Boyce Market

  • Boyce Market © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Boyce Market
  • Black Forest Bakery © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Black Forest Bakery

German Vendors at Boyce Market

Boyce Market in George Street is one of Canada’s best farmers markets, with its fresh fruit and vegetables, organic meats, sausages and cheese, as well as high-quality seasonal products and local crafts. Tourists and locals will happily get up and hurry over to the market on Saturday mornings, as it’s a great meeting point for getting a coffee, chatting, or having a bite to eat.

The market, which is partially indoors and partially held in the open, has a huge selection of culinary delights. The German bakers, butchers, and snack bars are a characteristic part of the market particularly rich in tradition. Elke’s ham, Adolf’s smoked pork chop or Weißwurst (a traditional Bavarian sausage), and Rudolph’s bacon and fresh rye bread are all wonderful! In the market hall, you can also find a stand selling products from the Winegarden Estate Winery & Distillery. If you follow the delicious smells outside, you’ll come across snack bars with grilled sausages or schnitzel on a bun. You can browse through the list of vendors on the website attached below. For example, if you’re interested in artisan crafts, you can find a watchmaker, a blacksmith specializing in ornamental objects, and decorative floral arrangments made of dried flowers. The German vendors have emigrated from a number of different regions, such as the Black Forest, Lake Constance, Kaiserstuhl, Bavaria, Saxony, or northern Germany.
 
If you head for the market hall in George Street, make sure to pay attention to the signs pointing the way hanging from curved iron posts decorated with scrollwork. These signposts were made by Veit Weber. This blacksmith has been coming to the market since 1985 to sell his wares. Depending on the wishes of the customers, he makes things like custom railings, gates, ornamental signposts, wrought-iron lamps, decorative mirrors, and other similar products. Veit Weber emigrated in 1984 with his wife and other like-minded people on the search for an alternative lifestyle. At the time, they found Canada’s east coast, specifically New Brunswick and its relatively low property costs, to be particularly attractive. They eventually decided on moving to the city of Fredericton with its historical charm. Equipped with a business plan and an old anvil from 1901, he moved to Millville with his family. He wanted to carry on the tradition of blacksmithing there as a blacksmith specializing in ornamentation, following in the footsteps of his grandfather, who had worked as a smith in Remschied from 1920. Over the last few decades, traditional smithing has needed to adapt to automation in the steel industry.
 
After seven years’ experience as a registered psychiatric nurse, Veit Weber learned the craft from his father in four years. Even while working as an RN, he would regularly help out with his father’s work. Thanks to a subsidy from the province of New Brunswick for new companies, Veit Weber could start up his business. However, New Brunswick’s building and craft culture was dominated by woodworking at the time, and the New Brunswickers weren’t familiar with blacksmithing, so it was very important for his business to advertise at local craft and art fairs, such as in Mactaquac. Commissions from the city enabled Veit Weber to build up his reputation and to leave his mark in Fredericton. Examples of his work include the gate on King Street next to the restaurant “Brewbakers”, the benches and sundial in front of the New Brunswick College of Craft and Design, and the above-mentioned signposts to Boyce Market.

He has been supplementing his job as a blacksmith with teaching Buddhist philosophy since 1993. He works as a Buddhist chaplain for the penal institutions in the province, where he cares for the inmates practicing Buddhism. He teaches seminars on religion at the University of New Brunswick’s Renaissance College from time to time. He has remained true to his wish for a simple life, where immaterial values like time and space have priority. 
 
Ironically, he first really felt like he belonged after suffering a major blow. When his house in Millville burned down in 1987, it was his neighbours who helped him and saved his wife’s life. According to Veit Weber, this experience with humanity and understanding changed everything and has been a big motivation for him. Visitors to Boyce Market should definitely have a look at his stand!

Der Boyce Market
Deutsche Spuren in New Brunswick

  • Boyce Market © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Boyce Market
  • Black Forest Bakery © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Black Forest Bakery

Deutsche Markthändler auf dem Boyce Market

Der „Boyce Market“ in der „George Street“ gehört zu den besten Bauernmärkten Kanadas mit frischem Obst und Gemüse, biologischem Fleisch, Wurst und Käse sowie hochwertigen saisonalen Erzeugnissen und lokalem Kunsthandwerk. Auch Touristen und Einheimische tummeln sich gerne samstagvormittags auf dem teils überdachten, teils unter freiem Himmel stattfindenden Markt, weil dieser ein schöner Treffpunkt ist, um einen Kaffee zu trinken, sich zu unterhalten oder etwas Leckeres zu essen.

