A Conversation with A Wall Is A Screen A Thursday Evening in Quebec

A Wall is a Screen
© A Wall is a Screen

On the city tours that they organise, the artists’ collective A Wall Is A Screen shows curated short films that are projected on the city walls. The interaction with the surrounding area generates commentaries on subjects such as urban development or urbanism in the public space. On the occasion of their screening on 21 September 2017 for the Festival de Cinéma de la ville de Québec, we met Sarah Adam, Sabine Horn and Peter Haueis from A Wall Is A Screen in Montreal and talked about the screening in Quebec, working in a collective and their future plans.

Gruppenbild A Wall Is A Screen © A Wall is a Screen How did you prepare for the screening in Québec? Were the preparations different than those for other cities? How did you choose the walls?

Peter Haueis: Preliminary viewings and preparations for a tour always mean a lot of walking, going into backyards, looking at the most remote corners – we really wander through the city to find the seven places where the tour will take place. We always rely, of course, on our local partners, such as Festival de Cinema de Québec in this case, to help us with the permits and tell us what will work and what will not.
Sarah Adam: We make inquiries and get the permits. One day before the screening, we do a run-through. We check the technical and content suitability of our choice in the specific locations and only then arrange the tour as it will take place. We sometimes spend an hour in one place and try different solutions.
Peter Haueis: This rehearsal enables all group members to get involved on site. We react very spontaneously to the situation that we encounter and very often change our film selection just before the actual tour. In Quebec, the preparations were somewhat more complex because we needed films with French subtitles. So in this case, we had to work even more precisely in advance than usual.
Sarah Adam: Actually we can only properly describe the event in Quebec when it’s over.
Peter Haueis: Exactly. You never know who might stumble or drive by, and what the special moments of the tour will be. One good example is a screening we had in the Hamburg subway; the film was called On a Wednesday Night in Tokyo that basically just showed people being stuffed into Tokyo subway cars during rush hour. During the screening, an Asian tourist group suddenly walked through the picture between the audience and the projection. This was quite by chance, but of course it really enhanced the event.
 

  • Screening in Quebec © A Wall is a Screen
    Screening in Quebec
  • Audience © A Wall is a Screen
    Audience
  • Screening in Quebec © A Wall is a Screen
    Screening in Quebec
  • Screening in Quebec © Max-Antoine Guérin
    Screening in Quebec
  • Preparations in Quebec © Max-Antoine Guérin
    Preparations in Quebec
  • Screening in Quebec © A Wall is a Screen
    Screening in Quebec
  • Sarah Adam during the screening in Quebec © Max-Antoine Guérin
    Sarah Adam during the screening in Quebec


A new context of film and place

Is there a comprehensive topic for the screening? What conceptual deliberations influence your decisions?

Peter Haueis: In Quebec, we don’t have a general overarching theme, although that is often the case with other festivals. This time we decided against a typical tour of the old town, and deliberately selected places beyond the tourist pathways that demand a different confrontation with the city and society. We would like to show the city from an alternative perspective and we also take a closer look at urban development processes during our tours. This is relatively abstract because it can be a general aesthetic or precise social commentary. We make sure that it doesn’t seem like we are lecturing and that all perspectives remain open. We point in one direction, but leave the interpretation to the audience. It creates a new context of film and place.

How do you choose the films, how do you compile your inventory?

Sarah Adam: We have our own database of about 900 films for which we own the rights. We always have these film files, and we have most of them in our heads. In addition, we search for relevant keywords in 40,000 short films in the database of the Kurzfilmagentur Hamburg, our local partner. When making the selection for Quebec, for example, we had to look for French-speaking films. In order to remain up-to-date and always be able to offer new films, we will go to a lot of film festivals, for example the Clermont Ferrand Festival, where many distributors present their new films.
Sabine Horn: We look at an incredible number of films, and among 100 of them there is often only one that suits us. Instead of searching for keywords, it is often more efficient to ask the people who work in the film archive.

PEOPLE ARE MORE RESERVED IN BIG CITIES 

Do you notice any major differences in the audiences when you go to other countries?

Peter Haueis: The Canadian and German audiences are difficult to distinguish in a blanket way. We notice differences in particular between smaller and larger cities. Contact with the audience is easier to establish in smaller cities. People are more reserved in big cities. In Montreal and Quebec, however, we noticed a much more intensive use of the public space. Here (in Montreal), for example, there are pianos set up for passersby to play in certain places. This is certainly a difference to Western Europe and we are excited to see how it will turn out. Quebec is a smaller city with a strong cultural identity. This, too, will certainly have an impact on audience feedback.
Sabine Horn: We always take a close look at the country we are going to beforehand. In Ramallah, Palestine or India, life takes place much more on the streets. There, you have to work quite differently. It is much more difficult to organise a tour there. People stop and look, but are reluctant to enter into unknown terrain. In Eastern Europe, where we have already done a lot, we noted a great openness to art actions. Maybe that’s because there’s not much saturation there yet.

