Open Minds: Adapting to the Future Hi, Pluto!

Annika Kahrs © Helge Mundt
Annika Kahrs © Helge Mundt | Photo: © Helge Mundt

With the NASA space probe "New Horizons," the first missile from the earth visited Pluto – soon the first images of the dwarf planet will be available.

Hamburg-based artist Annika Kahrs has been researching for several years the enigma regarding the look and the consistence of Pluto, discovered in 1930. Her film "solid surface, with hills, valleys, craters and other topographic features, primarily made of ice" is an investigation of this topic.

"What is decisive for me is the imminent change from the imagined picture to the actual one. I am fascinated by the idea of the event that happens in the space, in a distance we can hardly imagine but that provides very concrete proof, which is simultaneously made visible on earth," said the 31-year-old. "My film work plays directly with the fact that in the story of our earth, its systems, definitions and structures themselves have always changed. I like that an object which actually moves calmly and slowly within its regular orbit, in our imagination and system has already undergone a lot of changes.

"solid surface, with hills, valleys, craters and other topographic features, primarily made of ice" was created in 2014 and takes place in a planetarium with a projected starry sky. In the centre, there is a bright, round spot of light that explores the room. As soon as the camera and the cone of light hit the starry sky on the dome-shaped screen, the illusion of night is unmasked by the spotlight and the white projection screen is unveiled.


Annika Kahrs is a guest of the Goethe-Institut Toronto and will be participating in our OPEN MINDS: Adapting to the Future speaker series on July 12, 2016 at the Toronto Music Garden. She will speak about "digital mindfulness" & the arts.

Open Minds: Adapting to the Future Hi, Pluto!

Annika Kahrs © Helge Mundt
Annika Kahrs © Helge Mundt | Foto: © Helge Mundt

Mit der NASA-Sonde "New Horizons" hatte erstmals ein irdischer Flugkörper den Pluto besucht - bald werden die ersten Bilder des Zwergplaneten verfügbar sein.

Die Hamburger Künstlerin Annika Kahrs beschäftigt sich bereits seit einigen Jahren mit dem Mysterium zu Aussehen und zur Beschaffenheit des 1930 entdeckten Pluto und geht in ihrer filmischen Arbeit "solid surface, with hills, valleys, craters and other topographic features, primarily made of ice" dieser Thematik nach.

"Der kurzbevorstehende Wechsel vom imaginierten Bild zur tatsächlichen Abbildung ist für mich entscheidend. Das im All stattfindende Ereignis, dessen Entfernung schwer vorzustellen ist und dennoch einen ganz konkreten Beweis erbringt sowie dessen zeitgleiche Wahrnehmung auf der Erde fasziniert mich", sagt die 31-Jährige. "Meine filmische Arbeit spielt direkt mit der Tatsache, dass sich in seiner erdhistorischen Geschichte Ordnungen, Definitionen und Strukturen selbst immer wieder verändert haben. Mir gefällt, dass sich ein Objekt, das sich ruhig und langsam in seiner festen Umlaufbahn bewegt, in unserer Vorstellung und Ordnung schon viele Veränderungen durchlebt hat."

"solid surface, with hills, valleys, craters and other topographic features, primarily made of ice" entstand im Jahr 2014 und spielt in einem Planetarium mit projiziertem Sternenhimmel, in dessen Zentrum ein heller, runder Lichtspot steht, der den Raum erkundet. Sobald die Kamera mitsamt des Lichtkegels den Sternenhimmel auf der Kuppelleinwand tangiert, entlarvt das Scheinwerferlicht diese nächtliche Illusion und bringt die weiße Projektionsfläche zum Vorschein.


Annika Kahrs ist Gast des Goethe-Institut Toronto und Keynote-Sprecherin unserer Vortragsreihe OPEN MINDS: Adapting to the Future am 12. Juli 2016 im Toronto Music Garden. Sie wird über "digitale Achtsamkeit" & Kunst sprechen.