Atlantique Delicatessen

  • German bread at Boucherie Atlantique © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    German bread at Boucherie Atlantique
  • German bread at Boucherie Atlantique © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    German bread at Boucherie Atlantique
  • Atlantique Delicatessen © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Atlantique Delicatessen
  • Atlantique Delicatessen © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Atlantique Delicatessen

A German-Austrian butcher

Located on the western slope of Mont-Royal in the geographical centre of the city, the Austrian-German butchery “Boucherie Atlantique” is one of Montreal’s unmissable locales for all lovers of German food and products. It was acquired in 1962 by the German-Austrian couple Wolfgang and Herta Lustig.
 

 

A trained butcher from Baden-Baden in the Black Forest, Wolfgang met his future wife Herta, of Austrian descent, during a yearlong stay in Canada. That one year has since stretched to more than 50 years. During that time, he ran his successful, well-loved delicatessen together with his wife, who died in 2017. The family business’s team also includes his son Werner, who is the delicatessen’s butcher, and his daughter Birgit, who was educated in hospitality at a college of hotel management in Bad Ischl, Austria. There, Birgit met her future husband Gerald Voegel, originally from Bregenz, also in Austria. Today, he works as the chef at Boucherie Atlantique and is responsible for the wide variety of salads and lunch dishes on offer. Gerald talks with pride about the times when all three generations of the family can be found together hard at work at the business, which is particularly common on their busy Saturdays. On these days, Gerald and Birgit’s two children, Melanie and Alexander – both students at Concordia University – also come by and help out with work.
 
The delicatessen, simply called “Atlantique” by the regulars, is located in the middle of the Côte-des-Neiges neighbourhood, one of the most multicultural neighbourhoods in Montreal. It is visited day in and day out by people of a variety of backgrounds because of its typical Central European products. Customers come for the high quality and diversity of the exotic products, and they can vary from Central European immigrants searching nostalgically for the taste of their mother’s cooking from their childhood, to Anglophone university students standing in line for the delicatessen’s tasty sausage rolls, to Quebec family men wanting to prepare original German sauerkraut or Swabian spätzle (German egg noodles) for their friends. Other features that attract customers include the offer of good, plain, traditional cooking, as well as the pleasant atmosphere inside the store.
 
There are no products in stock at Atlantique that wouldn’t be familiar to a tourist from central Europe, and customers can shop not only in French or English, but also in German. The whole range of German and Austro-Hungarian cuisine is available, from Rindsroulade (a slice of beef rolled around a savoury filling) to Kassler (smoked pork loin) to Leberkäse (a type of German meatloaf) to goulash. Sausage varieties include Bauernmettwurst (a type of salami), Nürnberg bratwurst, and the hearty debrecener sausage (a pork sausage with paprika and other flavourings). The herring filet in crème sauce with its inimitable flavour is particularly tempting. There’s also no shortage of sweets – all the classics can be found at Atlantique, such as apple strudel or plum streusel cake, to name a few. In winter, Christmas baked goods like Dresdner Christstollen (a kind of bread-like fruitcake from Dresden), Lebkuchen (soft German gingerbread), and Zimtsterne (iced cinnamon star biscuits), are a real treat, especially for those who grew up in that culinary world. Customers who come from other cultural backgrounds also love it here, and they can discover new, unimagined worlds of flavours in their exploration of Atlantique.

The “Boucherie Atlantique” is undoubtedly popular among lots of people!

Die Boucherie Atlantique
Deutsche Spuren in Montreal

  • Deutsches Brot in der Boucherie Atlantique © Monik Richter
    Deutsches Brot in der Boucherie Atlantique
  • Deutsches Brot in der Boucherie Atlantique © Monik Richter
    Deutsches Brot in der Boucherie Atlantique
  • Die Metzgerei in Atlantique © Monik Richter
    Die Metzgerei in Atlantique
  • Viele Produkte aus Deuschland und der Schweiz © Monik Richter
    Viele Produkte aus Deuschland und der Schweiz

Eine deutsch-österreichische Boucherie

Die österreichisch-deutsche Metzgerei „Boucherie Atlantique“, am Westhang des „Mont-Royal“ im geographischen Zentrum der Stadt gelegen, ist eine der unumgänglichen kulinarischen Anlaufstellen Montreals für alle Liebhaber deutscher Küche und Produkte seit seiner Übernahme 1962 durch die deutsch-österreichische Familie Wolfgang und Herta Lustig.

