Lunenburg Port Town

  • Lunenburg © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Lunenburg
  • Lunenburg © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Lunenburg

Lunenburg Port Town

Located 90 km southwest of Halifax, Lunenburg was a flourishing center of the fishing and shipbuilding industries in Nova Scotia and is one of Canada's oldest settlements.

In 1749, it was home to almost 50 francophone Acadians, and it was called “Merliquesche” until the British government started recruiting settlers from Europe in order to strengthen their position relative to the French in the maritime region. Among these settlers were immigrants from German-speaking areas. When the majority of these immigrants arrived in Canada in 1751, some of the so-called “Foreign Protestants” settled in the northern part of Halifax (then a fortified city), while another group of 1453 immigrants went on to Lunenburg. There, they were provided with both farming acreage and a plot of land in the town, which needed to be further developed to demonstrate the presence of the British government.

The new arrivals primarily came from the southwestern regions of Germany (Württemberg and the Palatinate), the French principality Montbéliard, and Switzerland, and had none of the necessary knowledge to living life in coastal regions. However, with hard work and the inventiveness of the city founder Luc Rechenbach, the village quickly developed into a busy port town. By the second generation, the community was full of experienced fishers, sailors, and ship builders, which still influences the culture and economy of the area to this day. Over time, immigrants from almost exclusively Germany arrived in the region with the hope of cheap farmland or to practice and preserve their different religious lifestyles. Eventually, the city was renamed from Merliquesche to Lunenburg (in reference to Lüneburg), and the German language and traditions are still evident in recipes, festivals, and new immigrants. In 2001, the province of Nova Scotia declared June 7th to be “German Settlers Day” in recognition of German cultural heritage and its notable influence on the development of Canadian cities.

Lunenburg is the best example of one of the British government's planned colonial cities, and in 1995 Lunenburg was named a UNESCO World Heritage Site due to both its diverse wood architecture typical of the region and the city's well-preserved townscape. Planners in London conceived of the city’s network of streets without regard for local topography, so the design, which was laid out on a grid, led to parallel but dangerously steep streets. The majority of the shipbuilders’ wooden houses demonstrate high-grade artisanal skills, and tourists from all over the world love taking photos of the colourful Old Town. Those interested in Lunenburg’s shipbuilding tradition can also take a tour on the sailing ship Bluenose II. It is a copy of the famous sailboat Bluenose, which set sail from the shipyard Smith & Rhuland on March 26th, 1921, and is distinguished by its excellent sailing properties. 

 Website

Das Hafenstädtchen Lunenburg
Deutsche Spuren in Halifax

  • Das Hafenstädtchen Lunenburg © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Hafenstädtchen Lunenburg
  • Lunenburg I UNESCO Welterbe seit 1995 © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Lunenburg I UNESCO Welterbe seit 1995

Das Hafenstädtchen Lunenburg

Das 90 km südwestlich von Halifax gelegene Hafenstädtchen Lunenburg war einst florierendes Zentrum der Fischerei- und Schiffsbauindustrie in Nova Scotia und ist eine der ältesten Siedlungen Kanadas.

1749 war es Heimat von knapp 50 französischsprachigen Arkadiern und trug den Namen „Merliguesche“, bevor die britische Regierung Siedler aus ganz Europa rekrutierte, um sich eine Vormachtstellung in der maritimen Region gegenüber Frankreich zu sichern. Als 1751 die größtenteils deutschsprachigen Einwanderer Kanada erreichten, siedelten sich einige der „Foreign Protestants“ im nördlichen Teil der Festungsstadt Halifax an, während eine andere Gruppe von 1453 Einwanderern nach Lunenburg weiterzog. Dort wurde ihnen Ackerland und ein Stadtgrundstück frei zur Verfügung gestellt, welches bebaut werden sollte, um die Präsenz der britischen Regierung zu demonstrieren.

Die Neuankömmlinge stammten überwiegend aus den südwestlichen Gebieten Deutschlands (der Pfalz und Württemberg), dem französischen Fürstentum Montbéliard und der Schweiz und besaßen keinerlei Kenntnisse, die in Küstenregionen von Vorteil gewesen wären. Doch durch harte Arbeit und den Erfindergeist des Stadtvaters Luc Rechenbach entwickelte sich das Dorf zu einem betriebsamen Hafenstädtchen. Schon die nächste Generation zeichnete sich durch erfahrene Fischer, Segler und Bootsbauer aus, welche die Kultur und Ökonomie des Ortes bis heute prägen. Im Laufe der Zeit kamen fast ausschließlich Einwanderer aus Deutschland in die Umgebung mit der Aussicht auf günstiges Farmland oder zur Bewahrung und Ausübung verschiedener religiöser Lebensstile. Schließlich wurde die Stadt in Lunenburg (bezugnehmend auf Lüneburg) umbenannt und bis heute besteht die deutsche Sprache und Tradition in Rezepten, Festen und neuen Immigranten fort. Zur Anerkennung des deutschen Kulturerbes und seines bemerkenswerten Einflusses auf die kanadische Stadtentwicklung wurde 2001 der 7. Juni in der Provinz Nova Scotia zum „German Settlers Day“ erklärt. 

Lunenburg gilt als bestes Beispiel für eine von der britischen Regierung geplante Kolonialstadt und sowohl die abwechslungsreiche ortstypische Holzarchitektur als auch das gut erhaltene Gesamtbild der Stadt gaben im Jahre 1995 Anlass zur Ernennung Lunenburgs als UNESCO Weltkulturerbe. Unbeachtet der Topographie wurde der Stadt bei der Planung von London aus ein rechteckiges Straßennetz zugrunde gelegt, was zu parallelen, aber auch gefährlich steilen Straßen führte. Die größtenteils von Schiffsbauern entwickelten Holzhäuser sind Zeuge hochgradiger handwerklicher Fähigkeiten und der Farbenreichtum der Altstadt ist ein beliebtes Fotomotiv bei Touristen aus aller Welt. Eine Tour auf dem Segelschiff der „Bluenose II“ gibt weitere Hinweise auf die bedeutende Schiffsbautradition in Lunenburg. Es ist ein Abbild des 1921 gebauten Segelbootes „Bluenose“, das am 26. März 1921 bei der Werft Smith & Rhuland vom Stapel gegangen ist, und sich durch ausgezeichnete Segeleigenschaften hervorhob.

 Webseite der Stadt