucher in Rollstühlen versuchten, sich durch die Menschenmassen zu quetschen und auch für Menschen mit weniger sichtbaren Mobilitätsproblemen oder anderen Einschränkungen wie visuellen, akustischen oder neurologischen Problemen, oder für Besucher mit Kindern kam es zweifellos zu Problemen bei der Fortbewegung.

Es stellt sich die Frage nach alternativen Modellen, die es den Menschen ermöglichen können, die Tische zu durchstöbern und freier mit den Künstlern zu sprechen, während man dennoch den Zugang der Gemeinschaft beibehält und das Wochenende auch für Verkäufer lohnenswert hält.

Dadurch, dass das Festival Menschen aus Toronto aus allen Altersklassen, Schichten und aus den verschiedensten Regionen Nordamerikas bedient, ist das Festival seinem Motto auf dem diesjährigen, von Seth designten Poster definitiv treu geblieben: „Comics für alle!“
 

Top