The Museum of Immigration on Pier 21

  • Museum of Immigration on Pier 21 © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Museum of Immigration on Pier 21
  • Museum of Immigration on Pier 21 © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Museum of Immigration on Pier 21
  • The plaque of Pier 21 © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The plaque of Pier 21

The Museum of Immigration on Pier 21

Between 1928 and 1971, the former jetty on Pier 21 in the Halifax harbour was the arrival point for over a million immigrants who crossed the Atlantic in numerous passenger ships on their search for a better life, predominantly of European heritage.

Because of its exceptional meaning for the country’s immigration history, the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 was named one of Canada’s national museums. 
 
After the discovery of North America, both the British and French governments developed targeted strategies to colonize Canada, hoping to secure the dominant position in the country. The maritime region on the east coast played a deciding role, as it was a popular landing point for the majority of ships from Europe and it enabled further colonization by land. The first British fleet of 13 transport ships led by Edward Cornwallis arrived as early as 1750, and it carried with it 2375 men, women, and children to settle the fortified town of Halifax. Almost 300 of the settlers were German speakers, and in the following decades, the number of European immigrants steadily grew. Pier 2, which had been allotted for immigration purposes, was replaced by a large hall on Pier 21 in 1928.
 
After their arrival by ship, the immigrants were released with their belongings into the bustling activity of the pier, where they were met by nuns and volunteers from the Red Cross. They functioned as the pier’s welcoming party and offered a sympathetic ear to the immigrants who wanted to talk about their fears, worries, and difficulties. Immigration was a major turning point in all their lives, and the uncertainty and change was a heavy burden for many. In some cases, medical attention was necessary, because the long voyage could have consequences for people’s health. Translation services were on offer, and there were child-care options while the parents took care of getting their immigration papers. After a few hours of waiting in the arrival hall, families would be called by name, get a stamp in their passports marking them as Canadian Permanent Residents, and then were released into the unknown. 
 
In the museum, you can find many short films telling the stories of immigrants like Barbara Boldt (née Hartmann), who immigrated to Halifax from Hamburg on the ship “Italia” in 1952, entering Canada via Pier 21. When she was a young woman, she escaped the post-war period in Germany, and applied as a hard-working German maid hoping to find work in Canada. After successfully applying, she was also able to help her brothers immigrate. In addition to the diverse audio-visual stories of German immigrants, visitors to the museum can see almost all the ship routes that operated between Germany and Canada. Some information can be accessed online as well, but it’s definitely worth visiting the museum and passing the time browsing through passenger lists and family histories.

   Website
   The Immigration Story of Barbara Boldt

Pier 21
Deutsche Spuren in Halifax

  • Immigrationsmuseum am Pier 21 © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Immigrationsmuseum am Pier 21
  • Immigrationsmuseum am Pier 21 © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Immigrationsmuseum am Pier 21
  • Tafel des Pier 21 © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Tafel des Pier 21

Das Immigrationsmuseum am Pier 21

Die ehemalige Anlegestelle am Pier 21 im Hafen von Halifax war zwischen 1928 und 1971 Ausgangspunkt für über eine Million Immigranten überwiegend europäischer Herkunft, die auf der Suche nach einem besseren Leben in zahlreichen Passagierschiffen den Atlantik überquerten.

Aufgrund seiner außergewöhnlichen Bedeutung für die Einwanderungsgeschichte des Landes gehört das „Canadian Immigration Museum Pier 21“ zu den Nationalmuseen Kanadas. 
 
Seit der Entdeckung Nordamerikas entwickelten sowohl die britische als auch französische Regierung gezielte Strategien zur Kolonisation Kanadas, um sich die Vormachtstellung im Land zu sichern. Die maritime Region an der Ostküste spielte dabei eine entscheidende Rolle, da sie eine beliebte Anlaufstelle für den Großteil der Schiffe aus Europa war und eine weitere Besiedlung über Land ermöglichte. Bereits 1750 lief die erste britische Flotte von 13 Transportschiffen unter der Führung von Edward Cornwallis ein und führte eine stolze Zahl von 2375 Siedlern samt Männern, Frauen und Kindern zur Kolonisation der Festungsstadt mit sich. Knapp 300 der Siedler waren deutschsprachig und in den folgenden Jahrzehnten sollte die Anzahl europäischer Immigranten stetig zunehmen. 1928 wurde der bescheidene Pier 2 mit einer großen Halle für Immigrationszwecke am Pier 21 ersetzt. 
Mit ihrem Hab und Gut wurden die Immigranten nach ihrer Ankunft auf dem Schiff in das geschäftige Treiben de Piers entlassen und von Nonnen und freiwilligen Helfern des Roten Kreuzes in Empfang genommen. Sie galten als das gute Herz des Piers und boten den Immigranten ein offenes Ohr für ihre Ängste, Sorgen und Schwierigkeiten. Für alle war die Einwanderung ein bedeutender Wendepunkt in ihrem Leben und für viele wog die Last der Ungewissheit und Veränderung schwer. In einigen Fällen war medizinische Versorgung vonnöten, da die lange Überfahrt gesundheitliche Folgen haben konnte. Es wurden Übersetzungsdienste angeboten und Kinder betreut, während sich die Eltern um den Erhalt der Einwanderungspapiere kümmerten. Nach einigen Stunden Wartezeit auf den Bänken der Ankunftshalle wurden die Familien namentlich aufgerufen und mit einem Stempel im Pass, der sie zu „Permanent Residents“ Kanadas erklärte, in die Ungewissheit entlassen. 
 
Immigrationsgeschichten und Erfahrungen wie die von Barbara Boldt (geboren Hartmann), die 1952 mit dem Schiff „Italia“ von Hamburg nach Halifax immigrierte und über den Pier 21 kanadischen Boden betrat, lassen sich in vielen ansprechenden Kurzfilmen in dem Museum nachempfinden. Der Nachkriegszeit entflohen und mit Aussicht auf Arbeit, bewarb sich die damals junge Frau als fleißige deutsche Hausangestellte in Kanada und ermöglichte nach erfolgreicher Bewerbung sogar ihren Brüdern eine Auswanderung. Zusätzlich zu diversen weiteren audio-visuellen Erzählungen deutscher Immigranten kann man im Museum nahezu alle Schiffsrouten nachverfolgen, die im Laufe der Jahre zwischen Deutschland und Kanada operierten. Einige Informationen sind online einsehbar, doch ein Besuch des Museums empfiehlt sich sehr und beim Stöbern durch Passagierlisten und Familiengeschichten verfliegt die Zeit.
 Barbara Boldts Immigrationsgeschichte