 Das kulinarische Angebot ist vielseitig. Die deutschen Bäcker, Metzger und Imbissbuden sind ein besonders traditionsreicher und charakteristischer Teil des Marktes. Der Schinken von Elke, das Kassler oder die Weißwurst von Adolf oder der Speck und das frische Roggenbrot von Rudolph sind ein Gedicht! In der Markthalle finden Sie auch den Verkaufsstand von „Winegarden Estate Winery & Distillery“. Folgen Sie Ihrer Nase nach draußen zu den Imbissbuden mit Grillwurst oder Schnitzel mit Brötchen und halten Sie auch Ausschau nach den Anbietern auf den unten beigefügten Webseiten! Kunsthandwerk ist beispielsweise mit einem Uhrenmacher, einem Kunstschmied und dekorativen Gestecken aus Trockenblumen vertreten. Die deutschen Händler sind aus den verschiedensten Regionen eingewandert, zum Beispiel aus dem Schwarzwald, dem Bodensee und Kaiserstuhl, Bayern, Sachsen oder Norddeutschland.
 
Wenn Sie auf das Marktgebäude in der „George Street“ zugehen, achten Sie bitte auf die Wegweiser, die zum Markt führen und an einem geschwungenen und mit Schnörkeln verzierten Eisenposten hängen. Diese Schilder wurden von Veit Weber hergestellt. Seit 1985 kommt der Kunstschmied auf den Markt, um sein Angebot vorzustellen. Ganz nach Kundenwunsch fertigt er zum Beispiel maßgeschneiderte Geländer, Tore, Wegweiser mit Ornamenten, Posten, schmiedeeiserne Lampen, dekorative Spiegel und dergleichen an. Als Veit Weber 1984 mit seiner Frau und einigen anderen Gleichgesinnten auf der Suche nach einem alternativen Leben auswanderte, hatten die Ostküste und Neubraunschweig mit ihren relativ günstigen Landpreisen gelockt und die Wahl fiel letztendlich auf die Stadt Fredericton mit ihrem historischem Charme. Ausgerüstet mit einem Businessplan und einem alten Amboss von 1901, zog er mit seinem Haushalt nach Millville. Dort wollte er die Tradition der Schmiedearbeit, die sein Großvater seit 1920 in Remscheid betrieben hatte und die sich schon seit Jahrzehnten der Automatisierung in der Stahlindustrie hatte anpassen müssen, als Kunstschmied fortführen.
 
Erlernt hat Veit Weber das Handwerk von seinem Vater in vierjähriger Lehrzeit, nach einer siebenjährigen Berufserfahrung als Krankenpfleger in der Psychiatrie, während der er immer wieder im väterlichen Betrieb ausgeholfen hatte. Dank einer Subvention für neue Unternehmen der Provinz Neubraunschweig konnte Veit Weber seinen Betrieb aufbauen. Die vor allem von Holz dominierte Baukultur Neubraunschweigs war aber mit dem Schmiedehandwerk nicht vertraut und so war Werbung auf lokalen Handwerks- und Kunstmessen, unter anderem in Mactaquac, für sein Geschäft sehr wichtig. Aufträge von der Stadt ermöglichten Veit Weber, sich einen Ruf aufzubauen und in Fredricton seine Handschrift zu hinterlassen, zum Beispiel mit dem Tor in der „Kingstreet“ neben dem Restaurant „Brewbakers“, mit den Bänken und der Sonnenuhr vor dem „New Brunswick College of Craft and Design” sowie mit den erwähnten Wegweisern zum Boyce Markt. 
 
Seit 1993 ergänzt er seine Arbeit als Kunstschmied mit der Lehre der buddhistischen Philosophie. Er ist als buddhistischer Kaplan in Strafvollzugsanstalten der Provinz tätig und kümmert sich um Insassen, die die Religion des Buddhismus ausüben. Von Zeit zu Zeit unterrichtet er für das Renaissance College der Universität New Brunswick in Seminaren, die sich mit verschiedenen Religionen befassen. Seinem Wunsch nach einem einfachen Lebensstil, in dem immaterielle Werte wie Zeit und Raum Vorrang haben, ist er treu geblieben.
 
Der Durchbruch zur Dazugehörigkeit erfolgte für Veit Weber ironischerweise nach einem schlimmen Schicksalsschlag im Jahr 1987. Als sein Haus in Milville abbrannte, waren es Nachbarn, die seiner Frau das Leben retteten und ihm halfen. Diese Erfahrung von Menschlichkeit und Verständnis, so Veit Weber, habe alles verwandelt und ihn enorm angespornt. Halten Sie unbedingt Ausschau nach seinem Stand auf dem Boyce Markt!