 

Wolfgang, ein ausgebildeter Metzger aus Baden-Baden im Schwarzwald, hat seine aus Österreich stammende Frau Herta während eines einjährigen Aufenthaltes in Kanada kennengelernt. Aus einem Jahr sind dann schließlich mehr als fünfzig Jahre geworden, in denen er, zusammen mit seiner 2017 verstorbenen Frau, den so beliebten wie erfolgreichen Delikatessenladen leitet. Zum Team des Familienbetriebs gehören weiterhin sein Sohn Werner, Metzgermeister, sowie seine Tochter Birgit, ausgebildete Hotelkauffrau der Hotelfachschule in Bad Ischl, wo sie ihren späteren Mann Gerald Voegel, gebürtig aus Bregenz, traf, der heute als Koch für die gesamte Bandbreite der so vielfältig angebotenen Salate und Mittagsgerichte verantwortlich ist. Mit durchaus berechtigtem Stolz in seiner Stimme erzählt Gerald auch, dass man vor allem an den sehr arbeitsreichen Samstagen des Öfteren alle drei Generationen der Familie zusammen bei der Arbeit im Geschäft antreffen kann. Denn dann sind auch seine beiden Kinder Melanie und Alexander, beide Studenten an der Concordia Universität, ebenfalls voll mit eingespannt.
 
Mitten im „Côte-des-Neiges“ Viertel gelegen, wohl einem der multikulturellsten Stadtviertel Montreals überhaupt, wird „Atlantique“, wie die Metzgerei hier einfach genannt wird, tagaus tagein von vielen Menschen unterschiedlichster Herkunft, vor allem wegen seiner typisch mitteleuropäischen Produkte und Spezialitäten aufgesucht. Ob zentraleuropäischer Immigrant auf nostalgischer Suche nach dem Geschmack von Mutters Küche seiner Jugendzeit, ob anglophoner Universitätsstudent, der für sein saftiges Wurstbrötchen in der Schlange ansteht, oder der Quebecer Familienvater, der seinen Freunden endlich einmal ein richtiges original-deutsches Sauerkraut oder vielleicht doch lieber echte schwäbische Spätzle zubereiten möchte, sie alle kommen wegen der erstklassigen Qualität sowie der Vielfalt dieser hier für exotisch geltenden Produkte. Zudem ist das Angebot an typischer Hausmannskost sowie auch die gemütliche Atmosphäre innerhalb des Geschäftes ganz sicher ein weiterer, entscheidender Anziehungspunkt für viele Kunden. 
 
Es gibt bei „Atlantique“ wohl kein Produkt in der Auslage, das einem mitteleuropäischen Touristen nicht wirklich bekannt wäre und natürlich kann man alle seine Einkäufe sowohl auf Deutsch wie auch auf Englisch oder auf Französisch tätigen. Von Rindsrouladen über Kassler, Leberkäse und Gulasch wird das ganze Repertoire deutscher und ehemaliger k.u.k. Küche angeboten,, noch bereichert von Bauernmettwürsten, Nürnberger Bratwurst oder deftiger Debreziner. Besonders das Heringsfilet in Cremesauce besticht durch seinen unnachahmlichen Geschmack und auch auf der süßen Seite sind die Verlockungen endlos: ob Apfelstrudel oder Pflaumenstreuselkuchen, um nur diese zu nennen, alle „Klassiker“ sind bei „Atlantique“ zu finden. Auch die winterlichen Weihnachtsleckereien wie Dresdner Christstollen, Lebkuchen und Zimtsternen sind eine Gaumenfreude, umso mehr, wenn man in dieser kulinarischen Welt selbst groß geworden ist. Die zufriedenen Mienen derer, die aus anderen Kulturkreisen stammen und während ihrer Erkundungsreise durch „Atlantique“ eine für sie oft ungeahnte neue Welt des Geschmacks entdecken, sprechen Bände!
 
Die „Boucherie Atlantique“ ist zweifellos bei vielen beliebt!