A conversation with Sven Marquardt Something that lasts

Sven Marquardt
© Ole Westermann

Berlin-based photographer Sven Marquardt has gained a great deal of national and international attention in recent years for his portraits. In the summer of 2017, he presented his work under the title BLACK BOX as part of an audiovisual installation in cooperation with the German producer and DJ Marcel Dettmann at the Montreal art gallery Never Apart. We spoke with him before his artist talk on 23 September 2017. 

Black Box combines your pictorial worlds with the sounds of Marcel Dettmann, one of the most influential DJs and producers in recent techno history. How did this collaboration come about and what was it like?

Dettmann and I met for the first time at the legendary OSTGUT club in the late 1990s. The operators from that time opened the BERGHAIN only a few years later. A boy from the outskirts of Berlin who played records and a doorman who really didn’t want to take pictures anymore. I liked his sound even then: rough, dark, driving...

In 2007, I had started to photograph again and had Dettmann in front of my camera for the first time. Our symbiosis still works quite well. Sometime in 2014, Marcel came up to me somewhere and asked me if I could imagine doing something together: his sound, my pictures, a kind of installation was his vision and at first we didn’t know any more than that. ALL we knew was that we wanted to be positioned outside the club context. That was the vague plan back then.

A year later, I had just arrived in Sao Paulo for an artist talk when the then director of the Goethe-Institut Brazil, Alfons Hug, discovered me, pretty much by chance. Right then, Hug was curating an exhibition in Brazil, called ZEITGEIST Berlin, and part of the exhibition was dedicated to the Berlin CLUB CULTURE: BLACK BOX was born. 

The people in Black Box meet us in expressive, staged portraits: young, old, models, outsiders – who are these people to you?

I’ve been photographing since the early 1980s. Back then, my camera became the stylistic and expressive means for my very own attitude about of life and that of the people I depicted. That probably hasn’t changed to this day, even if, of course, my environment / the protagonists have changed as well as, of course, the ZEITGEIST. What’s remained the same is that I’ve always only photographed people: friends, colleagues, companions, and always, always this moment in front of and behind the camera. Always open to one another. For certainly ten years I’ve seen myself arrive more and more in conceptual photography.

  • Black Box 1 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 1
  • Black Box 2 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 2
  • Black Box 3 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 3
  • Black Box 4 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 4
  • Black Box 5 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 5
  • Black Box 6 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 6
  • Black Box 7 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 7

In your autobiography, you describe your younger days in the alternative scene of East Berlin: GDR (German Democratic Republic) and punk – how did that fit together?

Every society, every culture produces a counterculture and perhaps even more so when growing up under a dictatorship. I have lovely memories of my childhood / youth in East Germany, but at some point you begin to not just take things as given and that’s how a counterculture emerges. Today, the almost legendary scene around Berlin’s Prenzlauer Berg district was quite complex. At some point, I was a part of it. The East Berlin underground / the bohemia of Prenzlauer Berg has often been quoted – it was the Eighties. Punk and New Wave influences didn’t just stop at a wall made of stone and barbed wire. It was certainly a little risky, what we were doing back then, the way we lived, painting NO FUTURE on our leather jackets. Today, when I see photos from back then, I think, Ha-ha, weren’t we cute – young, rebellious, scowling. But perhaps this very naiveté saved us from worse things. And there were certainly worse things. A few years ago there was an exhibition about that era / this topic. The title: IN GRENZEN FREI (FREE WITHIN LIMITS). I believe it describes really well how we felt then, what was going on in our minds.

For people who have not experienced it themselves, it is often difficult to imagine: from one day to the next the GDR as a state no longer existed. How did you experience the fall of the wall and the time right after that?

The fall of the wall in 1989 – one of the most important moments in the history of German division – also meant loss to countless people, the loss of one’s own identity. Nobody knew this beforehand because nothing like it had ever happened before.

I threw myself into this new FREEDOM. Freedom? What does that even mean? That you can do and not do whatever you want and, above all, wherever you want? And what price might you have to pay for it exactly? Sometimes this concept still goes through my mind when I travel today, and that I probably also had to learn it.