How has your collective developed since 2003?

Sabine Horn: Our work has changed considerably in fifteen years, of course. In the beginning, we were three people at the Hamburg short film festival and didn’t even plan to continue. But then we got so much positive feedback and right away the next request – from Osnabrück – so we stuck with it. Technically speaking, we have expanded considerably. We started out with a boom box that we just set up on the street. And there are twice as many of us now; we grew from three people to six. Because of our strong emphasis on a collective way of working, we have to be far more organised today.
Sarah Adam: In those fifteen years, not only we have changed, but also the technology in general. We can do our first viewing of places online now to get a first impression. Nevertheless, we place great emphasis on personally viewing the locations, but it is already helpful for preliminary planning to have the maps in street view.

Do you have a “dream project” or your “dream city” for a screening? And why?

Sarah Adam: We would really like to go to South America. We tried it a few times but it has ever worked out.
Peter Haueis: My dream would be to do something in Madagascar. There is a short film festival in the capital (Antananarivo) and the Madagascan culture of doing-it-yourself suits our way of working very well.
Sabine Horn: Don’t forget the bike tour…
Peter Haueis: Right, we always wanted to do that, too. We’ve been planning the bike tour for years. Sadly, other people are already doing that but we still want to finally implement the idea.

Next year, your collective will be celebrating its fifteenth anniversary. Are you planning anything special?

Sabine Horn: We have already done something. The Hamburg Short Film Festival rented a beautiful Exhibition "Nach Indien kommt Regensburg" in Hamburg Exhibition "Nach Indien kommt Regensburg" in Hamburg | © Sylvia Grom old hall that was going to be demolished. To make use of this hall, we celebrated our anniversary early and organised an exhibition there. From 26,000 photos of our tours, submissions, press reports and personal photos of the preparations and travels, a great collection was made called From India to Regensburg, which we showed as the finale of our fifteenth festival tour in Hamburg. 
 

The tour organized by A Wall Is A Screen in Quebec is part of "Germany @ Canada 2017 - partners from immigration to innovation"

Ein Gespräch mit A Wall Is A Screen
Eine Donnerstagnacht in Quebec

A Wall is a Screen
© A Wall is a Screen

Das Künstlerkollektiv A Wall Is A Screen zeigt auf von ihnen zusammengestellten Stadttouren kuratierte Kurzfilme, die auf die Wände der Stadt projiziert werden. Durch die Interaktion mit der Umgebung entstehen Kommentare zu Themen wie Stadtentwicklung oder Urbanismus im öffentlichen Raum. Anlässlich ihrer Aufführung am 21. September 2017 zum Festival de Cinéma de la ville de Québec haben wir Sarah Adam, Sabine Horn und Peter Haueis von A Wall Is A Screen in Montreal getroffen und uns über die Aufführung in Quebec, die Arbeit im Kollektiv und ihre Zukunftspläne unterhalten.

Gruppenbild A Wall Is A Screen © A Wall is a Screen
Wie habt Ihr Euch auf die Vorführung in Québec vorbereitet? Hat sich die Vorbereitung von der in anderen Städten unterschieden? Wie habt Ihr die Wände ausgesucht?

