The painting "Halifax" by Gerhard Richter

  • Anna Leonowens Gallery © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Anna Leonowens Gallery

The painting „Halifax“ (1987) by Gerhard Richter

With its flourishing arts and music scene, Halifax has inspired well-known figures from all over the world, including artists like Gerhard Richter, who taught for a summer semester as a guest lecturer at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (NSCAD).

During his stay, the artist didn’t have a studio, so he concentrated on small-form pieces and experimented with photography. Over the course of several evenings, he produced a series of abstract pencil drawings, measuring only 9x7 centimetres. They were exhibited by Konrad Fischer in October 1979. 
 
The artwork “Halifax” (1978) was produced at the same time, and he exhibited it in the Anna Leonowens Gallery at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design the same year. He mounted the photographs in a 4x4 grid on 8 white panels and arranged them into two rows with 4 squares. He presented an identical version in a room at NSCAD from August 21st to September 9th, 1978. As an experimental work, he published 128 close-ups of this very painting with the NSCAD Press as a photographic documentation. He assembled the small black and white pictures into a mosaic, creating a new artwork, which he named “128 Details from a Picture”.

  Description of the piece „128 Details of a Picture” (22:45-23:55)
  The Anna Leonowens Gallery

Gemälde von Gerhard Richter
Deutsche Spuren in Halifax

  • Die Anna Lonowens Gallery © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die Anna Lonowens Gallery

Das Gemälde „Halifax“ (1987) von Gerhard Richter

Halifax inspirierte mit seiner florierenden Kunst- und Musikszene bekannte Persönlichkeiten aus der ganzen Welt, unter anderem Künstler wie Gerhard Richter, der 1978 als Gastdozent für ein Sommersemester am Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (NSCAD) unterrichtete. 

Der Künstler hatte während seines Aufenthaltes kein Studio, sodass er sich auf kleinformatige Werke konzentrierte und mit Fotografien experimentierte. In etlichen Abendstunden entstand somit eine Serie von abstrakten Bleistiftzeichnungen, die lediglich 9x7 Zentimeter groß waren und im Oktober 1979 von Konrad Fischer ausgestellt wurden.
 
Das Kunstwerk „Halifax“ (1978), welches er im selben Jahr in der „Anna Leonowens Gallery“ am Nova Scotia College of Art and Design ausstellte, entstand im gleichen Zeitraum. Er montierte die Fotografien in einem 4x4 Raster auf 8 weiße Paneele und arrangierte sie zu zwei Reihen mit 4 Quadraten. Eine gleiche Version präsentierte er in einem Raum des NASCAD vom 21. August bis zum 9. September 1978. Als experimentelle Arbeit publizierte er 128 Nahaufnahmen ebendieses Gemäldes als fotografische Dokumentation mit der NASCAD Press und stellte die kleinen schwarz-weißen Bilder in einem Mosaik zu einem neuen Kunstwerk zusammen, das er den Titel „128 Details from a Picture” verlieh.

 Beschreibung des Werkes auf Youtube
 Die Galerie Anna Leonowens