The Little Dutch Church

  • The cemetary of the „Little Dutch Curch“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The cemetary of the „Little Dutch Curch“
  • The „Little Dutch Church“ in Halifax © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The „Little Dutch Church“ in Halifax
  • Die „Little Dutch Church“ in Halifax © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die „Little Dutch Church“ in Halifax
  • Tafel der „Little Dutch Church“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Tafel der „Little Dutch Church“

The "Little Dutch Church"

In the mid-eighteenth century, almost 2,000 settlers, led by Edward Cornwallis, were sent to Canada by the British government, who wanted to establish a military support point to secure Great Britain's superiority over France. Shortly afterwards, it became clear that significantly more knowledge and settlers were necessary to properly colonize the region.

In the mid-eighteenth century, almost 2,000 settlers, led by Edward Cornwallis, were sent to Canada by the British government, who wanted to establish a military support point to secure Great Britain's superiority over France. Shortly afterwards, it became clear that significantly more knowledge and settlers were necessary to properly colonize the region. The British government offered free passage to North America, along with land in Canada for colonization, in exchange for settlers’ work in development efforts. Approximately 300 inhabitants from southwestern Germany (Württemberg and the Palatinate), Switzerland, and the French principality Montbéliard took them up on their offer. Upon their arrival in Canada, these immigrants were provided with the area north of the city palisades for colonization. A number of the settlers who had died of typhus on the voyage over were buried in a plot of land in this territory. 
 
When it became apparent that the new arrivals had absolutely no knowledge of English, the “Foreign Protestants” (and the 3000 settlers who arrived in the following years from 1750 to 1753) were permitted to erect a German church, where they could practice their Protestant beliefs and perform mass in German. They decided to build it on the mass grave of the settlers who had died during the crossing. A simple wooden hut was built on the cemetery, and in 1760 it was outfitted with a church steeple including a weathervane, which was wrought from the blade of an old shovel, as was tradition. The congregation couldn't afford a pastor until 1786, so the schoolmaster Johann Gottfried Torpel led mass. Eventually, the German minister Bernard Houseal came to Halifax in order to serve the German congregation as a missionary. Because of his popularity, he remained minister until his death in 1799, and was buried under the Little Dutch Church. 
 
The growing German enclave north of the palisades was often referred to as ‘Dutch Town’, derived from the anglicization and misunderstanding of the word deutsch, meaning ‘German’. In 1764, the community had a petition to name the area after the city of Göttingen. However, the name was used less often after Brunswick Street was established as the main thoroughfare, as it already referred to Braunschweig in Germany. Today, Gottingen Street enjoys the benefits of lower rents. It has seen growing popularity among locals and the opening of small alternative stores, and it is contributing to the gentrification of Halifax's North End. 
 
Going for a walk along Gottingen Street towards the Little Dutch Church gives insight into one of Halifax's multicultural neighborhoods, which has undergone rapid changes. In addition, it's worth visiting the cemetery of the Little Dutch Church, where you can find German last names and research the earliest origins of German immigrant history.

Die „Little Dutch Church“
Deutsche Spuren in Halifax

  • Friedhof der „Little Dutch Church“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Friedhof der „Little Dutch Church“
  • Die „Little Dutch Church“ in Halifax © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die „Little Dutch Church“ in Halifax
  • Die „Little Dutch Church“ in Halifax © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die „Little Dutch Church“ in Halifax
  • Tafel der „Little Dutch Church“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Tafel der „Little Dutch Church“

Die "Little Dutch Church"

Kurz nachdem die britische Regierung knapp 2000 Siedler unter der Führung Edward Cornwallis nach Kanada aussandte, um einen Militärstützpunkt zu errichten, der die Vormacht Großbritanniens gegen Frankreich sichern sollte, wurde klar, dass deutlich mehr Siedler und Kenntnisse vonnöten waren, um die Kolonisation der Region voranzutreiben.

Kurz nachdem die britische Regierung knapp 2000 Siedler unter der Führung Edward Cornwallis nach Kanada aussandte, um einen Militärstützpunkt zu errichten, der die Vormacht Großbritanniens gegen Frankreich sichern sollte, wurde klar, dass deutlich mehr Siedler und Kenntnisse vonnöten waren, um die Kolonisation der Region voranzutreiben. Circa 300 Einwohner aus den südwestlichen Gebieten Deutschlands (Pfalz und Württemberg), dem französischen Fürstentum Montbéliard und der Schweiz reagierten auf ein Angebot der britischen Regierung, eine freie Überfahrt und Bauland in Nordamerika im Austausch für ihre Arbeitskraft zu erhalten. Bei ihrer Ankunft in Kanada wurde den Immigranten das nördliche Gebiet außerhalb der Stadtpalisaden von Halifax zur Besiedlung bereitgestellt und etliche auf der Überfahrt an Typhus verstorbene Siedler wurden auf einem Stück Land in jenem Gebiet beigesetzt. 
 
Als sich herausstellte, dass die Neuankömmlinge über keinerlei Englischkenntnisse verfügten, wurde dem Wunsch der „Foreign Protestants“ und weiteren 3000 Neuankömmlingen in den Folgejahren von 1750 bis 1753 nachgegeben, eine kleine deutsche Kirche auf dem Massengrab der verstorbenen Siedler errichten zu dürfen, in der sie ihren evangelischen Glauben praktizieren und Messen in deutscher Sprache abhalten konnten. Eine einfache Holzhütte wurde auf dem Friedhof errichtet und 1760 mit einem Kirchturm samt Wetterhahn ausgestattet, der nach alter Tradition aus dem Blatt einer alten Schaufel geschmiedet wurde. Bis 1786 konnte sich die Gemeinde keinen Pastor leisten, sodass die Messen vom Schulmeister Johann Gottfried Torpel gehalten wurden. Schließlich kam der deutsche Pfarrer Bernand Houseal nach Halifax, um der deutschen Gemeinde als Missionar zu dienen. Er war aufgrund seiner Beliebtheit bis zu seinem Tod im Jahre 1799 tätig und ruht unter der „Little Dutch Church“. 
 
Die wachsende deutsche Gemeinde nördlich der Palisaden wurde oft als „Dutch Town“ bezeichnet, basierend auf einer Anglisierung und Fehlbezeichnung des Wortes „deutsch“. 1764 wurde einem Antrag der Gemeinde stattgegeben, den Bezirk nach der Stadt Göttingen zu benennen, aber, nachdem sich die Brunswick Street mit ihrem Bezug zu Braunschweig als Hauptverkehrsader herausgebildet hatte, wurde der Name weniger gebräuchlich. Heute erfreut sich die „Gottingen Street“ durch günstige Mieten und der Eröffnung kleiner alternativer Läden und Lokale steigender Beliebtheit und gewinnt wieder an Bedeutung für das „North End“ Viertel in Halifax.

Ein Spaziergang entlang der „Gottingen Street“ Richtung „Little Dutch Church“ gibt Einblick in ein multikulturelles Viertel von Halifax, das rasanten Veränderungen unterworfen ist. Zudem lohnt sich ein Besuch des Friedhofs der „Little Dutch Church“, auf dem man deutsche Familiennamen finden und die frühesten Ursprünge deutscher Einwanderungsgeschichte erforschen kann.