Peter Haueis: Vorbesichtigungen und Vorbereitungen für eine Tour bedeuten immer viel Laufen, in Hinterhöfe gehen, in die entlegensten Ecken schauen - wir streunen wirklich durch die Stadt, um die sieben Orte zu finden, an denen die Tour dann stattfinden wird. Wir sind natürlich immer darauf angewiesen, dass die lokalen Partner, wie hier das Festival de Cinema de Québec,  uns zum Beispiel bei den Genehmigungen helfen und uns sagen, was geht und was nicht.
Sarah Adam: Wir fragen die Orte an und holen die Genehmigungen ein. Einen Tag vor der Aufführung machen wir noch eine Probe. Wir prüfen die technische und inhaltliche Eignung unserer Wahl konkret an den Orten, und stellen erst dann die Tour so zusammen, wie sie stattfinden wird. Wir stehen manchmal auch eine Stunde an einem Ort und probieren verschiedene Lösungen aus.
Peter Haueis: Bei dieser Probe ist es allen Gruppenmitgliedern möglich, sich nochmal vor Ort einzubringen. Wir reagieren sehr spontan auf die Situation, die wir vorfinden und ändern sehr oft unsere Filmauswahl noch kurz vor der eigentlichen Tour. In Quebec waren die Vorbereitungen etwas komplexer, weil wir Filme mit französischen Untertiteln brauchten. Daher mussten wir in diesem Fall im Vorfeld noch präziser arbeiten als sonst.
Sarah Adam: Eigentlich können wir die Veranstaltung in Quebec erst dann beschreiben, wenn sie passiert ist. 
Peter Haueis: Genau. Man weiß ja nie, wer stolpert, vorbeifährt, und was die besonderen Momente der Tour ausmachen wird. Ein schönes Beispiel ist eine Vorführung in der Hamburger U-Bahn, der Film hieß On a Wednesday Night In Tokyo, in dem eigentlich nur Leute im Berufsverkehr in die Tokioter U-Bahn gestopft werden. Während der Vorführung lief plötzlich eine asiatische Touristengruppe zwischen Publikum und Projektion durchs Bild. Das war ganz zufällig, hat den Event aber natürlich sehr bereichert.
 
  • Projektion in Quebec © A Wall is a Screen
    Projektion in Quebec
  • Zuschauer © A Wall is a Screen
    Zuschauer
  • Projektion in Quebec © A Wall is a Screen
    Projektion in Quebec
  • Projektion in Quebec © Max-Antoine Guérin
    Projektion in Quebec
  • Vorbereitungen in Quebec © Max-Antoine Guérin
    Vorbereitungen in Quebec
  • Projektion in Quebec © A Wall is a Screen
    Projektion in Quebec
  • Sarah Adam während der Vorführung in Quebec © Max-Antoine Guérin
    Sarah Adam während der Vorführung in Quebec

Ein neuer Kontext aus Film und Ort

Gibt es für die Aufführung ein übergeordnetes Thema? Welche konzeptionellen Gedanken beeinflussen Eure Entscheidungen?

Peter Haueis: In Quebec haben wir kein generelles Oberthema, was bei anderen Festivals allerdings oft der Fall ist. Wir haben uns diesmal gegen eine typische Altstadt-Tour entschieden, und bewusst Orte jenseits der touristischen Pfade ausgewählt, die eine andere Auseinandersetzung mit Stadt und Gesellschaft fordern. Wir möchten die Stadt aus einer alternativen Perspektive zeigen und bei unseren Touren auch auf Stadtentwicklungsprozesse eingehen. Das ist relativ abstrakt, denn es kann ein genereller ästhetischer oder auch ein präziser sozialer Kommentar sein. Wir achten sehr darauf, dass wir nicht belehrend wirken, und dass alle Perspektiven offen bleiben. Wir zeigen in eine Richtung, aber überlassen die Interpretation den Zuschauern. Es entsteht ein neuer Kontext aus Film und Ort.

Wie werden die Filme ausgesucht, wie stellt Ihr Euren Fundus zusammen?

Sarah Adam: Wir selbst haben eine Datenbank mit ca. 900 Filmen, für die wir selbst die Rechte halten. Diese Filmdateien haben wir immer dabei, und wir haben sie größtenteils alle im Kopf. Darüber hinaus recherchieren wir nach relevanten Schlagwörtern unter 40.000 Kurzfilmen in der Datenbank der Kurzfilmagentur Hamburg, unserem lokalen Partner. Bei der Auswahl für Quebec war es zum Beispiel die Frage, was wir an französischsprachigen Filmen haben. Um aktuell zu bleiben und auch immer neue Filme anbieten zu können, gehen wir auf viele Filmfestivals, zum Beispiel auf das Clermont-Ferrand-Festival, auf dem viele Verleihe und Vertriebe Ihre neuen Filme vorführen
Sabine Horn: Wir schauen unglaublich viele Filme, häufig ist bei 100 Filmen nur einer dabei, der zu uns passt. Statt nach Stichworten zu suchen, ist es oft effektiver, bei den Leuten im Filmarchiv nachzufragen.

IN GROßsTÄDTEN SIND DIE MENSCHEN RESERVIERTER

Bemerkt Ihr starke Unterschiede im Publikum, wenn Ihr in andere Länder geht?