At the beginning of the 1990s, I not only put my camera away, but probably also my pride in being an East German; in the scene, I nearly denied my origins.
Everything was gone/different and even I had identity issues at first. I was 27 and belonged to a generation for which everything was possible once again. I didn’t miss my camera. I shrugged that time off by saying I only needed the camera as a kind of crutch for unfulfilled wishes/longings. NOW everything was possible. I discovered the Berlin club scene and at some point, it discovered me.

Interest in Berlin, its history, as well as the diverse arts and club scene, has been unbroken for years. How do you experience this long-lived Berlin hype?

In 2014, I told a Berlin story using my life as an example in my autobiography DIE NACHT IST LEBEN (THE NIGHT IS LIFE). I was able to experience 25 years in a divided city and another 25 years after the fall of the wall. For me, Berlin is still home and, of course, so much has changed. But I still recognize this city and sometimes I regret it when things, houses, places disappear forever. I still recognize Berlin; my favorite corners, streets, neighbourhoods are familiar to me; only the players are, of course, simply different ones in many places. That’s NORMAL! And maybe corners that are very strange to me always were. Sometimes, when I return from my travels, from far-away foreign cultures, cities with millions of inhabitants, I look out the window just before the landing in Berlin Tegel and think, Damn! The plane must’ve been hijacked to Wuppertal – everything looks so small and peaceful. Then for a moment I cannot understand the whole Berlin hype at all. And when none of the staff speaks German in my favourite FASHION shops in Berlin, that upsets me a little. But those are just niches and it’s great that they exist.

Sven Marquardt on September 23, 2017 at his artist talk in Montreal Sven Marquardt on September 23, 2017 at his artist talk in Montreal | © Goethe-Institut Montreal You’ll be traveling to Canada for the first time for the closing of your exhibition in Montreal. What are you looking forward to most?

I don’t think I’m the type of person who sets off with huge expectations and not the kind who spends weeks ahead of time reading a guidebook at home. I always travel with my pictures; my focus beforehand is on the presentation of the pictures. I would like to fascinate the visitors with it as well as with the artist talks around the world. I never know beforehand how many people will be interested in it. Is anybody even going to show up?
But I’ve had such great encounters in so many places. Of course, I also hope THAT will be the case in Montreal. The rest is always an adventure, to embrace new, foreign things, this feeling of respect and curiosity. In a way, it may be a little like my work as a photographer. You can/must prepare, plan and organize so much in advance.
But that moment when you are facing one another is always exciting every time all over again. An adventure: that’s what I also hope to have in Montreal.

Ein Gespräch mit Sven Marquardt Etwas, das bleibt

Sven Marquardt
© Ole Westermann

Der Berliner Fotograf Sven Marquardt hat mit seiner Portraitfotografie auf nationaler wie internationaler Ebene in den letzten Jahren große Bekanntheit erlangt. Im Sommer 2017 stellte er seine Arbeiten im Rahmen einer audiovisuellen Installation in Zusammenarbeit mit dem deutschen Produzenten und DJ Marcel Dettmann in der Montrealer Galerie Never Apart unter dem Titel BLACK BOX vor. Wir sprachen mit ihm anlässlich seines Künstlergespräches am 23.September 2017.

Black Box vereint Ihre Bildwelten und den Sound von Marcel Dettmann, einem der einflussreichsten DJs und Produzenten der neueren Techno-Geschichte. Wie kam es zu dieser Zusammenarbeit und wie lief sie ab?
 
Dettmann und ich sind uns Ende der Neunziger Jahre zum ersten Mal in dem bis heute legendären Club OSTGUT begegnet. Die Betreiber von damals eröffneten nur einige Jahre später dann das BERGHAIN. Ein Junge aus dem Umland Berlins, der Platten auflegte und ein Türsteher, der damals NULL Bock mehr aufs Fotografieren hatte. Ich mochte seinen Sound schon damals – raff, dunkel, treibend...
 
2007, ich hatte wieder begonnen zu fotografieren, stand Dettmann das erste Mal vor meiner Kamera. Diese Symbiose funktioniert bis heute ganz gut. 2014 kam Marcel mal irgendwann, irgendwo auf mich zu und fragte mich, ob ich mir vorstellen könne, mal etwas gemeinsam zu machen: Sein Sound, meine Bilder, so eine Art Installation - das war seine Vision und mehr wussten wir erstmal nicht. NUR noch, dass wir damit außerhalb des Clubkontextes platziert sein wollten. Das war damals der vage Plan. 
 
