Holocaust Memorial and Museum

  • Holocaust Memorial and Museum © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Holocaust Memorial and Museum
  • Holocaust Memorial and Museum © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Holocaust Memorial and Museum
  • Holocaust Memorial and Museum © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Holocaust Memorial and Museum
  • Holocaust Memorial and Museum © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Holocaust Memorial and Museum
  • Holocaust Memorial and Museum © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Holocaust Memorial and Museum

Holocaust Memorial and Museum

Montreal has seen plenty of Jewish immigration throughout its history, and in the 1940s it already had a significant Jewish population. However, out of all the waves of immigration in the 20th century, none had such a significant influence on the Montreal Jewish community as the arrival in Canada between 1947 and 1952 of around 100,000 survivors from the Nazi concentration camps. Approximately 30,000 of them made Montreal their new home. After Tel Aviv and New York, Montreal received the third-greatest number of Holocaust survivors worldwide relative to its population.
 

Montreal’s dynamic Jewish community has been an essential element of the history of the francophone province of Quebec for over 250 years. It has made a solid place for itself there, particularly in the city of Montreal, thanks in part to its contributions to advancements in the social, economic, cultural, and university sectors. The first Jewish immigrants to Quebec started arriving in 1760, settling for the most part in the Saint Lawrence valley and Montreal itself. Since then, Montreal’s Jewish population has swelled to about 91,000, thanks to subsequent waves of immigration, especially in the 20th century, as well as natural growth. Today it is an essential part of this multicultural metropolis.

From 1947, when refugees from Nazi Germany started to arrive, numerous national and regional Jewish assistance organizations (along with many private individuals) devoted themselves to helping them integrate. These refugees were often deeply traumatized, and many organizations worked full-time and on a long-term basis. This experience left serious marks on the Jewish community that had already been in Montreal for a long time.

In 1979, the city of Montreal erected a Holocaust memorial on the initiative of a large number of surviving former refugees, many of whom actively participated in the project. This memorial developed into the most important Holocaust museum in Canada, thanks to its collection of approximately 10,300 objects on the Nazi persecution of the Jewish people in Germany and Europe. The memorial has a central permanent exhibition, as well as temporary and virtual exhibitions, which document the history of the Holocaust by utilising the stories of the survivors, among other things.

Ein The museum places a particular emphasis on speaking directly to children and teenagers. Because of this, it offers teachers a number of didactic programs specially designed for primary and secondary school classes. In addition to learning about the history of the Holocaust, school groups and other visitors to the museum are also given insight into the history of xenophobia, racism, and antisemitism. This is done with the help of personal documents from the victims of Nazi persecution, such as resumes, life stories, photographs, and objects from before and during their time in Nazi concentration camps.

The museum also addresses the question of certain societal groups’ indifference to this violent episode in history, and the consequences of that indifference.

Das Holocaust Museum Montreal
Deutsche Spuren in Montreal

  • Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal © Monik Richter
    Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal
  • Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal © Monik Richter
    Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal
  • Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal © Monik Richter
    Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal
  • Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal © Monik Richter
    Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal
  • Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal © Monik Richter
    Das Holocaust Museum in Montreal

Holocaust Gedenkstätte und Museum

Keine der vorausgegangenen oder nachfolgenden jüdischen Immigrationswellen des 20. Jahrhunderts in Richtung Kanada sollte einen so prägenden Einfluss auf die schon in den 1940er-Jahren imposante jüdische Gemeinde Montreals haben wie die Ankunft von ca. 100 000 überlebenden Juden aus nationalsozialistischen Konzentrationslagern zwischen 1947 und 1952. Ungefähr 30 000 unter ihnen fanden in Montreal ein neues Zuhause. Damit ist Montreal, nach Tel Aviv und New York, an dritter Stelle der Städte, welche, proportional zu ihrer Einwohnerzahl, die größte Anzahl an Überlebenden der Schoah aufgenommen haben.

Die sehr dynamische jüdische Gemeinde Montreals ist seit mehr als 250 Jahren ein wesentliches Element der Geschichte der französischsprachigen Provinz Quebec. Dort hat sie sich aufgrund ihrer Beiträge zu Fortschritten im sozialen, wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen und universitären Bereich, vor allem innerhalb der Metropole Montreal, einen soliden Platz geschaffen. Von den ersten jüdischen Einwanderern, die sich ab 1760 schon größtenteils in Montreal selbst und im südlichen Sankt-Lorenz Tal niedergelassen hatten, über mehrere Einwanderungswellen vor allem im 20. Jahrhundert sowie natürlich auch durch natürlichen Zuwachs, hat sich die heutige jüdische Gemeinde mit ihren circa 91 000 Seelen allein in Montreal als integraler Bestandteil dieser multi-kulturellen Metropole Kanadas profiliert. 
 
Zahlreiche nationale und regionale jüdische Hilfsorganisationen und auch viele Privatleute hatten sich ab 1947 oft vollzeitmäßig und langfristig der Integrationshilfe der in diesen Jahren eintreffenden und zutiefst traumatisierten NS-Flüchtlinge gewidmet. Dies war eine Erfahrung, die gerade auch innerhalb der schon lange ansässigen jüdischen Gemeinde selbst gravierende Spuren hinterlassen sollte.

Auf Initiative und unter aktiver Mitarbeit zahlreicher überlebender und ehemaliger Flüchtlinge errichtete die Stadt Montreal 1979 eine Holocaust Gedenkstätte, welche sich, dank der ungefähr 10 300 gesammelten Objekte zur NS-Judenverfolgung in Deutschland und Europa, zum wichtigsten Museum der Schoah in Kanada entwickelt hat. Kern der Gedenkstätte sind eine zentrale Dauerausstellung sowie weitere Wander- und virtuelle Ausstellungen, welche die Geschichte der Schoah vor allem mit Berichten der Überlebenden selbst dokumentieren.

Ein besonderes Augenmerk ist darauf gelegt worden, Kinder und Jugendliche direkt anzusprechen. So werden beispielsweise zahlreiche didaktische Programme für Lehrer, die speziell für den Primär- und Sekundarunterricht in Schulen vorgesehen sind, angeboten. Mit Hilfe von ganz persönlichen Dokumenten der Opfer der NS-Verfolgung, zum Beispiel Lebensläufen, Lebensgeschichten, Fotografien und Objekten aus der Zeit vor und während ihrer Inhaftierung in den NS-Konzentrationslagern, soll den Besuchern der Gedenkstätte oder Schulklassen innerhalb ihres Geschichtsunterrichts ein Einblick in die Geschichte von Fremdenhass, Rassismus und Antisemitismus gegeben werden.

Gerade auch die Fragen nach der oft wahrzunehmenden Indifferenz gewisser Gesellschaftsgruppen gegenüber diesen Gewaltphänomenen mit den daraus resultierenden Konsequenzen werden offen angegangen.