Elisabeth Mann Borgese: “The Mother of the Oceans”

  • Mann’s house in Sambro Head © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Mann’s house in Sambro Head
  • Mann’s house © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Mann’s house

Elisabeth Mann Borgese: “The Mother of the Oceans”

In 1979, upon receipt of a Killam fellowship from Dalhousie University in Halifax, the German-born environmental activist, author, and expert on the Law of the Sea Elisabeth Mann Borgese moved to Canada. Because of her outstanding knowledge in the field, she received a professorship in Political Science. She chose to make Nova Scotia her adopted homeland for many years, and she became a “guest who stayed forever”, as she liked to say it.

Her interest in the protection and peaceful use of the world’s oceans was a constant through her career. In addition to her work at Dalhousie University, where she taught the Law of the Sea to Bachelor’s and Master’s students, she founded an independent world commission for the sea, which functioned as an organization with UN observer status. She travelled around the world, organized conferences, raised funds for her projects, and was engaged in projects like the founding of the International Ocean Institute, which today is part of a worldwide network with 25 centres. 
 
She enjoyed inviting visitors to her house in Sambro Head, which offers a beautiful view of the sea, and she got inspiration for her work from the environment and the people. Throughout her career, she received accolades in Austria, Germany, Great Britain, China, Colombia, and Canada. She had citizenship in a total of four different countries and had five honorary doctorates. After her death, she left behind a diverse collection of literary texts, as she authored magazine articles, books, short stories, plays, and poetry. The material is archived in Dalhousie University’s Killam Library, and today it provides the basis for a variety of research projects. 
 
Elisabeth was born in 1918, the youngest daughter of the German author Thomas Mann, who won the Nobel Prize in Literature. Elisabeth spent the majority of her childhood in exile together with her five siblings. Shortly after the National Socialists (Nazis) came to power in Germany, Thomas Mann was stripped of his title of honorary doctor at the University of Bonn. The family moved first to Switzerland, and then to the United States, where they got American citizenship. In 1939, Elisabeth married G.A. Borgese, a professor of Italian literature at the University of Chicago who was 30 years her senior. They had two daughters together, and shortly after they moved to Florence in 1952, Elisabeth's husband died unexpectedly. 
 
A few years later, she received a job offer from an old American colleague, Robert Hutchins. He offered her a position at the Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions in Santa Barbara, which she accepted. She moved back to the United States and took over the leadership of a three-year project, culminating in the conference "Pacem in Maribus" ("Peace in the Oceans") in 1970. The topics of the conference were related to the peaceful use of the oceans, seeing the oceans as humanity's common legacy. 
 
The view of the Atlantic from the Halifax harbour can remind pedestrians of the “Mother of the Oceans”, her work, and her incomparable commitment to protecting our world’s oceans.

 International Ocean Institut

Elisabeth Mann Borgese: Die Mutter der Ozeane
Deutsche Spuren in Halifax

  • Haus von Elisabeth Mann Borgese auf Sambro Head © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Haus von Elisabeth Mann Borgese auf Sambro Head
  • Haus von Elisabeth Mann Borgese © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Haus von Elisabeth Mann Borgese

Elisabeth Mann Borgese: „Die Mutter der Ozeane”

Mit dem Erhalt eines „Killam Stipendiums“ der Dalhousie Universität in Halifax zog die gebürtige deutsche Seerechtsexpertin, Umweltaktivistin und Autorin Elisabeth Mann Borgese 1979 nach Kanada. Aufgrund ihres ausgezeichneten Fachwissens erhielt sie einen Lehrstuhl für Politikwissenschaften. Für viele Jahre sollte Nova Scotia ihre Wahlheimat werden und sie wurde, wie sie es selbst gerne ausdrückte, „der Gast, der für immer blieb.“

Ihr Interesse am Schutz und dem friedvollen Gebrauch der Weltmeere zieht sich durch ihre Karriere und neben ihrer Arbeit an der Universität, an der sie Bachelor- und Masterstudenten Seerecht lehrte, gründete sie eine „unabhängige Weltkommission für Meere“, die als eine Organisation mit UN-Beobachtungsstatus funktionierte. Sie reiste durch die Welt, organisierte Konferenzen, sammelte Gelder für ihre Projekte und engagierte sich für Projekte wie der Gründung des „International Ocean Instituts“, welcher heute Teil eines weltweiten Netzwerkes von 25 Zentren ist.
 
In ihrem Haus auf Sambro Head, das eine wunderschöne Aussicht über das Meer bot, lud sie gerne Besucher ein und ließ sich von der Umgebung und den Menschen zu ihrer Arbeit inspirieren, für die sie im Laufe ihrer Karriere Auszeichnungen in Österreich, Deutschland, Großbritannien, China, Kolumbien und Kanada erhielt. Sie nahm insgesamt vier Staatsbürgerschaften an und erhielt fünf Ehrendoktortitel. Als Autorin von Zeitungsartikeln, Büchern, Kurzgeschichten, Theaterstücken und Gedichten hinterließ sie nach ihrem Tod eine vielfältige Sammlung literarischer Texte. Das Material ist in der „Killam Library“ der Dalhousie Universität archiviert und bietet heute eine Grundlage für verschiedenste Forschungsprojekte. 
 
Als jüngste Tochter des deutschen Literaturnobelpreisträgers Thomas Mann wurde Elisabeth 1918 in München geboren. Ihre Jugend verbrachte sie mit ihren fünf Geschwistern größtenteils im Exil. Kurz nachdem die Nationalsozialisten in Deutschland an die Macht kamen, wurde dem Familienvater sein Ehrendoktortitel an der Universität zu Bonn aberkannt. Nach Umzügen in die Schweiz und die Vereinigten Staaten erhielt die Familie die amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft. 1939 heiratete Elisabeth den 30 Jahre älteren G.A. Borgese, der als Professor für italienische Literatur an der Universität in Chicago arbeitete. Nach der Geburt zweier Töchter und einem weiteren Umzug 1952 nach Florenz verstarb Elisabeths Ehemann überraschend kurze Zeit später. 
 
Einige Jahre danach erhielt sie das Angebot eines ehemaligen amerikanischen Kollegen, Robert Hutchins, Mitglied im Zentrum für Studien demokratischer Institutionen im kalifornischen Santa Barbara zu werden. Sie nahm das Angebot an, zog zurück in die Staaten und übernahm die Führung eines 3-jährigen Projekts, dessen Höhepunkt 1970 eine Konferenz mit dem Titel „Pacem in Maribus“ („Peace in the Oceans“) war. Diskutiert wurden Themen hinsichtlich des friedvollen Gebrauchs der Meere mit der Vision, die Ozeane zum gemeinsamen Erbe der Menschheit zu erklären. 

Während eines Spaziergangs entlang des Hafens in Halifax mit Blick auf den Atlantik kann man der Arbeit der „Mutter der Ozeane“ und ihrem unvergleichlichen Engagement für den Schutz unserer Weltmeere gedenken.

 International Ocean Institut