Ein Jahr später, ich war grade für ein Künstlergespräch in Sao Paulo, entdeckte mich der damalige Direktor des Goethe-Instituts Brasilien, Alfons Hug, wohl eher zufällig. Hug war grad dabei, eine Ausstellung in Brasilien zu kuratieren, Titel ZEITGEIST Berlin, und ein Teil der Ausstellung widmete sich der Berliner CLUBKULTUR: BLACK BOX war geboren 
 
Die Menschen in Black Box begegnen uns in ausdrucksstarken, inszenierten Porträtaufnahmen: Junge, Alte, Models, Außenseiter - wer sind diese Menschen für Sie?
 
Ich fotografiere seit Anfang der Achtziger. Meine Kamera wurde damals zum Stil und Ausdrucksmittel meines ganz eigenen Lebensgefühls und dem der Abgebildeten.  Das ist wohl bis heute so geblieben, auch wenn sich natürlich mein Umfeld / die Protagonisten geändert haben und ebenso natürlich der ZEITGEIST. Geblieben ist, dass ich immer nur Menschen fotografiert habe: Freunde, Kollegen, Wegbegleiter und immer immer wieder der Augenblick vor und hinter der Kamera. Sich immer wieder aufeinander einlassen. Seit bestimmt 10 Jahren sehe ich mich selbst mehr und mehr in der konzeptionellen Fotografie angekommen.

  • Black Box 1 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 1
  • Black Box 2 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 2
  • Black Box 3 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 3
  • Black Box 4 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 4
  • Black Box 5 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 5
  • Black Box 6 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 6
  • Black Box 7 © Sven Marquardt
    Black Box 7

In ihrer Autobiographie beschreiben Sie Ihre Jugendzeit in der alternativen Szene Ost-Berlins: DDR und Punk - wie passte das zusammen?
 
Jede Gesellschaft, jede Kultur erzeugt eine Gegenkultur und vielleicht umso mehr, wenn man in einer Diktatur aufwächst. Ich habe schöne Erinnerungen an meine Kindheit / Jugend in Ostdeutschland, aber irgendwann begann die Zeit, in der man anfing, die Dinge nicht mehr nur als gegeben hinzunehmen und so entsteht wohl eine Gegenkultur. Die heute beinah legendäre Szene um den Berliner Stadtteil Prenzlauer Berg war vielschichtig. Irgendwann war ich ein Teil davon. Der Ost-Berliner Underground / die Boheme des Prenzlauer Berg wurde schon oft zitiert - es waren die Achtziger Jahre. Punk und New Wave-Einflüsse machten nicht einfach halt vor einer Mauer aus Stein & Stacheldraht. Es war bestimmt nicht ganz ungefährlich, was wir damals taten, wie wir lebten, uns NO FUTURE auf die Lederjacken pinselten.  Wenn ich heute Fotos aus der Zeit sehe, denke ich: Haha, wie süß wir aussahen – jung, bockig, mit Schmollmund. Aber vielleicht bewahrte uns genau diese Naivität vor Schlimmerem. Und Schlimmeres gab es ganz bestimmt. Vor einigen Jahren gab es mal eine Ausstellung zu dieser Zeit / zu diesem Thema. Der Titel: IN GRENZEN FREI. Ich glaube sie beschreibt ganz gut, was wir damals fühlten, was in unseren Köpfen vorging.
 
Für Menschen, die es selbst nicht miterlebt haben, ist es oft schwer vorstellbar: von einem Tag auf den anderen gab es die DDR als Staat nicht mehr. Wie haben Sie den Mauerfall und die unmittelbare Zeit danach erlebt?
 
Der Fall der Mauer 1989 - einer der wichtigsten Momente deutsch/deutscher Geschichte bedeute aber auch für unzählige Menschen Verlust, den Verlust der eigenen Identität. Niemand wusste das vorher, denn es hatte ja niemals zuvor so etwas schon einmal gegeben.
 