Peter Haueis: Das kanadische und deutsche Publikum ist schwer so pauschal zu unterscheiden. Wir bemerken Unterschiede vor allem zwischen kleineren und größeren Städten. Der Kontakt zum Publikum ist in kleineren Städten einfacher herzustellen, in Großstädten sind die Menschen reservierter. In Montreal und Quebec allerdings fällt uns eine sehr viel intensivere Nutzung des öffentlichen Raumes auf. Hier (in Montreal) stehen zum Beispiel Klaviere zur freien Nutzung durch Passanten an bestimmten Orten. Das ist mit Sicherheit ein Unterschied zu Westeuropa, und wir sind gespannt, wie sich das bemerkbar macht. Québec ist eine kleinere Stadt mit einer starken kulturellen Identität. Auch das wird sicherlich einen Einfluss auf die Rückmeldungen des Publikums geben.
Sabine Horn: Wir schauen uns das Land, in das wir gehen, vorher genau an. In Ramallah in Palästina oder Indien findet das Leben viel stärker auf der Straße statt. Dort muss man ganz anders arbeiten. Es ist dort viel schwieriger, eine Tour zu veranstalten. Die Leute bleiben stehen und schauen, aber kommen ungern mit in unbekanntes Terrain. In Osteuropa, wo wir schon viel gemacht haben, fällt uns eine große Offenheit gegenüber Kunstaktionen auf. Vielleicht liegt das auch daran, dass dort noch nicht so eine Sättigung herrscht.

Wie hat sich Euer Kollektiv seit 2003 weiterentwickelt?

Sabine Horn: Unsere Arbeitsweise hat sich in 15 Jahren natürlich stark verändert. Am Anfang haben wir einmal mit 3 Personen beim Hamburger Kurzfilmfestival mitgemacht, und es war gar nicht geplant, weiterzumachen. Dann kamen aber so viele positive Rückmeldungen und dann auch gleich die nächste Anfrage – aus Osnabrück –, dass wir dabei geblieben sind. Technisch haben wir uns stark erweitert. Wir haben mit einem Ghettoblaster angefangen, den wir einfach auf die Straße gestellt hatten. Personell haben wir uns auch verdoppelt auf heute 6 Personen. Durch die starke Betonung einer kollektiven Arbeitsweise müssen wir uns heute sehr viel besser organisieren.
Sarah Adam: In den 15 Jahren haben nicht nur wir uns verändert, sondern auch die Technik allgemein. Die erste Sichtung von Orten kann man heute per Internet machen, damit man einen ersten Eindruck hat. Dennoch legen wir größten Wert auf die persönliche Sichtung der Örtlichkeiten, aber es ist schon eine Hilfe bei der Vorplanung, die Karten auch in der Straßenansicht zu haben.

Gibt es für Euch ein „Traumprojekt“ oder Eure „Traumstadt“ für eine Aufführung? Warum?

Sarah Adam: Wir würden sehr gerne einmal nach Südamerika. Wir haben das schon mehrmals versucht, aber es hat dann letztlich nie geklappt.
Peter Haueis: Mein Traum wäre es, etwas in Madagaskar zu machen. In der Hauptstadt (Antananarivo) gibt es auch ein Kurzfilmfestival, und die madagassische Kultur des Selbermachens passt sehr gut zu unserer Arbeitsweise.
Sabine Horn: Und dann gibt es doch auch noch die Fahrradtour…
Peter Haueis: Stimmt, die wollten wir auch unbedingt noch machen. Die Fahrradtour planen wir schon seit mehreren Jahren. Leider machen das inzwischen andere schon, aber wir wollen die Idee jetzt auch endlich mal umsetzen.

Nächstes Jahr feiert Euer Kollektiv 15 Jahre Bestehen – plant Ihr etwas Besonderes?

Sabine Horn: Wir haben ja schon etwas gemacht. Das Hamburger Ausstellung "Nach Indien kommt Regensburg" in Hamburg Ausstellung "Nach Indien kommt Regensburg" in Hamburg | © Sylvia Grom Kurzfilmfestival hatte eine schöne alte Halle gemietet, die abgerissen werden sollte. Um diese Halle noch zu nutzen, haben wir unsere Jubiläumsfeier  vorgezogen und dort eine Ausstellung organisiert. Aus 26.000 Fotos von unseren Touren, Einsendungen, Presseberichten und privaten Fotos der Vorbereitungen und Reisen ist "Nach Indien kommt Regensburg", eine tolle Sammlung, entstanden, die wir als Endpunkt der 15. Festivaltour in Hamburg gezeigt haben.
 

Die Tour von A Wall Is A Screen in Quebec ist Teil von "Deutschland @ Kanada 2017 - Partner von Immigration zu Innovation"