Ich stürzte mich damals in diese neue FREIHEIT – Freiheit? Was bedeutet das überhaupt? Das man tun und lassen konnte, was man will und vor allem wo man will? Und welchen Preis zahlt man eventuell genau dafür? Manchmal geht mir dieser Begriff noch heute auf meinen Reisen durch den Kopf, und das ich das wohl auch erst erlernen musste.
 
Anfang der Neunziger legte ich nicht nur meine Kamera weg, sondern wohl auch den Stolz darauf, ein Ostdeutscher zu sein; verleugnete in der Szene beinahe meine Herkunft. 
Alles war weg/anders und auch ich hatte erstmal ein Identitätsproblem. Ich war damals 27 und einer Generation zugehörig, in der noch einmal alles möglich war. Meine Kamera fehlte mir nicht. Ich tat diese Zeit ab mit: Bestimmt brauchte ich die Kamera nur als so eine Art Krücke unerfüllter Wünsche/Sehnsüchte.  JETZT war alles möglich. Ich entdeckte die Berliner Clubszene und sie irgendwann mich.
 
Das Interesse an Berlin, an seiner Geschichte, sowie der vielfältigen Kultur- und Clubszene, ist seit Jahren ungebrochen. Wie erleben Sie diesen langlebigen Berlin-Hype?
 
Ich habe 2014 mit meiner Autobiografie DIE NACHT IST LEBEN anhand meines Lebensweges eine Berliner Geschichte erzählt. Erleben durfte ich 25 Jahre in einer geteilten Stadt und noch einmal 25 Jahre nach dem Mauerfall. Für mich ist Berlin immer noch Heimat und natürlich hat sich so vieles verändert. Aber ich erkenne diese Stadt noch und manchmal bedaure ich, wenn Dinge, Häuser, Orte für immer verschwinden. Ich erkenne Berlin noch, meine Lieblingsecken, Straßen, Viertel sind vertraut, nur die Darsteller sind natürlich vielerorts schlichtweg andere. NORMAL! Und Ecken die mir ganz fremd sind, waren es vielleicht auch schon früher. Manchmal, wenn ich von meinen Reisen zurückkehre, aus fernen fremden Kulturen, Millionenmetropolen, schaue ich kurz vor der Landung in Berlin Tegel aus dem Fenster und denke: Verdammt! Die Maschine ist bestimmt nach Wuppertal entführt worden - alles sieht so klein und friedlich aus. Dann kann ich für einen Moment diesen ganzen Berlin Hype überhaupt nicht nachvollziehen. Und wenn in Berlin in meinen LieblingsFASHIONstores niemand vom Personal mehr deutsch spricht, regt mich das kurz mal auf. Aber das sind ja auch nur Nischen und es ist doch toll, dass es die gibt. Sven Marquardt am 23.09.2017 beim Künstlergespräch in Montreal Sven Marquardt am 23.09.2017 beim Künstlergespräch in Montreal | © Goethe-Institut Montreal
 
Zur Finissage Ihrer Ausstellung in Montreal werden Sie erstmals nach Kanada reisen. Worauf sind Sie besonders gespannt?
 
Ich glaube ich bin nicht der Typ, der mit so riesiger Erwartungshaltung losfährt, auch nicht derjenige der schon Wochen zuvor mit einem Reiseführer daheim aufwarten kann. Ich reise ja immer mit meinen Bildern, meine Konzentration liegt im Vorfeld auf die Show der Bilder. Ich möchte ja den Besucher damit in den Bann ziehen, ebenso bei den Artist Talks weltweit. Ich weiß nie vorher, wieviel Menschen sich dafür interessieren werden. Kommt überhaupt jemand?
Und dabei hatte ich so tolle Begegnungen vielerorts. DAS erhoffe ich mir natürlich auch für Montreal. Der Rest ist ja immer wieder ein Abenteuer, sich auf Neues, Fremdes einzulassen dieses Gefühl aus Respekt und Neugierde. Ein Stück ist das vielleicht ähnlich wie bei meiner Arbeit als Fotograf. Man kann/muss im Vorfeld so vieles vorbereiten, planen und organisieren.
Aber dieser Moment, wenn man sich dann gegenüber steht, der ist ja immer wieder aufs Neue spannend. Ein Abenteuer: das erhoffe ich mir auch für Montreal.